Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A full on, non stop experience from start to finish. Some beautiful locations, amazing sites, culturally challenging at times, wonderful people, and curries to die for!!! We were welcomed by our guide Jitu as guests to his country of which he had so much love and passion.Thank you Jitu, thank you exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The breathtaking Taj Mahal, the fascinating Ghats of Varanasi, the scary tuk Tuk rides, elephant rides to the Amber Fort ..... I could go on and on and on .....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic ... Jitu. He welcomed us with open arms, shared his passion for India, looked after us when we needed extra care ... just brilliant !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of poverty, it can be challenging at times. I found it more expensive than i expected, so ensure you budget well for eating out. You will be taken to some better quality restaurants and these were more than i expected (trip notes about right). Many of the restaurants add a high amount of tax onto your bill. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Altogether a fantastic adventure - well worth doing. I now want to see other parts of the country, as there is much to see and do.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    The perfect combination: i) moderately demanding trekking amid great scenery and ii) the incredible emotion and depth of Bosnia Hezegovina's historical and cultural heritage - not to mention that both Dubrovnik and Mostar are stunningly pretty.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo. I'm already thinking of a good reason to go back and I don't even like city breaks.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The team Samer+Alen had the perfect combination of knowledge, skills and temperaments. I enjoyed every second of the time I spent with them and they made the whole trip not only easy, fascinating and (very) safe, but really great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. This trip has everything (except point to point walks, but the bus rides are never over 1 hour and I ended up enjoying even those - I guess it's all about the company).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thank you to Paula, for being the Perfect Roomate Mate, an inspired singer and really really good company. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    An overwhelmingly exhilarating and rewarding trip into Western Europe's mountainous heart.  Vistas & experiences which will stick with me forever, an undoubtedly touching group dynamic and all this guided by the most enthusiastic of all tour leaders, Mel Potter.  Well done!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finally ascending the second col on the penultimate walking day in a somewhat less than healthy state.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Am I allowed to give Mel marks of eleven out of ten?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless you are incredibly unfit or have an overwhelming health concern which you have discussed in detail with your GP and Exodus, do consider this two week nature extravaganza.  Some training before hand of course would not go amiss. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Of course, there are many more exotic mountainous locations one can visit but please do not think that just because this trip is focused in Europe's heart that it is not as breathtakingly vivid with colours and experiences. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    BULGARIAN NATIONAL PARKS

    Lovely mountains with beautiful plants and wildlife. The guide and driver went out of their way to be helpful and the hotels were friendly and welcoming. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through a mist shrouded forest and then emerging onto a sunny plateau

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. He gave me a memory stick full of Bulgarian folk music after we discussed listening to local musicians. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    I had waited two years to join this trip led by Paul and it was definitely worth the wait. Backed with a passion for wildlife and photography , I wanted a trip that would ensure every moment in the Mara wasn't wasted. This was it.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the Masai Mara is inspiration in itself. There were too many moments to account for but three stand out: spending 6 or more hours with a pride of lions, watching them interact with each other and their lion cub was truly special, seeing a python swallowing a male impala out in the open field was a first for many, but the moment of the week was in our final hour – seeing thousands upon thousands of Wildebeest & Zebra crossing the Mara River eagerly awaited by the crocodiles. I had always wanted to witness a crossing but nothing prepared me for how emotional I would get. One of nature's wondrous spectacles we were all extremely lucky to see. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is no one word to describe Paul. His passion for the Mara is contagious and his drive to get us to the right place at the right time made for some incredible shots.  For a beginner photographer like myself, there is a lot to learn from him but he will only say something once, it is for you to retain! He is a true entertainer and storyteller and you will never get bored in his presence. Be warned, his photography skills may leave you on the jealous side!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a sense of humour and a thick skin! Make sure you have all the essentials with you: a hat, a light scarf or sarong can come in handy for protection against dust, sunscreen etc. Know your equipment well before you go, I only had a small lens 55-250mm, may have been worth hiring a lens for my first trip.  Ensure you have a wide-angle lens and your polariser with you.  Ensure you bring a second camera body to be on the safe side, lots of memory and extra batteries, as you will need it. Try not to drop your camera outside the vehicle, however much amusement it provides the lions…. Sweets and a few good jokes if you know some, never go amiss during the long days.. But most importantly, learn to put your camera down from time to time and take it all in. You will never forget it. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Paul, Donna and the team were fantastic. The guides, Joseph, Amos & Jackson worked tirelessly to show us something new everyday. They have eyes in the back of their head and can spot game miles away when we were still struggling with our binoculars.  Polite and friendly, they would constantly inform us about the animals’ behaviours and their encyclopaedic knowledge never ceased to amaze us. Migration camp was fantastic, the location right on the Mara River unbelievable. Camp facilities were pretty luxurious for where we were and the food was of 5* quality! A special mention to Rasmen, who provided impeccable service all week. A huge thank you to you all.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    It is tougher than i thought everyone agreed it was a bit like standing on top of ben nevis and then walking up and down another ben nevis every day for a fourtnight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just to have completed it switzerland had the worse summer for twenty years we got snowed off one mountain but in the end we all started and all finished .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Like all tour leaders he did an excellent job it cannot be easy to marshal and look after 15 people on a mountain and be able to engage a wide range of people and try to keep everyone happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good water proofs and an umbrella it is a lot easier to have to hand if you need a wee in the middle of the night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If i come across those bloody tents we had i will burn them down easy to put up bloody annoying to put away in the mornings.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    A great week of activities with a really nice group of people. The perfect balance between sports and time to relax

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The opportunity to really challenge myself - especially with kayaking and canyoning - great!I also really loved slovenian countryside and biking and running in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Blaz was awesome - everything was organised excellently from start to finish.  He did really well to build in flexibility too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was excellent.  The guy that owns Hotel Jazbec couldnt have been more accommodating - he really went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a good stay. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    TRINS: THE AUSTRIAN TYROL

    Trins is a great location to explore the mountains and enjoy fantastic scenery.It is also a great place to observe local rural life and feel you are in a small way contributing to its survival.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up high enough to see the mountains properly.Walking through Alpine meadows.Exploring rural villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Chris and Bob were knowlegable,well organised and enthusiastic leaders.Having two leaders allowed for two grades of walk each day.This was ideal for our family of mixed fitness!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for every type of weather-cold,wet,warm,sunny-we had it all in the week and were glad we had packed light weight and heavier jackets.The wild flowers were still good in August but they must be brilliant earlier in the summer.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    TRINS: THE AUSTRIAN TYROL

    Great walking in a very beatiful area, it was lovely to see so many flowers normally only seen earlier in the year in other areas. Afternoon tea was an added pleasure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking  under the snow, seeing the chamois  and marmots and enjoying visiting local villlages in the Tyrol

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris was a great leader, with lots of local knowledge, clearly interested in the area and happy to talk about the area without talking for the sake of talking, always a bonus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go for it just be aware of added transport costs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    great holiday, lovely hotel, great food
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    Excellent holiday, thoroughly enjoyed the week. Five hikes with a variety of sights and different terrain. The Chalet Savoy is a perfect base for this trip and size of group. Food was fantastic (thanks Elaine) and wonderful tour guide Oliver (except the jokes).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Best sights for me were at Lac Blanc, where I would recommend you hike to the far side of the lake for photos, plus on the descent from the Brevent, especially the sights back into Chamonix on the short balcony walk before reaching the midpoint refuge. Oh, and the Billberry tart.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver knows how to run the group well. Very knowledgable and experienced guy, a sheer pleasure to be with. The first two hours on Day 1 seem a little slow, but then you realise that while he is hiking, he is also checking out the group, judging the pace and expertly finding a speed suitable for all. By Day 5, when your legs no longer work, you will realise that a) He is still in front of you and b) He will be doing all this again next week while you recover ! Have to also mention that if Elaine serves the ginger/honey cake for packed lunch, steal/bribe/beg for as much as you can get.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The meeting point for this trip is at Geneva Airport at about 10:30 am on Saturday morning. The Exodus group flight for this trip is the BA flight out of London City airport. This in my mind is quite hard to get to from most places in the UK for say, a 7 am check in.  It is also an expensive flight, plus if you want to drive to the airport, the car parking charges are huge.I flew out on the Friday night instead, Easyjet flight from Gatwick and stayed in the Holiday Inn near the airport. Flight was £105 return, hotel booked on Expedia was about £65 and the next morning my travel consisted of a five minute courtesy bus trip to the airport.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One tip - even though you are flying in and out of Geneva, you don't really need Swiss Francs (unless you stay extra days). Most of the shopping and food places visited are in France with a couple in Italy, so Euros only are required.  Loads of camping /hiking stores in Chamonix if you need the odd piece of kit. The Wednesday is a planned day off. Plenty of side trips, shopping, cable car rides etc etc , or....have a lie in and then grab a late breakfast in town and let your feet recover for 24 hours. The Hottub is calling, so take your trunks or cossie. 
Call us on 0208 772 3936