Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This is a really good holiday, in my opinion, because it combines  excellent walking with the chance to do other activities such as swimming and sightseeing.  The hotel is great: spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, extremely friendly staff and plenty of delicious food.  Moreover vegetarians are very well catered for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I thoroughly enjoyed all the walks: there are some stupendous views (though of course  this rather depends on the weather).  I guess walking around the rim of the Vesuvius crater, on a fine day, with stunning views all around, was something of a highlight.  I also loved the gardens of Ravello, though the best time of year for them is probably spring time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was competent, well-organised and knowledgeable.  Everything ran very smoothly under his direction.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the flight is still with British Airways, try to fit your walking poles into your suitcase.  You can only take them as hand luggage if you take off the tips or cover them.  Otherwise they will go into the hold either strapped to your case or as a separate item, depending on who is doing the checking in.  In addition to your day pack, you can take a laptop or briefcase as a second piece of hand luggage.  You can check in online. The breakfast on board is foul - very disappointing for an expensive airline! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot packed into most days, which can be a little tiring, not leaving much persoanl space.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    LHASA TO KATHMANDU RIDE

    If you are a fit, confident cyclist who is after a cycling challenge this might not be the right holiday for you. If you have the ability and ambition to ride either the whole distance or at least as many of the passes as posibble you more than likely will not be able to. This is due to compulsory transfers and decissions made for the benifit of the majority of the group. What does this mean? If seven of the group want to ride and nine do not, you will more than likely not be riding that section of the ride. Mind you there are more challenges then just the cycling on this trip that can halt even the fittest out there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Potala Palace. The down hill valley into Nepal. Everest and just strolling around some of the towns at the end of the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader on the whole was good. Extremely attentive to everyones health. He could have allowed the ones who wanted to ride more sections of the ride with a bit better planning. Those ridding further could start earlier and have there bikes loaded last so they are easier to get on and off the truck.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light and be prepaired for a few extra costs creeping in. If you really do want to ride the whole distance of this trip I suggest you organise a more personalised itinerary giving yourself two - three extra days for cycling and perhaps book it in Kathmandu.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would probably give this holiday 2.5 stars. This does not mean it is a bad holiday it depends what you are looking for. As I mentioned cycling is not the only challenge on this trip. Staying healthy due to altitude, food or general hygiene is also challenging and can greatly impact your ability to cycle. If you are one of the fitter ones you may be waiting at the top of the passes for a few hours. This will reduce the distance you can cover that day and may mean you do not get to ride the whole distance that afternoon.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    An action packed full holiday with great people an dhoisted by a great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few:Petra; Stunning and the climb up the mountain with a cup tea with Bedouin was classic and the rewar of the ice cream at the end of the day was a real moment of joy!! The frightening desecnt down the mountian with my brakes red hot!!The weird feeling of the deadsea.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair was brilliant, his stories made the trip and the history come alive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you do a lot of cycling beforehand and get some mountain biking in!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would love to have a crusader castle added to the trip
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & ZANZIBAR

    Dont hesitate to book this trip,the whole experience was fantastic.We meet some really great friends and had a whale of a time.Reaching the sumit of KILI to the beaches of ZANZIBAR  fantastic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting our fellow travellers getting to know each other and then summiting as a team ,a day I will always remember.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The head guide Mussa and his assiant NELSON were fantastic treated us like celebrities.Thanks to all there hard work in looking after us we all managed to summit

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your guides and be honest with them and you will summit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a wonderful trip and putting us in such safe hands on the mountain,after hearing so many bad reports about KILI it was a pleasure to be part of a very proffessional set up in TANZANIA. 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Let's make this clear - I'm a bit of a fuss when things aren't right, but I found this trip excellent value for money. I was pushed just a little bit beyond my comfort zone, and for that I'm pleased. All round, I have to say Exodus delivered

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not looking for inspiration (it was good all round), but I guess walking 20 miles including some climbing up (the down is nearly as bad) to nearly 10000ft was great. I Loved the starkness of the mountains, making any bits of growth (e.g. sheep and goat pastures) all the more interesting. THe village was very well irrigated.Night sky was pretty interesting (u can download an app for Android phones that gives u a night sky location facility as u move ur phone).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate. Grew up in a similar area so knows the flora and fauna, customs, just about everything. Had a very good manner as well with everyone

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lighter than u think. One almost always overpacksTake some snacks for walking. My recommendation is to buy some dried fruit and nuts in Marrakesh. You will only find sweet snacks at the village gite. You can find an alcohol selling outlet in the Guilez part where our hotel was (Hotel Hasna), but u may not be there. You just need to ask where there is one.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people did not like the relatively small amount of extras that were not mentioned - e.g. being taken to shops or bars on walks or the drive to the village), but u could always opt out. The cost of living in Morocco is substantially less than Europe. It's not much your giving - be generous (this comes from someone who is careful with the money)U don't have to restrict yourself to the Exodus flights from London - add on a few days and go yourself elsewhere e.g. Essaouira. I did (was the only one), and it was a nice way of extending the trip
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAIN BIKING IN CROATIA

    A great trip seeing Croatia at close quarters and getting to parts not normally seen as a tourist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at a mountain pass, a view of the mountains just traversed behind us and a view over the many islands and the Croatian coastline nestled into the blue Adriatic sea in front of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A knowledgeable guy with a great sense of humour but also very consious of his responsibilities of a leader to his charges.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN SARDINIA

    Absolutely one of the best holidays I have ever been on!  I really enjoyed the cycling, the scenery, the challange, and the company.  The hotels were far nicer than I had expected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Michaele and his partner Enrico were fantastic.  Really supportive and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think we were really lucky with the weather.  I would choose my destination and potential weather more carefully in the future as if it had been rainy and windy I think the trip would have been a bit grim with a lot of hanging around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were a number of people who were experienced cyclists, this trip was their 7th or 8th cycling holiday.  This was my first and I felt that there could have been a little more instruction on how to ride a bike safely in terms of the down hill stretchs, which were at times quite steep.  I think some guidance as to the line to take and the technique needed would have been helpful.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A great week including some lovely walks to all the highlights of the area. In addition, the visits to Pompeii, Versuvius and Herculaneum were not to be missed. The hotel was so friendly that nothing seemed like too much trouble and the weather was fantastic for the time of year. All in all, a superb holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater rim of Mount Versuvius was pretty special, as were the views from the Walk of the Gods. The optional trip to Herculaneum and Ravello was excellent with unparalled ruins at the first and the incredible gardens of Villa Cimbrone at the second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was fantastic. He made sure that everyone in the group was happy and answered our many questions! He ensured that we all got seats on the public bus back from Amalfi (not an easy task!) and was always ready to advise on the best places for a meal or a drink.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a lovely week - fairly relaxed, with some lovely walks. However a few of the walks are in the moderate category (not leisurely) so be prepared for some uphill as well as stiff ankles and calf muscles after all the downhill!Having said that, I did not feel that walking poles were necessary although with wet, slippery paths they would definitely be a help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you sample the fabulous ice cream at every opportunity!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    EGYPTOLOGY

    This is a great trip, which visits sites that not many tourists usually see. The train to Aswan and back to Cairo was a little uncomfortable, with hard beds but the sites visited more than made up for this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Abu Simbel and going inside a pyramid

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was so passionate about everything to do with Egypt, from the sites to the recent troubles. He gave clear explainations and made everything interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take small coins for the bathrooms.  Go to the Luxor and Mummification museums, these may be small but have some amazing things to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt is a great country but be aware of the people always trying to sell you things, everywhere you go
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE EMPIRE OF GENGHIS KHAN

    It was a real adventure holiday and did what the brochure said and more. Terrific fun , scenery was amazing and organisation excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    BIking along with horses galloping along side me. Waking to ice on the tent and later in the day 28c of hot sunshine!  Th great comradeship in th group which kept us going even when it was tough. Also sitting on a Yak, When you are cold and it is lovely and warm.Seeing the locals and even staying in a local school (extra due to weather). Getting to learn how life was like out there.  Also staying in a Ger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders both excellent in their field and knowledge of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for 4 seasons in a day. In other words layers of clothing. It can get very cold and hot. Take thick padded shorts for the bumpy tracks. Practice off road biking for the down hills, bits can be technical. Rocky and sandy. But great fun.Finally look at alternative flights if you have a long stop in Seoul or stop over for a few days there like we did and have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just don't hesitate  book it before UB changes and the tracks in the country change to tarmac roads as this wouldn't have been nearly so much fun if it had been on roads all the time.  It is a wilderness still and needs to be appreciated before it changes.
Call us on 0208 772 3936