Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    Exhausting but in a stimilating way. Much to see- historical, cultural and political differences, but an opportunity for landscape and history to come alive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cu Chi tunnels , the Killing Fields and the gut-wrenching ossuary memorial there. Also the school-turned-prison Site21 with the staring photos of the tortured and murdered. Also the slow river trip on the Mekong and the inspirational temple complexes around Siem Reap. I have come back inspired to learn more through further reading on French colonialism in Indochina, the Vietnam War and the archaeology of the Angkor Wat cities and temples. So the trip lives on in words and photographs- travel leaves a legacy!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The  leaders were extremely good, but on occasion they could stand back to allow the traveller to experience his/her own sensory reaction to place rather than filling the spaces with auditory information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as much information about currency and visas. In some ways the trip information could be more helpful about what to expect at borders. We were told to change $50 dollars on entering Vietnam- not enough in the first instance. Travellers should know that hotels will exchange dollars for local but not traveller's cheques (bank only)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very worthwhile trip and on the whole handled with the customary efficiency we've come to expect from Exodus trips. Cerainly one to recommend as a well-organised cherry-pick of Indochina's sights.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    The trip was both challenging and exilerating. It exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Entering Annapurna Sanctuary after a 7 day walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kind, considerate.....incomparable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    RIO TO BUENOS AIRES

    A really great holiday with some truly "world class" highlights, but the proportion of time spent travelling was too large.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Iguacu was incredible, definitely one of the 7 wonders of the natural world. Snorkelling in the river in Bonito was like swimming in your own giant aquarium, and the sight of macaws, toucans, giant storks and various other exotic birds in the Pantanal was totally unique in my experience. Rio, of course, has a number of iconic attractions such as Christ the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf Mountain and the beaches, but what I  remember most clearly from Rio is the insignia badge on the side of the vehicles of the Police Elite Squad given the task of clearing the drug gangs from the favellas (slums). As our guide told us, "when they go in, they don't come out with prisoners". Their insignia? A skull with a dagger driven through it, backed by crossed rifles/sub machine guns. The Met Police they are not.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eze was a delightful leader and made a huge contribution to the success of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that you will be spending a lot of time travelling and won't be getting much exercise on this trip. There is no need to take all your money in dollars, there are plenty of ATMs available, except for the Pantanal, when you don't need any money anyway. 
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & ZANZIBAR

    This was a once in a life time experience, the group of people I met were fantastic. The whole trip was perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to Gilman's point, having a cuppa and watching the sunrise, perfect timing! Plus we beat the Americans!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joseph was our group leader, he clearly had a lot of experience and was always reassuring us when we felt rotten. All the guides kept a very close eye on how we were feeling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take it slowly! Drink loads of water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After the adventures in Kili, a relaxing few days in Zanzibar was the perfect way to finish it all off!
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER CHILE

    Overall, the holiday followed the itinerary except where the weather (wind) prevented the trip to Magdelena Island from Punto Arenas.  Issues with two flights causing delays (weather and technical) also prevented the itinerary being followed exactly.In the main, Hotels were as expected and adequate except Santiago where because of the itinerary the Hotel was used three times in total covering 4 nights.  This has been reported as unacceptable and is being investigated. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional extention to Easter Island was the main highlight of the entire holiday.  The Geysers were also an amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader had a lovely personality and was very caring and helpful.  However, there were certain times when she was not as communicative as expected with information relating to certain aspects of the trip.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    My first trip with Exodus but I have travelled with similar companies although not including camping.I found the trip to be exactly what I was expecting and as described in the brochure. The camping wasn't arduous at all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two things stick in my memory.1. Being able to walk inside a Game Reserve knowing that the previous evening on a Game drive we had come VERY close to elephants, lion and cheetah with a recent kill. Then on the walk getting very close to the cheetah and her cub.2. Walking in  the Drakensberg Mountains. One day we walked along the Tugela Gorge and even though the rains hadn't come and the river was virtually dry we had lunch in the riverbed of the gorge (thankfully there was no flash flood!). The following day we made the ascent onto the plateau via the 'terrifying' chain ladders. Unable to climb a ladder at home this was MY achievement of the trip. Coming down was much easier thank goodness.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bongani was an excellent leader. Quiet and efficient but able to impart his knowledge when required. He has a wicked sense of humour which took us a while to suss out. After a few days we just didn't believe anything he told us!!There was a lot of driving during the trip so while we relaxed in the minibus he was working hard and then had the camps to set up on arrival.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As said before there is a lot of travelling. South Africa is a huge country and the locals think nothing of driving 100's of miles on straight, quiet roads. We rotated our seats around the bus each day as some seats had better views/more legroom than others.As we move about regularly there is a fair bit of packing/unpacking and not much room in the tents to spread. I found using bags to store underwear, shirts, trousers etc in my main pack made getting the following day's clothes ready easier.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bongani had Shawn as a camp assistant. As he was too young to be insured to drive the bus it meant Bongani had to do all the driving. I did wonder if Bongani was incapacitated for any reason whether our trip would be stuck.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    Brilliant holiday if you want to clear your head and get away from it all. Stunning views, amazing local food and practically no extra expenses (apart from lunch and dinner on a free day). I was really surprised that such a dramatic, unspoilt place still existed in a 2-hours flight distance from London.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was constantly being surprised by inspirational moments on this trip, it's impossible to choose one. The mountain range is so majestic that it simply encourages you to have a think about bigger things in life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Miguel is clearly very enthusiastic and well-educated about the area. He was very outgoing and caring for the group and was definitely going an extra mile to ensure everybody felt comfortable and safe on the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take at least one walking pole. I did the most of the trip without the poles, but I had to borrow one for a couple of descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a brilliant time and absolutely fell in love with the area. If you look for a holiday that makes you not wanting it to end SIERRA DE AITANA TREK will do the trick. 
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS, TEMPLES & HILL STATIONS

    Trip spoilt by the group being split into 2 vehicles, a major amount of the time is spent travelling and no intransit info possible due to this. Vehicles were very poor with broken seat backs and no room for day packs in vehicle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Shimla.But the local people in the whole of India are so friendly & helpful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor.In fairness she was knowledgeable, although it was always given without asking & when eating as a group bill shouldn't just be split. Trip from Dharamsala to McLeod Ganj was in local taxis but only 5 vehicles of Fiat Punto size used for entire group plus their luggage was not sufficient, taxis cost so little, it seemed penny pinching & was uncomfortable & dangerous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a kettle, noodles & chewy bars, that way you can be independant.Some hotels only offer buffet at 500 ruppees where it is possible to get al-la-cart for 250ruppees in cities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All hotels give fixed price buffet which is expensive & caused stomuch upsets, probably sat there warm for a long time.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Great scenery and great biking with an excellent leader (Liz) & support crew.  I would have liked more singletrack and also many of the group had little off road mountain bike experience which affected the dynamic of the group.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    There were undoubtedly a good many positive aspects of this trip. But the trip notes and web site information were not sufficiently open regarding the negatives (see below) to give a realistic view of the problems associated with making the trip at this time of year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The one meaningful tiger sighting (during a total of 17 game-drives in 3 different national parks).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the wildlife and birdlife, and he made considerable efforts to ensure everything ran as smoothly as possible. Communication and sensitivity to the feelings of ALL group members were not always up to the same standard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes and  reviews published on the web-site do not make it clear that it is extremely difficult to sight tigers in October, when the rainy season has only recently ended, foliage is lush and there are many sources of water for the wildlife. This difficulty is further reinforced by the often unhelpful (positively obstructive?) approach of the park authorities and officials, apparently for political reasons. And running the trip during the Diwali holiday period, with its consequent large numbers of local tourists, is an additional disadvantage. A significant body of anecdotal evidence made it apparent that the far more regular sightings virtually promised by the tour leader are much more likely at the end of the dry season in March/April.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes and reviews indicate that the overnight train journeys represent a low point. They do not, however, give adequate emphasis to the following:the very uncomfortable conditions and absence of proper meals; the sheer waste of time involved in spending 12-14 hours on board a train (during the hours of darkness) and several additional hours travelling and waiting time at each end; the issues of security, necessitating all personal possessions of any value being chained and padlocked, according to the tour leader.Road journeys and short train journeys (in daylight) undoubtedly offer a fascinating insight into life in India. But overnight journeys (2 on this trip) are, in my view, no more than an unjustifiable means of keeping the headline cost of the tour artificially low. Other tour companies seem able to use air and road transport at only a small extra cost.Some of the accommodation on this trip was of of a noticeably lower standard than what is suggested by the trip notes/web-site. No doubt this would have been relegated to the level of minor inconvenience if the game drives had more accurately lived up to their billing.Notwithstanding the above, there was a wonderful abundance of wildlife and birdlife on this trip. And India is a country full of magnificent sights  - the Taj Mahal, in particular, is awe-inspiring, especially for anyone visiting it for the first time - jaw-dropping contrasts and a constant assault on the senses. It does, however, have an infrastructure which is capable of making the downsides far more palatable with only a relatively insignificant increase in cost. 
Call us on 0208 772 3936