Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    A most enjoyable holiday with lots of exercise and tremendous views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day that the clouds cleared and you could see the mountain views. On one of the rest days I took the cable car up from Italy and accross to France. This is fairly expensive but well worth it for the fantastic scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent, very organized and thorough in briefings and leading. Also our driver transporting our stuff from campsite to campsite was excellent, her cooking and meals were brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit and used to walking for long days up and down steep terrain. If you are not a regular camper then don't be put off by the camping part of the trip - it is very well organized and fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think grade of trip should be challenging and not moderate/challenging
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    This was a great walking holiday in a very scenic part of the world!  The hotel was superb providing friendly service and excellent food!  The length and challenge of the walks was just right for me and there was always time to relax at the end before heading back to the hotel.  A great group also!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments just to relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was a great leader - always making sure everyone was relaxed and having a great time!  He kept the pace of the walks suitable for everyone and dealt with any queries that we had!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I didn't take walking poles as had never used them before but found a spare one in the hotel which I tried.  It was really useful and I'd probably use one again!  Just make sure you buy a decent make as they seem prone to breaking quite easily!  On my free day I went to visit Ravello which was well worth it!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    Great mountainous scenery, lots of wild flowers, very interesting and varied walks and a good choice of hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Firstly, the amazing views of the Mont Blanc Massif throughout the 10 days of walking. The mountainous views were always very stunning, including a number of glaciers viewed on the trek, which were great.Secondly, when I went in the first two weeks of July, the wild flowers were incredible ! I can safely say that I have never seen so many varieties of wild flowers. This has made me a wild flower enthusiast !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was a very good leader. He was very patient and friendly, and very knowledgeable about the Alps.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found the first two days of the walking a bit tough. This was because I had hardly done any preparation at home for the mountainous walks. I would definitely recommend doing some hill walking practice before the trip.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was very nice staying in three different countries on this trip (France, Switzerland and Italy), because the hotels were all uniquely different, and they were of a good standard. All the hotel staff were very friendly.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    Two weeks taking in in the best Egypt has to offer makes this a good choice to see most ancient monuments and temples.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids of Giza for the first time but also admiring the beautiful colour decorations at Abydos. But then, Abbu Simbel and Edfu are beautiful and spectalur too and so are teh Valley of teh Kings tombs or the temple at Philae. The whole trip was a never ending 'Wow!'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayeed was pleasant and knowledgeable. The visits were always divided between a tour by Sayeed and personal time to look at the sights more in details. He was happy to organise things in the evening or leave us be if that's what we wanted. He gave us lots of background about life in modern Egypt and also intervene on our behalf once when we were clearly getting ripped off by a stamps reseller.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a visit-heavy tour but with plenty of time to relax too. Sometimes I felt that I was a bit rushed at certain sites but then others in our small groups thought they had plenty of time. It's a matter of balance. Do take the excursion to Dendara and Abydos temples, they are superb and both quite different from others we've seen.Also this is called Egyptology, you will not see everything mentioned in the guide books for a particular site (Sakkara for instance does not include visiting the Mastaba of Ti or the visit to the Great Mosque only includes that and no other buildings on that site) due to lack of time so you have to be happy with that.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The last day was a bit of a let down. The pyramids at Dashour & Fayoum are worth seeing but the trip to the lake and Fayoum town is a total waste of time.Take the hassling in your stride, it is annoying in Aswan & Luxor in particular but you just have to keep walking and give a firm 'no'.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    This would be hard to beat for a start point of activity holidays for families with younger children. Comparatively easy to get to, fairly low intensity exercise and European standard camp sites make for an out door experience without going too far from your comfort zone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     All of the activity days were fantastic and pushed us out to enjoy the area in a way that would have been easy to miss if it had been an option within an ordinary family holiday. The Dordogne is renown for the Chateau and the river canoe trips take you past severally truely beautiful scenes. The steady down stream pace allowed for plenty of time for taking in the scenery as well as horse play and swimming in the river. The walks were the toughest for the children as it was very hot on both days. That said everyone made it including our 7 year old and still had the energy to do something with the rest of the day. For adults the walks are strolls and the pace was not hard with plenty of breaks for littler/unfitter legs to catch up.The cycling was a really fun day and a tandam was found so that even the youngest could participate. The route is gentle for most people as the bikes have good gears for the few climbing bits of the route but beware the tandam as it has v. v. basic gears and you can't count on little ones to pedal!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was an excellant leader throughout the trip, making everyone feel involved, answering questions and ironing out any little issues quickly without fuss. He was "on duty" for the whole holiday and helped the group to bond and explained in detail all the activities and options as they arose throughout the week. You could not wish for a more helpful organiser.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Due to engineering work by SNCF none of our group travelled down by train. You don't need a car for the trip but it is useful if you want to explore the area on your one "rest" day. If you do drive research your route and try to pick one that avoids Paris or gets you past really early in the morning. (we hit traffic that delayed us for 1.5hrs both ways). In total from the Channel tunnel to the camp site, round Paris, it is a 8 - 9 hour drive with about 60€ of tolls.Don't over pack! this is camping and the whole week is really casual.We have a vegetarian in the family and the French clearly don't believe in non-meat menu's. We struggled to find alternatives to pizza and cheese omelettes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't imagine a lovelier location (especailly the second site) and a more enjoyable break for a start to activity holidays. It's safe, not too challenging while pushing you to experience things that you would miss if you didn't have the group. There were 4 families in total on our trip and as much to them as to Exodus I have to say thank you for a great holiday.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    This was the second time that I have travelled to Spitzbergen and it was thoroughly worth the return journey; we had amazing polar bear sightings and a first class expedition team.  I will definitely be returning!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The number and quality of polar bear sightings made the whole trip an incredible experience, but for me the real highlight was being lucky enough to experience a polar bear walking over an iceberg at close proximity; it was an unforgettable moment and one that I will treasure for a long time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Quite simply, you couldn't ask for a better team than Woody and Paul.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with a flexible approach and a spirit of adventure and you will have a brilliant time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Stop thinking about whether or not to do the trip and go ahead and book it!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    Brilliant trip, with a well thought out intinerary and it exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending a morning in the Lamar Valley seeing more wildlife in a couple of hours than I imagined I would see all trip, including a Wolf.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Parker and Ryan are great guides. They are laid back and really wanted us to get the most from the trip, changing the itinerary to suit where needed. The meals they cooked for us were fantastic too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you pack your binoculars
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    As usual Paul Goldstein delivers...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The constant frenzy of photographers running about the deck-  it seemed like there was alway room for everyone on the deck and always something to shoot. Nearly everyone was up at midnight shooting a polar bear that came up near the ship and of course the midnight sun was shining bright.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody is fantastic - although always safety minded, he always creates a fun trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Vavilov is a great ship no matter where you go. If you book a trip with Paul- your pictures will get better.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    This was a great trip, and covered a huge number of inspirational locations.  Plus the wildlife was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a golden eagle swoop down to take a muskrat out of the river in Yellowstone Park.  And I understand now why Montana is known and the land of the big sky.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two leaders, Parker and Ryan, contributed a huge amount to the trip, through their knowledge and humour.  Plus the camp food was exceptional.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous
    This was our first trekking holiday and what a great way to start!We enjoyed every aspect from the friendly hotel and staff,inspirational leader,scenery and wonderful food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the rim of Versuvius,walking in a nature reserve with the sun shining on a wall of mosses and cascading water and visiting the gardens of Villa Rufolo in Ravello with Dire Straits music as a background!(They were testing the sound equipment for a concert that evening) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert made our holiday!He was enthusiastic and clearly enjoyed his job.He had excellent people skills and good local knowledge.He seemed to know everyone and everything!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We found good walking boots and walking poles essential.Remember that the weather in July can be rather hot!  
Call us on 0208 772 3936