Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    ZAMBIAN ADVENTURE

    Saw many different aspects of Zambia, including scenery, animals, and people. Got off the beaten track for experiences which were very different from those possible when staying in hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Victoria falls spectacular, tracking and seeing white rhinos, canoeing (close to elephants, hippos, crocs). Enjoyed the wild camping, with hippos and elephants visiting nearby in the night. Saw elephant swim across Zambezi on booze cruise (us not the elephant, and the booze cruise wasn't as bad as it sounds!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike - drove us safely to remote places (despite first time on that particular route in Zambia), helpful, knowledgeable about country, customs etc. Pleasant and friendly. Could take a joke.Frank (cook) - excellent meals, plenty of fresh fruit/veg, often bought from local market at roadside, cooked local meals,  cooked fish freshly caught from river. Explained menus, discussed likes/dislikes, always plenty to eat, listened to requests (eg for more sweet potato!). Quiet, but very willing to discuss any questions about customs, food, living in Zambia etc etc. Could take a joke and teased us back once he'd got to know us. Potential as a group leader.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Can be VERY cold at night in August - bring long-johns and layers. Hot and dry (dusty) during day.Travel quite a distance every few days - bumpy in truck. Take a book to read and bag a seat in front of rear wheels!Beer about £1 a bottle, bar at most campsites. Bring some small denominations for tips. We couldn't get money out of ATM in Lusaka; fine at Livingstone and small towns in remote area! (Lots of Barclays banks - may help to have an account with them?) . Most places/taxis etc accept either dollars/Kwacha (1=5000). Credit/debit (visa) worked fine everywhere even for small amounts. Taxis seem reliable. Airport to Eureka camp $40-50, Eureka camp to Lusaka $15-20, Livingstone camp to falls $10.Try Ngoma Zanga restaurant in Livingstone for Zambian experience including traditional singing, drumming, dancing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 5 of us in our family group - 3 young adults and us two (slightly(!) older). Joined another 5 adults on the tour. Group ages ranged 35-55. Everyone joined in; got on well together.Saw lions, leopard (Kafue), zebra, giraffe, White Rhino (Livingstone), elephants, hippos, crocs everywhere. Lots of birds and other wildlife. River journey plus walk to remote village, able to talk to very friendly family (9 children, 2 sets of twins) and find out about living in traditional manner (subsistence farming, fishing, some hunting). One hut for parents, one hut for grandma, and one hut for all children older than 5!
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    VIA FERRATA IN THE NORTHERN DOLOMITES

    In my view the holiday was very expensive with inadequate content. For over £1200.00 this 6 day holiday had only 4 days proper Via Ferrata which met the grading 'tough', and even then, I have had better trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there were none, all of it fell short of previous Via Ferrata trips

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If 'leader' is the gentleman who led the group to the coach at Venice airport, then his role was pointless.If leader means the local guide, he was great but working under contract his scope was very limited, this being one of the reasons that caused the holiday to be so disappointing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is, in my opinion, poor value for money.
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    PETRA & PALMYRA

    This holiday is well thought out in terms of the route and sights. In both countries I found the locals very polite, friendly and keen to help. There is a good contrast between the big cities (Aleppo and Damascus), the wide open spaces (eastern Syria) and historical highlights (Krak de Chevalier, Petra)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Syria my favourite was Palmyra, the atmospheric ruins well off the beaten track. Aleppo was really interesting with the accomodation well situated in the armenian quarter near some pleasant bars and restaurants. In Jordan Petra is obviously really good but my highlight of the whole trip was the drive and overnight at Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders were good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My trip was in July/August. The advantage of this was much less people at the sights, the obvious disadvantage the temperature, which was higher than usual for this time of year and was regularly over 40CI had tummy trouble from the last day in Syria as did a few others. This was put right by the clinic system in Jordan. If you have a problem the Jordan system is fast, inexpensive and of a high standardBy the time I made my booking the group flights had gone, and I opted to spend an extra night in the hotel in Amman as the Monday flight involved a much smaller surcharge than the group Sunday flight. On the last day we had a short group tour in Amman and then went to our hotel well out of Amman centre (Amaken Plaza). This was a clean, good hotel for the group's last night but led to a tedious extra day for the 4 of us who stayed for the Monday flight- there is nothing to do near to the hotel and Amman has little more to see if you take the lengthy taxi drive back to the town centre. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An earlier reviewer commented unfavourably on the hotels on the trip. I thought overall the hotels on my trip were fine. The one at Damascus at the start was dowdy but generally they were pretty good. From memory all but one had air conditioning.
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    THE MATTERHORN CIRCUIT

    A challenging but rewarding walk through stunning alpine scenery. Each day produces fantastic views and the long walk makes the beer at the end taste very good indeed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ascents are hard work, but the view from the col when you get to it is worth it. Each day provided a different vista, and within each day there were changing landscapes as you walked up and then down. The variety in this trip is surprising. Take some time to take in the plants too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a excellent group leader who had great local knowledge and a real enthusiasm for the circuit as a whole. He passed nearly all of the 'what's that peak?' questions we threw at him as well as informing us of the local flora and fauna. I felt safe and well led throughout the tour. Our group leader showed a friendly enthusiasm throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are very long ascents in this tour followed by very long descents. Be prepared for the physical challenge. You will need to be fit to enjoy this, but you will enjoy this if you are fit.I can only agree with other reviewers that ear plugs are essential! And take as little kit as you can get away with because every gram you have packed has to go up and down every peak. We did not have any transfer of kit midway through (as the trip notes suggested), so everything you need for seven days has to be carried. Oh, make sure your kit is packed in waterproof bags, beacuse when it rained for us the whole rucksack got soaked.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I will certainly be back for another. I am glad my first Exodus adventure was somewhere so stunning.
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN THE SLOVAKIAN TATRAS

    A mixture of delights (the scenery, companionship, and Krakow) and disappointments (the lack of evening options, oversize walking group, and unadventurous routes).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Slavkovsky Stit (2452m) on the last day was great, a rewarding climb finishing with spectacular views ... sadly with only 2 companions as the rest of the group were doing a slower route to some lakes. The walking itself is undoubtedly excellent, on good granite paths, which do include some quite tough rocky sections and steep gradients (the Exodus grade of 'moderate/challenging' is correct in my view).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter worked long and hard to make it work for the group, and he had excellent local knowledge. He also helped us identify the wildflowers (numerous) and other wildlife (scant). However, the need to keep 15 walkers of varied pace together meant stopping us every 10 minutes (sometimes every 5) which eventually becomes frustrating for both the slower and faster walkers. The availability of a second guide during the days would have allowed us to split into two groups and have the option of different routes. This would greatly increase the attractiveness of this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travellers need to understand (as I did not) that the High Tatras are to Slovakia what the 'Lake District' is to England: a compact, scenic and very popular area that is accessible, well mapped and signposted. If you want good, stress-free, companionable walking in excellent scenery, then this is a trip to consider, provided you are happy to forego any sense of adventure and accept minimal culture (except in Krakow), mediocre food and limited options for post-walking activity. By analogy, if you would be frustrated being guided solely along the blue and red routes for a week in a well mapped ski resort, and wonder why you were not been shown some hidden off-piste treasures, then this is probably not the trip for you.It seemed that little thought has been given to the needs of the group for social and other activities in the evening. We had to take this into our own hands, with minimal information about the possibilities. The location of the chalet up at Hrebienok, while a good walking base, makes it difficult to do anything in the evenings: after the funicular stops running it is a 30 minute walk down to the nearest town of Stary Smokovec and about 40 minutes back up. However, Exodus's organisation was first-rate, and Krakow was stunning, with a super little hotel which we will probably use again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was lucky enough to go with a really great group, without any whingers, and we entertained each other magnificently! Despite the two stars, I will remember this holiday happily for the companionship, the scenery, and Krakow. All would be well if the Exodus will make a few tweaks and future travellers are a little more realistic about the nature of the Tatras than I was.
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT - an unforgettable trek

    This trip really exceeded my expectations - I was expecting long walking days and views over beautiful valleys to Mont Blanc, which I got, but I also got some amazing added extras. A lovely group, a great leader and some fantastic luck with the weather!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the optional high point of the trip, the Tête Nord des Fours at 2756m from which point we could see the Matterhorn. We had been about 2-3 minutes on the top and the distant clouds on the horizon parted for us to see the unmistakeable point miles away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham was fantastic, he really kept it interesting, offering a few added excursions from the normal route for those who wanted to. Klaas was also great - preparing great veggie food for me and the other two vegetarians in the group on top of catering for everyone else.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can, go in July so you can catch the amazing alpine flowers. The sheer array of colours and varieties was amazing. I went on the 3rd July trip and they were really at their best. Also, try to train (in the hills) before the trip as it really does help with the longer days towards the end of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first 'organised' walking holiday and it certainly has got me thinking about doing some more. I have been telling everyone about this holiday - everyone who enjoys hillwalking should do it!
  • Reviewed August 2010
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN IN DEPTH

    A true experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Arctic and the Svalbard Archipeligo is simply a magical place. The wild life, serenity,and the feeling of "adventure" makes this a very special experience.  Put this on your "Bucket List"

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First Class.  A bit bossy at times but he had to be, especially when our safety was / could be under threat from Polar Bears.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, GET OFF THE SHIP AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY or you will miss a lot of the magic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All of the Exodus planning worked well for us ...everything was where it should have been.
  • Reviewed July 2010
    Anonymous

    TUSCANY SINGLETRACK

    Tuscany has long been renowned for being Italy’s most evocative destination for villa holidays and walking trips but doesn’t readily spring to mind for cycling holidays. As you probably know, at Exodus we like to dig a bit deeper and head off the beaten track rather than follow the herd. Garfagnana is a fine example of this; wild and rugged, devoid of mass tourism and perfect mountain biking territory.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was experiencing a mixture of excitement with perhaps an air of overconfidence as I joined the Exodus group for a week of singletrack biking in this beautiful region of Tuscany. After meeting up with our leader Rupert at Pisa airport, we drove to the small town of Villetta. The scenery en route to our accommodation at Casine di Braccicorti was a blend of picturesque villages and small towns, lush green forests with some rather daunting looking mountains in the distance. Braccicorti is a real hidden gem - a family-run working farm with all the character you would expect from a Tuscan family - passionate and proud of their lifestyle and idyllic surroundings. On arrival the aromas of ripe plum tomatoes and fresh oregano wafting out of the kitchen were a welcoming delight. Casine di Braccicorti offers lucky tourists access to the best of the local area on foot, two wheels (or even cross-country skis in the winter). It boasts two guesthouses, a swimming pool and even a 6-hole golf course - a rare find in Tuscany! Not to mention all the mouth-watering homemade Italian meals freshly prepared each day. I cycle between 45 and 65km a week on pretty flat roads in the mean streets of south London, but having been an active mountain biker in years gone by I was really looking forward to getting off road again. So once equipped with my bike, and with all that delicious homemade pasta inside me from the night before, I was carbed up to the max and ready for action. As we set off on our first full day of cycling, I began to think I might have over estimated my cycling prowess as we began ascending into the rugged, undulating woodland. It was not too long before we came to the first incline, at which time it was a case of find a comfortable gear and keep going safe in the knowledge that what goes up, must come down. In the back of my mind I kept thinking about the fact that this was just the first of the five off-road singletrack routes we were to take during the trip. The streets of London might be mean, but they are generally quite flat and this was a shock to the system.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our expert guide Rupert was a cool, calm veteran with many kilometres of Tuscan terrain under his belt. Although there was a fair amount of uphill involved (a particular 7km switchback incline comes to mind!), the sense of achievement the whole group felt was immense - and what stunning scenery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On average we cycled around 50-60km each day, but some days were easier going than others. Cycling off road allowed us to venture into wild Tuscan countryside untouched by vehicles and walkers. We cycled through villages that most tourists never see, where the locals bore a puzzled expression as we whizzed by all Lycra-clad and a blur of colour before getting out into the open forest trails again. The many downhill tracks were thrilling - fast and frantic, perfect for adrenalin junkies to satisfy their need for speed.The routes we took each day were varied with the scenery alternating between woodland and open tracks, interspersed with stunning views of the Ligurian Sea and the imposing Alpi Apuane – the marble mountains; truly wonderful whilst tackling the terrain on two wheels. Off-road cycling really is the best way to explore this region and appreciate its rugged natural beauty up so close you can smell the fresh flowers and musky earthiness of the chestnut forests.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All in all, the trip was a fantastic test of my fitness and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys cycling. My top tips would be to hit the spinning classes in preparation for the hills and make sure you take cycling gloves to absorb the vibrations that come from the exhilarating downhill sections. Back on my bike in London the pedalling was certainly a lot easier but I’d gladly slog up a hill in instant for scenery that was even half as beautiful as Tuscany.
  • Reviewed July 2010
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER

    What a fantastic place.  We were very fortunate to have near perfect weather and loads of polar bear sightings of a very high quality allowing us to appreciate many aspects of polar bear life and behaviour, including some intimate and very gentle scenes between mother and cub that brought some close to tears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where do I start - perhaps the polar bear that came to look at the ship, standing up to get a better view and then embarrassing himself by slipping on the ice - or the polar bear mum suckling her poor wee infant - or the polar bears feeding from the whale carcass and spin shaking themselves dry - or maybe that fantastic day at the Monaco Glacier with the sea calmer than a village pond and perfect reflections of the stunning scenery.  Each day just seemed to be perfect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was great mixing knowledge and humour perfectly.  Paul used his endless energy to ensure we got the best photographic oportunities and was always willing to give advice. The combination of the two was a sure recipe for success - and some great banter!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't think twice.  If your enjoy nature and wild scenery and accept that your are on more of an expedition than a holiday then book it now.  Be prepared for the cold with warm gloves and particularly warm socks for the wellies.  Photographers should ensure they have a polarising filter for their wide angle lenses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Vavilov is a very well stabilised ship and the cabins are very comfortable.  The food is great - don't expect to lose weight! The staff and crew are all very helpful and friendly.  If you have the good fortune that we enjoyed with weather and wildlife sightings then you cannot fail to have the trip of a lifetime. 
  • Reviewed July 2010
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    An amazing adventure that we will never forget! This has to be the best way to experience some of East Africa's most breath-taking scenery and meet some extraordinary people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Agashya group of mountain gorillas! Getting all tearful as 3 baby gorillas came helter-skeltering over one another to get to within 2 feet of our group - per magic! You cannot help but be moved by the presence of these truly magnificent gentle giants. Remember to listen to them too - the noises as they communicate with each other are absolutely delightful!Visiting the orphanage which is a short walk from the Adrift camp-site in Jinga and meeting Justine who provides shelter for 29 children there. She is an inspiration! She has little money for food and to pay the much-needed teachers to come and educate the children, but she has barrels of affection and a desire to make life better for the orphans in her careComing within a couple of metres of a family of lions and having the utter privelege of watching and listening to them interact, play and have the occasional grumble. All this as the sun slowly sets over the Masai Mara. Bliss!Travelling along the roads of Uganda and especially Rwanda and being greeted by bright smiling faces and enthusiastic waving from children and grown-ups alike. The are wonderful and just thinking about them still brings a little tear to my eye!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Often is a SUPERSTAR! He was so helpful, organised, supportive, informative, flexible and good fun! He always provided us with clear guidance on the day ahead and we all genuinely looked forward to his post-dinner talks! He is clearly passionate about the people and places we visited on this trip, always urging us to interact with the locals and experience their culture. He also goes the extra mile - we adopt a gorilla who was a member of the Agashya Family. We were desperate to meet her and Often ensured we were included in the group visiting this family. Not an easy task when 50+ people turn up at the visitor centre in the morning all with their own preferences on how far they want to trek and which family they want to visit!JJ and Bernard were also fantastic! Bernard is the chef who every night informed us that 'dinner is calling for you to attack/terrorize it...'!! He never made the same meal twice and everything was fresh and well-prepared! He also has the best sense of humour!This team work SO HARD throughout the trip - they do everything to make sure your trip is perfect. They are a huge credit to Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long bouncy drives along rough dusty roads - we made some great friends on this trip so much of the time travelling was spent chatting, giggling and waving at the local people and children who never tire of smiling and waving to the passing 'muzungos'! Sleep is tricky on these journeys but not impossible!Bring books/pens/football/bubbles for the children in the orphanages - there are two which you can visit. The children absolutely love to play and the teachers are very grateful for any items that will help educate them.Try and 'muck in' and help your tour leader and his team. This is not expected at all but we found it impossible to sit back and let Often, Bernard and JJ do all the running around for us. We helped get the chairs out and put away for meals; preparing the vegetables/fruit; keeping the truck tidy; washing up and clearing away, etc. It generates a great team spirit!Enjoy every hot shower you can along the way! Showers are available in most campsites...but they may be nothing more than a lukewarm drip at times! Pack your wet wipes and be prepared to have a more basic approach to your morning routine!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't think about this any longer...BOOK IT! If I had the holiday time available and the money I would do this all over again tomorrow! I guarantee you will have some of the best experiences of your life!
Call us on 0208 772 3936