Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    JOHANNESBURG TO CAPE TOWN

    Fantastic trip with such a variety of experiences - a great way to visit the 4 countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mozambique , and in particular the village visit in Bilene and the early morning walk on the beach to see the fishing.The lions in KrugerWalking in DrakensbergLesotho - the pony trek was amazingThe great campsites especially in Hlane NP and BileneLanga township tour, Cape Town        

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob and Sifiso were great guides and ensured we got the most out of the trip. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere they created due to their hard work, patience and good humour. We always had plenty of good food and were given lots of information along the way about the places we passed through or visited.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave your watch at home and relax! There are some long driving days but enjoy them as the scenery is fantastic and there are regular stops. The campsites and lodges you arrive at are in great places. You can lighten your bag in Malealea Lodge,Lesotho as the Trust will distribute any clothing etc left there. They were asking for toiletries etc for young girls when we were there, as well as the items mentioned in other reviews.     

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and my first visit to Africa. I will definitely be doing another one !!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Braccicorti was a lovely place to stay with a warm welcome from the family; Sara, our leader, was fantastically supportive, encouraging and full of information about the area, the locals and the way of life; fantastic walking in wonderful mountain and hill country and a great group who gelled well together.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Working together so that one of the older members of our group was able to make it all the way to the top of Monte Sumbra.Our specially drawn map for our 'day off' walk - navigating by the number of dogs at each house!Enjoying our last evening together barn dancing to the Eagles!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara looked after us from start to finish - taking care that we got the meals we wanted including going out and buying soya milk for us; making sure that we had the right equipment and those new to walking poles knew how to use them; keeping us topped up with biscuits, sweets and encouragement; letting us walk at our own pace but giving us clear instructions on routes and where to regroup; looking after the slower and less confident members of the group; giving us information about the area and the local way of life; making sure that our itinerary fitted best with the weather; ensuring that we were all sorted out for different activies and venues on our day off; making sure we got back safely from our evening out; selecting great walks within all our capabilities; making sure we had a good time.Thank you, Sara - you are a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These walks are well within the capabilities of any one who is moderately fit. However, if you live more or less at sealevel, as we do you, may find the first walk up into the mountains takes your breathe away - physically as well as the stunning views!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and enjoy yourself in safe and caring hands.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    Amazing experience! Great balance between walking and wildlife and a really diverse trip, you feel like you are seeing a lot of the country without being rushed. Scenery is stunning and perfect for walking. Campsites are fantastic, food amazing. Really lovely, well paced and interesting trip with fantastic opportunity to spot the big 5!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting Cheetha close up on foot and seeing a kill..fantastic moment! The Drakensberg mountains were stunning, loved the two walks there.Whole camping experience, beers around the fire, everyone swapping wildlife photos, great atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Bongani and Shawn were excellent leaders, they really went the extra mile and worked very hard to make the trip run like clockwork and it did. Both have a great sense of humour and made it fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would reccomend doing all of the optional game drives. You never know what you might see. We were really lucky to see so many animals up close.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just make the most of it. This is one off experience you'll never forget.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    A lot of this vast impressive country is packed into the 19 days on the ground. As an overview of the country visiting many of the main sites with smaller ones besides I think Exodus and Dragon our excellent leader have achieved their aims .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most people cannot pick just one.The Obvious :-  Beijing and the Forbidden City- Great Wall- Xi'an- Terracotta Warriors and museum- Pandas ( not forgetting the Red Pandas too )- Yangtse - Mt Emei- Karst country- Tongli-  Shanghai Bund  Less Obvious :- Cycling the 13.7 km of the Xi'an city walls and looking down on a school choir giving a concert in the playgound- Cycling into the country at Yangshuo and the farmer's wife cooking us lunch- Being approached by students in Yangshuo to practise their English - Eating Sichuan hotpot in a local restaurant where we were the only westerners and the object of much curiosity- 'Calvin Klein'  the vendor in Yangshuo ( only the 8th Oct group will get this one ! )- just meeting the locals with a smile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was one of the best leaders I have encountered in years of travelling. I think he read history at University and he was passionate about the history of his country past and present . He was so informative about life in China nowadays and during the lifetime of his parents under Mao, that his stories and anecdotes made the trip for me.  I was speaking to an English couple on the boat who were with a large mainstream UK operator and were getting none of this.They were quite envious of our relationship with Dragon.He was endlessly patient, ever helpful ,well organized and above all a thoroughly nice person .   We wish him well for his forthcoming wedding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dragon's informative handout at the start of the trip told us to embrace '' T I C ''THIS IS CHINA  ie  ignore the pushing in, the smoking,  the spitting, the crazy traffic , car horns,  some of the toilets etc  etc.    After all this is only 3 weeks out of your life to enjoy a wonderful country so just remember TIC .If you want 5 star luxury, can't embrace TIC and go with the flow, then this trip is not for you.Pack lightly because there are many occasions when you have to carry your bag up stairs and through crowded stations. There is also limited space for the more corpulent cases under the bunks on the trains.You may wish to bring a light sleeping bag liner and pillow case for the third and oldest sleeper train . . . although if you remember TIC, it was fun and part of the experience. Dont forget your pot noodles as all trains come with hot water boilers.The suggested £400 spend is light. I spent around £550/600 but I suppose it does depend on how much beer you drink.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a memorable time and would happily visit China again if Exodus want to sponsor me as Devon's Ambassador to China.Only regret . . . . I didn't buy a Chairman Mao watch at a knock-down £3  from Calvin ! ! 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    A wonderful holiday, saw so much and helped so much by having a great guide in Juan, his enthusiasm and knowledge was second to none, already planning another holiday with Exodus, true professionals in every sense.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably Machu Picchu and the homestay island, truly magical experiences, but all the other sights and sounds of Peru were excellant, hope to return one day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was absoluty brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepred for a non stop adventure, too many highlights to mention, a feel for the country is guaranteed

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Busy saving for another visit to South America next year, with Exodus of course!!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    A fantastic trip travelling through a beautiful part of the Alps, one of the classic mountain routes. The tour was very well organised - the camping, food both in camp and at resturants, the walks and the company were all great. We even had amazing weather for just about the whole trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments during the trip a few of the inspirational/memorable moments: The high point of our trip for the whole group - Tete Nord des Four (2665m). As the weather was good the whole group completed an optional detor to this peak and were rewarded by a fantastic 360 degree panorama of the Alps including Mont Blanc & the Matterhorn. The celebrations in the group photo say it all. The view from our tents at the Campsite in Les Bosson, Chamonix - in particular waking up early on the final day to Mont Blanc & Aiguille de Midi silluetted by the early morning sun rising behind them and lighting up the clouds above the mountains. Getting to see the leaders in the Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc at the checkpoint at the Refuge Bonatti and seeing many more of the competitors later in the day on our way to Courmayeur. On the second rest day walking the ridge above les Contamines (Mont Joly to Aiguille Croche) after enjoying a fantastic breakfast in a cafe in the village. The views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding area were fantastic and I had the ridge to myself for most of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham our leader was fantastic - he worked increadbly hard to ensure that everyone in the group had a fantastic holiday regardless of their fitness level/ability. For myself his optional extensions and challenges ensured I wasn't sitting around and got some good challenges. The extra extensions to peaks near the route gave even better views and gave the group time to regroup. Graham's knowledge of the area was very good and his leadership skills ensured everyone had a great trip. For the rest days he had some great suggestions for everyone - from visiting the Decathlon R&D centre for a gentle day to an easy Via Ferrata for those of us that wanted a challenge. For me personally these extras really made the trip, including letting myself and two others sign-out of the trip to complete the more challenging Arpette route on Day 3 by ourselves. Chris our Cook, Transport & Campsite co-ordinator was also fantastic - his cooking skills were legendary and his/Graham's choice of resturants for the nights out were brilliant. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it this is one of the classics in the Alps and the Exodus trip is very well organised. Fitness - get as fit as you can before the trip - the days are quite challenging and that extra fitness really helps you to enjoy the amazing land you are travelling through. The extra walks/peaks I was able to do due to my fitness level really made the trip for me. Camping vs. Hotel - if you are trying to decide go for the camping - you get a much better sense of travelling around the tour; most of the campsites are fantastic and the food you get is amazing both in camp and at the resturants. We did have good weather on the main - though a lot of the sites had good shelters for eating/sheltering from the rain. Weather - Thunderstorms are common in the evenings/ovenight and it can get very cold overnight so be prepared for that. Don't leave your towel on top of the tent on a cold night to dry as folding it in the morning becomes a challenge. Equipment - Good boots and walking poles are a must, if it is hot a hydration bladder is also useful, though there are plenty of refuges along the way for beer/coffee/hot chocolate and if you go in August lots of Murtle Tarts to be eaten.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most of the campsites on the trip are great, there is one exception which is the first night in Switzerland at Trient, this is a basic camp between a road and a cement works, this is the one mentioned in previous reviews. In our case we had a thunderstorm shortly after arriving so the campfire was out, we did make good use of the wooden pagoda for dinner to shelter from the rain. It is great to see Exodus responding to the comments however I am puzzled by them; there is one if not two alternatives to this campsite in the area that could be used. The Hotel version of this trip uses a Hotel at Col de Forclaz about 20-30 mins up the valley - this Hotel has a campsite if this was used it would also give the two trips a chance to meet and socialise, something we didn't do much of until the second basic camp where we had dinner in their hotel. The second option is at the other end of the village at the La Peuty end, there seems to be another basic site that could be an option and that is away from the main road and cement works.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We carefully pick the campsites we use on this trek working with a combination of factors, location, facilities and flexibitlity. The campsite at Trient, although perhaps a little more basic, has been chosen as it is the most suitable on this occasion, with a good area for pitching tents and great wooden pagoda for eating dinner under. There is only one other alternative campsite in the area mentioned and this is at the hotel. We have decided against using this as it is small and we cannot always guarantee getting a large enough area for our groups, also it is windy (as it is on a col) and this can cause difficulties with the mess tent. We appreciate the feedback given and have hopefully answered any concerns. As you can see from all the reviews it truly is an iconic trek and one not to be missed!

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    Fantastic holiday, this was the first Exodus holiday that I've been on and I'll certainly be booking another.  The group I was with were really good, the trip into the Jungle was an unforgetable experience and the scenery on the Inca trail was amazing (the people from the group I've spoken to back here have all commented they wish they were back out there)!  The trip was also really well organised, we didn't have to worry about sorting anything out.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have two really, one was climbing the steps and walking through the Sungate & seeing Machu Picchu, the other was seeing the sunset on the 3rd night camping - that campsite is at about 3700m right at the clould level, watching the clouds drift in and out revealling some amazing scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Fabrizzio was really good, well organized, looked after us and knew his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear some of your walking kit on the plane (I will for my next trip) and possibly with a change of underwear in your carry on luggage.  It didn't happen to me but a few of the folks in my group had their luggage go missing on the way to Peru, Exodus were very good at arranging for it to catch up but they were still without it for a day or two. Don't forget to take some euros to buy snacks if your going via a European airport (I forgot)!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF PETRA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday, it was a memorable experience for both adults and children. It was our first Exodus holiday and we immediately ordered a brochure to plan our next trip on our return. Jordan was a fantastic place to visit with a stunning scenery and very friendly people. I would thoroughly recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many highlights during this action packed week - Petra, the Dead sea, snorkelling in Aqaba. However we all enjoyed the day and night in Wadi Rum the most. Our guide suggested paying extra to have an extended jeep excursion which was good advice. All the children and many adults slept under the stars - an amazing experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danny our guide was fantastic. He was enthusiastic, extremely knowledgeable and great with the children. He was full of fascinating information about his country and the Jordanian way of life. His advice regarding restaurants and additional extras was always sound.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If flying separately from the group it might be worth organising your visa before travelling. We had to queue for almost an hour on arrival which was not ideal after a long overnight flight. It was cool in the evenings and we needed jumpers. A couple of medium sized back packs were very handy for the coach. Some of the coach journeys were several hours long and it may be worth taking something to keep children entertained. There is a DVD player on the coach.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    A great experience and an overall insight to Egyptian history. This trip is fairly educational with the right amount of relaxation and top notch comfort thrown in. A very relaxing holiday will be had with enought information to absorb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Despite the temples, tomb and pyramids being must see tourist items to see and experience it was still amazing to be in the place where ancient history was created and recorded.  Physically being present at the sights made it more special than seeing these attractions on tv or reading about them in a book. Anyone who has been to the Taj Mahal in Agra, India will know what I mean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader showed us his obvious love of Egyptian history and his quest to always find out more. I even bet that he keeps his finger on the pulse on all the current excavation projects that are happening in Egypt and he will be one of the first to know when new discoveries are being made.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that even though this trip is quite educational, it will all be a bit confusing at first and hard to keep up with all the past rulers of Egypt, however, the leader repeats his stories in a different way and will always point out information given the previous day so that we remember what was being said. This trip is very relaxing with practically no exercise whatsoever, ie transport is provided everywhere and there is ample of  opportunity to veg out by hotel/sun deck pools. If you wish to be more active than this, you will need to seek exercise out for yourself but keep safe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be safe with the water consumption, ie use bottled water for everything except shower or bath at first. Salads are safe to eat after you have aclimatised in a few days. Be prepared for exorbatent prices in the hotel bars and on the cruise boat and be aware that air conditioning will always be on full blast
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A great introduction to India - but exhausting.  This is a non stop tour full of incredible sights and wonderful experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on the Ganges in a small rowing boat watching the evening funeral rites was truly memorable experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Avtar went the extra mile to ensure everyone enjoyed their holiday.  His knowledge of customs, religions, history of places and people was exceptional. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of travelling, especially the late arrivals of the trains -explained as running on Indian time. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommend arriving a day or two earlier.  Its a long journey to Jaipur, especially after the long overnight flight from London.
Call us on 0208 772 3936