Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A really interesting and varied week. It gave us a very good idea of the many facets of this fascinating country.The guide Dougan spoke excellent English and was a mine of useful information from the history of each region to the best places to buy lunch while travelling.The hotels were very good and a real 'oasis' at the end of each day.I thought it was very good value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra & Jerash were even better (and larger) than I had expected.Staying at the  camp at Wadi Rum  was great. The meal the Bedouin cooked was my favourite of the week and seeing dusk and dawn in the desert was an experience I will always remember.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. His English, knowledge and sense of humour greatly enhanced the whole experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to bring a towel at all...not even for the Dead Sea and snorkelling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved it!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    Up until ATM I had never been on a holiday on my own, never been to turkey and never been on a multi activity holiday! It was one of the best decisions I have made.  An absolutely awesome time in so many different ways.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would struggle to sum it up in one.  Top moments were doing something different everyday, meeting lots of people on the same wavelength as you and Kas was absolutely beautiful.  I think the greatest moment was canyoning and how friendly the turkish people are.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was great fun, always had a smile and what I was really impressed with was how he balanced ensuring the safety of everyone during each activity with the different levels of fitness.  Everyday was fun and he had a wealth of knowledge and skill to go with each activity.  Ali took us to some gorgeous turkish restuarants and great friendly bars.  The impression I got of Ali was that sleeping was overated!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A more in depth essential kit list would have been useful, I travelled in may and would recommend for this time of year, long sleeves for night.  For activities a waterproof coat generally, ankle boots for canyoning and a waterproof bag if you have one.  You dont need anything too glam to wear for the night and definitely no heels (ladies or blokes).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the best holidays i have ever had, if you are thinking about booking, just do it.  I have been back 2 weeks and my head is still on holiday.  Everyday is different, exciting but most importantly a great scream.  I took 4 books to read and came back with 4 books to read.  There is not alot of time to sit about, so if you are an active soul you will have a fantastic time.Would I book again?  DEFINITELY!!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    An absolutely brilliant trip with a lovely group of people.  Wonderful food, scenery and great hotel.  Everyday was a completely different experience - a tour with great variety and something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing looking into the steaming crater of Mount Vesuvius was amazing.  The ruins at Pompeii were simply awesome with a wonderful sense of the region's history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was brilliant - her local knowledge is extensive and she went out of her way to help us get the most out of every day.  We were all very grateful for her hard work!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling in May its worth taking some warm clothes for the evenings - the temperature in the mountains is quite a bit lower due to the altitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend booking this holiday - I will certainly be planning another trip with Exodus soon!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE LAS MAMBLAS

    This holiday exceeded all expectations:  wonderful countryside, fantastic wildflowers, mediaeval village with stork nesting on church tower, good well-thought out itinerary.  We were well looked after by the hotel owner and our guide and the walks were achievable by our group of 60 to 70 year olds!! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Santo Domingo de Silos was the most challenging (only 5 of us went). We followed an old pilgrim's route up from the Arlanza valley to a plateau, through a wonderful meadow of wildflowers, then up a steep, rocky path to the top of a ridge.  The view from there was spectacular, looking across to San Carlos.  A further steep, rocky path led us to another ridge, then down to the village of Silos for a well-deserved beer. Another day, walking along an old mule track in a beautiful valley between the tumbled down village of Castroceniza and Ura, stands out as being special.  Watching the vultures (both Griffon and Eqyptian) while having our picnic in the shade of an overhanging cliff, with the clouds drifting overhead against the blue sky, and a stream gurgling below.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The walks were both well planned and well paced.  Bob's knowledge of the area was a great asset - he knew the local people and the history of the area. His attention to detail was great and we felt very well looked after.  We were fortunate to have met him before the holiday - he came walking with our group (Pontesbury Plodders) whilst at home in Shropshire in April - so it was like meeting an old friend.  Next year, it's Austria! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You may think the countryside looks rather barren in photographs. Don't be put off.  The valleys are green with wheat fields, meadows, vineyards, cherry orchards and walnut groves (though the latter are suffering from blight).  But the hills are rocky and paths stony - however, they are covered in juniper scrub and smell divine with wild thyme, lavender and gorse.  Botanists love limestone country and this doesn't disappoint.  We saw early purple orchid, lady orchid, bee orchid, white helleborine, rock soapwort, blue aphyllanthes, white rockrose, asphodel, Pyrenean flax, Star of Bethlehem, tassel hyacinth, thyme broomrape, common storksbill, kidney vetch, and lots more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was rather daunted by the thought of walking 10 miles a day every day, but it's amazing what you can do when you try.  The walks were set at a pace to suit us all, and by taking all day over them and having frequent stops, they were achieved in relative comfort and, although we were concerned it might be too hot, there was a breeze most days and the air that high up was invigorating.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    Very enjoyable holiday. Everything was well planned and organised both prior to departure and once in Peru. There is a lot of travelling involved, especially at the start but you do get to see a lot of things in a very short space of time.  We were really lucky as although we had a big group (16 people) we all got on really well and it enhanced the holiday by making such good friends throughout the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be difficult to pick one highlight as the trip is so diverse.The rainforest was excellent and we both loved the nature walks and all of the animals and creatures we saw. The accomodation was specatacular too. Not in a 5* hotel way but it fitted into the environment perfectly and really added something to the stay.The Inca Trail was tough in places but enjoyable with exceptional support from the porters and guides. No-one really suffered from altitude sickness etc but I'm sure this was partly because we were so well fed, watered and looked after. As the trip notes suggest as long as you are reasonably fit you'll be fine. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was brilliant. Not only was he passionate and knowedgable about Peru he was funny, helpful and even gave photography tips to everyone! We can't say enough about how much Juan added to the trip.The local guides should also receive praise. Emerson and Edwin in the rainforest were great and Emerson must have the best eyesight of anyone I've ever met to spot baby caiman, in the dark, from about 100m away! Wilson plus the porter team on the Inca trail were also very good. How the chefs create the meals we had during the trail in a little tent I'll never know.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you arrive in Lima change quite a bit of dollars into soles straight away. Although the trip notes suggest you can use dollars (and you can) the exchange rate is not very favourable and we found it much easier to have soles instead. Also, try and get small denominations (20 or lower) as many of the smaller shops and stalls have trouble changing anything bigger.Pack light. We thought we had but we still had far more than we needed. We were able to get laundry done on arriving in Cusco and again after the trail and with a 7kg limit on your trail bags and not needing much for the rainforest (light clothing and long sleeves and legs) you'll find a lot of what you take doesn't really get used. Don't forget layers for the evenings on the trail and on the homestay! Waterproof ponchos seemed to work better than the bag covers when it rained heavily on the trail too. Only about 2soles in Cusco if you ask around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have the time and can afford to fly in a day early to have a free day in Lima would break up the travelling at the start of the trip. It was pretty intense for the first two days and if we were to repeat the trip we'd definitely look to do that.Other than that just take a good sense of humour and enjoy yourself!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE LAS MAMBLAS

    This is a great holiday with a wide range of scenery, wildlife and plants to see.  It is located in a beautiful part of Spain and is a really good walking holiday. The hotel is very comfortable. hospitable and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of orchids and birds was a real eye opener.  I did not expect to see Egyption buzzards.  The villages present a range of architectural styles.Attendance at vespers one evenings was quite spiritual!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent organisation, knowledge and planning made certain that this was a great holiday.  Nothing was too much trouble for Bob.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes book now!!  Be prepared for some great days and long evenings in the bar!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have been on many Exodus holidays but this centre is a real winner.  A really good hotel and excellent service.  Tremendous value for money and a great time as well.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Another wonderful cycling holiday thanks to Exodus !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling down to the sea, with all the wonderful views ... then relaxing in the sunshine with delicious well-deserved ice-cream !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was excellent - kept us all together both cycling and socially, and created a nice atmosphere in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your waterproofs ... I wouldn't have missed the morning cycling in the pouring rain for anything, despite the fact I got drenched !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait to go on my next Exodus trip ... Mongolia in September !
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    A good trip; well organised, with a convenient base for the walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scrambling ascent of Mancondiu on the last day; a very enjoyable excursion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good; technically very competent, with an in-depth knowledge of the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a long-ish drive (2 to 2.5 hours) to and from the airport at Bilbao.Check whether or not you have booked one of the "challenging weeks".

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Personally, I would have liked a bit more scrambling, in what was potentially very good terrain.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    This was my first trip of this kind and it far exceeded my expectations.  The walks were all different and very interesting. Really fun group of people.  Our guide Suzy was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain walk was amazing.  Fabulous scenery and so many lovely spring flowers.  An absolutely brilliant day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy was an excellent leader.  Her knowledge of the area, the flowers and the history of the place was phenomenal.  She also talked knowledgebly about her other trips and adventures.  She was also great fun, every walk ended in a bar for a drink before returning to the Cortijo.  We were also joined by Alejandro, who was taking over from Suzy in Andalucia, which was a fun addition to the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a novice I took walking boots but walking shoes would have been far more suitable for this level of walking in Spring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to eat!!  The food at the Cortijo Rosario is very good and plentiful.  The lovely Spanish ladies who look after you are very proud of their cooking and will be very offended if you don't enjoy.  The Cortijo enjoys a fabulous position with views on all sides.  It is very relaxed, you don't have to lock doors and the bar is a help yourself tab system.A truly amazing experience.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    Beautiful mountainous scenery, but be sure you are fit if you book on the 'C' grade holiday as the days are pretty long (7 hrs) and there is a lot of UP...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well standing on the peaks of course

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor is a very friendly chatty guy, full of stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a pretty straight forward walking holiday but does require a good level of fitness if you go on the 'C' grade holiday otherwise you may feel you are keeping the group back.
Call us on 0208 772 3936