Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    Lovely snowy environment with lots of flexibility depending on ability and reasons for your holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just getting out on the endles trails and getting up some high points for expansive views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Experienced and very helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not travel with Exodus arranged travel arrangements as exodus travel arrangements mean that you arrive in the early hours of Monday moring ( the first day of the skiing holiday) and arrive back late to England so if you work - bad luck. Easy to get to sjusjoen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most thought that ski hire was included and some went on this holiday because of this when considering finances but just to make it absolutely clear, it is not. On checking paperwork it was agreed that information was ambiguous.Norway is wonderful winter or summer
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    Hi, This was one of the best adventures that i have ever gone on, the team of porters, and guides were of tremendous help, it made the trip more enjoyable, pole pole ( slowly) is the way to go and the northern circuit is the one to go for if you want to acclimatise in advance of the night climb. Our guide was Matthew and both he and Francis were in tune to how the altitude waas effecting us as we travelled up and down hill during thjose 9 days. definitely would recommend a exodus trip again. as for the food, we had more than enough to eat, fed like Kings and excellent choices of foods for all to eat. Nothing left out, thanks for all the help in getting to the top, that made it all the more special.john merrick

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on Kilimanjaro and been able to see the sunrise as well as the snow covered top with the glaciers ,it was some sight to behold.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well Matthew was our Guide, very capable, trustworthy and friendly, very in tune when some of our group were effected by altitude sickness, was able to advise and sort us out. as well as ensuring that were were o.k and were going to make it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel with exodus, not just been biased, this was a trip of a lifetime, one worth doing right and been able to reach the top, acclimatising is a good factor of this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Maybe stay an extra day or do a safari at the end. A very big thank you to the porters who carry your equipment, their tips are really important to them, your looked after 100 percent.
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    This was a return visit, had a great time and would go again

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views at the top of the hills and all round

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ingrid was brilliant,  a very good instructor and guide, she had a lot of local knowledge and was able to light a fire anywhere!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try the Hot chocolate and Cinnamon buns

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait to go Cross Country skiing again!
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    I really liked this trip.  I wanted to experience a real snowscape through snowshoeing, as a progression from prevoiusly walking and trekking in the mountains, which is what I got.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was fantastic being out in the comparative wilderness.  I particularly liked the experience of crossing a frozen lake with a completely white, mountainous panarama all around - my zen moment with the landscape!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank, our leader, was very good and I think the group as a whole worked very well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was an adventure, but not a trip for those who hate the cold!
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    We had a great break. Not energetic enough for Peter but It was a busy week, never a dull moment, in an very different culture that was thoughly enjoyed by me and our son Owen (aged17) 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the wadis

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. It was insightful to have a local leader with his experience of being in the Omani Airforce. He was able to share his culture and pride in his country that made this an extra special trip for us. He shared memories of his childhood and the differences that the countrys prosperity had brought to his 7 brothers and 6 sisters.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You dont need much spending money as you can dine like a king for a £10 and there isnt much shopping that you cant get in the UKRead the section "is this trip for you" in the trip notes. Some group members expected a guided tour... You dont need to take pillows.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was much posher than we expected with up market hotels
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous
    In contrast to reviews from last year we almost had too much snow. Mid-week snow was falling at 10cm an hour. This meant that half a metre of snow had fallen while we were skiing, and the mini-buses had to be dug out. Our group consisted of 15 people of a wide range of standards, but we were all well catered for by James, ably assisted by Nathan.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day was a perfect skiing day, with lots of sun and snow. We skiied at Chioulla where the run to Prades was opened for the first time in three years and we were amongst the first to ski it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. On this holiday, James was assisted by Nathan. Our group of 15 included beginners through to grade 3 skiers. All were well looked after by James's flexible approach to leading.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On the rest day I went downhill skiing at Bonascre. You need your passport or some similar ID to hire downhill skis. If you are over 60 you can also get a discount on the lift pass, but you need to hang on to your passport to prove it. I also took out the assurance with the lift pass at 2 Euro 50. Past experience of having to produce a credit card to get someone rescued from the piste in France means I always get this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    James and Nathan also had to cope with the varying conditions that started perfect, but were followed by a day of winds that closed the top, exposed tracks. This was followed by the heavy snow that meant tracks were filling in as soon as they were cut. The final 2 days had ideal weather, but the track cutters had their work cut out to recover after the heavy snowfall. James kept in touch with the people cutting these tracks to always make the most of what was available. Often we were the first to use a track after it had been opened.
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous
    We had booked to go to Varena for this week but unfortunately not enough people wanted to do that, which is a shame because northern Italy had the best snow. So we were transferred to Pertisau, a centre we had been to on three previous occasions, the last being in 2007 when there was no snow at the beginning of our week at all and rather a lot at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This year was good conditions even with no fresh snow (unlike the UK and Italy) but the snow on the ground in the Pertisau main valleys was still very good for skiing. They make a very good job of preparing the loipe each day unlike Asiago (we went there in 2008) where they seem to groom them only at the weekend and they were littered with pine cones branches and needles. The lower valleys around The Achensee were not at all good and completely green by end of week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our two leaders PAV and Albert did a great job and as well as the skiing arranged some very enjoyable evening activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Kristall Hotel is really good and the leisure facilities have been upgraded since 2007 to a very high standard. Hotel staff are very polite and friendly with good English. Meals are very good and breakfast especially good compared with Asiago.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In summary Pertisau after our four visits still gets our vote for great Cross Country Skiing.
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous
    Exceeded my wildest expectations.  I have already booked to go to Rwanda to see the mountain gorillas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was not expecting to see so many animals so close.  Seeing lions sleeping on the road in front of our vehicle was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great - very knowledgeable, fun and willing to spend as much time as I wanted to talk about Africa, his life, politics, etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a long drive in an open truck on dusty roads in Kenya, so a scarf to wrap round the head and face is useful, as is a fleece hat for the chilly early morning starts.  Bring plenty of bags so it's easier to keep locker tidy and aid packing. Head torch and flashlight essential for campsites where there is no light. A spare camera battery is useful so you are always ready to take pictures.  The truck carries lots of water - I never felt the need to buy water.  There's not a lot of walking, but where we did it, a pair of very stout trainers or walking boots were needed.  Beware of unofficial "guides" in Stone Town, Zanzibar  - ask Exodus or hotel staff for directions or local information.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my second Exodus trip - very different to the first - but just as great. I am so impressed by the standard of Exodus trips and the quality of both their own staff and those they employ locally.  The optional trips were excellent, and I can recommend the balloon ride, which would have been even better during the great migration.  The ability to re-charge mobile phones and camera batteries on the truck was great.
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous
    A great holiday all-round.  Great hotel (including fantastic spa facilities) and food, superb location and brilliant instruction.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning to ski!  Next year I will learn to do it with style..........and the dessert buffet at the hotel on the Thursday night.....  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was a great leader.  Patient, professional, friendly and encouraging.  He paced the week very well so everyone made progress.  I went from being a nervous beginner to wondering where I will be doing my cross country ski holiday next year! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your walking boots - people who had a day off the skiing enjoyed the walking in the area too.  Bring all your warm kit - the local gear shops are pretty expensive!
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous
    Actually went in January.  Very sociable and supportive group. Discussions about the London Underground system and School Governors have never been so well informed. Weather was mixed, my suntan lotion was not needed.  Lost a day's skiing because it was raining / snowing too much - Some us us used the local bus to go on the culture trail in Vicenza.  But we did get five full days skiing on interesting tracks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view over the Venice plain from the top - we could not see the sea because of the cloud but we were assured it was there. Local history lesson about a part of World War 1 which brought home what actually happened in the area. Getting to a Restaurant for lunch one to find that although we had got there through the fresh snow, the staff had not and therefore the restaurant was closed - thank goodness for the emergency rations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was a very good leader, always positive and sociable, and made the best of the local conditions - there is such a thing as too much snow. Good Language skills. John even aranged for someone who did not like the scenery to return home early and after the week sent us an itinery of where we had been each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check / Read the flight times in the brochure before you book  - Venice airport at eleven o'clock in the evening means a late arrival at the Hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Alberto at the Hotel owner was friendly, spoke good English and helped us wherever possible. Decent sized  Hotel rooms. Local bus stop only five minutes walk from the Hotel. Places of interest to visit in Asiago. Would it be possible for Exodus to send a reminder for the final payment - a little thing but it does help.
Call us on 0208 772 3936