Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Wonderful scenery, great company, good food - and plenty of it - in a friendly hotel. Some of the walking was a little more challenging than we had anticipated (so many steps!) but, none the less, a good first walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Much of the scenery was breathtaking - it would be too difficult to pick out a single example.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was brilliant. His local knowledge and network of local contacts ensured we got the best out of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget the sunscreen. I managed to burn my arms on the first day when the breeze masked the power of the sun.Also, I'd never used walking poles before but found them a boon on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't underestimate the steps! They are not joking when they say there are lots of them!And bring a healthy appetite - most dinners comprise four substantial courses.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    Kas was a beautiful place and the other people in the group really friendly.  Overall, a very engoyable holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A boat ride to the Islands which was not arranged by Exodus (Perhaps it could be offered as an Option)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very nice but very inexperienced.  He spoke hardly any english and did not have good communication skills.  He also lacked knowledge about the area.  He tried to be friendly, but did not pull the group together or interact with us although he accompanied us to restaurants for evening meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're expecting a serious walking holiday, this is not the one.  The walks were short and not at all challenging.  Dont take any food or drink into the Hotel or it will be confiscated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Had a great time beautiful place and very enjoyable holiday.   It worked becaused we all got on so well as a group and not because of the Tour Leader
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    A Week in Jordan

    Well organised, great guide, well constructed holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Singing in the desert!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful, well informed, patient, kind manner.Perhaps could have given more options for evening activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get involved and make the most of getting to know the group and you'll have an awesome time!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday - would throroughly recommend to friends
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE LAS MAMBLAS

    This really was a great holiday. Everything just worked out well and I came home feeling refreshed and relaxed. The week was everything I was looking for - great walks and Spanish culture mixed together in just the right amount. I was also lucky to meet a great group of people who helped make the holiday more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to pinpoint one moment, there were many good ones. Was it the unexpected sighting of the fox as is trotted accross the field of poppies? Or the wonderful 360 degree view from the top of the mountain as we ate our locally bought picnic on the last day? Or maybe the ethereal sound of the monks singing vespers in Silos cathedral? It could just have been the taste of a well deserved cold beer drunk in the peaceful square outside the hotel watching the Storks nesting on the church roof. No, too many to choose from I'm afraid.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was great fun and his enthusiasm was infectious. He went out of his way to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves and his experience and local knowledge really added to the whole experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a small set of binoculars for spotting the wildlife and maybe a small bird/butterfly book. Insect repellent is very useful, the midges weren't biting but when it got hot there were quite a lot of them. Don't miss the town tour of Covvarubias it's full of surprises.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The website doesn't really do this holiday justice. This area of Spain is often quite ignored and that's a shame because it really is quite lovely. I wondered if being centre based would mean the walks were quite similiar but everyday was different and interesting. Covvarubias is a charming town with interesting history and well worth the visit, and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. If you like Spain and want to find out more then this holiday is for you. Despite the fact that we walked approx 10 -12 miles a day it really didn't feel like it because it was fun and interesting. Go and see for yourself!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    A Week In Jordan

    A magical whirlwind of the highlights of Jordan.  Each day was entirely different with activities ranging from exploring ancient ruins to floating in the  Dead Sea and snorkelling in the Red Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra by night + star gazing at Wadi Rum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgable, highly accommodating and great fun.  However, he did seem to have worked out the restaurant and shop stops to his advantage, but really - who can blame him?!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some pre-holiday reading as a basic knowledge of the book of Exodus along with Roman and Nabotean history will add to your experience. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food is quite expensive on this trip and the Jordanians are not big fans of the sandwich lunch - you will be buffeted and picniced out by the end!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    SRI LANKAN HIGHLIGHTS

    We did enjoy the trip....we saw a lot of interesting cultural sights, the people/guide/fellow travellers were great and we do have lots of good memories etc.  However, on the downside, we were always either on the tour bus or in tourist restaurants, tourist hotels, eating at the hotel buffet as a group practically every evening (usually one of many similar groups) - it sometimes felt like a Saga/Kuoni type tour that my mum (who is 77) would go on, rather than the more adventurous Exodus style trip that we were anticipating.  Whether this is because Sri Lanka does not have the infrastructure to cope with larger groups of independent travellers - or perhaps is not considered safe enough to allow tourists to explore independently - I am not sure, but it made for a rather regimented trip sometimes.  There may be handicraft shopping opportunities in Sri Lanka - but we had literally zero time to stop and look....apart from the rather miserable western-style Odel shopping mall in Colombo on our last evening.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    By far the most interesting/inspiring/authentic moment (not to mention the tastiest lunch) was the cycling trip to the local village.....more of this type of experience (in preference to the gemstone showroom, or the sari shop, for example) would really enhance the trip in my opinion.. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Subash was great - responsive, kind, good company, knowledgeable.....perhaps he didn't realise however, that many people who go on an Exodus tour are quite well travelled and would appreciate a bit more independence and the opportunity to experience local culture/flavours a bit more.  Having said this, perhaps others on the trip enjoyed the higher level of protectiveness that was offered. 
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    TEU - Walking in North Cyprus

    Just back from a wonderful trip, highly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking where the Crusaders walked while visiting their castles at St Hilarion & Buffavento. Then there were the restaurants on the quayside at Kyrenia harbour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It ended up being around 40C for our walks, which could have been very unpleasant. Hoosain kept us well-supplied with water & stopped in the shade at regular intervals. He changed our program to keep away from the hottest areas and really looked after us brilliantly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are really not strenuous, even if they were long on some days. This is a beautiful, and relatively unspoiled part of the Mediterranean.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I didnt enjoy our day out on the Karpas peninsula, thinking it was a lot of driving to see very little. But other people in the group did enjoy the day, so this was probably more down to personal preference. On all other days, drives were quite short.Our hotel was great, although far from the town & restaurants. But it was possible to get taxis easily and some local restaurants do offer a pick-up & return service.I was a bit apprehensive about how things would be, with the Turkish army being in North Cyprus. This didnt turn out to be an issue, and I felt very safe the whole trip. Overall, a wonderful trip!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    Brilliant Trip!

    A thoroughly enjoyable two weeks trekking through stunning and remarkably varied scenery. A fantastic guide, a great bunch of people, friendly muleteers, great food and a well-paced itinerary all contributed to the enjoyment. We also encountered great friendlyness and hospitality from a variety of local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Toubkal was a great achievement, but the following day heading up Ouanakrim was the most inspirational for me. The day started with a 4am wakeup call, which was immediately forgotten on looking up and seeing the night sky - more stars than I'd ever seen before and the Milky Way clearly visible. The climb itself was tough, beginning before sunrise, but quieter than Toubkal and rewarded with a fabulous view of the 'big one' from the summit, which we reached just after 8am. We all headed down the long, long descent to Aremd with a spring in our step!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was simply excellent. Friendly, engaging and knowledgable throughout (despite not always feeling 100% himself) and always conscious of the safety and wellbeing of the group. We were all sad to say goodbye at the airport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Others have said it, but don't assume it's always going to be warm and sunny. As a mountainous area, weather can change quickly and at altitude it can get very cold at night. Come prepared for all conditions!How can I say this... Bring plenty of wet wipes!Take a small selection of clean clothes that you can leave at the hotel in Marrakech for when you return. It's much better than having to wear your 'well-travelled' clothes for the last couple of days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! This trip is fantastic value for money and the Atlas Mountains are a brilliant trekking destination. You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    SRI LANKAN HIGHLIGHTS

    Overall it was a good trip - good bunch of fellow travellers, helpful and interesting guide, interesting cultural places and some beautiful scenery etc..... and we certainly have some great memories.  However, for my tastes it was all a little regimented - on and off the bus from tourist hotel to tourist site of interest, and finally tourist buffet dinner en masse (along with 100s of others) every evening except one ....it felt more like a Saga/Kuoni type tour than the independent traveller Exodus type trip that we had anticipated. There may be reasons for keeping tourists on such a tight leash, but perhaps the trip notes could make this clear for the benefit of future travellers.   Sri Lanka may have some great handicrafts, but we literally were given zero time to wander around local markets, for example....and ended up buying a couple of things at the airport.  Reading the other reviews it seems that other travellers did not mind this high level of protectiveness as much, but personally I found it a bit stifling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycle ride to the local village was the main highlight - and the best food - off the tourist bus finally, and picking up the local vibe and flavour.  More of this kind of thing, and less of the gemstone shop and the sari shop etc would make the trip a lot more interesting in my opinion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tour leader Subash couldn't have been more helpful - as well as knowledgeable and informative.  It was his first Exodus trip, however, so perhaps he was more used to the kind of tourists who need to be escorted and accompanied absolutely everywhere.  He seems to have taken us places that he thought were close to our western standards, when really we were keen to have more authentic experiences - though, as I said maybe there good reasons for this that we as westerners didn't fully understand. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Before I book with Exodus again, I will definitely be checking about the amount of free time etc built in to the itinerary, whether we will be visiting local markets (on this trip we visited a western style shopping mall), or getting off the beaten track at all, whether we will be travelling using any local transport (this trip is almost solely tourist bus) and what kinds of places we will be staying and eating (if i ever see another tourist buffet lunch/dinner or have another three piece band singing elvis presley it will be too soon!)
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    Made it!!

    Although the trip was harder than expected/advertised as moderate rating (it said no cycling experience necessary - not true!!) There were hills to tackle daily, but  I found that 'extra push' to get up the hills, and felt great by the end of the trip!  Helped of course by the fantastic scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to make it to the top of hills and not being last in the group!!  Also the beautiful scenery and weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was absolutely lovely.  A very calm, capable and responsible person for a young guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to push yourself - its worth it!!
Call us on 0208 772 3936