Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    A great way to see and experience 3 countries in 2 weeks.  Good weather, good food, good company.  Well managed by local guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the floating village (optional trip).  Can see the appeal of this as an alternative lifestyle!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply the best.  I've been on several guided trips and Wasan is a real star.   Kept us on schedule "you can have as long as you want as long as it's not more than 10 minutes".   Led us well, looked after us well, made sure we regularly fed and watered....   Nothing seemed too much trouble.    Trying to manage a group age range from 20's to 70's is a real challenge, my impression is that no-one was disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!Need minimal amount of clothes as regular low cost laundry available.  And of course you can stock up on cheap clothes in Saigon. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wish it was all just in front of me rather than a fond memory!
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    well organised , as other exodus trips have been . Did all the good bits & well strung together . Accomodation was appropriate for the environment & experience we had . guides good , overall a great trip .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Anything to do with the Mekong

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All leaders were good but as always some better than others . No complaints though .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You get whats in the trip notes !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sometimes thought odd activities or places were put in to fill the time . ie climbing up 300 steps in dark & wet [ slippy] to see another temple / cave at da Nang . As we were already late we could have skipped that bit .
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Had some reservations about dormitory sharing as I had not done anything like that for quite a few years. but everything went well and thanks to a really first class guide it was a great success.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the end of a six hour hike and realising I had achieved it at my age (76).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class, knowledgeable, with a good sense of humour and looked after any individual problems

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for difficult underfoot conditions. Found this a bigger problem than the altitude.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    The whole holiday was a sensory overload. The contrasts between city life (Kathmandu/Pokhara), village life and mountain life were fantastic to experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Poon Hill - simply breath taking views - we managed to get up there for both sunset and sunrise. Even more rewarding was the apple crumble and custard at the lodge on the way down!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of the Exodus team were fantastic on the holiday - never failing to stop and offer help - even to hold my walking poles everytime I wanted to stop and take a photo!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to be wow'ed by every morning view - some afternoons we'd reach the lodges in the clouds to then wake up in the morning with the most overwhelming views of mountains all around us.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing trip which covers so many aspects of nepal's fantastic country - not only was it a treat to spend so much time walking through small villages/mountain passes but it was great to have the bonus of a couple of days to explore Kathmandu.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A well put-together trip with a good selection of the jewels of Jordan.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    7 Pillars of Wisdom in the Wadi Rum, Petra - the Treasury and the Monastery, Petra by night - walking through the Siq and seeing the treasury for the first time, Floating in the Dead Sea, Snorkelling in the Red Sea - coral wildlife and a submerged American anti-aircraft vehicle under the waves, Jerash, sleeping around a camp fire in the desert... the whole trip was good in beautifully eroded landscapes...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was perfect for the job. Good knowledge, of course, but he interacted very well and professionally with the entire group, has a great sense of humour and kept us on track with the Petra walks and selecting local restaurants for dinner. Can't recommend him highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Amman: round 2-pin plug (European style). Petra+Aqaba: 3 pin plug (UK style) but not sure about the voltage (phone seemed to be charging for hours longer than normal). No kettles in any hotel room. Take a bath plug. Bobble hat and gloves for the desert night - esp if sleeping under the stars. ATMs or Cash Exchanges everywhere we went (in towns), travellers cheques taken nowhere(!), $ welcome.Lack of alcohol in most places (except Aqaba) - food and bar bills often have 10% service charge and 16% tax added on top of the price shown - this drops to 10% plus 7% tax in Aqaba ('tax-free zone'). Walking boots recommended for Petra, some places - viewpoints etc - might need a head for heights (but they're not too bad generally). November holiday = early starts, dark by 5.00pm so antiquities etc close about 4pm. Desert was cold - November nights, it actually gets even colder first thing in the morning before heating up again. Can be cold in the shade everywhere - take a fleece if you'll be out all day/in the canyons etc, even whilst walking (unless you're Scottish and can handle the cold).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go. Simply, Go.Jordan currently has about 10% of the normal level of tourists, which is great for us (not crowded) but no good for the country. Sure, in Aqaba you're 5 mins from Israel and 20 minutes from Saudi by fast camel, have other borders with Syria and Iraq BUT you really wouldn't know it whilst there. Lovely place, nice people no trouble of any kind anywhere, they value tourism and tourists everywhere.There are people (sometimes bedouins) selling touristy stuff in most places - but all you have to do is say no once, and that's it, they leave you alone - if they bother you in the first place - there are no pushy hawkers anywhere, unlike some other countries. Gifts are more expensive 'inside' Petra (the same items are cheaper outside - even just at the entrance!). Captain Jack Sparrow lookalikes akimbo in Petra (a bit freaky actually!). Cave Bar is nice at Petra. No problems with the local cuisine or water (used for brushing teeth and I had ice cubes in drinks in Aqaba and Petra) - but bottled water drank during the trip. Need ~£250 total for the trip for lunch, dinner, tips, nick-nacks etc. Flip flops/water shoes would be good for the dead sea - salt ridges (some sl. sharp) and stones embedded in the salt are 'foot hazards' so walking carefully into the sea is a good idea.The early starts were from the first morning - after a delayed flight and late to hotel (1am local time) we were on the road to Jerash about 8am - get some sleep on the plane if you fly in the evening.I had an excellent holiday with a great bunch of people in a beautiful country.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    LA RUTA MAYA

    Interesting trip with beautiful scenery in Guatemala, fascinating Mayan ruins in Mexico (but take a good archaelogical guide like Michael Coe's "The Maya" 11th edition, 2011) interspersed with old colonial Spanish towns and great snorkelling and boat trips to see manatees and dolphins near the mangrove islands off Caye Caulker, Belize. Lot of travelling in the bus but worth it on balance.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lake Atitlan, Guatemala with its towering volcanos is incredibly beautiful at all times of day. Seeing the manatees off Caye Caulker was special as well and, although one does get tired of Mayan ruins, they are pretty amazing objectively especially Palenque and Tikal. Chitzen Itza gets too busy with tourists to feel special

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fine though not as good as the leaders we have had on other trips. This was his last trip working for Exodus so slightly akward situation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My main points would be:- (a) Someone on a previous exodus trip advises people to take pesos as difficult/not good rate to change.  We followed this advice but found it to be wrong. It was easy to change money on our trip and US dollars could be used freely in Guatemala, Mexico and Belize. Some of our party used ATMs. (b) Remember country entrance/exit fees. They add up though you are not always charged when leaving Guatemala. (c) If you love textiles, buy them at Lake Atitlan (or Santiago Atitlan/San Marcos La Laguna). You just dont see as good/as great a variety elsewhere on the trip. There is a school shop near where you get the boat to Santiago Atitlan that sells lovely things in aid of the children's education(d) Aquashoes useful as beaches quite stony. Quite a variation in temperature so need warm jumpers for altitude/night but light clothes for day. Binoculars a must for bird life and sea scanning for manatees. (e) Vegetarian options can be a bit limited and traveller's diarrohea can hit hard even when taking care with handwashing/sanigel or equivalent!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its quite a hard trip by way of the amount of bus travel and you really have to accept that or the trip is not for you. The Guatemalan highlands/Mexican border is lovely but a lot of Mexican travel is on plains that is not that interesting in itself. I wished I had some Spanish to make for a better interaction when saying 'no thanks' re people travelling to sell stuff. As said earlier a good academic book about the Mayan ruins that is up to date will add to the trip as you can look up detail/ reinforce understanding when on the long bus journeys. I wouldnt have enjoyed the ruins nearly as much if I hadnt had Coe's book with me as our guide wasnt that clear about the differences between the sites and the key features of the ruins to note. Would thoroughly recommend the all day manatee/snorkelling trip with lunch at St George's (private aquarium there that you can visit for $2.50 that has lion fish, puffer fish etc.) Karly Bischoff aged 10 showed us round and he was brilliant. Really knew his stuff!!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    The holiday exceeded expectation, it was a lot more varied than I anticipated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was cycling through the desert, some amazing views and colours seen in the sandstone hills.  You were able to lose yourself in the beauty.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great. He had some wierd and wonderful stories to keep us entertained and was good at keeping us on track :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers are a good idea, it's cold in the hills & desert at night (I think both in winter and summer months), and the temperature varies a lot during the day as you travel from high ground to low, i.e. above 1000M to below 400M where he dead sea is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was thoroughly enjoyable and very varied, biking, hiking, sightseeing, floating, snorkelling, camping and camel riding, felt like we did a lot in just over a week!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE OMO VALLEY

    A really well organised and interesting tour which covered what I was expecting - an excellent introduction to the culture and people of the Omo Valley

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Access to the villages and peoples was the main motivation for taking the tour and these were the highlights - I thought the variety offered and the choices of places to go was well thought out. We were lucky enough to see the bull jumping which was the single most memorable day, but the whole trip was good

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gebre was excellent - deals well with the different people in the group - extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the locations visited and showed flexibility when weather or other conditions made original plans challenging.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be flexible and adaptable and you'll have a great trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A memorable break to a place that I'd wanted to visit for a long time. It did not disappoint and the opportunity to get an understanding of a unique area of the world was truly rewarding
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Fantastic Off Road trip. Really varied terrain. Some big climbs but lots more super fast descents. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the optional single track. Also cycling through the palmeries was a real highlight; I couldn't help feel that i was cycling through paradise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was first class. She knows the routes and the country like the back of her hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take a small pump with you if you have one. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What a trip. Go and enjoy the amazing downhill.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - SERBIA

    An almost tourist-free land. A fantastic ride through flat farmlands and up into the Djerdop Gorge for fabulous views over the Danube.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people were so welcoming and friendly, I couldn't have asked for better hosts at the local guesthouse. The food was fabulous, all the fresh fish you could ask for locally caught from the Danube. A highlight for me was the self-sufficient farm where we had an amazing lunch followed by wallowing under a walnut tree on hay bales soaking up the late afternoon rays. Not just your average cycling holiday, Serbia has such a rich and fascinating history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader and driver were unrivalled in their knowledge of Serbian history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun tan cream, it can get very hot! But don't worry the driver is always on hand with plenty of water supplies!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip for all types of cyclists. The flat roads means that even Sunday cyclists (like me!) can cope with the days riding.
Call us on 0208 772 3936