Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC RAJASTHAN

    We had an action packed two weeks in Rajasthan though we never felt rushed.  We stayed in some wonderful hotels.  I have never learned so much about a country in such a small space of time thanks to the excellent guides.  The experiences could not have been more varied from the camel fair to the temples, lakes and desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many as the trip was amazingly varied.  But, I suppose it was the Taj Mahal as the sun came up before the crowds arrived and again at the end of the day from the other side of the river as the sun went down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Bali" Balvinder Singh was an exceptional leader.  Our group quickly bonded as a happy group of friends with him as our "captain".  We had experiences over and above the already excellent itinerary.  Bali ensured that each of us had our needs met, whether that meant a cart rather than the back of a camel, time to shop or a trip to a hospital for an x ray!  He conjured up a boat when none should have been available and took us all to the movies. He entertained and informed us with his "stories" about India between destinations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add to the "What to Take" list; hand sanitizer and a universal plug.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you, Exodus for  a most marvellous travel experience.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER ETHIOPIA

    This was a great trip offering a wide variety of history, spectacular scenic walks, wildlife and culture / religion. You cover a large distance so the trip is quite full on with some days spent travelling though the sights and scenery on offer make even the long drives worthwhile. The accomodation was good though by using the same chain throughout the holiday you can wake up and forget where you are as the rooms are pretty much laid out the same.The group and the guide also contributed to an enjoyable experience. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Axum was an unexpected highlight for me as I did not know much about the area when booking but discovering the history both of the tombs, stelae and Ark of the Covenant. The museums here although small had some decent and interesting artefacts.The other highlight was off course Lalibela with the rock churches with St George being the main attraction it's amazing when you see the complex to think they were all carved from the rock. Also at Lalibela there is the optional mule ride (although I along with others decided to walk) to Ashetan Maryam, which was a fantastic walk up mountain paths, plateau's and local villages that offered great views as a reward for reaching the top.  The Simen moutains are also stunning and photo's (well mine anyway) really can't do the views justice. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Shif was great, passionate and knowledgable about his country and culture. Nothing was too much trouble (as in sorting somewhere good to eat), and he organsied the other local guides which added to our experience. He also went out of his way for a couple of his friends studying the Gelda Monkey's in the Simen Mountains to talk to us about their work. He also took us to a local Tej bar in Lalibela to experience some local dancing which went down well with the group. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A lot of our group were sick, we could have just been an unlucky group but all were experienced travellers so would just say to be aware and take the usual precautions.On Misquito's personnally I did not see any on the whole trip, so would not bother taking a mosquito net if I went again. Though at Lalibela beaware that some of the rock churches do have fleas so you can use either your mosquito spray or get specific flea repellent such as strike back. Perhaps wear socks you are happy to dump on the days that the rock churches are visited.There are some long drives but as I said above the scenery and watching the locals more than makes up for this (you will spend a lot of time waving to local kids who seem genuiely happy to see you). As a 3rd world country though some of the roads can be quite bumpy which can be felt inparticular at the back of the bus and there are not always toliet facilities along the way. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall a great trip, just the one thing I'd say which is slightly negative is that the trip South at the end did not quite live up to the rest of the trip although on the upside we did see great wildlife on the way (at the National Parks) it was essentially two days spent travelling for the one day by the hot springs.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    MADAGASCAN DISCOVERER

    I did the "Madagascar Discovery" tour and I thought it was a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the colors, sounds and views of the country, they were different and very beatiful. All the species of lemurs that we saw, such a variety of wild life, sounds of the forests, smiling faces of local people and especially kids, pictoresk views on our hikes, sunsets on the ocean and on the avenue of Baobabs - all of it was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Solofoniray Razafimahazo, was amazing! Myself and all of my tour-mates were of the same opinion, that he was one of the absolutely best guides that we have ever had. He was very helpful, kind, positive, was always smiling, a genuine, not spoiled, not corrupted, really good person, very intelligent and knowledgeable. A lot of info on the local life, traditions, nature, flora and fauna.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I can recommend this trip, but please, be aware that this trip requires you to spend a lot of time in a bus, from one upt to 3 days in a row.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The places visited and acitivies included in the tour were all very interesting and worse doing.You will absolutely for sure see Lemurs during the trip! For that reason I also advice to visit Lemurs' park close to Tana, which is a great! ZOO in Tana is poor and makes you sad, I would not recommend going there if you have limited time.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    A great introduction to South East Asia, packed with sights,and sounds, and experiences. Well organised, and a real insight into this fascinating part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it's a tie between Hoi An, a world heritage site, and Angkor wat and all it's temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Different leaders in all 4 countries so:Thailand--goodLaos---competent,no moreVietnam--above average Cambodia---excellent,the best of the trip 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont take too many clothes, they are so cheap to buy, and laundry can be done cheaply anywhere. Be prepared to rough it on some of the coach trips;long journeys on poor roads.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Two things would have improved the trip. First, lunch should ahve made available on the mekong boat trip in Laos on day 1,as it was on day 2. We were left to buy a sandwich..other tours had lunch provided.Second, more information should have been given to us as to what was needed to get our Cambodian visas at the land border. We were left in the dark, and had to queue twice as no on told us there were two offices to negotiate.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    The perfect holiday to learn about Egypt, its history, religions, politics and, of course, to witness the staggering achievements of the Pharoahs in building their temples and pyramids so many thousands of years ago. The tour was conducted at a leisurely pace and had many early departures, but the latter helped to beat the crowds and the heat of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty of the temples far surpassed our expectations, even outdoing the staggering achievements of building the pyramids.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed Mansour was without a doubt the best tour leader we've ever had.  Nothing was too much trouble, his knowledge was inexhaustible, he led the tour with authority and calmness and became a true friend of everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Buy your currency in Egypt where the exchange rate is far superior than can be obtained in the UK and also take some US Dollars with you as the trips are priced in this currency.2. Either buy food and drink in advance of the night train to/from Aswan or order the vegetarian meal. The meat served up for dinner is inedible and far worse than you can imagine! I do not exaggerate!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is the perfect way to experience the sights, sounds and smells of Egypt. The monuments are truly awesome and with a tour guide like the one who led our trip you'll want for nothing. The various trips are not cheap, but they are worth paying for. Make sure you take the dawn hot air balloon flight in the area around the Valley of the Kings - a magical start to the day.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & BEACHES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

    Just the most amazing trip - full of highlights I am not sure quite where to start!  Really great way to see the variety that Africa offers - game, beaches, beautiful scenary etc.  And amazing to see Zimbabwe and learn so much more about this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing and learning so much about Zimbabwe - amazing country which has so much to offer, so much to see.Our guide, driver and cook were marvellous and were so inspirational.  They did so much for us and went out of their way to make the holiday so special.  Thank you JB, Crispin and Kingston...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, knowledgeable, caring and flexible.  Nothing was too much trouble...Our driver (JB) was fantastic - and took so much care of us.  Kingston was the most inspirational cook - couldn't quite believe you could cook such amazing food on a campfire.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much luggage - pack light!Remember a head torch - essential...Get your Mozambique visa in advance... 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just the most amazing holiday.  Well worth it, I couldn't recommend the trip more and the countries you get to visit...Moz and Zim in particular. 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    November is a lovely time off year to visit but too cold for swimming. A lot is packed in, more a  sight seeing taster than an in depth tour, leaving you wanting to explore places in more detail. Hotel staff were excellent with very good catering.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching 2 young girls dance flamenco for us at the end of the week.Visiting the palace in Seville.Experiencing Spanish trains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader gave us a quiz, which roused our competitive spirit, arranged a kitty to facillitate lunches and drinkks when out and about and was very congenial.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a million english books on the hotel shelf to read and plenty of time to read them if you wish. A relaxing holiday with a bit of history and lots of exploring in your own way.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    Good cycling, good weather and good food. An excellent trip, well run and well worth doing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many good moments rather than one particular, from seeing another welcome stop for drinks and very tasty nibbles, the amazing old sites, the elephants and the way the kilometres rolled by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unflappable, well organised and able to handle the varied demands of a large group without a fuss,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle or a gel saddle cover as there are a lot of miles covered if you are not used to it.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    A great trip covering the cultural, historical and landscape highlights of beautiful Sri Lanka

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip was very varied covering the main cultural, historical and landscape highlights of this beautiful country.  My particular favourtites were a cycle trip through local villages culminating in a fabulous lunch cooked by locals and served al fresco on large palm leaves, yummy!  Another highlight was a wonderful walk on Horton Plains followed by a great train ride down a 6000ft descent; fabulous scenery.  The trip to the elephant orphange was another highlight; around 50 elephants withing touching distance parading down to bathe in the river was a sight to behold.  Two days of relaxing on the beach at the end of the trip was perfectly placed and the perfect opportunity to get my longed for camera shots of the local fisherman suspended on poles in the sea collecting their catch of the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very knowledgable and experienced; this being his 171st exodus trip!  He had honed his skills at providing a good combination of knowledge/guidance with enough opportunities for personal day dreaming, contemplation and reflection as we rolled along on our journey.  Admiration for his ability to stay so fresh and enthusiastic after 171 trips :-)  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Best to change most of your money at the airport as they give the best rates.  Deet 50% keeps the mosies away - only got two bites the whole trip! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only part of the trip which was a little disappointing was the amount of buffet meals we ate in hotels! Buffet is BIG in Sri Lanka and it s a little overpowering to have so many buffet meals. I would have liked more opportunities to take meals in local restaurants, although I appreciate that with some of our hotel locations this option was not always easily available.   Overall, it was a fantastic trip with a great group of people.  Happy Days!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    This trip was everything I expected and more. I had the time of my life and would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience the sites and sounds of ancient Egypt whilst enjoying the leisurely cruise down the Nile and stepping back in time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where do I start! There was so much of the wow factor it's hard to decide what the highlights were. I guess seeing Tutenkhamun's treasure in Cairo museum was special moment for me. The sunrise hot air balloon flight in Luxor was fantastic and I would recommend doing that if you get the opportunity. The temple at Abu Simbel is a must to see even though it's over a 3 hour bus trip to get to it it's well worth it when you get there. The cruise ship is comfortable and a great place to sit and relax on the sun deck and watch the world go by, perfect at the end of a busy day visiting the temples and bazaar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was the best! He was so knowledgeable and brought ancient Egypt alive for us. He had a great sense of humour as well and kept us entertained throughout the trip. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made sure we always had the best possible experience at each of the places we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The overnight train from Cairo to Luxor is pretty basic and the food is not that good so try and take some extra snacks to have instead and don't expect to get much sleep as the train is pretty rickety!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dont be put off by the political situation in Egypt, this is a great time to travel to Egypt, there are very few tourists so there's no queuing to get into the tombs or temples. if you love Egyptian history this is the trip to go on, it is extremely well organised and you feel safe in the more than capable hands of your local tour leader.