Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    I was initaily rather worried that The Inca Trail would be full of hikers and that you wouldn't be able to see Machu Picchu because of the tourists bussed up there each day. I was totaly wrong, it was everything I hoped the trip would be!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational, but I think the openly friendly people that we met in Cusco and on the trail will stay with me the longest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Flaminia was super! The whole group from the hotel to the porters where actualy great, but Flaminia managed to keep a very diverse group ranging in age from 21 to 60+ entertained and interactive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a Hip flask along. On the last night camping there is nothing like a little "Tipple" to toast and share with your comrades at the meal and congratulate yourself on a great trip. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep your pack light! Those steps are very looooong!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    Great tour leader, well done Victor! Great group of people and a nice selection of varied trekking days all topped off by a wonderful hotel with enthusiastic and very helpful staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scrambling to the top of the twin summits of Mancondiu with its fabulous views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor was a top man, great athlete and an inspirational leader for a very varied group with mixed experience and personalities!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For this trip, buy a bottle of whisky in duty free on the way out, it may be Spain but drinks are still extremely expensive! Still getting over my bar bill!!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nice trip, well put together itinerary so top marks Exodus (now where's my £5 for saying nice things)!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIKING IN THE CANADIAN ROCKIES

    Amazing!!!!! Thoroughly Recommeded! You won't beat the spectacular scenery of Banff and Jasper National Parks. Weather, leader and group all first class.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling up the Icefield highway it was lakes, glaciers and mountains 360 degrees as far as the eye could see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, let's hope you get Renee as your leader if you go on this trip. She knew her stuff, thoroughly competent and her cooking was delicious. Plus she joined in the banter around the campfire (and half managed to understand some Yorkshire folk!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of the walks are quite long so you will probably enjoy it more if you are quite fit. I have done many trekking holidays before and this was equally energetic, the walks are mostly circa 20km and involve plenty of altitude gains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you have a good a holiday as i did!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    Without doubt this trip delivered everything one would expect for a great trek. Great people, group, scenery and memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing each day amidst amazing scenery with beautiful weather conditions and a great group of people to do it with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was a leader you would trust to guide you  on any mountain. He gave you confidence and you could trust whatever the situation. His sense of humour will not be forgotton.Mark always provided a warm welcome after each days trekking. Kettle always on and was always approachable to ask for advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a single person, booking a tent supplement was well worth paying extra for. Make sure you pack warm sleeping bag as nights can get chilly in September. Pack as light as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is one trek you should embark upon, do this one!!! Savour every moment as views are just amazing.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Great holiday - fantastic weather, stunning scenery, excellent guide and great companions!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking round the crater of VesuviusWalk of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - patient, knowledgeable and good company

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some quite challenging walking - especially in the heat.  Nothing difficult but probably more on the moderate side rather than leisurely.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Great hotel,great location ,beautiful food. All walks really enjoyable with spectacular views. A truly memorable holiday. Would recommend to anyone. We didn't want to leave!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each walk provided different moments of inspiration , from viewing Amalfi for the first time or entering Pompei and seeing the grand scale of a lost city. Walking up to Vesuvius was well worth the views and if you have the nerve , walking around the actual  crater is an experience in itself. On our free day we visted Herculaneum and Ravello, which are definitely worth seeing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert our leader was very calm and a good organiser. He looked after everyone and had great knowledge of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going when the weather is warm, take a swimming costume as you have the opportunity to swim after 3 of the walks. You do need a walking pole and be aware that there are plenty of steps on most of the walks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel was fantastic and the family who run it couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfasts were great and every morning there was freshly hand squeezed orange juice. Dinner was great fun and plenty of pasta and lots of courses. There was never a moment to be bored during the holiday and so much to see. The Amalfi coast is a must for everyone to experience.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    Beautiful part of Italy and I doubt we'd have managed to do as much as we did in the time if we'd done this stretch of coast on our own. Lovely touches from the hotel staff- a cookery demonstration and the pizza night were brilliant. Thank you- it was a great family run hotel and brilliant friendly helpful staff. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I personally loved Walk of the Gods but also Vesuvuis. Naples was somewhat of a surprise. This was the part of the holiday I'd been least looking forward to as cities are not my thing. I'd also been lead to believe that Naples has had a bad press. Thanks to Paula our fabulous guide and her enthusiasm, Naples quickly became one of my personal highlights. Really vibrant city, amazing churches, fabulous crammed tiny streets, street markets, mad Vespa drivers and lunch in a local taverna that Paula had thoughtfully sourced herelf. Also more great coffee and lovely views of Vesuvius accross the bay. How can I also forget the food?! I was in food heaven. Fresh tomatoes, artichokes, basil, bread, pasta, cheese, wine... And Chef Giovanni's 'mealt in the mouth' Panacotta.  Everywhere you looked there was fresh produce either growing on hillsides or lying in front of you on your plate... Fabulous

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paula is enthusiastic, helpful, friendly, approachable, witty... all the attributes needed for a great guide. Im only sorry I couldnt get to know her and stay with her for longer. I'd like to think we'd all end up firm pals! She showed us Greco- Roman ruins and we would like to show her the Greco-Roman Architecture of Manchesters Trafford centre one day- the offer still stands Paula!!  Paula was also really good at giving us Italian travel advice as we extended our trip and travelled north on our own. Thanks for the Italian lesson- we got round Italy unscathed and arrived home safely! Thank you Paula, I havent got a bad word to say!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    PLEASE take into account added extra expenses whilst away. The trip notes suggest 10Euros for lunches but once you've had the obligatory Italian Espresso this is more like 15. There are also one or two added extras to pay for such as slight seeing on your free day and Funicular/ bus fares/ chair lift on Capri. If travelling with a family I would imagine that this would really tot up. Also the Gellato in Amalfi is compulsory ( trust me.. it puts Mr Whippy to shame!)... all of these things really do add up. If travelling on a budget PLEASE budget for more Euros than you think you'll need. Unlike other exodus trips that I have done this really is in a touristy part of the world and I really wasnt expecting the tourist prices for a coffee. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again for a great, well organised Exodus holiday. 
  • Reviewed September 2011

    BORDEAUX AND THE ATLANTIC COAST

    I loved the freedom of cycling from place to place at our own speed, and being able to stop when and where we wanted. The predominantly flat terain made for easy cycling, and we covered approx 40 miles each day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We cycled through pine forests and arrived at beaches of golden sand, where we splashed around in the large breaking waves, before continuing our ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add a day in Bordeaux at one end of the holiday. The architecture is lovely, and the long river front is good to walk along. Make sure you carry enough water! We had a temperature of 38 degrees on our first day and 2 litres each was not enough! (It was Sunday so no shops were open to buy more)The bikes and panniers provided were really good.Although we really enjoyed ourselves, we think this was a very expensive holiday, and perhaps could have organised it ourselves much cheaper.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was a little disappointed by the flatness of the Bordeaux vineyards, so they weren't as attractive as I'd imagined.  I was also surprised that although we spent several days 'cycling by the Gironde Estuary and the Atlantic Ocean', one didn't see the water much at all whilst on the bikes.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    BULGARIAN NATIONAL PARKS

    This was a great trip. Excellent walking, a great tour leader and fascinating country. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking was challenging but the views wonderful and it was great to return to a big meal and nice hotel each evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader Vladimir was excellent. He was extremely knowledgeable about his country, it's history, culture and wildlife. On the last day in Sofia he took time to show us around the city, which was an added bonus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Providing you are fit enough for the walking this is an excellent trip for people who enjoy a challenging week but want to return to some comfort at night. Bulgaria is a wonderful place and is highly recommended.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    Absolute classic just about sums it up.  In exchange for our (sometimes quite physical efforts) we were rewarded with stunning views and that "great to be alive" feeling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The weather was almost always just right for the day (not too hot when walking, perfect sunshine on the rest days.)  The only rain enabled us to stay cool on a stiff climb "three col" day.  Seeing one of the refuges in front of a glacier appear out of the mist was pretty dramatic.The most inspirational moment was funnily enough nothing to do with views.  It involved our guide Mel (Potter) squatting in the dust with a toy bulldozer and a Snickers bar describing the formation of morraines and other aspects of the surrounding scenery.  If you can picture the peanuts as erratics and the cracks from bending the chocolate bar as crevasses, you get the picture.  The clarity of thought and ease of explanation would have made any geology professor green with envy. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    On our only previous Exodus trip we were unimpressed with the group leader and so were not expecting anything special.  How wrong could we be?  Mel was amazing.  She was clearly very knowledgeable and informative (the two do not always go together!) on every aspect of the Tour from camp life through to plants, birds and wildlife.  She was friendly and amusing throughout and certainly made the trip into something special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The books on the TMB suggest that a choice of clockwise or anticlockwise is possible.  Having seen the walks I would suggest that the Exodus starting in Chamonix and going clockwise is good, leaving the steep challenge of Brevent to the last walking day. The sense of elation having reached the Brevent top (and Mel opening the champagne) was out of this world and a worthy final stretch.Ask to get Mel on your trip!!  Pascale the chef/driver/fixer was also fantastic

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was so good we may consider doing it again in the next few years.
Call us on 0208 772 3936