Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KENYA & TANZANIA ADVENTURE

    We had a fabulous time. The leader was very knowledgeable and the cook was also helpful and friendly. The truck was great and the group of travellers we went with were all very nice and interesting people, and we all got on really well together, which was great and added to our enjoyment of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to be whizzed ioff immediately on arrival, and coming inclose contact with the 'big five' was just amazing! We have some fab photographs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was lovely, very helpful and knew a lot of stuff about everything really!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just that the matresses that were provided were brilliant so you don't need to bring your own. There was also some confusion on what sort of bag to take as that was not clear from the notes. In the end (after checking with the office) we took a soft 55l (my boyfriend) and 70l (me) bag with wheels and that was fine. We also had a small rucksack each which we really needed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although it was the most expensive holiday I have ever had, it was worth the money. Everything was well organised,  the tents were nice, the food was great, places to stay well chosen. Overall an unforgettable experience!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    GET INVOLVED: MOROCCO VOLUNTEER

    This was a fantastic trip to the hidden Morocco that not many people get to see.  Off the beaten track - definately, and a great experience helping the villagers and the school.  Great fun as well as hard work, and thoroughly rewarding on many levels!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention!  El Fna square in Marrakech was madness but glad we visited it.  Riad Bledna - really nice, with a little bit of tranquility with the perfect hosts in Mohammed and Jamil.  Tighza village - totally off that beaten track and like stepping back in time, the people were so friendly and again brilliant hosts in Carolyn and Mohammed at the kasbah. Voluntary work in the village - tiring but very rewarding helping the locals with their cement bucket chain gang and breezeblocks. Trekking up to the valley and having our "elevenses" sat in such a peaceful location on rocks by a river and being given mint tea out of a silver teapot - very surreal!  And then on to Essaouira and the school which was enlightening to see those little children who were so pleased to receive a new toothbrush!  And even more pleased when we left them with a newly painted school.It was a great group of people on the trip, from different walks of life and 5 different countries who got on so well together and helped each other as well as having such a laugh. I would definately return as it was a truely inspirational trip in many ways.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy was a great tour leader, very knowledgable and passionate about Morocco and the voluntary projects that we visited.  He was also very organised and had clearly made many friends in Morocco on his past visits as they were so thrilled to see him again. A really well planned trip.The group nicknamed him "Top rep" - and he really was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go, enjoy yourself and be prepared to muck in and you will have a great time.  Whether it be painting, building, smashing rocks, or being in a cement bucket chain gang, etc etc etc.  It's all for such a good cause and very rewarding. I was dubious before I went as this was my first holiday on my own, but honestly it was brilliant and a great way to make friends and do something completely different that not many people get the chance to do.  I am so grateful for the memories, photos and friendships that I have made on the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a huge "Thank you!" to Andy and Exodus for arranging such a good holiday.  Yes it is completely different than lying on a beach for a week, but so much more worthwhile.In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger - "I'll be back"!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN SARDINIA

    If you like the challenge of hills, fantastic scenery, clear pristine beaches, lovely villages and flamingoes then this is the trip for you.  If you are more serious about being competitive and King of the mountain, then it's not strenuous enough over the whole week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the biggest hill, sweaty and breathing like an old cow, but still on my bike, when other people had given up and walked. A great personal achievement! But a great moment as everyone who made it enouraged all the group to do their best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was a great guy and led us well but this trip was absolutely a double act. Theirs was a complete team effort and Enrico was far more than just the bike support. They both worked really hard to make our holiday the success it was. They had endless patience and good humour at all times and both made the trip really special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the hills at the start of the week, but don't be put off, they calm down towards the later stages. The hybrid  bikes are good, but don't have any cages on the pedals - you definitely need to take your own pedals to ensure that you have good grip up the hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We like trying the new Exodus holidays and this certainly was a lovely one to experience. Perfect time of year to do it as you have time and space to explore and appreciate. We were exceedingly lucky with the weather, this is not normal to have no wind and no rain and perfect blue skies.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Amazing guide, fantastic unspoilt corner of Tuscany, great walking, huge portions of tuscan home cooking, what more can I say!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking up at the descent I thought I could never do and feeling an immense sense of achievement.Gaining more and more confidence on each day, I can't believe how much I am now happy to tackle as a result of Sara's support and enouragement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is an wonderful experinced leader and with extensive knowedge of the local area.  Anyone who has walked with Sara will have been fortunate enough to experience her immense commitment to her job.  She never ever sits still..... Sara is always on the go, checking everyone is ok and generally ensuring you have a fantastic holiday.  Every detail is considered from ice cream stops, orgainising train tickets for the free day to detailed hand drawn maps of local walks.  She carefully assesses the capability of her group and tailors each trip to suit all involved.  I have never been looked after better.Sara is truly inspirational and Exodus are extremely lucky to have her!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now, this is a great trip!Don't forget to get check the grade of the week you are doing before confirming your booking as there are both grade B and C weeks from this base.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    The holiday is based in a simple but nice hotel, overlooking the harbour, a lovely spot.  eating out each night at different tavernas was a great variety.  And the leader, Thanos, was well versed in the local history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    c

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was very helpful if anything was needed, seemed to know everybody in town, and gave us lots of information about the country, the people and the history of the island.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    Fantastic.  An abundance of wildlife everywhere on this trip from day one, building up to the ultimate viewing experience of seeing the mountain gorillas.  An excellent way of seeing three countries in one trip, seeing contrasting landscapes and cultures. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moment was, of course, the sight of the mountain gorillas. Magnificent and well worth the steep climb up into their habitat. We were so lucky that the rain held off so that we had a full hour watching individual members of the family.  Apart from that it is difficult to seperate out a single moment as every day of the trip was interesting and different.  The Masai Mara was fantastic, I felt we saw everything and more.  The abundance of wildlife is obvious and lions never fail to impress.  Then there was the wildebeast migration and their queue as far as the horizon to cross the Mara river. Tremendous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris was excellent.  He was ever so knowledgable, very experienced and always in control.  I felt total confidence in him.  A definate asset to the Exodus team.  Tutu was his number two and again was excellent.  Very knowledgable, helpful and always had a smile on his face.  As for Sammy the cook, he was great.  Food was always plentiful and he catered for various tastes in the group.  His fish was wonderful, haven't tasted fish as good as that in years.  There was excellent team work between the three of them, couldn't have asked for more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a few warm jumpers for early mornings and evenings, especially if you have a colder temprament like me! Rwanda was rather wet for us and was quite cool.The gorilla trek was REALLY muddy. Walking boots got caked so much that they were unrecognisable.  It was wet but the trek is through undergrowth so don't wear anything you don't want to get wrecked.  I wish I had gaiters if honest, as when your feet sink in the mud it would go down your socks!  Also the nettles are bad, they sting but disappear eventually.  I wished I had worn thicker trousers as they sting you through material but apparently they'll still get you in trouser as thick as jeans.Don't get left with Rwandan francs.  I didn't realise until I got home but apparently its a closed currency so I can't exchange them back to sterling.  Luckily I don't have too many as you don't need to much additional spending on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Beware the monkeys! There are lots of monkeys in Lake Nakuru where we camped within the national park.  The rules are quite strict that no one can feed the monkeys as they can't learn to rely on humans for food.  However no one has shared that rule with the monkeys.  A sneaky one came at me from behind, took my tuna sandwich from my plate, even removed the cucumber, all in a brief moment that no one else saw a thing! An excellent trip, don't hesistate book now!!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    The trip surpassed my expectations. An outstanding country with a huge variety of scenery, peoples, culture and experiences.  The trip was well paced yet packed with experiences.  Great stuff and incredible value for money.Mountains, check. Rainforest, check. Wildlife & Birds, check, Great food, check. Cities, check. Photo opportunities, check. I came away inspired to go back and to see more. Thanks Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to pick out one moment on this trip, so I have to resort to two.The first one was the long descent from Quito via the Papallacta Pass down to the Rainforest. A stunning journey with changing landscapes, changing weather and temperatures and changing people as the day went on. The long journey was punctuated by a tasty yet unexpected lunch in the hills and culminated in a transfer to a long boat for a high speed transfer on the brown waters of the Amazon Basin to our rainforest lodge, to be greeted by large groups of monkeys swinging throught the trees.  Really made me realise why I love to travel.The second one was provided by one our group. An older gentleman who I spent time talking to and listening to his life and experiences. Made you realise that your life is in your hands and you can do so much with your time to help others and still have a fulfilling life of your own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Fabian is a real character. Like a loveable rogue and friend, he was full of stories and anecdotes and clearly showed a passion for his country, bringing things to life and painting pictures with his words.He was also full of practical advice and dealt well with the group. Really enjoyed him leading us and he helped to make the trip come alive with his humour and knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers and take your walking boots. It will be hot and cold, dry and humid, wet and changeable, so lots of thin layers and waterprrofs plus good footwear.For the rainforest, cover up well, especially on the night walks and have bite cream and bite prevention with you at all times.Take your own plug for sinksUS adapter for electricityTake all of your US dollars in cash - no notes bigger than US$20sTake lots of plastic bags with you, useful for putting damp clothing and mucky boots in Meal portions are generous in general so beware over orderingBe aware of altitude sickness - coca tea and aspirin at the ready - I suffered with this.A bit of basic Spanish will really help, so brush up on your vocabulary

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On this trip you have to go for it.  The itinerary is packed to the gunnels with things to do and there are also long periods of travelling. Grab every chance you can to exlpre and do things and plan to fill your free time.Be ready with your camera at any time to try and catch the birds and wildlife, people and places. Ecuador is another world to the UK once you are out of the city centres and just begs to be snapped and explored.The only downside of the trip is that you are no longer able to ride on the top of the Devil's nose train, so ignore the pictures printed in the brochure or on line. Instead you take the journey in the comfort of a carriage. Not quite the all action adventure you may imagine, but better you know before you go tham find out on arrival.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A Week in Jordan - A FANTASTIC Week in Jordan! A jam-packed week touring Jordan, taking in all the highlights.  Wadi Rum, Jerash, the Dead Sea, Amman, the Red Sea and the Awe Inspiring Petra!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few top class moments... Our first glimpse of the Treasury and the view of the Monastery.The rarely visited view of the Treasury - from above!Petra at night.The ruins of Jerash.Camping in Wadi Rum, desert meal and the beautiful clear sky. Floating in the Dead Sea, Snorkelling in the Red Sea. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Mo, was excellent. A historian who loved his country, history and archaeology. He explained everything in great depth, spent time to answer our questions and looks after us impeccably. He also organised a private yacht for us in the Red Sea, took us to fabulous restaurants and took the adventurous of us to the top of the Treasury for a fabulous and rarely visit view.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. We had a great time and would have no qualms about recommending to a friend.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    This was a challenging B Grade trek, which ensured a great feeling of achievement each day.  The accommodation was lovely and the food was amazing!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views on this trek were fantastic.  A world away from Alicante and Benidorm, which you could see from the peaks.  For me I got the biggest buzz from reaching the top of Puig Campana, but simple pleasures like the first beer of the day always brought a smile to my face and the incredibly welcoming hosts made the trip very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was a wonderful and amusing group leader.  It was good to have someone who knew the area so well.  He could answer any of our questions, as well as sharing the history and modern farming techniques of the area.  He also made the best sandwiches I have ever tasted! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the temperature of this trip!  It was the heat that really made it challenging.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS, TEMPLES & HILLSTATIONS

    My wife and I chose to do this tour with leader Philippa Russell, purely on the basis that we had so much enjoyed our trek (Himalayan Mountains and Wildflowers) with her in 2010. We were not disappointed! Philippa has devised a trip which totally immerses the traveller in the true nature of life in these regions of Northern India. Mesmerising, fascinating, at times frenetic, but totally satisfying. Different but delightful!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is almost impossible to choose from so many varied and eye-opening experiences that this tour provides, but probably our intimate visit to the Tibetan Children's Village (Orphanage and School) in Dharamsala was the most inspirational. Visits to such institutions can be so depressing, but our visit to this amazing village was truly heart-warming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa Russell is one in a million! She has extraordinary organisational ability; her knowledge of all things Indian/Tibetan is boundless; she communicates that knowledge so clearly, and with such humour; she exudes warmth yet firm control, always ensuring the comfort and safety of the tour members; she is passionate about her adopted community; she is equally passionate about imbuing her clients with a true understanding of those features of Indian/Tibetan life which make her so committed to it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Approach this tour with an open mind, and be prepared to be swept along a truly fascinating and joyous path into a very INDIAN (and Tibetan) experience with a difference. Just "go with the flow" and revel in the many and varied experiences on offer. It is not always pretty, but it is very enlightening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do not expect to lose weight on this trip. It might well be advertised as "a gourmet's delight"!
Call us on 0208 772 3936