Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PERU EXPLORER

    Met our expectations in almost every respect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun Gate (on a sunny day) after 4 days walking was one of those moments I hope not to forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Carlos was excellent, and kept (most) of the group going and enthusiastic when it would have been easy to lose cohesion. He joined in wholewheartedly and got many of us enthused about Peru playing Paraguay in the world cup.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to pack everything for the range of weather expected, but don't take too much! Layers that you can you can use at different altitudes and in different climates are best. Good walking shoes are also fine for the Inca trail.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The view of the Nazca lines from the viewing towers was a disappointment, but this was the only downside of a fantastic holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CROATIA: ISLANDS & MOUNTAINS

    Fantastic trip, fantastic walking, fantastic food, fantastic sights, fantastic country. Did I mention it was fantastic?!?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 - View from summit of Velebit Zavizan2 - Trekking along the Premuziceva trail 3 - Trekking through the gorges of the Paklenica National Park.....seeing those crazy climbers half way up the rock face!Difficult to pick a highlight, loved it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edo was a great guide, funny, informative and well organised. Couldn't fault him at all, a great ambassador for his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was harder than I expected! Some stiff climbs on rocky paths followed by descents on the other! The trek to the summit of Velebit Zavizan was so much fun but also a good challenge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! I had a blast! Definetely one of my favourite exodus trips.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    A very professionally organised & lead trip with a great group of participants.A great introduction to a country of wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking at ABC to find the cloud clearing to reveal what must be one of the most stunning mountain panoramas in the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dawa was an excellent leader - keeping the team together and progressing at a pace that meant we achieved our goals while still having bags of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can walk up & down Snowdon and not be exhausted, then you're probably fit enough to do this trip.If you need mobile phone reception, then Nepal Telecom (check your mobile company's roaming agreement) has decent coverage in the mountain villages.Mains power is available in most tea houses for camera/phone battery charging, though mains power is mostly limited to light fittings in the bedrooms.The variety of tea-house food was much greater than we expected. Not just Dahl Baht!9pm bed time is considered late in the hills.If you've time, get away from the main tourist trail in Kathmandu to see how the real city lives.Roads are being driven slowly towards the villages in the Annapurna area. In 10 year's time, when the mule trains have been displaced, the character of the place will be very different. Go soon!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really appreciated the background work done by Exodus to ensure that the tea houses standards of kitchen food hygiene were up to scratch. 11 people over 15 days & not one case of Delhi belly! We met several independant travellers and people from other groups who'd succumbed after visting other tea houses. When time is limited, it is important to stay fit & healthy.We were all impressed how the team leaders got stuck in in the kitchens to help prepare some superb meals.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CAPE TOWN TO VICTORIA FALLS

    A great holiday, extremely well run, splendid scenery and masses of game to observe. However there are some long days driving on non tarmac roads so be prepared. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Flying over Victoria Falls in a microlight. Watching game within Etosha Nation Park. Eating out of an evening under the stars around a camp fire.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely brilliant. Said he would look after us and give us a good holiday, this is exactly what he did. His observation skills and knowledge of his evironment was outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes be prepared for some long days driving, but the rewards are there to be had in doing so. Also be very familiar with you camera, practising at home before you go will pay dividends

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take the oppurtunity to do an activity that you would normally never consider doing.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Great trip, fantastic scenary, good organization and great company. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moment was seeing Uhuru point. I was almost in tears and couldn't believe I made it. The whole group made but several of us suffered during day 7. Teh trek doesn't require super fitness but strong determination and a bit of luck with altitude sickness. One thing I regret is not having enough time to absorb the view on on summit. I was cold and rushed down. Make sure you look around and take your time on the summit before heading down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was very supportive, well organized and quite nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have well tested rain proof clothes for top and bottom. The weather is unpredictable and we had lots of rain. Also, make sure you have warm gloves, sockes and boots. It was really cold during the summit attack and some people suffered from cold feet and hands. Also, make sure you have a warm sleeping bag, it was below freezing for several nights.I used Diamox after suffering from altitude sickenss in day 4. It did help. So, take some with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Equipment wise, the tents were ok, some people had problems with teh zippers, our communal tent was a bit too small made of one layer, so lots of densation on teh inside (not very pleasant when you are cold and stuck in that tent for most of your evening). 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    A packed week of real safari experience long days but that the only way to get amazing sightings If you look at the price and think it costly compare it with the other safaris every moment there is a full morning/afternoon safari or even out for the whole day just returning for the evening meal, with no lost time we arrived had lunch and had a full afternoons safari, the same on the last day a full morning before lunch and off home

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many- cheatah cubs only days old,the cheatah chase/kill the wildebeast crossing where they literally just dive into the crocodile infested waters,the jackel young so entertaining

    What did you think of your group leader?

    So much enthusiasum and drive he wants everyone to get that amazing image

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Since a laundry service is included at no extra cost and the internal flight has a 15kg hold luggage limit bear this in mind as I took many more changes of clothing than I needed as I was unsure of washing facilities.Take plenty of memory cards a laptop/netbook or device to download the cards to as you have so many opportunities to take photographs that it would be a shame to run out during the holiday. Make sure you drink plenty of water as since not humid the heat is deceptic 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Well organised holiday excellent  mature walk leader etc Albert,  hotel family owned and family welcome feel very informal.  enjoyed the holiday very much would recommend aidan mckeon

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    views in course of walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mature excellent low key high level of confidence

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Evening meal could be served earlier light lunch since breakfast over 12 hours 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A great trip!

    I've not travelled with Exodus before but booked after recommendations from friends. This trip lived up to the hype and I found the trip to be well run and very enjoyable. The week I went was a Solo departures week with only one couple. The mixture of people was great and I felt happy to chat to every single one of the 15 people in our group (16 inc me). I've made some good friends and I only wish some of them were closer to me so I could keep in touch. If you've not travelled as a solo traveller before, go for it! - You won't feel awkward or disappointed. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to accomplish the fairly long (18-19 mile) final walk from the village up to the lake! Although it's a long walk, it's relatively flat and we had quite a few breaks on the way. Nobody in our group failed to complete the walk and for only 100 dhirams (£8) you can hire a mule for the day, which we did (as a group) just in case anybody got tired.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan is a great leader - very friendly and knowledgable with a good sense of humour. At the time of writing the poor chap has never left Morocco and I hope Exodus can sort him out with a free flight to visit the UK at some point as he says he'd love to come over.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'm not sure the Exodus supplied kit bag is the ideal bag for this trip. A medium sized wheeled suitcase would be far easier to pack and move around than the Exodus kit bag (which doesn't even have a shoulder strap). Many in our group who'd travelled before brought suitcases or rucksacks instead as these are far easier to move around the airports with. Bring a decent torch. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local school had cancelled/boycotted our scheduled visit as apparently they had become aware that some donations to the school appeared to have "gone missing" after being passed to local Exodus staff. We therefore never got to see the school or pass on our own donations to the school or children. This is clearly a serious allegation by the school which I hope UK Exodus staff immediately investigate.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    I finished my holiday with a big smile on my face and plans to book my next trip as soon as possible. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the fact that each walk is different in terms of terrain and spectacular views.  The walk to the nature reserve, which in itself is another sight to behold, was my favourite with the dappled sunlight, passing mule trains and waterfalls.  I also enjoyed the occasions of taking the local bus back to our hotel (sit on the left hand side!) and twirling ever upwards round the hairpin bends, beeping frantically as you go.  We did one trip at night and looked back on Amalfi twinkling in the dark - perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was a safe pair of hands as a group leader.  He gave the group the freedom to find their level in terms of fitness and speed and kept us all together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to make sure you have comfy walking shoes (I had a blister!) and take a pair of flip-flops in your back-pack for the beach, as it is shingle and very painful to walk on.  A cozzy and walking boots is not a good look, especially in Positano amongst the glamorous Italian ladies.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exhilarating walks, great food, fine wine and lovely company!   Who could ask for more?
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    Trip of a lifetime, did what it said on the tin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, and the attention that the African walking company gave to me, without them it would not of been possible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Florence, simply the best, happy, smiling, motivational

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be physically and mentally prepared for what the trip holds, not for the faint hearted.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You have to except the conditions of the country you are visiting, I have returned with a very nasty skin infection from the cups that we used.
Call us on 0208 772 3936