Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    DUBROVNIK & THE DALMATIAN COAST

    A relaxing week with plenty of time to slow down and appreciate Croatia's cultural heritage and coastal scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating fresh fish while on a boat anchored in a bay off Mljet, after a beautiful walk... Wandering the streets of Dubrovnik

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and helpful; always willing to answer questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking trails can be quite stony - for that reason, if I were packing again, I'd be taking "proper" walking boots rather than the softer ones I actually took.You can drink the water form the fountains in Dubrovnik, so don't buy bottles there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip if you just want to chill - there are no long travelling days, and there's time to explore everywhere (make sure you get out in Trogir in the afternoon/early evening on arrival though, as there's not much time to do it the following morning before going on to Split).
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    The best Exodus trip I've been on!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape and flowers of the area were fabulous and inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alejandro was superb- the best guide so far with Exodus. He went out of his way to meet the needs of the group in a friendly, generous and fun way. He clearly loved his job and his enthusiasm for travel is infectious! Great to have a guide fluent in the language- really helped the trip run smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun cream with a high enough factor!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly relaxing week away in the sun. Definitely a must if you like mojitos.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A chance remark by a cycling friend in South Africa led us to Exodus and the Amalfi trip. Amalfi, by reputation, is a beautiful part of Italy and doing it on a bike was truly magnificent. Starting in Cilento was quiet and traffic-friendly for those who are not regular cyclists, although the climbing was an immediate challenge! The Amalfi section was gorgeous, though very busy traffic-wise. Altogether a truly wonderful way of seeing this stretch of Italian coastline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling from Salerno into Amalfi - not a long ride but one that certainly made me take a deep breath and thank my lucky stars. On our last cycling day we pedalled the beautiful stretch from Amalfi to Positano with cosummate ease, legs and butts well adjusted and the quiet look of satisfaction on everyone's faces was priceless.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were very lucky to have Peter Hoogstaden as our group leader. He has lived in Italy for 15 odd years and with his fluent Italian, extensive local knowledge and enthusiastic attitude we all enjoyed a great week. We were taken to local spots and restaurants that were off the beaten track with a highlight being a boat ride to a simple beach restaurant for a lovely final dinner, rounded off with some seriously potent home-made liqueurs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather took us all by surprise with a cold and wet start so please pack a weatherproof jacket. There is no need to bring your own bike as the supplied bikes were perfectly adequate and the back up good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt that the choice of some of the hotels could be better. Our first two nights were spent in Marina di Camerota and the hotel was gloomy and inhospitable, with quite inedible food. This did not create a good first impression so more research on the hotel choice is needed. The choice of tour leader is also very important, though we had a wonderful group dynamic which always makes it easier for a tour leader.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    The Picos Peaks and Gorges was a great trip. We were picked up by Jim in Bilbao and transferred by private mini-van to the Hotel. Rooms were allocated quickly and the bar was open ready for a much needed refreshing drink. Overall the walks were suitably challenging and and the weather was varied. Our guide, Victor was awesome. The food was very sufficient. The breakfast meals were all you could eat, packed lunches were a large bread roll, fruit and chocolate and the evening meals mostly cooked by Pilar were nothing short of excellent, hearty local food. The rooms were clean, well serviced and there are laundry and drying facilities which I put to use. The local village was worth a visit or two and there are plenty of gift shops. The group I was with was mixed, all ages and all managed to keep up with the moderate pace. I had a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was a day when Victor took us out on a gloomy day but after quick a long walk and then a good scramble we rose above the clouds and could see all the major peaks. Also the Cares Gorge walk, although 12KM each way had some breathtaking views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Victor is a highly skilled, well qualified and knowledgable. Being a local man and 3-4 generations of his family lived and worked in the region he gave us a good account of the local history of the area as well.  Victor was a very good leader and left no body behind and respected everyone's abilities. Without any doubt Victor made the holiday a success and he is a credit to Jim, Pilar and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a 2 hour 15 min transfer from Bilbao. Santander would be a better choice. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On warm days ensure you take enough water with you. One of the day's was about 25C and a number of the group were getting low on water. I took a Camelbak / hydration bladder and that served the purpose. I used the hotel tap water, no problem. 
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    A fabulous holiday - more than I expected. I experienced and learned a lot plus the organisation was superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming up through the sun gate to see Macchu Picchu laid out before you in the sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos made this trip for me. His knowledge and enthusiasm, whether Inca history, local flora and fauna or football was amazing.All our questions and problems were dealt with good grace and good humour. He is obviously very proud of his country and culture and he is a wonderful ambassador for it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! The altitude problem did not affect our group, the trail is an experince and is a slight physical challenge but the arrival at the end and the sense of achievement makes it all worthwhile.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn't have missed it for anything.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This is a fantastic multi adventure holiday which can be challenging at times but highly rewarding. Every day has a different adventure to enjoy along with the new friends you have made in the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding was a first for me this year and my heart was pounding as I was standing on the edje of a mounting waiting for the signal to run. I also really enjoyed the Scuba Diving experience and the Sea Kayaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho is a superb group leader. He gives 100pct to the group and ensures they are briefed about each activity along with any safety issues. He also does his best to ensure the group has a good time in the evenings (if they want to join in).  This was my third Holiday with Maho as my group leader and I  would like to return again soon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, just book it and enjoy a great holiday experience you will never forget.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I find the local Turkish people of KAS extremely friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a nice quiet drink I would recommend the Hideaway bar otherwise if looking for some good music and dance then go to Red Point or Queen. I am seriously thinking of returning again soon which would make this my fourth Lycian activity holiday
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    Food for the soul! - A week of stunning scenery and good company led by Cosmin and Katerina, both of whom's passion for Romania's wildlife and culture is inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Vistas so wide you can't take it all in.  So many different shades of green.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin has a passion for Romania, it's wildlife and history.  He is very knowledgable and he loves guiding. A great guide!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit! There is no such thing as 'flat' on this trip.  It was often steep and sometimes loose underfoot.  That said it wasn't hard walking all day every day due to the 'culture' part of the itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accomodation is superb.  Katerina and Hermann run a lovely guest house.  Clean and comfortable. The food is fresh and local every day.  Beware the Schnapps!!!   Say hello to Smelly Dog (aka Kurt Cobain).Don't go expecting to see wild wolves and bears on your walks every day. Visit the sanctuary and be grateful for it. Experience the bear hide.  Take binoculars and watch the beavers at the Beaver project.  Enjoy the many varieties of birds including birds of prey and myriad fauna and flora every day.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    JEWELS OF UZBEKISTAN

    Uzbekistan is a fantastic country which has an unfair reputation simply because of the other countries that it borders. It is safe to visit and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The mix of a strong Islamic heritage with a more recent Soviet influence provides for a fascinating stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a sand-storm rolling in from the horizon when staying at the yurt camp was a moment we won't forget!The Registan and Ulugbek's observatory in Samarkand were the highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davlat was extremely helpful, considerate, attentive... by far the best guide we have had so far.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't base your decision to go to Uzbekistan on the reputation of that part of the world. There are only a couple of borders, and a valley, which you shouldn't go near, and the itinerary avoids those places.Take plenty of spare cash in US dollars as it's very difficult to get cash out or pay on a card.In Khiva there is a minaret that you can climb, and it is well worth the effort for the view.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A well-balanced mix of spectacular sight-seeing, phenomenal history and leisurely walks around the Amalfi Coast and Bay of Naples. Fantastic accommodation and delicious food were a bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments. Visiting the surprisingly well-preserved "ruins" of Herculaneum, followed by a walk up Mount Vesuvius was a definite highlight. The 'Walk of the Gods' was breathtaking as were Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. The vast area of Pompeii (optional trip) was equally awe-inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Christine Rooney - deservedly one of Exodus's highly commended leaders of 2010 - was absolutely terrific. She was incredibly enthusiastic throughout the holiday and has a great sense of humour. She is highly knowledegable and passionate about each area visited and made each day memorable and fun. Her organisational skills were also second-to-none.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have no reservations about recommending this trip. If you like historical sites, impressive scenery, fresh air, amazing food and wine then you need look no further. Groups will vary from trip to trip I'm sure, but i definitely struck gold with my fellow travellers. The hotel offers Exodus customers free internet access should you wish to Skype home with your smart phone. Make sure you wear a pair of sensible shoes for the Vesuvius walk and Walk of the Gods - I saw people struggling with flip-flops! Naples is gritty - bear in mind it's a city - every surface seems to have graffitti on it. The museum in Naples is definitely worth a trip - with hundreds of equisite statues, impressive mosaics and a rather amusing "over age 14 only" section.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot praise the hotel enough. Before dinner each evening there is a chance to meet in the bar and discuss with the Exodus leader the events of the following day over a glass of Prosecco - very nice indeed. The hotel also hosts a pizza-making demonstration on one evening using their own wood-fired pizza oven - make sure you take your camera as hilarity is bound to ensue. They also offer a trip to their kitchen on a separate evening in which you watch the preparation of that evening's meal. For a small fee each evening you can have unlimited wine also - just remember to take it easy!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    France the place to cycle, but so pleased my friend spoke french, the directions were awful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the destination at the end of each days cycling. As we had always cycled much further due to poor directions and getting lost. ( Two Australians on same route also got lost everyday)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    No group leader on our trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for (or research your own) directions. Need blown up maps of each days route.Ask cost of taxi airpost to destination. Ours 100 eur. Trains don't always run that often.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unlucky enough that a bird flew into our engine on take off, that delay caused us to miss train connection. Disapointed Exodus happy to leave us 5 hours waiting for train, thought guy out there might have picked us up. Also Phone number given in case of emergency was supposed to be an English speaking gent - although he was lovely, he could not speak english. YOU NEED TO SPEAK A GOOD DEAL OF FRENCH TO GO ON THIS HOLIDAY.
Call us on 0208 772 3936