Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    Great experience the local people, porters and guide were outstanding.  First two days only saw my boots and the rocks next two days were fabulous the orchids, flora, views and ruins. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Dead woman's pass and seeing Machu pichuu from the sun gate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Flawless, well informed and paced the walk for all abilities

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take alchol  based cleanser for washing hands and a long sleeved shirt.  Manage the lack of oxygen by having frequent stops.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    The variety of this trip was just right - something for everyone - no two days were the same.  We came back feeling like we'd really had a break.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several highlights, but Todhra Gordge is stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As usual, Exodus' reliance on guides from the subject-country was spot-on.  The tour leader was not only knowledgable but also a terrific person.  Good advice, dilligent, interesting, pointed us in the right direction.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your torch!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The choice of vehicle needs to be reviewed - I'm not a big person but even I found it cramped, and not ideal for appreciating the views of the countryside.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    DUBROVNIK & THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Croatia was a real gem with beautiful walled towns, lovely people and reasonable prices (as not in the Euro)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the towns seem to have been frozen in time. Korcula, on the peninsula is a beautiful small walled town, with plenty of places to walk, and great restaurants.  Dubrovnik is stunning.Split and Trigor are great for wandering around the narrow streets and finding local bars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krsto was excellent.  He was professional but laid back at the same time so never felt like he was in your face.  Everything was organised perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The day trip to Mostar in Bosnia is a long trip, but worth it.  But take Euros - you seemed to get the same exchange rate for Euros as Sterling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great week trip - you see and do loads, but because distances arent too far, you dont feel rushed and you have plenty of time to see everything.  Also Trogir is only 10 minutes from the airport so you are quickly at the resort.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    Excellent Activity Week

    Great trip, very varied with a different activity every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favorite individual part of the holiday was the scuba diving, a little bit apprehensive beforehand, but the intructors were excellent providing a bit of tuition beforehand and being close at hand whilst under the water. the time spent under the water was superb, only downside is as a try diver your actual scuba dive only lasts about 20 minutes, which flies by when your under the water. However there is also the boat trip out to the dive site to enjoy. As a full days activity the canyoning activity was superb, it was a long and pretty tiring day, but fantastic experience.The only day that was perhaps a bit lacking was the first day, the Saklikent gorge is a bit of a non event, however at this location you can go tubing which made up for this. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader, very friendly and sociable. Knew the town of Kas and the local people very well which was really helpful. The itinerary is also not stuck to rigidly, hence if you have a day or two of dodgy weather they will reorganise the activities so you get the most appropriate weather for each.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need boots, with grip, for the canyoning day, this activity basically involves walking, wading, jumping and swimming though a canyon river all day, so you are likely to pick up a few bumps and scratches. Cycling gloves for the mountain biking are also a must, some of the bike handle bar grips were rock hard.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an excellent trip to try a host of activities, have to say everyday and all of the activities were excellent. Optional extras worth considering, definitely the tubing on the first day (rafting down a river in large tyre basically). The paragliding was excellent but quite expensive, think perhaps I wished i'd used the free day to get another diving session in instead.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    This is a fantastic trip and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.  A busy itinerary that lets you do a bit of history and culture, tours around intriguing and architecturally wonderful towns, walks in some really lush and interesting scenery and opportunities to  over-indulge in great music, dancing, rum and cigars!  Bring a big memory card for all the iconic pictures you are going to take!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I don't know about inspirational..... I did enjoy exploring Havana and it truly is a very iconic place.  The hike up into Sierra Maestra where you end up in the clouds was also pretty cool.  Getting up and shaking my maracas with every band that invited me was also pretty memorable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yazel was great.  Extremely organised and knowledgeable.  Boundless energy to chaperone dancing and music thirsty ladies till all hours.  Very willing to discuss sometimes sensitive political issues and share with us what it is like living in Cuba

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have salsa lessons before you go.  Particularly if you are a boy!  Plus - if you are a vegan I would suggest thinking of another destination.  The vegetarian food (while always very willingly provided) tended to be either cheese or egg based.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on - you know you want to go!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Morocco is a great country and just over 3 hours away but such a contrast to Europe.  Marrakech is very interesting and much cleaner and not as much hassle as I thought it would be.  However to apprecitae the full beauty of the country you must get out into the mountains.  So peaceful with lush valleys and genuine friendly people who live a simple life but have fulfilment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tour of Marrakech, an exotic and interseting city perfectly manageable and an assault on the senses.  I liked the peace in the lovely village in the High Atlas, the bird song and sunshine over the green fertile irrigated fields of wheat and barley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Hassan was a great young man with boundless energy and fluent in english, french and berber and had a feel for the mountains and an affinity with the berber people.  I really enjoyed his company and easy going style, nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take light clothes for Marrakech but some warmer clothes for the mountains.  Although it was May, could be chilly at times especially with the wind and cloud and also at night.  The gite is basic but adequate and they provide blankets which was needed as I didnt take a sleeping bag!  Water tabs are fine and they worked Ok for me!  Better for the environment and your pocket!  try to get small notes and coins!  Constant problem with change.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Group size!  Our 'group' was 2!  To me that isnt a group and I was disappointed there were not more travellers on the tour.  Its one of those things but I was disappointed especially as Exodus hadnt informed me of this.  I could have quite easily changed the dates and gone another time.  I think as well as MAX numbers of the tour you should publish Minimum numbers.  Would you run this tour with 1 person??  This could be problematic especially for a woman alone for instance as an example.  It so happened I got on very well with the other person and didnt let this spoil the holiday but we both agreed this wasnt an ideal situation and would make me think twice before booking a 'group' holiday again.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    It is unfortunate that this particular departure only had 2 clients in the group. This is a rare occurrence for Exodus and for this trip in particular. Atlas Panorama has a minimum number of 4 and it usually has no problem reaching this number.

    We endeavour to make decisions on trips as early as possible so our clients can be sure their chosen departure is confirmed and running. Sometimes there are cancellations off trips which brings the number of clients below the minimum number and this is out of our control.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    A brilliant introduction to Indian culture, nature and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the main puropse of the trip was for 2 things - 1) The Taj and 2) tigers, and both surpassed everything I thought they would be - but there is so much more this trip has to offer.The first tiger sighting on our first game drive was easily the best and longest. Watching it keeping itself cool in the water before wandering off into the forest.  Being at the Taj Mahal at sunrise and watching how the colour changes as the sun rises higher in the sky is amazing. I have seen some amazing architecture around the world, but for me this monument far outstrips everything else I have seen. Unbelievable detail and workmanship to create a truly stunning masterpiece.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was excellent. This was my second trpi with Exodus and I have been fortunate to have been looked after by excellent guides on both trips. He has an obvious passion for his country, culture and his job. His wealth of experience and knowledge gained from his 25 years of doing (and no doubt his father who was a game warden before him) this is truly astonishing, and he is someone Exodus should retain the services of for future trips.Although there were only 5 of us on the trip he organised us really well and made sure we all knew what was going on at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Delhi Belly is almost a certainty at somepoint. Luckily most of our group only suffered for a day or so but make sure you have plenty of remedies.A a previous review has said, rurual India is cheap, although you will be in hotels adn jungle lodges most of the time which are not so cheap.Most people will go on this trip to see tigers and the Taj, but there is so much more to it than that. It is not like an African safari where there is always large herds of animals to look at which are asily visible in the grassy plains - there is quite a lot of dense forest and it can be a while between seeing animals. However, there is some stunning scenery and the sounds of the monkeys, birds and crickets make for a fantastic experience which can be enjoyed just as much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pack light and make sure your bag has a shoulder strap if it's not a rucksack - mine didn't and ended up buying another in Agra! One guy on our trip managed the whole holiday on hand luggage alone!Be prepared for random power cuts in some of the jungle lodges - a head torch for the evening may be a good idea.Early mornings for game drives can be tiring, although afternoon siestas will solve that problem.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A really well planned holiday with plenty to do . Lovely walking, fantastic wild flowers and lemons everywhere!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most magical moment was when walking in the National Park through the valley of the Iron Mills we entered like a secret garden to see an incredible waterfall. It was really spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was a great guide , good fun , highly organised and knew a lot about the area

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just come and enjoy it all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was very nice with friendly staff and so much delicious food and plenty of vegetarian options
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    I wasn't sure what to expect having not been away with Exedous before - but everything worked out really well, and I was able to relax and enjoy the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rather than talk about a single moment, the most inspirational aspect of the trip was definitely the spectacular scenery along the Amalfi Coast, including Mount Vesuvius of course!  We got stunning views when we climbed up to the summit of one of the nearby mountains, and almost everywhere we walked, we were treated to a different aspect of the area with its unique combination of lemon groves, ancient buildings, amazing rock formations and precipitous cliffs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was everything a group leader should be!  She was welcoming, relaxed, friendly, very knowledgeable about the area, very organised, clear with her instructions and enabled 16 complete strangers to immediately gel as a group.  She also brought that 'something extra' to the week by producing a bottle of champagne and 16 cups on one of our walks to drink a toast to William and Kate!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you've not been on an Exedous holiday before - Go For It!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm hooked!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A beautiful part of Italy and an ideal way to see beyond the usually frequented coastal towns.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This trip is a great mixture of walking (which, despite being billed as leisurely/moderate, is quite hard on the legs!), visiting the local towns and getting to know the area. Things like the visit to the local cheese-makers were really great, as were the evenings in the kitchen at the hotel.  The hotel staff are so friendly.Ravello was a real highlight on the 'free' day, definitely get a suggestion for a restaurant from the guys at the hotel, Eduardo's recommendation was fantastic! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was great!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A lot of the walking involves going up and down lots of steps - the trip notes do warn you about this but I think we all suffered from stiff calves after day 1.  If you can do any step training before you so, you'll spare yourself some pain.And if you can bother to learn some basic tourist Italian before you go, it will stand you in good stead, as Bomerano is pretty rural and not all of the locals speak English.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food at the hotel is really good and expect to eat a lot of it.  Also fantastic wine policy at dinner...
Call us on 0208 772 3936