Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    A thoroughly enjoyable tour that encompassed such varied landscapes and people, as Ecuador covers a relatively small area compared to many other South American countries. We travelled from the chilly high Andes to the heat of the jungle and Pacific coast. Our guide (Pablo) was excellent. Our driver (Nelson) was careful and made us feel secure. Distances each day were not too great and most roads were good. Our accommodation and food were also good throughout. A great way to learn about and see Ecuador.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many high points - from the high mountains and snow covered volcanoes, beautiful landscapes, varied agriculture, colourful markets, varied peoples in the local dress and the delightful old towns within Quito and Cuenca. The railway journey on the rebuilt track from Alausi to the Devil's Nose switch back was great fun for everyone (not just for railway fans).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was a professional - knowlegable, helpful and considerate. Cosmopolitan in outlook with excellent English. He made situations work for the benefit of the whole group on many occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take varied clothing as it can be cold as well as hot. The 3 night stop on arrival at Pantavi Hacienda was good and helped overcome the effect of the long journey. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been nice to stop at Leito Hacienda for a second night or to find a hotel nearer Alausi rather than stopping in Riobamba.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    I think the Nile cruise should be on everyone's 'to do' list.  A good variety, with so much to see.   March a brilliant time to go, as not too hot, and after a revolution even better, as not many tourists! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Karnak; seeing Tutankamun's exhibition; the Aswan Dam; floating in the Felucca at Aswan;

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was very good.  He is passionate about his country and history, past and in the making!  He was very protective of us and ensured we knew what not to do, and not to eat.   His information was great, full of history and detail, recapping each day with little tests of which Pharaoh was married to who, and who was who's father! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On the first day, make sure you make yourself a lunch from breakfast, as we didn't stop from being met at 12.30, till we were on the train, which wasn't until about 8 ish, and the food was not that good on the train.When in Aswan, book a Felucca ride between you for a couple of hours in the afternoon.  Amazingly chill out.   We used the Felucca ride in the morning to also stop at the Botanic gardens.Abu Simbel is more than just a facade of buildings, the paintings and carvings inside were the best we saw.If you don't like heat, then March is good.  Like a really good British Summer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The sleeper train is definitely an experience.  A Dozing train may be a better description.   But you certainly see the countryside, which you wouldn't do from a plane.   Early morning going back up to Cairo, seeing the people outside their homes, a small truck going past with 3 donkeys on the back!   The mists over the water, with the palm trees.  Egypt as it really is.A shame about the Pyramid Parks hotel.  The notes say at the end of the holiday, to relax by the pool.  It's a lovely pool, just a shame there wasn't any water in it!An amazing holiday.  Relaxing, interesting, varied, beautiful, and blue skies and sunshine.   Thank you.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    SPICE TRAILS OF KERALA

    The trip was well organised, the group we were with mixed well and the group leader worked hard making the holiday a great success.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bali, what can you say, he made the holiday an experience and a pleasure, allowing us to appreciate the full wonders of India and at the same time learn about the more subtle parts of the religion, politics and every day life of Indians today and in the past.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS & AMA DABLAM

    A fantastic holiday - the trek was very enjoyable and we were well cared for by our guides and leader.  Great craic and was very pleased with my trip (being an Exodus newbie)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the 1st time at Tengboche after a 2 hour uphill trek.  Reaching Ama Dablam base camp & being the only group there. Arriving back to Lukla on the completion of the trek & having a few Everest beer in 'The Irish Pub'.  Watching the sunset over AmaDablam, Nuptse Lhotse and Everest.  Seeing the young monks in Tengboche playing soccer and card games (gambling).  Doing a headstand at 4600m with Everest above my left foot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang was a fantastic leader.  If I were to go trekking in this region again I would ensure that I chose one that was led by him.  Soukman and Sham (our guides) were excellent , spoke english really well and even understood our strong irish accents.  Pasang et al were aware of any issues we were facing before we were aware of them - such was their sensitive approach.  They are so friendly and we had a great laugh with them - though Im a bit lost at not having anyone bringing me morning tea now.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    - keep to a vegetarian menu (though there is little choice) and that saves on tummy bugs- card games were great entertainment for the evenings- try Everest beer- be happy that Exodus have strong animals to transport kitbags as opposed to people (which other companies use)- Rum Doodle restaurant in Kathmandu is overrated 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group that I went with ranged in age but we all got on really well - which was helped by our guides.  Im now frightened to not walk clockwise around boulders and I have more awareness of crows.  I will always appreciate the western loo.  Showers sometimes come in buckets.  Tibeten bread is class.  
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTHERN ALPS SNOWSHOE TREK

    Once again an excellent holiday, well led with a good and varied itinerary and wall-to-wall sunshine. Even the downhill skiing on the rest-day was good and at a reasonable price.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not one particular moment, but lots of variety in the type of snowshoeing, including deep-powder, which some of us `ate` on numerous occasions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vincent was superb: started well with a good information pack for everyone including some local lavender. He was well organised, unassuming, helpful and mixed well with all the group. Nice finish to the trek with `champagne` and cake.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Simply enjoy.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    I really enjoyed the cycling, in spite of the cold wind at times.  I had doubted whether I would keep up (as a 60+er) but was relieved not to be quite the slowest!  The cycling was somewhat stage-managed with a Police 4 WD with flashing lights leading us and stopping the traffic to allow us to pass, a cycling guide at the front of the party and another at the back and lastly the coach behind that, to say nothing of the cycle vehicle which raced up and down our column!  We were cheered on by children on the route as cyclists, especially western female ones, are very rare!  Cycling is obviously not a Jordanian pastime. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up to Place of High Sacrifice in Petra and down the other side towards Wadi Faresa - the colours in the rocks were fantastic.Chatting to a lovely Jordanian family on Aqaba public beach on a sunny morning - the little girls were so keen to practise their English.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgable about the ancient history of the area and of the recent history and life of the people.  He spoke very good clear English.  A very calm unflappable person who prepared some good lunches and marvellous snacks morning and afternoon.  Most of us went home a few pounds heavier despite all the exercise!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take both cold and warm weather gear.  The temperatures varied widely over the trip.  It was very warm in the Dead Sea area and Aqaba but cold in Petra and most of us were unprepared for this.  Gloves, scarves and warm trousers were needed at times, as well as woolly hats!  Don't expect wide availability of alcohlic drinks.  When available, wine and beer are quite expensive in most places apart from Aqaba.  We found the local wine, St George, to be very palatable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Jordanian Arabs are very welcoming.  Unlike some of their neighbours, they do not hassle or beg and are so friendly.If you enjoy a mixture of culture, history, fresh air and exercise then this is a holiday for you!
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    LAPLAND ADVENTURE & THE ICEHOTEL

    Excellent holiday, unique location away from commercial hustle and bustle - action packed, wide range of activities with modern equipment and facilities-  local cuisine included reindeer, elk and wild boar very tasty, seconds or 3rds every day!! It is all sorted for you so you can focus on having a fantastic holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to recount, every day has something unique to recall but the igloo building and night in it will remain with me forever, as will the northern lights not once but twice, the dog sledding, the dogs antics and chasing after a run away sled! Oh and jumping in the snow after a swedish sauna!My personal favourite though has to be taking the skidoo through the forest, digging the machine out of the powder and then pushing it to its limit across the lakes- Thanks Barbara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Staff at Lappeasuado make the trip what it is. Specialist staff depending on what activity your doing add to the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own water proof ski gloves/mittens, 2 pairs of silk gloves, a snood, and hip flask! Get plenty of rest before you go, its non stop until thursday. Dont forget goggles for skidoo and the sun cream! And don't forget the camera charger, and extra memory card!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip over a 3 day trip to the ice hotel any day, but be mindful with this trip you only get a snow room in the ice hotel, not a carved suite! But don't forget your asleep and you can see all the suites during the day!The weather in March and daylight hours make it one of the optimum times to go especially for you Northern light fans!In a nutsell, the holiday was worth every penny!
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Am amazing if sometimes exhausting trip. India is a land of such contrasts

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day bought a new highlight the Taj didn't disappoint and the Astronomy Park at Jaipur was such an eccentric creation it couldn't fail to impress, the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara kitchen where they are cooking for so many people everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay worked well with the group and made sure that everything went smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are considering this trip an ability to sleep anywhere is a distinct advantage there were alot of early starts - to see the Taj at dawn , look for tigers (sadly in our case unsuccessfully), to go on the Ganges. In addition 2 nights were spent on the train where I got little sleep. I would also recommend arriving in Delhi at least a day early, as I did, which gives you a chance to recover from the night flight before the tour and also see more of Delhi. Due to a 5 hour delay, which I think is not unusual, on the train into Delhi the group only had a few hours to see the sights of Delhi which was a pity.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have prefered more free shopping time to yet another factory visit and one overnight train journey was enough for me!
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    An easy, relaxing week of walking in excellent company. Good food (and wine) served by friendly staff in lovely surroundings. Evenings and early mornings were very cold but the bedrooms were well heated and the water wonderfully hot. The sitting room fire could have been lit a little earlier to warm it up for the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The afternoon spent at the Real Alcazar, Seville - second only to the Al Hambra in Granada.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Laid back, helpful and good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be warned the pool is FREEZING in February - but really exhilarating after a long walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a very easy week, with relatively short walks and quite a lot of time spent at the farmhouse where there is not a lot to do other than read, play cards etc. This is wonderful for a really chilled holiday but might not suit the more 'active'.  
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Very rushed, and a lot of travelling, but the amazing places we visited will live in my memory long after the boring journeys have faded!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved visiting Varanasi, and seeing how devoted people were to something (Hinduism) that I don't understand at all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A bit too much of a schoolmaster, and his accent made him difficult to understand.  I actually prefer Western leaders for trips like this, as they are better at judging what is interesting for us and what isn't, and at respecting our eating/coffee break etc. routines.  Local guides are good for each individual place of course.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Travelan - a preventative for Travellers' Diarrhoea - which is licensed in Australia an available via the Internet.  Most of our group had digestive problems at some point, but my husband and I took a pill with every meal and escaped.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put off by India's reputation for dirt and poverty.  Yes, that's there, but there is so much else as well.
Call us on 0208 772 3936