Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST: POMPEII & PIZZA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    We had a great time and would definitely recommend this trip to friends and family. The children were entertained throughout which meant we were happy too. The week was mixed with fun activities for the children (and adults), such as cookery demonstrations, pizza making and ceramic painting, as well as sight seeing key places along the Amalfi coast. Eduardo our Leader was fabulous - a real character. He looked after us well and make sure we were all content.  Highly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing the 'walk of the Gods' with the most breathtaking views. Our reward for reaching the top was to eat a wonderful village feast prepared by one of our Eduardo's friends on the veranda of his 200 year old stone cottage.  Pompei was also amazing. The most intact Roman ruin I have ever seen with breathtaking views of Mount Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is a fantastic leader, a very warm character, great with the chilldren and adults alike. He knows everyone in the village - or so it seemed. He guided us all week and dined with us every evening. A wonderful person. I have nominated him for a leader award.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some layers as we had one or two chilly days but generally the weather was great.For those who don't travel well (like me): be prepared for windy coastal roads and some choppy boat journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel we stayed at was great. Run by two brothers and their familes we were made to feel very welcome. Food was lovely.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    A MUST for all travelers!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely there was not only one. I believe I had several inspirational moments: riding through the nature, getting so close to local people, crossing the borders, experiencing a lunch in a typical house in the Mekong Delta, discovering ancient temples and understanding much better one of the saddest historical events for the humanity. Moreover, can you imagine that I had the best ice-cream ever, and outside Italy? 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was just awesome! I traveled quite a bit before, but never under such a perfect organization. I was amazed about how complicated was the logistic (bikes, supporting vans, stops, ...) and at the same time how well organized was the support team. Thanks once again to the group leader! a big thanks also to the local guides: necessary to discover their countries! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the views - racing with the bike is fun but you risk to miss the details of the surrounding :)Don't forget: to drink a lot (camel back is a nice hint), to bring cover gel for the bike saddle, and if you can a basket to store easily your camera!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's unmissable trip! 3 countries in 2 weeks, so diverse inputs and experiences - and a lot of massages!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    Good trip. Really enjoyed it. Overall was a good taster to India and Nepal

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taj mahal is worth it. Had wondered if the crowds would diminish its splendour but no - was beautiful.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jitu was comedy and eased our way round India and Nepal. Thought he was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    its a bit of a full on trip. Also if you don't fancy the 10 hours on a bus between Pokhara and Kathmandu and want an extra day at either location there are fairly cheap flights between the two daily

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ok - lets talk Elephants. My whole group decided to not go on the elephant safari as we were not happy with the way the elephants were chained. Appreciate they are well fed, not over worked etc but they had two legs chained together so tightly they couldn't move at all. The baby elephant had its front legs chained together so tightly to get to its food it hopped like a rabbit. This is not exodus' fault. Nor should the elephant safaris stop as its an important revenue stream for the  farmers and I'm sure the tourism helps contribute to the cost of conservation - ride and elephant, save a tiger. however, if we truly want to embrace responsible tourism we should encourage exodus and other tour operators to ensure the farmers know that we'd all prefer it if the baby elephants were penned with their mother (no need to chain as the babies don't go far) and that westerners would prefer to see the elephants chained by one leg to a stake so as to restrain them but not to limit their natural movement by chaining their front legs together. Happy to discuss.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    It was hot, hot, hot (end of April 2011, over 40 degrees) and incredibly fast-paced to fit such a huge amount in to a short time, but so well planned that we were never too hot or too tired to appreciate the next amazing sight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dawn on the Ganges at Varanasi, deserted palace at Fatehpur Sikri, Taj Mahal at dawn, overnight train journeys, silk-making in people's homes - too many to choose. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal is fantastic - full of information on history, culture, religion and local life, always ready to answer questions.  He was determined that we should all get what we wanted from our holiday, and planned our time thoughtfully to cope with the 40 degree-plus heat.  And he has a great sense of humour...though it turns out he wasn't joking about the 5.30 am wake up call...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it - I'd wanted to visit India for years and this trip lived up to my expectations.  It is fast-paced with lots of early starts and is very much a taster - you could spend weeks travelling to cover all this - but the time is incredibly well planned.  Lots of facinating extras were included as well as the big sights: silk-making in people's homes in Varanasi, marble carving and inlay in Agra, carpet making and printing in Jaipur, and clay water bottle pot throwing amongst other crafts.  There is a lot of travelling to cover the distances, the roads are an entertainment in themselves - but our driver was fabulous - however the journey times given don't include stops etc and don't take account of traffic, pot holes and long stretches with no tarmac.  The train journeys were great, I slept really well.  No tigers (only pawprints) but so much other wildlife to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous holiday, excellent leader, great bunch of people on the trip - I can't recommend it enough.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    First time we had every done this kind of holiday - walking in Europe yes, but this was something else!!.  It was a 60th birthday present to ourselves and although it's a very full on trip we would not have missed it for anything.  Don't hesitate - just go for it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The end of the Inca Trail and coming through the Sun Gate even on a misty slightly moist day was something we will never forget, and when the mist lifted and you saw Machu Pichu for the first time it was just like all the photos but better.  Then down to the Hot Springs - a real treat!Going to sleep and then waking up to the sounds of the birds and animals in the rain forest, took ear plugs but did not use them as didn't want to miss anything.  Certainly did not stop me from falling asleep. Lake Titicaca - Amantani Island such lovely people and the home stay was far better than anticipated.  Climbing up the hill in the afternoon to watch the sunset was just magic

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can we say about Carlos - the group leader.  He obviously loves his work as this comes over in the care and attention to detail he showed during the whole trip.  The encouragement he gave during the walk up  'Dead Woman Pass' was brilliant - just kept us all going at a good pace and made sure we all got up and down.  He arranged for laundry to be done overnight in Cusco, he arranged good value/good quality lunch or dinner for us whenever  it was not included, or recommended good places to eat.  He lived up to the nickname we gave him 'Papa Carlos'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just not to hesitate, go and book it -   This trip is very full on, early morning starts, but early to bed because you are tired and sleep very well, there is very little time to sit and relax but when you do - then you really appreciate it!!.  To see as much of Peru as you do on this trip would be difficult at a more leasurely pace, the organisation of the whole trip is second to none with hard working guides and porters making the whole trip possible and easy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is a downside it is to do with tipping.  Everyone knows tipping is part of the culture and it's made very clear in the trip notes how much you are expected to tip,  and although you build this into the cost of your spending money by the end of the trip you do get a bit 'tipped out'.  Although the guide has a lot to do it would be nice if you could give him all the tips at the start of the trip for him to distribute as trying to make sure you have the right amount of small notes for this purpose gets quite confussing especially towards the end of the trip when you are needing to do most of the tipping.  I realise tipping is based on the service you have received and is difficult to judge this in advance - Maybe a kitty between 5 or 6 people would also work as an alternative.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

     The walking was quite tame and due to weather conditions we were unable to walk out along the headland with the guide . on another one of the walks the path had been damaged and the fire damage on the centre of the island which happened last year along with the weather prevented us going up the mountain .The company of others in the group was excellent as was our guide who was knowledgeable about the island and its Flors and Fauna

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking under a waterfall on the last day .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    good local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not challenging  walking ,
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF PETRA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    I had  gone  expecting  Petra  to be  the  highlight  but  was  bowled  over  by all the activities being interesting  and  enjoyable . How  can  one  small country  have  so much to see and  do , one  memorable  experience  after  another.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking  out  of  the  Siq  in Petra  atnight  by  candlelight ; waking up in the  desert ; the  amazing  fish in the  Red sea and bagpipe players in the  ampitheatre in Jerash!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What  a great guy, knowledgable , tolerant  of  children , would arrange  anything ,he took us to Petra at  night and organised  our  boat trip and our trip to Jerash when  the gladiator  show  was on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a  sleeping  bag  to the  desert ,take  a fleece  and  sunblock  and   go  because  it  was  well worth it.The  Dead  sea  is  just  a strange  experience  .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My  son  who is  13  really  enjoyed  it  ; he  rode  a  horse  a  donkey  and a  camel in 2  days .
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    The best part was at Petra: first by night and then "round the back from above".. but other highlights included sleeping under the stars, sunrise and sunset in the desert, just missing a sandstorm and ripping my shorts climbing down a steep rocky cliff. It was a taxing walk but really enjoyable and everyone was very pleasant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very interesting and well organised man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wet wipes are important

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Water is always important
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    A really enjoyable holiday. A great mix of sight-seeing and relaxation. I feel as though we saw all the essential sights of Egypt, our guide was excellent, and the cruise was so relaxing and enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids was special. They are so iconic and didn't disappoint.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent. He was incredibly knowledgable, but also fun and friendly. He also handled the enforced changes to our itinerary very well: He had obviously worked hard behind the scenes, so from our point of view everything stayed relaxed and enjoyable, and we still did everything we expected to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip now without any further thought! All the essentials of Egypt are covered, but there is plenty of relaxation time too. And it's extremely good value for money because so much is included in the price. Also, definitely go on the optional extras like Abu Simbel. They're all worth the money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're worried about going now (May 2011), with the unrest in the country, then don't worry! The changes to our schedule didn't in any way adversly affect our holiday, and, because the number of tourists was significantly down, there were no queues or crowds at any of the sites. Plus, you'll be helping the country - so many locals rely on the tourist dollar.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    JUNGLES & BEACHES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Stimulating physically, culturally and emotionally this was by far one of the best holidays I've been on with my son, having already been on quite physically active holidays many times in Morocco (five long desert treks and we climed the High Atlas one year), Turkey (kyaking) and Spain (white water rafting and canyoning) with other family oriented companies. By comparison this was very good value for money and the flight times suitable for travelling with young ones. There was also a lot of variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My most inspirational moment would probably be curious to many people reading this — it was at Kanchanoburi where we visited the Bridge on the River Kwai and then walked a little of the Hellfire Pass. It was an incredibly hot day and we were already wet with swet. There were hardly any visitors. It was very still at the Pass. I thought about the men who had died here in such extreme conditions, trying to hew rock in this heat and humidity. By comparison, the museum was cool and quiet and the descriptions of life working on the railway very moving. I know I should probably have been inspired by the royal palaces and temples in Thailand, they are indeed magnificent, either in their bejewelled splendour or artistic ruin. But for me, visiting Kanchanoburi was more inspiring because it pays homage to the courage and comraderie of so many brave men. On return to London I immediately bought a copy of The Railway Man by POW survivor Eric Lomax. We swam in four of the seven wateralls at Erawan Falls as huge black-winged butterflies skimmed the water and light-coloured ones played together in clouds of colour on the wet rocks beside us. We were entombed by massive vines and big leaves a la Jurassic Park. My son could have spent his entire holiday here.I was terrified of the activity we booked on one of our free days - a 100m, 22 station zip wire experience in deepest jungle (think Predator with Arnold Schwarzenegger). My 12 year old son loved it. I don't drink alcohol but had there been some available it might have been helpful that day.  I feel the way about riding elephants as my son feels about zip wires. I was close to ecstacy when we were allowed to ride these beasts, sitting high up behind their ears as they lopped slowly down from where they were resting to take a bath in the river, rolling onto their sides and thrusting their entire heads and trunks under the water. They came out clean and shiny, we came out soaked and smelling of elephant poo. Brilliant.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was very knowledgeable about all of the historic sites we visited in the cities. Everything went to plan. He allowed us some flexibility in the schedule in terms of what we visited, when we stopped and when we ate etc. This was helpful, rather than having to set to a very strict timetable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It seems that there are different places to ride elephants. We were in a less well-used spot on a river where we also rafted the following day. You definitely need mosquito spray. If you can, it is worth staying at Spicey Villa. It is iydyllic, overlooking a valey, lush mountains in the background, hot showers, hammocks. We stayed there one night. There's not much for kids to do but its great if you just want to R&R and to read and write for a day. They tell you to wear a costume for washing the elephants as you get immersed (true). Better to have long thin trousers on as the elephants have quite dirty, prickly hair so you get sore thighs (but then we did ride them twice and wash them twice on two consecutive days, having opted to do this instead of visiting the hilltribes).  On Koh Samet island its really worth going into the main 'strip' at night because the restaurants are all set out on rugs on the beach and there are fire jugglers all night. Only problem is its dark so you can't see what you are eating so a bit tricky if eating fish with bones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In Bangkok I took my son walking an old railway line. Its just north of the Royal Benja Hotel and if you walk far enough (about 20 minutes) you come to what looks like an outdoor railway museum, with ancient railway buildings and steam engines and carriages set out in clean lines amidst clipped grass. You're not allowed access but can get close enough to take pictures. 'The slums' said our guide without looking up. Obviously off the tourist track. I know its not posible for a tour company to recommend doing something like this due to health and safety regulations, but for my mind this is just as important as any tourist attraction.  Under the flyover a woman had set up a 'cafe', four tables covered in vinyl tablecloths at which a few peoplw were eating. As I stepped from one sleeper to another I felt immense gratitude that I lived a world away from this. 'Imagine that when you come home from school you come home to live here,' I said to my son, 'you sleep in a home made from cardboard boxes.' We never felt threatened as one might imagine in an area like this, people were washing themselves and hanging out washing, had pet dogs and were cooking and eating by the track. A group of elderly ladies were laughing as they played cards. We smiled and said 'hello' to everyone and most smiled back. My son said, 'I bet no other mums make their kids do this.'
Call us on 020 8772 3936