Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    What a wonderful week I had, the group was just brilliant, we had so many funny moments. As for the walking it was set at a good pace although some did not complete all the walks I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes walking. No climbing or scrambling involved

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the top of the peaks looking around at the most amazing views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is just great, she was so knowledgeable and so pleasant to talk to and would do anything to help. I have done many trips and can say she has by far been the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip you will not be disappointed. One thing that I and others missed whilst having lunch on the mountains was a cup of tea or coffee. Take a small flask with you.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    The Sinai Trek is a perfect trip to get a feel and see the what this dessert has to offer.  It has a nice and relaxed atmosphere, and I would class the walking more as Moderate than Challenging as the routes can be tailored to peoples ability.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sunrise from the top of Mount Sinai and interacting with the locals when we headed off the beaten track.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent making sure every one was taken care for and got what they wanted from the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just come with an open flexible mind. The Egyptians are a really friendly and honest people. It is just the touts around the tourist sites that give you hassle, but don't let the few tarnish the rest of the population.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a spur of the moment trip and I haven't visited Egypt before. I never expected there to be so much life and activity going on in the dessert!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    I absolutely loved my walking holiday. I am an avid hiker but have never done such an extended trek before. There really is something glorious about spending days with no more pressing thought than what hiking tight/tshirt combo to throw on and whether it will be daal bhaat with gurung bread or pizza for dinner? ... and to just enjoy being in the most dramatic mountain scenery amougnst cool people:Good times!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of my trip was waking up at first light in ABC (Annapurna Base Camp), looking out my window and being greeted by the most totally awesome mountain views I could have hoped for. I felt that THIS is what life is ALL about.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    DAWA:D:  Dashing and CharmingA: Absolute man of the people: Story Teller, Joker, Group Bonder, Game Player, LEGEND!W: WHAT A GUY!!!!!!!!A: awesome characterThank-you SO much for really making the trip for me.. what super sweet!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this: it is wicked!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    This holiday was all I expected and more. If you want a trip that includes the most famous sights eg Pyramids and the Valley of the Kings whilst also offering some relaxing days cruising down the Nile then this is the holiday for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Valley of the Kings is wonderfully asmospheric and in my opinion a must see if you are going to Egypt.I was surprised at the beauty of the river Nile, cruising down towards Aswan it turns a deep blue with banks of palm trees and the desert in the distance. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. He was an expert on Egyptology and made learning about Egypts history fun. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the overnight train journey is very basic with small cabins and a train that shakes rattles and rolls its way through Egypt. You may not get much sleep!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt has just gone through a transition politically and as a result there are few tourists. Because of this it is an ideal time to go as the tourist sites are quiet. We never felt threatened and the country is safe to visit.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    Highlights of Morocco was a good trip to see a good portion of Morocco. We had a great group who all got along well and enjoyed eachothers company. I am happy I chose this trip and I wish it was longer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camel ride into the Sahara sand dunes. We spent the night there and given the choice to sleep in the tents or outside, we all chose to sleep outside underneath the stars. It was so quiet and peaceful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mustapha was very passionate about his heritage and his country. You could tell when he spoke he enjoyed what he was doing and he was happy to live in Morocco. He answered all of our questions to the best of his ability and his recommendations for dinners and activities were always good. He was fun and joked around. A really good tour leader!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink lots of bottled water and try to stay away from anything washed in tap water if you have a sensitive stomach! Take some sort of Dukoral before the trip or during the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will for sure be returning to Morocco!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    An incredible, often overwelming experience. I've been home a week and still miss the sights, the sounds and the people, especially the children. This tour does exactly as it says. You can see a lot of India in a very short space of time. It's sometimes hard going, and you need to grab sleep any time you can, but by the end of the first day we had seen so much and felt like we'd been there a week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention - sunset and sunrise on the Ganges, talking to children whilst watching the sun set over the Taj Mahal. Going to a  Bollywood movie and not understanding a word, but loving it! Both the train rides were entertaining in all sorts of ways. G and Ts at the Imperial Hotel in Delhi. (check the price before ordering doubles - we didn't) Rickshaw rides in Varansi and Delhi... and so much more. Oh I forgot... we saw two tigers, one up close!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was excellent -  a five star tour guide  - a realist with a great sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. He was helpful when people were ill, helped us organise our own activities such as shopping, meals out (the 'ONLY' restaurant in Agra was great) and cinema trips.  He was knowledgeable and informative about all the sights we visited, particularly  about the birds and animals at Rantambore, and he even managed to find us gin and tonic for the long train journey. He persuaded other passengers to move their seats on the train so that most members of our group were together when originally some women had been given seats on their own. He played rummy and UNO with us on the train journey to the Ganges and led a fantastic evening excursion in Varanassi which included a hair-raising rickshaw ride at rush hour. We could not have had a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the guide. Stay off dairy and overly spicy food for the first few days. Drink plenty of bottled water so you don't get de-hydrated and carry loo roll, Immodium and hand gel everywhere. A few people had minor tummy upsets but it didn't stop them from doing anything. Some of the roads are bumpy  and a few people suffered from travel sickness so pills may help. Have small bills (10 and 20 rupees) to hand for the toilets and to give to people if you take their photos. Also, remember what you wear on the plane out to India you will probably be in all next day until you reach the hotel in Jaipur in the evening. There isn't much of an opportunity to change before that.The hotel at Varanassi offers wonderful massages, very cheaply and also henna tattoos. Try and go to the 1930s cinema in Jaipur for a Bollywood movie and save your pennies for last night drinks at the Imperial in Delhi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have wanted to visit India for years and this short trip was a great introduction to this incredible country. If you're prepared for long journeys (and there's so much to see out of the windows) the destinations are well worth it. I would do it all again tomorrow if I wasn't already planning where else in India to go.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    An excellent visit to this fascinating country with just the right balance of early starts (to beat the heat and the queues) and opportunities to relax. Highly recommended!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crusing on the Nile was an absolute pleasure. Good facilities, excellent food and a great standard of accommodation made this a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The pyramids and Valley of the Kings are all you would expect them to be. Marvel at the splendour of the tombs and imagine just how the ancient Egyptians managed to erect such huge blocks of stone at the temples of Luxor and Karnak. Finish off with a visit to the museum in Cairo for a proper look at the treasures of Tutankhamun. And if you go  now (April 2011) there's nobody there!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was a treasure himself! He was knowledgeable, had a great sense of humour and was alert to any situation that occurred (if you visit with Khaled you will know what I mean). He was particularly good when we were stranded in Luxor due to a politiacal uprising in a town to the north which saw the road and rail routes blockaded. Khaled got us another day on the Nile cruise boat, two excellent meals and flights to Cairo courtesy of Exodus. Thank you all for this!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Change your money from sterling into Egyptian pounds when you get there, the exchange rate was much better. Take some US dollars if you already have them as you can pay for anything with them (don't forget to barter up to 50% off the starting price). Don't be afraid to go during the recent political uprising, we went in April 2011 and saw nothing to worry us and everything was so much more accessible due to the lack of tourists.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't let the cost of the airfare put you off the optional visit to Abu Symbel. You have got yourself all the way to Egypt and you will regret not visiting this temple if you miss it. I didn't take the coach (which is cheaper) but couldn't imagine spending 8 hours on the road in the day, now that would have put a damper on the experience. The sound and light show at Philae temple is worth a visit too but do it yourself (take a taxi from the hotel and pay at the gate).
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    An absolutely gorgeous part of Italy, and great for the novice wine taster. The three walks were fairly easy and we had plenty of time to discover Siena, as well as Florence on our day off. Our guide, Merv, was extremely chilled and great company, and really accomodating (took me out for an extra walk one afternoon). He even took as back to Pisa a little early so we could swing by the leaning tower! Not much private time due to sharing a room, but I didn't mind!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    MERA PEAK EXPEDITION

    A great trip, despite the unseasonable weather - rain or snow almost every day- and no-one summitting (due to the weather).  The trip is about the journey and some of the views and sights were just awesome.  Hard (and they mean hard) but worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A few: sunrises (when we had good weather), walking on the Mera glacier and the views back over the Himalaya, the clear views of Mera from Kote.  The way the group worked together to get over the Zatra La in pretty unpleasant weather.  The bravery through pain exhibited by one member of our group, who sadly had to leave the trip halfway through.  The incredible scenery and even more incredible porters.  Bhim's cakes.  And of course (and not least) the great impromptu New Year's Eve party at the lodge in Lukla, with some truly inspirational dancing from some members of our party and our guides!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima was a good leader, and clearly very experienced: we enjoyed his company and the story of how he came to be an Exodus leader is really impressive.  The real star of the trip though was Big Mingma who paced his leading very well and really engendered confidence in the group: I always felt that he was aware of what was happening in the group/who was struggling and needed some help.  Ngima, Big Mingma and Lakpa Cheten's card playing skills were pretty good too!One criticism, however, would be that not enough care was taken to factor in the changes in weather conditions and the effect it was likely to have on the trail.  This led to a few hair-raising moments, which could have been avoided with a bit of extra thought.  However, overall, the trip was well organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exodus' trip notes are pretty good.  However:It is seriously worth considering taking microspikes (such as the ones Kahtoola make) for some of the walk-in days, as well as crampons (which you will not have with you at all times), especially if, like me, you are prone to a tumble: a few of the descents would have been much easier with them.  I hadn't taken mine and have the bruises to prove it!  Poles are an essential for this trip.Also, seriously consider bringing crampons from home.  I did but those that hired them really struggled as the hired crampons did not have anti-balling plates, which meant that they were near-useless/positively unhelpful in soft snow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are going to sign up for this trip, you really do need to have walked at altitude before, for a reasonable period.  It is hard-going, cold and exhausting.  However, you are rewarded by some amazing views and experiences and that is what you remember once the memories of the pain dim.  Also, don't be put off signing up if you are female - you are likely to be in the minority (9 to 2 on our trip) but it isn't all crazy macho men - or you haven't got much (or any) experience with the equipment.  I did a winter skills course at Plas y Brenin before I went and this really helped with the basics like how to get crampons that fit your boots, how to put them on, how to hold an ice axe/self-arrest (in theory anyway) and to feel a bit more confident. 
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    A very well organised and run holiday which made the most out of everyday and at times tested even the most experienced riders.  It is also a unique way of seeing Morocco as you get to ride through some very isolated but spectacular areas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    there were many but the view from the gardens of the hotel overlooking the atlantic ocean was something I wont forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was the perfect guide for the job, friendly and very proactive. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice for anyone thinking of doing this trip is to train for it by doing some long distances rides.   You'll enjoy it more and there are some pretty challenging and demanding ascents.  Of course there is always the option of hitching a lift in the support vehicle but thats cheating! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! worth every penny.
Call us on 0208 772 3936