Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: VALLE AURINA

    This was the first departure of a new holiday - great to be a pioneer. Valle Aurina is an excellent addition to Exodus' range of cross-country ski holidays

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing in a variety of beautiful locations, facilitated by an excellent local bus network (even better, this was free!). Having lots of fun and laughter with a great group of people. The evening lantern light tour of the local castle perched above Campo Tures, definitely not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John combined efficiency with a relaxed style of leadership which made for a very enjoyable holiday. He helped us to improve our skiing, but never pushed us to do things we felt uncomfortable about. Being the first departure of a new holiday, some days were inevitably somewhat experimental. John was always keen for feedback, and we all discussed how some things could be tweaked to make the next departure even better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking boots with a good grip for walking up to the castle and possible walks on the last morning - it's icy! Hotel tends to be warm so light clothes needed for evenings. Don't expect to lose weight despite the exercise as the hotel food is plentiful and lunchtime stops offer many temptations!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brochure and some of the online information states the holiday offers 5 day's skiing with one free day and this did make me hesitate over booking this holiday. However, John offered a ski prgramme every day whilst making it clear anyone was welcome to take time out at any time. I feel strongly that 6 days should always be offered - if you can only ski once a year, you want as much as possible!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    LA RUTA MAYA

    A great trip with surprises throughout - good and not so good - with fabulous landscape and Mayan magnificence along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the mountainside looking out over Lake Atitlan in the Guatemalan highlands.... the lake was magical in the warm sunshine, surrounded by its guardian volcanoes.Snorkelling with nurse sharks and sting rays off Caye Caulker, Belize - very cool.Standing at the top of the pyramid at Uxmal and looking at the buildings rising up through the trees.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was good but certainly not the best I have had on Exodus trips (this was my 8th or 9th trip with Exodus). He knew his stuff but couldn't put it across succinctly and was very prone to "waffle". But he was a friendly guy who mixed in well with the group and managed the logistics well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring something warm to wear at night in the Guatemalan highlands and the first section of the Yucutan peninsula - it gets cold especially in winter - I hadn't realised that San cristobal is at 2200m altitude!Don't have high expectations of the food - perhaps we were unlucky but the restaurants where we ate were decidely average and sometimes less than that. If you can get a flight routing that avoids Houston or Miami, go for it. We went out via Dallas and that was so easy - no crowds. On the way back via Miami we queued for 2 hours at immigration and others who went via Houston had worse experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a trip for history buffs and those who love great landscape - there are visits to 6 Mayan sites in 3 countries so expect to be pretty ruined-out by the end of the trip. Mix that in with fabulous landscapes - it's not every day you get to drive towards a volcano across a lake in a speedboat! - and you have the recipe for an enthralling trip.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    We had been warned the week before departure that nature was not going to be very kind to us for our week, but in the end we were delighted to enjoy a full six days of excellent skiing from Trins. It was great to return there after our first trip as complete novices in 2004, especially as "Uncle" Bob (Mason) was there to welcome us back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The return after seven years to Trins, now as Grade two skiers, meant we were able to enjoy the full circuit on two days at Maria Waldrast. The diference here is that instead of looking up at the mountains from the valley bottom you can look down at the valley from the summit, absolutely brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Uncle" Bob Mason is the business, he knows everything there is to know about the Trins area and must surely have earned the right to citizenship by now. He was a great tutor and leader and very patient with my enthusiasm to photograph everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have not been there already then just go to Trins and enjoy the variety of runs available. Maria Waldrast is very special but do be patient with the monastic pace of life in the servery....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is very friendly with excellent meals and comfortable rooms. Afternoon tea and cake is a bonus.We were glad  to have a very good group of fellow skiers and the 1's and 2's all mixed in well.The hire  equipment is not as good as at other Exodus centres. Glad we had our own boots.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    A well organised holiday with an excellant range of cross coutnry skiing opportunites.   The valleys we visited were peaceful and quiet and we met very few other skiers.   At the end of one valley a local framer puts in loipe just for the exodus groups.   The hotel is friendly and comfortable with good food - the vegetarian diet I had was good although nothing outstanding.   Breakfasts were quite substantial with healthy options.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing on the Maria Waldrast plateau - the views were outstanding in all directions - we had two trips up there with different weather conditions and both were very beautiful.   The monastry is also an amazing place despite the busy chaos of lunch and they serve a great mug of gluhwein for after the skiing.   Another great moment was skiing down in the loipe of one valley at what one group member measured on his GPS as 33 km/hour.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was an excelllant leader and has clearly worked hard at building up local connections which meant that we had a warm welcome where ever we went.   Barbara who took the beginners group was very encouraged and I learnt some good warm up exercises from her that I shall use with other sports.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some liner gloves as it can get very cold - our fingers were painful on the first day at -10 degrees.   Make sure you have a sauna in the hotel after skiing - very good for the muscles and a lovely end to the days activities.  
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    Met some lovely people of all ages and enjoyed a very different type of holiday. Got a real sense of achievement from this terrific break!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thinking I couldn't control my ski's down the fast slopes and whooping for joy when I could. It gave me a real high and inspired me to learn new skils! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent - laid back, thought what he said and brought the best out of each of us. Watch out if you have any food left over at lunchtime as Albert has a big appetite and will wolf it down, especially if it's grilled cheese!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take lots of layers of fleeces as the mornings start very cold but you soon warm up. Be a team player and listen to the leader - its not about skiing the fastest or how many people you can overtake, its about applying new skiing techniques to make you a better cross-country skier. Come with a positive, yes I can attitude and you will have lots of fun and make lots of lovely people!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thought the food was great but the late afternoon flight home was too late as many people had further connections and was a very long day. Also Innsbruck airport is packed and very badly organized, be prepared to queue and bring a book with you! 
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TROPICAL SOUTH

    We were looked after so well, our guide thought of everything. Exodus were well organised and prompt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting a Hindu temple with our Hindu guide who gave us so much infomation.Watching the sun go down from our houseboat on the backwaters. Beautiful. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was everything one could want from a guide. I liked the fact he was a local man and a Hindu so could give us so much infomation about the way of life there.He was very well organised and went the extra mile.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with Exodus, you will not be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely holiday giving a really good overview of what life is like in Southern India. With a few relaxing bits added.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    There is no better way to see a country than to ride it. This average daily distance is ideal for anyone. Even the most unfit one in our group who struggled a little, (just a little), on day one, coped admirably overall. Book it, you will not be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first 1k of the first warm up ride on day one. I knew then I was in for a very special holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Al was a star. A small problem maybe, and he was there for you, he just appeared from nowhere.All three country guides were also very good, although I did struggle to understand  our Cambodian guide a bit more.I really couldn't fault any of the support staff at all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with all Exodus trips, carefully read the, "Is this trip for you", section on the trip notes. If there is nothing major that puts you off, then book it, you will not be disappointed.I rode with open toed sandles, (Merrells), they were great, but dont forget the sunscreen on your toes. Padded undershorts are a must, without pants or knickers, (they will be the most likely cause of irritation), over-shorts, cycling shirt with rear pockets to hold your camera, tissues, and anti-bacterial gel. Girls, sports bra is recommended. A full length zip for the shirt is good to allow for max ventilation. Four sets of shirts and undershorts, two pairs of over shorts, (knee length as this will get you in to temples etc), is more than enough. Take a one litre water bottle for the rides, and aim to drink most if not all between stops when you can re-fill. Personally I wouldn't bother with a back pack or hydration pack as these will just weigh you down and make you sweaty. Don't bother to bring your own snacks, (unless you have special dietry needs of course), as the tip/snack kitty will cover everything you need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A map of each days ride would be really nice.The communial  snacks, nuts/dried fruit that are in a big jar or packet, it would be nice to encourage from bag into hand rather than your hand into the bag/jar for hygene reasons.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THROUGH RAJASTHAN

    Rajasthan is a beautiful place to visit especially by cycle. Great experience and would recommend to anyone with a sense of adventure and experienceing the unexpected. The food, people and sights are vast and contrasting form place to place. The colours of Rajasthan are magnficient.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal is inspiring and beyond words.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    HarishKumar and Pramod are two great leaders who were able to provide guidance whenever required. Their in depth knowledge of the trip was extremely helpful and informing. They were always willing to help whenever it was required. I hope I will get the chance to travel with them again. Harish is a person who you can rely on and depend on making the ride enjoyable and the whole experience fascinating.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm clothes as it can get very cold at nite. Sweets, pens for the children you will pass on the roads. Beware of spicy food if you have a fragile stomach. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time for shopping would be advisable. To wonder the shops of Delhi would be nice as in the other major cities visited.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Very well organised and managed with fantastic local support.  Highly positive and encouraging team.  Tough trek but very rewarding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the curvature of the earth against the rising sun as we approached the summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very observant and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get a insulation cover for your platypus/camel back to stop the water freezing on the climb to the summit when you really need your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Met some great people with whom we will keep in touch. Do take kit you are happy to leave behind to help the porters and guides. Clothes, sleeping bag liners, sunglasses, water bottles, a platypus tube! All items we expect to have but they see as luxuries.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    WHALES AND LEOPARDS OF SRI LANKA

    Another great trip with Exodus and more especially with Paul Goldstein. Although I am not a photographer Paul's enthusiasm for wildlife is contagious and together with the local guides he led  another very memorable adventure. Sri Lanka is a beautiful place and I enjoyed everything about the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard climb a Tamarind tree, wash her face, and then descend the tree again to her prey( an unfortunate peacock) was a very special moment, especially as there were no other jeeps around!Watching 500/600 Spinner Dolphin was a spectacular sight, and so many Blue Whales close to the boat at one time meant that the photographers didn't know which way to point their cameras!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is a great leader whose passion and enthusiasm is inspirational( although his obsession for the 'perfect shot' can be a little intimidating for a non - photographer like me!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sign up for next year - you wont be disappointed!  I did rather regret that I travelled such a long distance for such a short time and would advise extending your stay in Sri Lanka as some of my fellow travellers did.