Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    A very enjoyable trip which was well organised and provided a great opportunity to experience much of what Jordan has to offer in a short space of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was so much that I really enjoyed about this trip that it is hard to think of one moment.... The best thing about this trip was that you get to experience so much in just over one week. There is the cycling, a bit of culture and history, hiking in Petra, the camp in Wadi Rum, floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, experiencing a Turkish bath..... a really good trip if you want to see as much of Jordan as possible and only have a week to spare.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Zuhair, was very enthusiastic, knowledgable and full of weird and wonderful stories. He also provided much entertainment showing off his Arabic dance moves at lunch stops. Very good fun but also took his job seriously at the same time, ie if there was a problem he would do his best to solve it for you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There was not as much cycling as I had expected, ie. there were four days where you only cycle for a couple of hours (and the cycling is pretty easy with just a couple of hills) and only one 'proper' day's cycling.    There are a few climbs and one fairly steep descent on a rough road, but nothing that would challenge an experienced cyclist.   This was not a massive problem for me personally as my motivation for booking this trip was to explore Jordan and the cycling was more of an added bonus, and there are plenty of other activities as well as the cycling.  However anyone who's priority is to do lots of cycling might be a bit disappointed - for example in Petra you spend much more time hiking than cycling.  If you are going as a couple make sure you specify if you want double beds - the couples in our group only got a double bed for one of the eight nights and twin beds the rest of the time.  It is cold in November, take lots of layers and definitely take a sleeping bag for the Wadi Rum camp. Take a torch as well!  
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS

    A fantastic trek in a great country. The mountains are breathtaking and the scenery is amazing. The people of Nepal are so friendly. Khatmandu is an experience. Can't wait to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The awe inspiring Himalaya. The Sherpa people's way of life. Not seeing any cars for 8 days, bliss. Our oldest group member Les Weis, hope i'm still trekking at 80.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prasant was brilliant. He took care of us like we were his children. He always made sure we were all ok, from organising our meal orders to strapping up a group members twisted ankle. We returned to our lodge after our end of trek night out at the Irish bar in Lukla, to find Prasant pacing the hall ways worrying that everone would not get in on time before the doors were locked, bless him. His knowledge of the area is very good. On our last night in Khatmandu at the Rum Doodle he had everyone dancing. Prasant and his team were a joy to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all kinds of weather you never know what it will do. It was a lot warmer at the beginning of October than we expected.Take ear plugs, the walls in the lodges are very thin. For those of you who pick up a cold, tissues and strepsils are sold in all the little shops on trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't worry if your veggie, there's plenty of choice on the menus. I had something different most nights.The western loo is becoming more easy to find, we had one in every lodge we stayed in.  
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Having not done a holiday like this before I didn't know what to expect but it surpassed all my expectations, every day brought the most amazing experiences or stunning landscape - it was truly spectacular!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are way too many to name just one inspirational moment - standing on top of Sigiriya Rock, watching and feeding the elephants at the elephant orphanage, The World's End at Horton Planes, the train ride to Banadarawela, the stunning tea plantation landscape and the wonders of Yala National Park name just a few of the amazing moments we experienced on this fantastic holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was excellent, organised, easy going, knowledgeable and friendly - the perfect tour leader and a leader that got no end of compliments from the seasoned group travellers from within the group!  An excellent tour leader who helped make the holiday what it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good walking shoes, plenty of shorts for the walking portions of the holidays (though for the temples you need to cover your shoulders and your knees).  Ladies you may want to take a dress and chaps may want to pop a jacket into the mix for one of the evening meals (I'm not sure that the accommodation is the same all of the time but you may just need it). Take plenty of deet bug spray and lots of memory cards for your cameras.  Beware of local animals - especially at the hotel on the South Coast - don't leave items un attended on sun beds or put put items of clothing out to dry on the ground floor terraces as you may find the animals take a liking to them and you won't see them again (I lost my walking shoes!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an absolutely stunningly, amazingly, spectacular trip and has totally given me the travel bug.  I can't wait to head off again and see more of the world.  The island of Sri Lanka is beautiful in every way, the group I travelled with and the tour leader made every moment special, the food and the accommodation were great.  Once you arrive you'll not want to leave.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE SILK ROAD

    Exciting trip, enjoyed the rail and bus travel, with the local people, through spectacular scenery, the desert cities, especially Kashgar, where there is a terrific buzz. Would have liked more time in Kashgar, actually.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip, which I suggested, along the Karakoram Highway, to Lake Karakul. To see the lake and the snow-covered mountains was like a dream come true. Of the planned trip, the Crescent Lake in Dunhuang was wonderful, as were the sand-dunes. The animal market in Kashgar..... the wall at Jaiyuguan, with the snow-covered mountains in the distance....making contact with local people, especially in Xinjiang...saying "Salaam aleikum"....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were very knowledgeable, and really wanted us to have a great trip in their country. However,  it was a difficult group to lead, as there were tensions between some group members, which was obviously hard for the leaders to deal with.The leader we met, for the final evening, when we arrived back in Beijing, should have been given a lot more information about us and our flights, times, transfers, terminals etc. He knew absolutely nothing, and this led to some real anxieties and more tension! It was really quite shambolic! Although all ended well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO FOR IT! Bring your own mug, teabags, coffee for train journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do the whole thing again tomorrow! But with a harmonious group! Some people, however, were disappointed that they could not visit Tienanmen Square, as it was closed for a bike-race. The leader should have  known this , and made alternative arrangements for this visit. Some of the optional tours we found too expensive. For example, a visit to the Beijing Opera for the two of us, almost £60, was excessive, as was the visit to a village, with lunch, which set us back £50. We felt that the optional day-time trips were very good, but  should have been included in the itinerary. And why were all the toilets at the yurt camp at Heavenly Lake, locked??
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    First time travelling with Exodus....certainly will not be the last!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being woken up at 4.45am one morning in the cold with a cup of tea from the porters.  We were above the clouds and got up to watch the sunrise over snow capped mountains with a blanket of cloud below us.  Dont see that every day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not have asked for a better guide.  Juan Manuel Diaz was lively, funny and chock full of information both local and about Inca civilization. There was nothing we asked he did not have an answer for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was the first time I have been camping.  Personally did not get on with a 'mummy' sleeping bag, friends insist on them but I found it claustrophobic and cramped.  Other than that had a whale of a time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trek, had a great group with 9 other trekkers, 2 of them were friends that travelled with me but by the end of it we were all friends anyway.  The sight of Maccu Picchu when we walked through the sungate was astounding, after a 4 day trek we had made it!!  Also we were very lucky with the weather, I think we had only about 2 hours of rain in total.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    Sometimes it's not the destination, but the journey.  So many views, so many memories. Take lots of pictures, because when you look back on them, you'll smile.  It makes me want to try out the other Treks now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Sun Gate and seeing Machu Picchu.  It's a lot bigger than the photos suggest and you realise the enormity of effort that was required to build the place.The Cloud Forest... the Inca Tunnel... Dead Woman's Pass... Waking up at 3.6km high and (as we were the only campers) having Phuyapatamarca to ourselves!  The list goes on...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio was friendly, informative and sooo laid back that he put everyone at their ease.  Ricardo was really helpful and had an infectious enthusiasm for the flora and fauna that seemed to rub off on the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring playing cards or a book, as there's nothing to do after dinner!  We ended up going to bed at 9pm, as there's not a lot to do on the mountain in the dark.Bring plenty of waterproof bags to seal in dirty laundry when you pack them in the duffle bag.Walking poles are optional, but I brought some for the first time and I think they helped me immensely.  I'd certainly be a lot more tired had I not used them.Take spare camera batteries (I took 3),  You'll regret it when it comes to the moment when you want to take pictures... and you can't! You won't get a chance to recharge batteries until the 4th night of the Trek.If you're thinking of buying a sleeping bag for the trip and are not sure when you'd next use it, I'd recommend hiring one from Exodus (currently £25, including liner).  I never felt cold in them and didn't have to worry about packing them for the rest of the trip.Don't go mad and buy souvenirs on the first day.  You'll probably find them cheaper elsewhere, or wait until you come back to Cusco and buy them on the last day.Take a swimming costume if you want to go to the 'hot springs' in Aguas Calientes on the last night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on the Trail was fantastic, given the circumstances.  Top marks to the cook for his inventiveness!The porters on the trip are like supermen.  How they do it is mind-boggling.  They earn every penny of their pay (and tips)!Once you get to the Sun Gate, you sadly realise that the trek is nearly over.  Once you're actually in Machu Picchu, you realise you're mixing with tourists who took the train/coach to the place and the special moment feels lost and very commercial!  Top marks to Exodus for scheduling the dawn approach.The train journey from Aguas Calientes back to Cusco has to be taken to be believed.  It was such fun.  Try sipping your drink without spilling it!We also did the Lake Titicaca and Amazon Rainforest trip:I found the Lake Titicaca experience a bit of a disappointment, as you're only on the lake for one morning of the entire trip and of the 2 floating islands we visited that morning, the 2nd was just a market (and nothing else).  The whole 'floating island' experience felt very commercial and somewhat fake.The Amazon Rainforest trip though is thoroughly recommended!  The Night excursions were brilliant and the trek into the forest a great experience.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    Overall I thought this was an excellent holiday with good walking and views, excellent huts and food, a good group and a first-class leader.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was Day 5 in the heart of the Tatras: varied and challenging walking as well as great views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader did an excellent job.  Theresa is very knowledgeable about the area and she engaged well with all members of the party and was good fun to be with.    

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ruthless about the amount and weight you are carrying.  You can leave stuff at Zakopane and really because you are walking from hut to hut you do not need much.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The arrangements in the hotel in Krakow were not brilliant though I enjoyed the city itself greatly.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP & GOKYO LAKES

    Truely the hardest but the most amazing trip I've ever done...the wonderful memories will stay with me forever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but to list a few....the amazing flight from Kathmandu to Lukla and seeing the Himalayas above the clouds at sunrise; my first view of amazing Everest; trekking past the beautiful Gokyo lakes during snowfall; reaching the summit of Gokyo Ri with amazing Himalayan views (so tough but so worth it); meeting successful Everest summitters, a real honour; the wonderful snapshots of Himalayan life along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    10/10! Lhakpa was attentive, informative, caring and supportive, a fantastic team leader. Him and our other guides, Kaji, Kami and Nima, were all wonderful and all brought different strengths to the group.They worked together as a fantastic team to allow us all to achieve our dreams and goals, always friendly, kind and optimistic along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    First of all, if you are reading these reviews wondering if you should book this trip then...yes! Do it! Now! And, definitely, if you can, book the Gokyo lakes trip as opposed to basic base camp as the lakes are stunning and you get to see more of this wonderful region. If you are comparing Exodus to other companies then all I can say is I could not fault them, would heartily recommend them to friends and definitely book with them again. I was pleased I stayed in teahouses as opposed to camping and it was good that we were able to choose our meals as opposed to getting set meals cooked for us. The sleeping bag I hired through Exodus was fab and I wasn't at all cold at night (and I really feel the cold)...I had the sleeping bag, a silk liner and also a metal water bottle which I could get filled with boiling water every night and put in a sock to act as a brilliant hot water bottle. It is really worth taking a camelbak/platypus for easy hydration on the go.  I would recommend Icebreaker (or other merino wool) thermal baselayers to keep you toasty warm and to take multiple base layers as well as a good fleece and down jacket as the temperatures vary a lot. Take a good thin pair of liner gloves so you don't need to have bare hands and don't have to take your gloves off every time to do something. Take lots of hand gel and over-use it, we all did and none of us got tummy bugs. People who had UK mobiles found they worked better than those who had Nepalese sims and we got reception some of the time when trekking so we could call and text home, even at base camp! Be aware of the weight restrictions for the Lukla flight - 12kg for hold luggage and 3kg for hand luggage so weigh and prioritise before you go (and you can leave some changes of clothes and other bits safely at the hotel in Kathmandu). Read as much about Everest and the region before you go to fully appreciate the wonder of the region.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just ask questions, take photos and soak in every moment (and start a kitty for the next trip as, as soon as you get home, you'll want to go straight back to the mountains again!)
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC RAJASTHAN

    My first trip to northern India, and it was a great introduction to the sights, sounds and smells of Rajasthan. Nice group, really good hotels, and ticked off all the major boxes while including a few surprises.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say as there were so many, but either riding with the locals on the little rural train from Deogarh or watching the Diwali fireworks from a rooftop restaurant in Udaipur then running the gauntlet of the firecrackers in the winding streets afterwards! I also found the trip to the bear sanctuary was very inspirational - it's good to know there are people out there who devote themselves to helping these amazing animals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was well organised and knew how to deal with a mixed group of people well. His local knowledge was very good, and he was always making sure we were enjoying the trip. The only downside was he sometimes tried to dissuade restaurant staff from making our food too spicy, even when we wanted a bit of a kick to our curries!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't ask the tour leader how long it's going to take to get from one place to the other - it's practically impossible to say how long it takes to cover a set distance in India unless you're on foot!Although you'll mainly be eating in good quality restaurants, take some rehydration salts and immodium just in case.Be prepared for some unique hotels - we stayed in some incredible fortresses and palaces - but remember that this kind of hotel may not be as clean and have all the same facilities or standards of service as your average identikit 5-star hotel. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want to experience India with an added bit of luxury, then this is the trip for you. Ideal as a first-time trip, especially if you're slightly worried about diving headfirst into the hustle and bustle.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    Aa unexpectedly warm,relaxing, informative, friendly, November walking break

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    View of the sea, port,harbour from the bedroom window/balcony.Picking nuts and oranges from trees along the roadside.Discovering Evia.I've never experienced such tasty and varied Greek food before.All home grown and home made to family recipes.Swimming in the (cold) sea in November (it had to be done).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was attentive to every individual need,learnt our names fast, was enthusiastic and informative.He worked hard on our behalf.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walks mainy downhill,with lots of stones,so take a stick.As advertised, the walking is not strenuous so enjoy the chance to take in the scenery, and relax.Take a snack on walks without picnics.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    So nice to have everything arranged, especially when high winds resulted in the ferries being cancelled, no problem, Thanos sorted it out.
Call us on 020 8772 3936