Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC YUKON CANOE EXPEDITION

    A fantastic trip exploring the wilds of the Yukon by canoe in the company of a great bunch of people including the two excellent leaders. As a veteran of many a small group adventure holiday, this rates as one of the best I've done!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being immersed in the peace and tranquility of the Yukon for 10 days as we paddled down the river and wild camped along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two; a Group Leader plus assistant. Both were outstanding; calm, efficient, hard-working and great company. They also helped us improve our canoeing techniques as we went along (they must have been good as none of the canoes went over) and made us feel very safe. David and Kat also worked extremely hard to ensure that we were very well fed and produced a delicious meal every evening after setting up the kitchen in camp each night. As a vegetarian, I had expected that meals for me might not be that good; how wrong could I be! We were very fortunate to have them as our leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do have a think about your fitness before you embark on this trip. You don't need to be super-fit but you will be paddling for 4 or 5 hours on some days. Make sure you take wellington boots (as well as rafting sandals), and very good quality waterproof coat and trousers. Waterproof (neoprene) gloves are also useful. You should also take sun hat and maybe a long-sleeved shirt to protect yourself from the sun; it can get very hot!Don't worry about the bears; you will be given a full safety briefing and as long as you follow the rules, you will be fine. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A brilliant trip for anyone who wants to get away from it all and doesn't mind being away from the normal creature comforts for a while. Wish I was back in my canoe right now!
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday, I did hope to see some Artic wildlife, but I didn't expect to see as much as we did, and the landscapes that we saw were amazing as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the polar bear walked around the boat and then came within 10m from us and just seemed to look right at us for a good 5 minutes before walking away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was an excellent group leader, he was approachable, calm and very patient with everyone.  He also tried incredilby hard to make sure that everyone saw what they came to see, and he changed the ships course lots of times to try to ensure that we did had places to see even when the mist and sea ice tried to stop us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a long lense for your camera and a tripod to get good pictures of the polar bears.  A camcorder is a good idea as it can capture the movement that a camera can not and the noices that are around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On our last morning we were informed that a large group of beluga whales had visited the boat just after midnight.  Unfortunately I had decided to have an early night, and no announcement was made.  So unfortunatley I didn't see them even though passengers who did see them informed me that they were around the boat for quite a long time and close by so that you could see their heads.  I do think it would have been nice if an announcement had been made.  So that everyone had a chance of seeing them.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    Wonderfull time, great sightings, great crew. As with our previous polar trip, the level of knowldge and dedication was second to none.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    How can you choose?- seeing the polarbear coming right up to the ship-watching the foxcubs for over ½ hour-the midnight sun and the great scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very dedicated and knowledgeable.  Wanted the trip to succeed and a large part of the success was no doubt down to his dedication and desire to find the wildlife.Needs to listen more to what people say and talk less, there are other views in the world that counts and not everyone is wrong even if they disagree.  A tendency to favour a few passengers. Would not approach him for advice on photography out of fear of feeling stupid would (and did) approach people like John Soder and Chris Edwards. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - take warm clothes and lots of memorycards!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really - it was a great trip:-)
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    Awe inspiring - a stunning part of the world with amazing widelife living on the edge of what appears possible.The Vavilov, its fleet of Zodiacs and committed staff enable you to get as close as possible within the bounds of safety. Very good use is made of the ship's ability to move into ice and the frequent Zodiac excursions offer a more intimate view of the environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting high on a hillside with flocks of Little Awks swooping only feet above our heads. Effort required, but worth it.Oh - and the bears, walrus, whales, seabirds, seals, ice....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is intensely focussed on enabling you to make the most of the trip. He is something of an acquired taste, but if you want to better understand the environment and animals around you or improve your photography then Paul fits the bill. This was my second trip with Paul, and we booked largely on the basis of the first. We weren't disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some points to note:The itinerary should be seen as an example rather than a commitment.  From my perspective this is fine as it means there is a large degree of flexibility to change plans to make the most of available opportunities - but if you really want to visit a particular place then make sure the group leader knows...Be prepared to be too warm - even at Arctic temperatures. Some options on shore landings can involve strenuous hiking.Photos of animals (rather than scenary) require long lenses.Take dollars for the final day aboard ship - credit accounts close the night before.Be very sure that special dietary requirements are understood - some people appeared to have issues.Between leaving the ship and going to the airport is a 4 hour interval spent in Longyearbyen. Do not expect to find a lot to do... (particularly if you are there before 10am - the museum and most shops don't open until then). Retire to the warmth of comfortable seats in the Radisson.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    Fantastic trip, excellent staff support and expertise.  Generated memories and experiences that will always be with us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cracking through the ice in a Zodiac.  Seeing our first polar bear in the ice wilderness.  Sitting on the side of a hill with Little Auks swooping around our heads.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and Paul were excellent, and could not have been better.  Paul's style took a bit of getting used to, but his passion and determination shone through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers, layers and more layers.  Be flexible in your expectations as you cannot control Mother Nature.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would fully recommend this trip. 
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    One of the best holiday experiences I've ever had. It will definitely go down amongst the greats

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many. Seeing the first polar bear was a thrill and then we saw one with a kill! Later on we saw a bear that came right up to the ship so it's impossible to say which was the best, they were all wonderful. Going on a zodiac cruise amongst the sea ice was tremendous and our time with the walruses was another highlight. The icing on the cake was during our final excursion when I spotted two arctic fox cubs and I don't think my pulse stopped racing for a number of hours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was absolutely fantastic. His knowledge of both the wildlife and the arctic conditions is superb so we couldn't fail to have a good trip with him in charge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Silk thermals are a must, so comfortable without being bulky. If I went again I would also take more short sleeved T-shirts with me to wear around the ship as the ship can be very warm

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I should like to extend my thanks to all the crew who were absolutely wonderful, particularly the kitchen staff who must be so long suffering when we all disappeared to see the bear with the seal and nobody ate any of the deserts that had been prepared! The food was really very good with everybody's tastes being catered for. How do they keep all that lettuce so fresh all the time? Everyone was very helpful and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. It's impossible to single out anybody in particular as 'the team' were all so knowledgeable and enthusiastic.Thank you for such a wonderful holiday
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    This was one of the best holidays I have ever had. The view from the room's balcony at the Oreo hotel, Kas, was magnificent.  The days were filled with well organised activities and the evenings were spent visiting beautiful restaurants; all organised by the most enthusiastic guide I have come across. The group jelled immediately and everyone had a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Lycean way,  sea kayaking, visitng the magnificent roman and greek ruins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our froup leader was very enthusiastic and well orgnised. He made the holiday a delight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kas is very hot in the summer but you soon get used to it. Rember to bring a hat and plenty of suncream,
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THE ALPS

    Great introduction to the Alps seeing all the classic peaks including Mont Blanc, Matterhorn, Eiger, Jungfrau etc

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning views from top of cable cars on Kleine Matterhorn, Jungfraujoch and Aiguille du Midi

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were both very frinedly and helpful. Helen in particular was very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light because of all of the changes of trains on the holiday

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky with the weather - lovely sunshine including on the tops. This is a mountain area so go prepared for uncertainty
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    A great trip! Really well looked after by our guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding would definitely be up there!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He had loads of stories to tell us - very informative

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring plenty of suncream!
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    A brilliant holiday, nice and chilled whilst still managing to fit everything in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything! Loved the walks, the scenery - both costal and mountains is brilliant. Waking up every morning to the sea view from my balcony surronded by borganvilla was amazing. Paragliding was a great exprience, as was the sea kayaking ,,,,, I could go on and on! Plus the trip to the Haman at Dalaman - steer clear of those in Kas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tuna is a nice, chilled out person. He managed to arranged as an extra the trip to the Haman in Dalaman after my request to visit one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget the Mosque nearby and the early morning call for pray. No problems with mosquitos in early July.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a brilliant trip. The resturants and bars in Kas are great, we found everyone at the hotel and in Kas really friendly - especially Mehmet - great at bringing drinks to us by the pool!! Hotel has great views but that means there's a hill to walk up every evening after dinner!
Call us on 0208 772 3936