Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    This was a fantastic holiday. Gave a chance to exercise but also to rest. The hospitality was most courteous, the roads in Jordan excellent, the hotels very comfortable and the food was so typical. Just GREAT!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra itself was outsanding and more than I could ever have expected. The rock formations and the (natural) colour schemes were out of this world. A stay in the Bedouin camp and the camel ride through the desert were true highlights. It was soul refreshing to be able to have a walk in the desert as the sun rose and take in the stillness of it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was most knowledgeable, always ready to help and making sure we lacked nothing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For that time of year, take a few extra jumpers because it WAS cold due to icy winds from the North West (?)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes were in very good shape (wish mine could have taken me up some of those hills!!!) but the bus was always there to pick up anyone who wished. I pushed my bike instead... another opportunity to look at that majestic landscape! Having said that, there were more downhills than climbs and the whole journey was not too taxing at all. The mechanic was outstanding and the 'chaperones' on the rides were absolute aces on their bikes. That's what I call real cyclists! It was kind of reassuring to have a tourist police escort on the way too.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC CIRCLE DOGSLED EXPEDITION

    A very unique holiday, very enjoyable indeed, just wish we had been able to leep to the itinerary as described in the brochure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to cope with no electricity, and no running water and sleeping with a bunch of people I didn't know!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jan was very young, however I admired him for taking over the business.  He now just needs to tighten up ship a little.  He also needs to discuss the days activities more with the guests so that we know exactly what is happening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just check out the itinerary - we didn't sleep under canvas or do the latter half of the trip - i would have liked to have known this.  Bring a balaclava and lots of layers they really are essential.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC RAJASTHAN

    A fantastic trip in which we visited some lovely places and it was also very thought provoking.  The group were great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying at hotels which were converted palaces especially Jaipur and Deogarh.  My bed was like a plinth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not be better.  A very easy person to get along with and a store of information.  He also made a great effort for my birthday for which I will always be grateful. Brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have to be tough to go to India in mind and body even on a soft trip unless you are a teenager. I like to wander around on my own as much as possible and took every opportunity which was possible on this trip.  I think all trips should have this option as much as I liked the group you miss out on a lot if you stick to the group the whole time in my opinion.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to thank Exodus and Rudy for the lovely birthday surprise they organised for my 50th birthday.  I had thought I might be sitting in my room quietly opening my one card but instead the day was great fun for all of us from start to finish.  A big thank you.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Fantastic holiday , absolutely wonderful first experience of India. The sights , sounds and the people. There were many early starts and a lot of travelling however it all blended together into a wonderful experience. I felt energised rather than tired when I returned. Before I went I was concerned about the accommodation and food however I need not have worried. Both were far better than expected especially the hotels considering the reasonable price of the holiday.  Even the overnight train journeys were very comfortable after I found the European toilets.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the tiger in the Ranthambore tiger reserve was the highlight of the trip, followed by the cycle rickshaw ride through Varanasi - crazy.   The Taj Mahal at dawn and the Ganges at dawn were wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanjay was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, good humoured and maintained good control over the group and the schedule. He paid a lot of attention to detail especially over the food in the first few days which meant that the group did not suffer much from any upsets and was able to enjoy the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stick to a vegetarian diet , avoid dairy products, too spicy and greasy food especially in the early days. Travel light since the holiday is constantly on the move, I just lived out of my suitcase.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    India is a fantastic place , just accept it the way it is and enjoy it.  Don't try to judge. It is a wonderful experience.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    CYCLING CUBA

    An amazing country, full of interesting and extremely friendly people.  A challenging and exhausting two weeks but all self-inflicted fun.  You will not want the holiday to end and you will definately want to do it all again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not being funny, but watching someone from your trip unknowingly pull 9 people in three taxi-bikes has got to inspire you! ;-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extremely well organised, very informative, took great care in making sure everyone was ok and enjoying themselves...most of all he was a lot of fun!Let's not forget the coach driver and support bus driver...they were also extremely amusing and very caring...jokes and banter were shared despite the obvious language barrier!  It was the people who made the holiday just that much more special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip, without a doubt!I didn't even cycle before going to Cuba so I was a bit concerned I wouldn't be able to keep up, but the group tended to split off into capabilty levels (depending on how many mojitos were drank the night before) and no one was really competitive and no one got left behind.  You do need a good level of fitness before going and the cycling is sometimes quite challenging (against the wind), but it was all worth it and you can always reward yourself with a well deserved mojito or two..
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    I think the balance between memorable and exciting cycling, and visiting some wonderful historic places was just right.  Great fun and recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling full pelt downhill for 30km in about 50 minutes.......starting in the mist, rain and cold weather at the top of the mountain and ending up safe and sound at the bottom with the biggest smile on my face!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was the leader - what a great chap....couldn't have wished for a better tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in March, the temperature difference between south and north is very noticeable. The mountains outside Dalat are colder than you will probably pack for.........and Halong Bay was a bit nippy too.  Take a fleece and a light rain-proof jacket.  Oh, and the coach will not have heating....just air con.  No issues with mozzies, the hotels are great.  Look out for the old propaganda posters to buy in Hanoi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My second cycling trip with Exodus - the previous was Cuba - and this was better.  As ever, it's the group that makes the difference, and I was lucky enough to have a great one. 
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    Vietnam is very populated country. There are people everywhere: children, weddings, and specially mopeds. It is loud. Anytime of the day, anywhere there is a moped next to you : wwwuuuuu, you hear. And everybody pushing the horn, biiiii .... in Europe it is a sign of danger, in Vietnam it means: look, I am coming. People are nice yet they speak limited English. Landscape is superb and very diverse. The trip was very well organised. The things I disliked - they took us to restaurants that rather offered wanna-be western food rather than local, some were real tourist traps- 3 of 4 leaders did not speak English - would have been nice to talk to them more, only Chi our main guide did (he was a very good guy though)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - day5 the downhill section from Dalat mountain to sea level, 30km all downhill at a speed of over 40kmh, RIDE OF MY LIFE -  day 10 the penninsula on the way to Hue City, this was most like in guide books, this is the vietnam they show on TV

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was very good, excellent guy, very fit biker

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    - suncare, long sleeve shirts for the ride

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    thank you
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    DARJEELING, SIKKIM & BHUTAN

    A really good trip to places we have always wanted to visit. It was a pity that, when we visited, some of the places on the itinery were closed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Darjeeling Railway (Brian)The Paro Festival and giant Thangka in Bhutan (Veronika)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very informative and helpful - both in India and Bhutan

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed it so much I have booked on the Markha Valley trek in Ladakh in August (Brian)
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    An amazing trip, with plenty of opportunity to see the wildlife of India in three National Parks, as well as getting a flavour of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a tiger mother with her cubs from the back of an elephant in Kanha National Park was something that I'll never forget - but just the atmosphere of being in the parks in the morning with the sounds of the jungle waking up around you was something quite magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was great - as an ornithologist, he had a great knowledge of the bird species that we saw on our drives through the parks (and could even identify them from blurry smudges in some of our photographs), and as a tour leader, he was passionate and enthusiastic about his country, and made sure we all had a great time.We were in India for the Holi festival, and he organised a party at the jungle lodge that we were staying at, with all natural dyes for us to throw at each other - which we tried to wash off in the neighbouring river afterwards.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go with the expectation of seeing large mammals on every game drive! We were spectacularly lucky, seeing 13 tigers, 2 leopards, 5 jackals and 2 wild dogs in total. Obviously it's great to see some of these amazing animals in the wild - but it's just as amazing to be in the parks, and absorb the sounds and atmosphere of these wild spaces. There wasn't a single drive where we failed to see something new - a new bird species, or deer exhibiting different behaviour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want to see tigers in the wild, this trip is probably your best chance of doing so - there are so many game drives built into the schedule, and the option for further ones, that your chances are maximised. Even on days when you don't see any tigers, it's impossible to forget that they're not far away, with sightings of pugmarks or the sound of distant alarm calls. A fantastic experience, and one that I won't forget!Probably my only criticism of the tour is the way that the group was split across multiple carriages on the overnight trains. Our tour leader explained the difficulty of getting tickets for train journeys, and that quite often we weren't getting on or off at the start or end of a train line, but it still seemed unfair on some of the solo travellers to find themselves isolated in a carriage away from the rest of the group.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TROPICAL SOUTH

    This is a great holiday to introduce you to the delights of Southern India. It was a magical experience and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in this part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights that it's difficult to pick out just one so I'll put down a few. The scenery and wildlife are beautiful as the colours are so vibrant and the contrasts immense. The walk through the tea plantations with the views of the Western Ghats was stunning. The backwaters in Kerala are amazing too - it was a dream of mine to visit there and the experience lived up to expectations. The Meenakshi temple in Madurai is very interesting and the visit provides an insight to some of the spiritual side of India. Other great moments were visiting the local markets and meeting the very warm and friendly people. The food was a great highlight too. We ate in a lot of local restaurants and the food was always fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Avtar Singh is great! He was a fantastic leader and nothing was ever too much trouble for him to arrange. His humour and good nature helped an instant bonding across the group. The stories he told were always fascinating and I learnt so much about the culture and way of life in India. Always he tried to ensure we got a bit of extra 'spice' and this made the tour very special indeed. It was a real privilege to have him as a leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the pace of life there (it's much slower than London certainly) and open your eyes to new experiences. I enjoyed the early mornings when we were in the countryside as the wildlife was amazing at this time of day. The food in local restaurants was superb and while sensible precautions were taken most people did not suffer any ill effects. The people are very friendly and it was great to have the opportunity to speak to them in the markets and towns.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm a fan of India now, and hope to return soon to enjoy some more of this incredible country!
Call us on 0208 772 3936