Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Superb Expedition, 8 days camping on the mountain in 'different' climatic zones culminating in a successful ascent of a wonderful mountain with great friends and meeting some new ones as well.  Truly inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from actually arriving at the summit which was our goal after all! The minute I arrived at Stella Point 5735m on the crater rim, after six hours of steep ascent in the dark..the sun came up as I reached the rim a glorious sunrise the curvature of the earth bieng visible.  An hour later traversing along the rim I reached the summit, euphoria!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Abrahim, superb guy and a great guide, never in your face but always around, if you couldn't see him you could hear him!  Very good organisationally and certainly knew the game, very comfortable on the mountain and his three assistant guides you could see learnt a lot from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a nail brush, dust gets everywhere! Failing that pay lots of attention to your kit it really is cold up there, I recorded minus 20 degrees centigrade on our route up on summit night and that was without the windchill, with a strong southerly (cold) wind blowing. Down jct and good down sleeping bag a must.Respect acclimatisation, go slowly, drink min 4 litres of water a day and be mountain fit before you go. we had a strong team all seven of us summitted preparation is everything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the seven summits and well worth doing whether you are a climber, walker mountaineer or someone whom just likes physical challenges! A beautiful complex mountain on a wonderful continent, the people and local people we met were great.Exodus..and East African guiding Company everything went like clockwork no complaints whatsoever tremendous trip I will not forget in a hurry.Finally, Food on the mountain was fantastic no worries there at all!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & BEACHES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

    Absolutely fabulous trip, far exceeded our expectations. it was one fantastic day after another with new experiences and sights every day. Great local guides whose enthusiasm and knowledge really added to the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many it's difficult to choose the best, but take any of the following...- Kruger National Park - more game spotted in the first two hours than we could have hoped to see in the whole holiday!- Antelope Park - walking with Lions was even better than we expected from seeing the TV series 'Lion Country'. Elephant riding with great guides and an idyllic campsite setting just next to the river.- Mozambique - Beautiful, picturesque and deserted beaches and the friendly smiling faces of all the people we met- Hwange Game Park -  Incredible game viewing at the waterholes and the Painted Dog conservation project- Great Zimbabwe Ruins - would love to have spent longer there, incredible architecture!- Rhino stalking in Matobo Hills - a full day of action with a dedicated and enthusisatic hunter/guide - Victoria Falls & Zambezi - a perfect ending to an adventure packed holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a team of three who all contributed massively to a great holiday experience, are really proud of their country and keen to ensure that everyone has a wonderful holiday. Crispen is a very knowledable and enthusiastic guide who managed the whole tour with fun, kindness and attention to detail that absolutely could not be faulted -  a fantastic guy who is full of anecdotes.JB is probably the best driver in Africa and he is incredibly diligent and practical - his helpful nature and calmness showed itself many times each day, making things like border crossings very smooth.Kelvin never stops smiling! He always made sure that we were well fed and he operated with quiet efficiency throughout making sure that everyone was happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack as little luggage as possible, early starts and camping mean that clothes etc need to be well organised. Must get Mozambique visa before you travel to save time at border. Take plenty of DEET insect repellant and memory cards for your camera.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous holiday one we will remember for the rest of our lives - a great range and variety of activities each day - we were never bored!!!A great group of fellow travellers added to the fun of the holiday - Many thanks!The staff at Exodus in the UK and the fantasic guides in Africa were second to none. We were so impressed that we have already booked another holiday with the company!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    One of the best Exodus trips I've been on and I've been on quite a few; a fantastic welcoming country, with great scenery and tasty food, and the itinerary was exceptional. Not a trip if you want a lazy holiday !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that most inspired me and restored my faith in `humanity` was the welcome from the people, especially the children who waved and shouted hello wherever we rode. The riders in the Tour de France couldn't have had a better reception.The opportunities to undertake other activities was better than expected, and included snorkelling, parascending, kayaking, as well as a cookery lesson. And the overnight cruise in Halong Bay was superb.And the cycling wasn't bad either, with one awesome and some moresome descent of 30 kilometers !Mind you, it did get pretty hot as well; and when it rains, you know it, but carry on cycling anyway 'cos you'll soon dry out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi Nguyen, was very hard working; always available to help or translate, well organised and a dry sense of humour.  Both himself  and his team couldn't be faulted.Apparently he is very good at kareoke as well, but that's just his opinion!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it, and enjoy !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait too long to go to Vietnam, as it could soon get too westernised and lose some of it's beautiful charm.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    A great trip for those who like to stretch their muscles amid stunning backdrops. The walks varied in length and steepness, but were very achievable with a good starting level of fitness. Lots of fun being in a group, with constant chatter and altitude-induced fits of giggles!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Toubkal was an obvious highlight - the steady trip up, the views from the top, and the scree running on the way back down. The mountains were beautiful, and the sunsets and stars also spectacular. We also had some great meals cooked for us on the road, and exploring the local food stalls on the last afternoon in Marrakesh gave us some unusual culinary experiences!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was an excellent leader - patient, friendly and organised. He kept the group together well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for dorms, early starts and the occasional tepid shower... but when approached with the right spirit, it all adds to the experience. Also - buy proper walking socks. They're the best!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Fantastic location deep in the bush. The camp is unfenced so we had the wildlife 24/7 and as this is a photographic safari you can stay with the animals, if they are doing something interesting - you're not racing from beast to beast with a tick list!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last morning we found a cheetah beneath a thorn bush with two week-old cubs. To watch them and then to see her stalk off a howling jackall was a real taste of 'wild Africa'

    What did you think of your group leader?

    So entertaining and yet brilliant at helping us to take good photos. Anyone who has been on a holiday with Paul Goldstein will know exactly what I mean!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack sun block,insect repellant, plenty of memory cards and batteries plus anything you could take to boost your energy levels!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommend this trip...it was worth every penny
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    Very good programm, the guide was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    visit with the catamaran to an island

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit to Varadero even only for lunch on the return
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    What a trip with fantastic scenery, great food. Well organised and walking was at a fair pace for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the explosions from Stromboli in the dark, and free-falling down Etna - never experienced anything like it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Second to none - a local guide who was extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE TATRAS

    My first cycling trip and I'm glad I decided on a moderate grade as there were a lot of hills - but at least you come down once you've gone up. The accommodation and leader were excellent, the meals were cheaper than expected, the extras were good - pity the weather couldn't be ordered, but at least it wasn't rainy or too hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great moments when the clouds cleared and we could see the mountains we were cycling round.The caves are really good, as was the folk museum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent on the whole but did rush us a bit on some of the stops in places of interest. Was well organised but able to be a bit flexible as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hilly!You don't need to carry a rucksack, bags for the bikes are provided and the support vehicle is never far away.Some days end quite early and if you go late in the season as we did some local services are not fully operational, so make sure you have things to do if you don't want to spend all the time in the bar.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful cake shops!Would recommend Exodus
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    We really enjoyed this trip to an unspoilt region of Greece where there were very few foreign tourists. We had good company, good food and Mythos beer. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beach at the end of the Demosaris Gorge was spectacularly wild and scenic and like other beaches that week, completely empty.The marble columns at the quarry on Mt Ohi looked as if the Romans had just recently abandoned them and were in a wonderful setting. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was a capable organiser, had sound knowledge of the island and was good company both on the walks and in the evenings when we all went out together. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full days travelling both to get there and to get back. This is because of the difficulty in matching plane times to local buses to ferry sailings. It is a price worth paying to get to a resort off the usual tourist track

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel Galaxy was clean and comfortable, staff were helpful and Ricky was a charming host. Karystos is a lovely town with two good beaches for swimming after a days walking in the hills
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    Have you swum with penguins (and cormorants, iguanas, turtles, sting rays, sharks etc etc)?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife on this trip is absolutely first rate. One snorkelling session I played with two sealions and swam with cormorants, marine iguanas and turtles. The cormorant even gave me a gentle bite on the leg. Another snorkelling session was spent swimming besides a penguin. On the equator of all places! That was shortly after swimming along with a diamond sting ray. The wildlife on land is also wonderfully unique. The blue footed boobies doing their dancing was a delight. Walking round a corner and literally tripping over a pair of Galapagos Hawks or a sealion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader (Monica) was very knowledgable and did a good job. The crew on board the boat also made us very welcome. Gloria, was our main guide in Quito and she was also very nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It has been said before, but take plenty of memory cards. I took 4,000 photos and half an hour of video. I always find 2 DSLRs to be a good combination. Despite the wildlife being close, I was glad I took my 50-500mm lens. The sun in Quito is very strong and also on the boat. I also took an underwater camera, it was a good investment. Of the 4 of us on board, I was the only one not to suffer from the rough seas. You will eat very well on board the boat. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst in Quito I would recommend a day trip to Mindo to see the cloud forest and humming birds. The cable car is also worth a trip along with the Foudacion Guayasamin and the Castilla del Hombre. The old town is also fascinating and included in the itinerary. Quito restaurants worth a try are La Canoa, Mama Clorinda and Mare Nostrum (all walking distance from the hotel) and Hasta la Vuenta, Señor in the old town (ask Gloria for directions). All serve local food. I had such a good time I will probably return in April. This trip was the western islands. My photos can be found at:http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidnunn/collections/72157627697973450/ 
Call us on 0208 772 3936