Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    A fabulous holiday - more than I expected. I experienced and learned a lot plus the organisation was superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming up through the sun gate to see Macchu Picchu laid out before you in the sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos made this trip for me. His knowledge and enthusiasm, whether Inca history, local flora and fauna or football was amazing.All our questions and problems were dealt with good grace and good humour. He is obviously very proud of his country and culture and he is a wonderful ambassador for it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! The altitude problem did not affect our group, the trail is an experince and is a slight physical challenge but the arrival at the end and the sense of achievement makes it all worthwhile.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn't have missed it for anything.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This is a fantastic multi adventure holiday which can be challenging at times but highly rewarding. Every day has a different adventure to enjoy along with the new friends you have made in the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding was a first for me this year and my heart was pounding as I was standing on the edje of a mounting waiting for the signal to run. I also really enjoyed the Scuba Diving experience and the Sea Kayaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho is a superb group leader. He gives 100pct to the group and ensures they are briefed about each activity along with any safety issues. He also does his best to ensure the group has a good time in the evenings (if they want to join in).  This was my third Holiday with Maho as my group leader and I  would like to return again soon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, just book it and enjoy a great holiday experience you will never forget.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I find the local Turkish people of KAS extremely friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a nice quiet drink I would recommend the Hideaway bar otherwise if looking for some good music and dance then go to Red Point or Queen. I am seriously thinking of returning again soon which would make this my fourth Lycian activity holiday
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    Food for the soul! - A week of stunning scenery and good company led by Cosmin and Katerina, both of whom's passion for Romania's wildlife and culture is inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Vistas so wide you can't take it all in.  So many different shades of green.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin has a passion for Romania, it's wildlife and history.  He is very knowledgable and he loves guiding. A great guide!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit! There is no such thing as 'flat' on this trip.  It was often steep and sometimes loose underfoot.  That said it wasn't hard walking all day every day due to the 'culture' part of the itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accomodation is superb.  Katerina and Hermann run a lovely guest house.  Clean and comfortable. The food is fresh and local every day.  Beware the Schnapps!!!   Say hello to Smelly Dog (aka Kurt Cobain).Don't go expecting to see wild wolves and bears on your walks every day. Visit the sanctuary and be grateful for it. Experience the bear hide.  Take binoculars and watch the beavers at the Beaver project.  Enjoy the many varieties of birds including birds of prey and myriad fauna and flora every day.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    JEWELS OF UZBEKISTAN

    Uzbekistan is a fantastic country which has an unfair reputation simply because of the other countries that it borders. It is safe to visit and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The mix of a strong Islamic heritage with a more recent Soviet influence provides for a fascinating stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a sand-storm rolling in from the horizon when staying at the yurt camp was a moment we won't forget!The Registan and Ulugbek's observatory in Samarkand were the highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davlat was extremely helpful, considerate, attentive... by far the best guide we have had so far.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't base your decision to go to Uzbekistan on the reputation of that part of the world. There are only a couple of borders, and a valley, which you shouldn't go near, and the itinerary avoids those places.Take plenty of spare cash in US dollars as it's very difficult to get cash out or pay on a card.In Khiva there is a minaret that you can climb, and it is well worth the effort for the view.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A well-balanced mix of spectacular sight-seeing, phenomenal history and leisurely walks around the Amalfi Coast and Bay of Naples. Fantastic accommodation and delicious food were a bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments. Visiting the surprisingly well-preserved "ruins" of Herculaneum, followed by a walk up Mount Vesuvius was a definite highlight. The 'Walk of the Gods' was breathtaking as were Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. The vast area of Pompeii (optional trip) was equally awe-inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Christine Rooney - deservedly one of Exodus's highly commended leaders of 2010 - was absolutely terrific. She was incredibly enthusiastic throughout the holiday and has a great sense of humour. She is highly knowledegable and passionate about each area visited and made each day memorable and fun. Her organisational skills were also second-to-none.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have no reservations about recommending this trip. If you like historical sites, impressive scenery, fresh air, amazing food and wine then you need look no further. Groups will vary from trip to trip I'm sure, but i definitely struck gold with my fellow travellers. The hotel offers Exodus customers free internet access should you wish to Skype home with your smart phone. Make sure you wear a pair of sensible shoes for the Vesuvius walk and Walk of the Gods - I saw people struggling with flip-flops! Naples is gritty - bear in mind it's a city - every surface seems to have graffitti on it. The museum in Naples is definitely worth a trip - with hundreds of equisite statues, impressive mosaics and a rather amusing "over age 14 only" section.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot praise the hotel enough. Before dinner each evening there is a chance to meet in the bar and discuss with the Exodus leader the events of the following day over a glass of Prosecco - very nice indeed. The hotel also hosts a pizza-making demonstration on one evening using their own wood-fired pizza oven - make sure you take your camera as hilarity is bound to ensue. They also offer a trip to their kitchen on a separate evening in which you watch the preparation of that evening's meal. For a small fee each evening you can have unlimited wine also - just remember to take it easy!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    France the place to cycle, but so pleased my friend spoke french, the directions were awful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the destination at the end of each days cycling. As we had always cycled much further due to poor directions and getting lost. ( Two Australians on same route also got lost everyday)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    No group leader on our trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for (or research your own) directions. Need blown up maps of each days route.Ask cost of taxi airpost to destination. Ours 100 eur. Trains don't always run that often.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unlucky enough that a bird flew into our engine on take off, that delay caused us to miss train connection. Disapointed Exodus happy to leave us 5 hours waiting for train, thought guy out there might have picked us up. Also Phone number given in case of emergency was supposed to be an English speaking gent - although he was lovely, he could not speak english. YOU NEED TO SPEAK A GOOD DEAL OF FRENCH TO GO ON THIS HOLIDAY.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A sure indication of how enjoyable such trips are, is how the days fly by un-noticed, and indeed with nobody paying any attention to what day of the week it is.  From the very first evening we gathered together with Christine, the tour leader, I could see this was going to be a wonderful holiday. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many moments were inspirational in such a short time. From a very personal point of view - following a serious illness two years ago when I could barely walk from one side of my hospital ward to the other, completing the Path of the Gods walk between Bomerano and Positano gave me immense personal satisfaction. A bit of a triumph really, and a tad emotional.  (Of course, being a bloke I didn't let anyone else see that!)Meeting fellow like-minded travellers on the trip,  interacting with local villagers in Bomerano, feeling the general ambience of our surroundings,  experiencing the culture and history, and touching the psyche of the people - all these things were quite inspirational and uplifting. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    None of these things mentioned above would have been possible without the input from Christine Rooney.  I can confidently say that Christine's professionalism, communication skills, local knowledge, accomplished mastery of the language, her lovely manner, her whole approach to what is a responsible and demanding role is second to none. She was the principal reason for bringing this stunning and beautiful part of Italy to life - from plain words in a book or names on a map, she changed them into a rich and vibrant reality that will remain in our memories for life. I have made many trips now with Exodus over the years, and while every leader has been excellent, Christine ranks as the finest.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No - they are all grown adults.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Probably about 85-90% of European trips offered by Exodus are for 8 days. I feel serious consideration should be given to making them 14/15 days, or at least 10 days anyway.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    Excellent holiday, whole party really mixed well, Juan the leader was brilliant, very knowledable.  He was swell supported by Wilson- a star in the making.  Emerson and Edwin in the rainrforest also brilliant

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realiosing that we were in great hands whcih gave the whole party the confidence to tackle the inca trail and know they would succeed  Arriving at machu picchu and mixing with all those americans who had come by train- we all felt very superiorThe homestead  and the people on lake TThe cloud forest-wow

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A real gem was highly organised gave out clear and consise directions, nothing was too much trouble and a laugh ( coupled with the  phase will tell you about that later , usually the dificult walking bits) , knowledge of Incas unbelievable.  He along with wilson emerson and edwin made the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not like the brochure says a walk in the cotswolds , but the whole holiday is great.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    mention more prominently the opportunity to get things d cleaned even by 8 am after arriving at 10pm in Cusco.  Also the balance between rain forest inca trail and Lake T is really good.  the hotel in Lima is really nice.   Thankyou for a great holiday charlie and helen ledward  
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL, TITICACA & NAZCA

    My holiday was unfortunately hampered by being ill and spending a night in a local clinic. Although what I would say is that Exodus were superb. I had reps getting me back from Inca trail and also reps coming to see if I was ok in the Clinic. Also they organised me getting to Machu Picchu by train.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu as I never thought I would get to see it. It was an amazing experience. Especially as when we got there it was all misty but as the day went on the sun got out and the views were amazing and got some great pics. If you do not do the Inca trail go up to the Sungate, takes about 45 mins to and hour to walk but is well worth. The views are amazing.Also what was great was the people who were on the tour. Got on really well in the solo group and although I only got to camp one night I really enjoyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Houylca (sorry if I spelt it wrong) was amazing. He was very good at explaining things and was great at organising it so I could get back from the group as well as organising people to take me off the Inca trail when I was ill. A great guy and was really interesting to talk to. Also the resturants he took us to were really good, especially the fish restaurant on the coast.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would not bother taking a sleeping bag I would hire one. Leaves more room for souverniers! Also pack light for the Inca trail. Also I do not think you need to take 2 water bottles. Water is provided on tour and plastic water bottles are fine. I would just take the one water bottle.I would defo take an Ipod as the travelling from Cuzco to Lima takes a long time and if you can not read on a bus an ipod is essential.Also it is worth getting Sols as although it says take dollars, everywhere takes Sols. So I have would have a mix of both.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take a couple of batteries for the Inca trail as when I meet up with the group many people were on the last batteries when you got to Machu Picchu. So would advise taking a couple of spare batteries depending on what camera you have.Tip well the porters and your guides.Also if you are flying through the US make sure you get both boarding passes as a lot of missed our flights to Lima as cock ups between Contiential and United!!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This is a great trip to experience the wide range of outdoor activities that Turkey has to offer - and in a place of pretty amazing beauty at that!  Most of the activities are achievable by anyone - if anything, the canyoning I found to be challenging if you are a little out of fitness, but the guides will get you through safely.   Kas is an excellent base as it is far enough away from the airports to avoid the average tourist, and it is a beautiful (if hilly) little town where the locals are truly friendly.  You see a bit of the countryside which varies greatly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Canyoning without a doubt!  A good solid physical day with challenges for absolutely everybody if they wish.  I was also surprised by the paragliding - rather than focussing on the town below, I was touched by the peace, and the sensation of hovering closer to the cliffs - a great Imax sensation.  The tubing was heaps of fun, with the mud fight included - it was a great way to get everyone bonding.  I also loved Kas - having travelled to other Brit-dominated tourist towns, it has retained a feeling of self and hasn't so far succumbed to the loud trashy bars at street level.  I took my own time out now and then to explore, which of course everyone has the option (even if they don't take that up) to do, rather than just following the leader all the time, and found some truly beautiful spots for contemplation.  :-) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho's an old hand at this tour, and that clearly sits behind him as he changes the itinerary to suit the weather and safety conditions, and the way he does his briefings.  I (being Aussie) liked his dry humour and didn't mind the longer descriptions - we're on holidays, what's the rush?   I always applaud the tour leaders who take the effort to show a new herd around week-in, week-out.  As the less fit of the group, I always felt that the leader and the guides were taking attention of my safety, and they seriously deserve a medal for getting me up some of the canyoning rocks!  If you want more information about what's going on, just ask.  I don't always like being herded around, so I found his approach to be sufficiently hands-on without claustrophobic.  If you don't like his choice of restaurant, he doesn't get offended if you go somewhere else and join later at the bar.  :-)  The team was also expanded as required with staff, and they were great at getting us around in comfort and safety (if you know Turkish roads, you understand this completely!).  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take good boots for the canyoning.  Otherwise, as stated elsewhere, just some good quick drying clothes but don't go crazy on the nice stuff for evening.  I really appreciated having the camelbak for the canyoning and riding, and you'll go through quite a bit of water in the hotter weather.   May was surprisingly chilly in the evenings so a long sleeve is good.  If it rains, you just get wet!  You may also wish to take earplugs for the mosque morning call to prayer if you are a light sleeper and not a muslim of course.  Frankly, I think that the moderate tag is justified for the canyoning, but the rest of the activities can be taken at your own pace.  I also had my bike adjusted on the day which made it more comfortable (I already had my saddle and pedals as had done MTK before) but don't expect super bikes so take appropriate clothing/gel seat. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a larger group than normal due to UK long weekend, so I think most of the activities would generally be all done together (the scuba was split for us).  Food for breakfast and lunches is pretty standard for Turkey, so you will have lots of cheese, olives, tomatoes, bread, etc.  If you're picky, take your own food or buy in town.  Kas is pretty laid back for a town in a muslim country, but you will go out into the village areas so be aware of modesty if the situation calls for it.  I found the itinerary was well balanced, although due to weather the rest day after canyoning was deferred in favour of the kayaking day.  The tubing at Saklikent should just be automatically included and not listed as optional - it's a great activity which everyone should do and also includes the famous mud fights!  There are some small expenses for entry fees which I think should be included in the overall price, but this was one tour which we didn't arrange a kitty for at the beginning which would have probably looked after this aspect normally. 
Call us on 0208 772 3936