Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    A lifetime of experiences crammed into two weeks! a perfect adventure that showed some truly unique aspects of northern India  from forts to food that i would never have seen without this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is nearly impossible to seperate out inspirational moments; my girlfriend and I got engaged at the Taj Mahal which was an amazing experience at a truly magical monument. Seeing four tigers on a game drive was unbelievable, but sites like Mehrangarth fort at Jodhpur, the palaces at Udiapur or the Jain temple in Ranakpur were incredble as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Arvind Tikoo made the whole adventure for me. He was excellent during all aspects of the trip, from organising celebration cakes, dealing with tour guides, local merchants and hotels to arranging visits to schools, farms, and brick factorys to break up some of the travelling. Arvind was also excellent at explaining the political, historical and religious influences that have shaped the areas we visited a true treasure and lynch pin to the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just make sure to savour every aspect of the trip there is so much to enjoy and experience. Also dont watch the indian driving too much it's crazy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thanks to everyone for making this the trip of a lifetime; from the tour guides, Arvind JP our driver to all the staff at Exodus responsible for developing and booking the trip.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    A little early in the dry season to rate a 'classic' trip for me personally, June/ July / August should be much better, but still saw Lions, Wild Dogs,Buffalo,  Crocs, Hippos, hundreds of Ellies, Giraffe and Wild Dogs...  a great tour Leader with a good sense of humour (allways helps) and driver who managed to spot anything that moved whilst still keeping an eye on the tracks....   overall a great trip, and did I say we saw Wild Dogs?....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wild dogs and the total tranquility of the Delta in the Mekoros.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb...   Andrew was fantastic and a great cook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    one thing,  the truck is open to the elements,  great for game viewing, but not so when travelling long distances at speed, so a light scarfe is a must, desert rats style.     and also there's no lockable safes on the truck either so looking after your valuables can be tricky at times,  like keeping everything dry at victoria falls for example....   
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    Very good guide who really looked after you. Very hectic schedule would have been better if we could have stayed in Cusco a extra day and Lima as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seing the sacred sights and the Condors. I really enjoyed allthe nature we saw.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowlegable and looked after us well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful what you eat and take imodium and antibiotics with you. Drink lots of water to avoid altitude sickness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will always remember this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    The trek was great and the Atlas Mountains are as beautiful as you imagine, particularly whilst covered in snow. The itinerary was manageable even without much special training, although it merits the 'difficult' ranking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    You'll do this trip for the mountaineering, not for the food or the experience that you'll have of Marrakech. The itinerary was perfect for a short break and for those seeking a challenge, such as climbing to a high altitude or trying out crampons.  The food wasn't poor but wasn't tasty or what you might already know as Moroccan. There were tagine's and couscous but the spices are left out because the tourists apparently don't like them. As a foodie, this was a little disappointing. It didn't get in the way of a good time though, as the mountains as such an amazing setting. The lodge is well placed as the base for three nights and the treks are intense but leave you with a good part of the day just to stare into the snowy vista, read a book, play cards with your new travel mates or sleep off the exertion. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was superb. He's worked for Exodus for 17 years and knows this trek extremely well. He's completely safety focussed and is not at all blase' after all these years working similar tours, which was refreshing. He was always available to answer questions, help with crampons and to encourage the group along their challenge. I've had various treks with other companies and guides and this was certainly the best I'd had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes more carefully than you think you already have. Most of our group hadn't realised we'd be in the same lodge for three nights, or that the trek would be entirely on snow for three out of the five days. Our fault, and there was nothing wrong with it, but it was a surprise. Also don't expect to experience Marrakech. You'll arrive late at night and start the drive out to the Atlas the next day. Whilst the hotel isn't in a bad location, the Hotels we had are not in the Medina and are on a noisy road with Macdonalds and Pizza Hut nearby. You can make it to the main square, but not very leisurely. I added on extra time and stayed in a Riad within the Medina to get to the more beautiful side of the city
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    The holiday was a fabulous mix of visiting the main sites of ancient Egyptian history - pyramids, Valley of the Kings etc and a relaxing few days cruising down the Nile on a luxurious boat.  You could see how people lived on the banks of the Nile, tending their animals, fishing and living in primitive but peaceful conditions.  This contrasted with the hustle of city life in Cairo and Aswan and it was fascinating to hear from our guide not just about the history of Egypt but also about the recent,  ongoing revolution and about the reality of life in Egypt today. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many brilliant memories.  One of the most fun things was the selling of Galabeyas (Egytian dress) by vendors in little boats on the river.  They would throw the clothes in plastic bags up onto the top sundeck of the boat where we could look at them, shout down our requests - size, colour - more bags would be thrown up and down, sometimes landing in the river but not often!  Eventually I bought a blue and white galabeya which I'd haggled down from £300 to £40 (only £4 sterling).  I wore it to 'Egyptian Night' that evening on board which was just one of the fun entertainments we had on the ship.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khalid was brilliant.  Very knowledgable about Egyptian history and the Gods and Pharoahs and able to impart his knowledge in a witty and lively way.  Also he looked after us extremely well when there was a problem with our train back to Cairo, eventually giving us an extra day on board the cruise boat and flying us back to Cairo that evening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the street vendors trying to sell you tacky tourist rubbish - stand firm, show no interest at all.  Visit the two fair trade shops in Luxor where they sell beautiful, hand crafted gifts at reasonable prices with no hassling at all.  I would have done all my shopping there if I'd known about these shops in advance.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go to Egypt NOW while there are few visitors.  It's perfectly safe and there are no crowds, no queuing, even in the Tutankhamun room in the Cairo Museum!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    The Highlights of Morocco was an Amazing trip with an amazing Itinerary. I felt we got to see the "Real" Morocco and not just crowded tourist area's. In fact, I found that besides our group, there were only a handful of tourists in every city we went to, which made the trip less choatic. We saw busy cities and urban area's as well as mountain villages and small towns. There was a wide variety of activities ranging from hiking, shopping and getting lost in the medina to having opportunities to just sit and relax with a cup of berber whiskey (aka Mint Green Tea) and a good book. Most nights we had Tijine for dinner and tried new foods along the way.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Essouria, having free time to explore the city, medina and the beach. Walked for hours along the beach and within the medina. Enjoyed time at a cafe, views of the ocean and sunset from a castle wall, experienceing a freshly made crepe and finding a small restaurant with our group and having the best meal of the trip. Had a small group (9 people) and we all got along and at times when we had free time, we stayed together and made for a great experience and great memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was professional and did a good job. He was fun and easy to get along with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    - Make sure you have space in your luggage for souvenirs as there was a lot of market shopping in the Medina's.- Only needed sleeping bad for three nights (camping in the sahara desert and for two nights in the gite) - Food was good, but found it got a little repetative and most days tasted the same. But still was great food.- Be prepared for mass tourists in Marrakech, compared to the rest of the tour, Marrakech had the most tourists and crowds.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The total experience was incredible. Great variation in sights and things to do.  Could have used some more time in certain citities where we only got 1 day or half a day. The visit to Essouria could have been a little longer and less time in the Gorge (though the Gorge was an amazing place, just more time there than we needed) 
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    One of the best weeks of my life! I learnt so much about the life, culture, geography and history of Morocco, as well as how to sit on a camel and not get too sore! The people were fabulous and only a week after arriving back a few of us have met up and re-lived our experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was suberb- he knew when to give us a break or encourage us when we were tired. We learnt all about Berber life and he didn't tire of us asking questions all the time!He said that he hoped our visit to Morocco would 'change us in some way'. It certainly has.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    We had a small group and we got on really well. We were looked after the moment we landed and needed for nothing. The itinerary was really well thought out and every day was an adventure. Although it sounds like you do a lot in a day we were always back for dinner and never had any early starts (7:30 am the earliest). You pretty much see everything and get plenty of time to take it all in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything about the felucca was amazing. The crew were great fun and very entertaining. The campfire at night, singing songs, being told riddles all night by our Nubian captain. Waking up to see the sunset on the Nile was amazing. Everyone on a Nile cruiser seemed so bored as they sailed past us, laughing and giggling on our little felucca. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tarek was the best, such a nice guy with incredible knowledge and patience and nothing fazed him. Even when we found out we couldn’t take the train from Cairo to Aswan 5 hours before we were due to he and his colleagues sorted out airline tickets and an extra night in a hotel. We left a friend behind when we came home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to make an effort with everyone in your group, getting to know each other was half the holiday. Sleeping bag was needed in April, I slept without and I was a bit chilly. Insect repellent for the Nile and the hotel rooms saved me from being bitten during the night. If your leader tells you that cameras are not permitted beleive him. This includes mobile phones with cameras, if they see you take your phone out you and it will be removed as one guy found out in a tomb in the valley of the kings. It is fine to leave them in the bus as the driver stays with it at all times. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Budget for all the excursions but you may not be able to do them all. Sakkara and Dahshour is definitely a must! As is Philae, the Obelisk and High Dam.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    the trip notes allegedly revised in october 2010 bore little relationship to the actual itinerary which was extensively amended by our guide-he claimed that the original plans had been drawn up before the forest fires which devastated major forested inland areas -these fires made it necessary to substantially alter several of the walks-the order in which the walks were made was also changed.these changes were annoying but not as frustrating as the complete shambles of the transport arrangements throughout our stay-we had a full quota of sixteen walkers plus guide which on any other trip of this kind would,in my experience,have qualified the group for the provision of a dedicated vehicle or at least one for which we had a priority claim-we spent the week on and off public buses and in a range of cars vans and taxis which had for the most part been "cobbled together by the very frustrated guide who seemed to have little clout when it came to the question of transport-some of the drivers were dressed as waiters and bar staff and had obviously been "borrowed" from elsewhere-the guide implied that our travel budget had been downgraded because the accomodation arrangements had cost a greater percentage of the tour cost due to the size of the group and the need to switch to hotels of a higher grade!-the whole operation seemed to be run on a shoe string and left the group frustrated that we were being moved around like so much burdensome luggage-i expected more professionalism from a company of your size and resources-you need a more "hands on" approach and need to give your local staff and representatives more support
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    I've been on a few Exodus trips and as always we were very well looked after.  This holiday provided variety and entertainment for the children - although the amount of travelling was a bit tiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mountains - Lovely walks in the Atlas foothills.  Beautiful sunrises and sunsets.  Lived amongst the local people, one of whom gave me a loverly henna tattoo on my foot.Beach - The beach walk was spectacular (although long).City - Marrakesh was the highlight.  The square, Jemma El Fna, is one of the most vibrant places on earth and the kids were captivated by the snake charmers.  A definite must see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was very able, very friendly and had excellent English.  He was really good with the kids and kept up their spirits by having a joke with them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mountains - You dont really need a 3 seasons sleeping bag as blankets are provided at the gites.  Mules are available so the kids can hitch a ride if they get tired. Beach - This is a really, really long walk - 5 hours.  We were rather jaded by the end of it.  No mule back-up, so the kids had to walk the whole way.  Make sure you have plenty of room in your back-pack as the kids will definitely want you to carry their clothes, jackets and shoes.  Sun screen essential.  When we did it, the sky was overcast, but the sun was strong and we all were sunburnt by the end. Marrakech - Try and gather some Moroccan coins before the Marrakech part of the trip.  The locals in the square will chase you for payment every time you take a photo.  Better to have some coins at hand than flashing a wallet full of notes.  Eat at one of the restaurants overlooking the square - the square comes alive at night and is best viewed from an elevated position.Travel - There's a good 3 or 4 hours by mini-bus between the mountains and the beach (and back again!) - so not great if you're not a sound traveller (like me!).   Take sweets and plenty to drink to keep you hydrated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a very good trip. We were accompanied by another two families, so the kids made plenty of friends and were well entertained.  The itinerary was quite full, so little chance of the kids getting bored.  It was very hot in April (even in the mountains), so dont overpack thinking it's going to be cold.  Take a supply of elastoplasts/dressings for blisters, grazes etc.
Call us on 0208 772 3936