Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    Good leaders who provided very enjoyable days skiing in wonderful scenery.  The accomodation was of a good standard, the food and service good although the heating was a bit over the top initially. We were dealing with an unexpected family bereavement and the trip helped us cope.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last few kilometers, when I finally managed to skate for significant distances without falling over!  In scenery terms, every day was outstanding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Albert and David were excellent.  Considerate of peoples' capabilities they took everyone on great outings.  They were very knowledgeable of the locality and providied excellent information.  They both contributed to a most enjoyable and sociable week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider travelling by rail or take your own food for the flight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the region, not having been to the Dolomites before.  Would be tempted to combine X-country and Downhill skiing another time.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A fantastic experience but not for those who are looking for a relaxing holiday...be prepared to need another holiday to recover!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Taj Mahal was truly awe-inspiring and the highlight of the trip. Similarly, Varanasi was an eye opening experience and a privilege to witness all the people who make the pilgrimage to the Ganges river to bathe, pray and cremate their loved ones.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal was a great trip leader, full of lots of local knowledge and knew all the best places to find some wonderful quality craftsmanship. We duly found some lovely souvenirs to bring home! He was very informative about every aspect of our tour itinerary, and was always willing to go the extra mile if any of us had any special requests during the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long hours of bus and train travel! You do not have to be physically fit for this tour but being stationery on public transport for hours on end can be very exhausting in itself. There is not much potential for relaxing by a pool with a good book! However, the sights, sounds and smells of Indian life will more than make up for that! Take plenty of alcohol-based hand-gel, tissues or toilet paper and Immodium. 4 out of the 7 people on our tour suffered with tummy trouble, even though many of them ate only vegetarian food, so you can't be too careful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have limited time and want to pack in as much as possible, then this tour will be the one for you. Expect to be bombarded by the weird and wonderful, enjoy the chaos, colour and haggling that is so much a part of life in India, and you'll not be disappointed! If you love your curries as much as me, having it on offer at breakfast, lunch and dinner will be your idea of heaven (although you can get plenty of other types of cuisine if you start to experience curry overload)!  Just go with an open mind and plenty of film or memory for your camera..you'll want to take endless photos on this trip!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SNOWSHOE EXPEDITION

    A great holiday in a beautiful and relatively quiet area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the expedition to the mountain huts, although these were not staffed as had been expected it was well worthwhile to spend a bit more time in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent local knowledge and organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it! (and take some warm clothes for the mountain huts...)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Train travel booked by Exodus worked very well.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    I was a little worried about the trip as I was travelling alone but this was totally unnecessary as it was a truly great group of people.  This trip was everything I hoped it would be and more.  From day one our brilliant guide and driver did everything possible to ensure that we got the most out of the trip.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Impossible to restrict to one moment - seeing jaguars swimming the canal in front of our boat, spending over an hour watching the elusive male quetzal, seeing a tree full of scarlet macaw, being entertained by primary school children (a first for the school), visiting an organic farm and enjoying fruits of the farm for lunch (including a glass of local rum) ...........................

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rafael was abosultely fantastic.  He has a really good sense of humour and had excellent interaction with both the members of our group and our bus driver/boat driver.  He is passionate about Costa Rica - its history, culture, nature etc and is very keen to pass this on to the group.  His knowledge about birds and plants was excellent and he was a great spotter.  He even managed to add a few little extras to the trip to give us a more comprehensive feel for the country.  Our driver Francisco was also amazing - also a very good bird/animal spotter and also interacted very well with the group (family as he called us).  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The temperature at night in Savegre is quite cool so make sure you have some warmer clothing.  Washing and drying clothese was relatively easy so no need to over-burden the suitcase.  Have plenty of memory for the camera you'll be taking a lot of photos! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love birds then this is the holiday for you.  But it is more than that - there are animals in abundance, exotic plants, culture, history, coffee production, swimming and more.  
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    WHALES AND LEOPARDS OF SRI LANKA

    A fantastic experience that certainly exceeded all of my expectations. Paul and his team did a great job of ensuring that we had some great wildlife sightings, good photographic opportunities and that the trip ran very smoothly.I would not hesitate to recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's very difficult to explain the feeling when one of the largest animals on the planet surfaces a mere 30 metres from your boat, apart from to say that it was a truly amazing experience and something I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein's passion and enthusiasm for wildlife and photography is clear to all who meet him. He certainly did his best to ensure that everyone had a fantastic experience and some amazing photographic opportunities.  Chitral, the head naturalist, was incredibly knowledgeable and did a fantastic job of sharing his knowledge of the wildlife and flora and fauna in Yala.  Narla worked hard to ensure that the trip ran smoothly as possible and to be honest it would be difficult to see how the general logistics could be improved upon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend staying a few extra days as it's a wonderful country and a long flight home.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    EGYPTOLOGY

    This was my first time abroad in a foreign country, I would like to say the accomodations and general content of the tour was excellent. Although there was a great deal of information crammed into single days. May have been better longer.  Also our tour was cut short due to riots

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going to see Abu Simbel it was a marvelous adventure and the sight was well worth the extra costs to the Tour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayeed was fantastic and very knowledgable of the various sites

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under any circumstances accept gifts from people at the Bent/Red pyramid at sakkara or the Pyramids at Giza.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend although bring lots of money and look after it. 
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE CAPE & WINELANDS

    This part of South Africa is definitely the right place to go on this type of tour. Relaxed and quality experience. Out of this world beautiful sceneries, stunning coastal routes... To my taste, the weather is just right for this physically quite demanding experience: not too hot and not humid. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Breathtaking downhills. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter is a really fantastic, amazing and one of a kind tour leader! He is very professional and organizing, resourceful and very patient, attentive to every detail, goes extra mile to take care of you. Could not be better. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not forget to take with you all the proper gear: gloves, gel saddle, cycle shorts etc are essential for long cycling days. Sport drinks contributed to my performance on last days :-). 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go on this trip, this going to be an experience of your life time!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    Just arrived home from an amazing trip. We were impressed with Exodus throughout the whole experience. 'The African walking company' who took care of us on the treck were incredible, from the porters, cooks and guides they were 1st class. Simply awesome!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro was a truly emotional experience that will stay with me forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The head guide of 'the African walking company' was an Inspirational man, and a true leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's tough but with the right physical and mental attitude is achievable by most. Read as much information as possible before you leave home, especially regarding the correct clothing and equipment. Listen and learn from your guide & assistant guides.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend Exodus for your next adventure. I certainly hope I'll be travelling with them again.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    WINTER WALKING: TRINS

    Fantastic scenery. Excellent food - all types catered for. Length of walks corrrectly specified. Sociable and informative leader. Brilliant individuals. Top work Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery and nature were spectacular - visually stunning. However the crisp cold mountain air was a real revelation, which left me feeling invigorated and cleansed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader maintained safety at all times. His historical and geographical knowledge was wide and was presented in a informative and interesting manner. He socialised a great deal with the whole of the group and remained supportive throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the forecast as it was a relatively mild week and we did not use half of the clothes that were taken. The bar area in the hotel is still a smoking room, therefore prepare yourselves for smokey clothes and a little passive smoking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus have prepared a superb walking holiday which exceeded all personal expectations. Thanks Exodus.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    THE OMO VALLEY

    Escape from the predictable routine of your everyday life, broaden your horizons and prepare for some memorable experiences. The Omo Valley has it all from Hamers to Hippos, Mursis to Maribous and they're waiting to meet you! All of this takes place against an amazing scenic backdrop with the mountains rising abruptly from the plains of the Rift Valley and elsewhere the patchwork of terraced hillsides like a manicured artwork. For sure there are some discomforts- you will feel too hot and dusty at times, you may eat something you don't like and you may find there's no hot water at your hotel because they forgot to switch it on! But it's a small price to pay for some experiences of a lifetime...  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1) Watching the Hamer bull-jumping ceremony: an amazing and genuine experience, witnessing a very special community tradition. No-one minded us being there, but it certainly wasn't done for us- the perfect combination.2) The awesome scenery of Nechisar National Park and the Chamo Lake cruise to spot hippos and crocodiles at close quarters.3) Strolling around the tribal markets to see local trade and commerce in action.4) Visiting remote tribal villages off the beaten run (eg Omorate) and seeing inside villagers' houses.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gebre handled a challenging tour (he may also say a challenging group!) well to ensure we fulfilled a varied itinerary and got in a few bonuses. Main criticism? Lunches often too long because local restaurants and even a bigger hotel in Awassa couldn't cope with a large group descending. There is a need to think ahead- either order food in advance or visit local markets/ shops instead and picnic, which would actually enhance interest further.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is an amazing trip if you approach it in the right spirit. Be flexible and open-minded, accept some discomforts on occasions and you'll love it! Don't get rattled by local "hassles"- just pay a few Birr, buy your bananas, take your photos and accept the "services" of a child who wants to take you on a guided tour of the market! It's part of the experience and remember you probably have more money in your back pocket than they've seen in their entire lives! Without wanting to sound anti-social you should also break away from your group at times and walk around the local market or village on your own or as a couple: you'll experience far more, meet more people and break down the "them and us" barriers more successfully.Make an effort to talk to the local drivers and chef: they can be great friends for the duration of your trip and have much to add by way of local knowledge and stories.Minimise luggage: clothes can be washed at camp for a pittance; just take one warm fleece for Addis and you DON'T need a sleeping bag- just the inner lining is enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've said enough! If you want lazy, easy, pampered holidays that leave you scratching your head about what you've actually done with your precious time when it's time to go home or back to work- forget it! If you have a healthy enquiring mind and crave new experiences, new discoveries and big adventures- go for it!