Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2010
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    Excellent trip, informative and enjoyable, good mix of visits and down time. The story of Egypt unfolded in more detail as the holiday progressed. Personally I could have left out the overnight train ride!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing inside the Pyramid, it was quiet and the enormity of the achievement and the sense of purpose behind it was tangible.  A reverse inspirational moment is the "culture shock" when you get to El Gouna and you realise how good it was to be immersed in the local culture during the rest of the tour - although my co-travellers immersed more than I did!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Ossama Sharaf was excellent, very friendly knowledgeable enthusiastic for his country and his history. A depth of knowledege on Egyptology that was never found wanting and always managed to bring in some revealing insight or detail to each visit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check to see if your tour leader has local version of Immodium! OR stock up when you get there just in case. About half our group had a days illness.  On the evening of the train ride to Aswan eat before you board the train!  Take a big memory card for your camera!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip but not my last I hope, well organised and structured and a nicer group of people you couldn't wish to meet. All the hotels and the boat were excellent quality and very relaxing - until El Gouna, but that might just be my bad luck in getting the room next to the service road!
  • Reviewed April 2010
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN OMAN

    Felt expensive for what it was. At times, driving gone forever without much sightseeing. But all and all a good introduction to the country, diverse places of interest, good accomodation...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Turtles watching, the sky, the desert stay, walk in canion

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob is good. Would be nice to have more explicit local guides. they were very nice, but did not say much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    you do not need sleaping bags, neither too much cash - food is not expensive and there are plenty of ATM. It is, at large driving holiday rather than walking

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It can be cheaper by at least £300. I wish the stay at the sea hats and desert hats were longer, while if I never seen Nazra (might be spelling it wrong - an old capital), i would not miss much. I would rather stay in tent somewhere than in noisy round about in Nazra.
  • Reviewed April 2010
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA DESERT EXPLORER - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A "nicely balanced" holiday, with some travelling but not over-long days, some sightseeing [of Berber villages and desert oases, crocodile farms and camel rides], and with "adventure" - camping in the desert under the stars, 4 X 4 driving across the desert plains, and quad -biking!  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Liked the camping in the desert, even if the wind howled all night long!Loved wandering around the old "bohemian" part of TunisEnjoyed seeing the villages, and mountain scenery where films like "An English Patient" had been made.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent..... a real star......always helpful.....and with a genuine desire to explain life in her country  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes....take sunglasses or goggles to "shelter" your eyes , if its windy when on the camel trek in the desert

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed April 2010
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA TRAILS & CHITWAN

    A beautifual country and there is no better way to see it than on foot.  You get off the beaten track and have time to appreciate the views and also get a real insight into the local culture.  this is a good introductory trip and I am inspired to do somehting a little more challenging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on a hill top with a 360 degree view of the moountains with clear blue skys, unforgettable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been an several exodus trips and have come to expect a high standard which was not unfortunately met on this occasion. The guide was very pleasant and always happy to assist in anyway he could but he did not impart much information about Nepal and the sites we were seeing. he would chat when prompted but was not forthcoming, and I did not have the confidence that he was too knowledgable, possibly a little shy and/or inexperienced. One of the assistants was probably better at keeping us informed of the local cultures. I was a little dispointed as usually on these holidays the education is part of the wexperience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take walking poles, a duvet jacket for the evening and a charger for your camera or plenty of batteries.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The holiday overall was a great experience and although I had some reservations about Chitwan I enjoyed this part of the holiday, not just because of the Rhinos but because it was a good contract to see the south of nepal.  I had a great time despite my comments about the group leader, some of the support staff certainly made up for where he was a little lacking,  a great bunch of people. One thing that did sour the holiday a little from an organistaional point of view was the tipping scenario. Our guide presented us with what amounted to a bill for tips for the whole trip form hotel staff to porters, several of us on trip were not too happy with this. I am more than willing to tip the support staff they do a fantastic jobe for a poor wage and I am happy to show my appreciation, but I think there should be some degree of discretion.  If tips are to be given in this way there should be some reference to it in the trip notes,  this is almost reverting back tot the local payment system.
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    An excellent introduction to Egypt, covering all of the main sites of interest. Having said that, it helps to have great fellow travellers and a fantastic egyptologist (Henry).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The step pyramid at Saqqara was wonderful as we got there very early and experienced it without the crowds. To think that this was the first ever pyramid and was about five thousand years old was quite something.The second wow moment was the temple at Karnak - it was the size of a small village and extremely impressive. The height and thickness of the columns was incredible.  An altogether amazing sight.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henry was a great tour leader/Egyptologist. He was helpful, good humoured, knowledgable and always interesting to talk to. He wasn't feeling very well when we were there as he had some sinus problems but he never lost his good humour throughout the trip. Top man.He has our invite to stay in England if he can make it. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We listened to all the advice on how to avoid the Dehli belly...however everyone ended up with some effects. We took hygenic wipes and gell, using them after handling money and touching handles/rails etc. We avoided the water, salad and unpeeled fruit but still succumbed. We put it down to a set menu eaten at a local restaurant in Cairo one lunchtime (but we could be wrong). The temperature was much higher than normal and some dehydration may have set in.We took probiotic tablets before, during and after the trip that may have helped as we both had milder effects than others.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If we can suggest some amendments, it would be to change the challenging start of the holiday to give travellers a bit more rest before some long days. Most of us had an early start on the first day followed by two long days around Cairo. Our second day in Cairo ended with a night plane ride down to Aswan ! Many in the party then did the trip down to Abu Simnel. Also - how about an extra night on the red sea !Having said that, we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The accommodation was generally very good. In particular, the boat was really impressive and the hotels at Cairo and Aswan were very nice. I would agree with an earlier reviewer that the buffet at Pyramids Park Cairo should be avoided - there are plenty of better value dining options in this lovely hotel.    
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    This was a wonderful holiday, the Sahara Desert is a wonderful place to clear your mind.  The group was very friendly and made wonderful travelling companions.  The walking was easier than I had anticipated.  The food was plentiful and good, I reckon I put on weight despite all the exercise.  Thoroughly enjoyable holiday from whichever way you look at it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although it was suprisingly chilly, sleeping out under the stars for 5 nights was just awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was extrememly knowledgeable - birds, history, archaeology, geography, politics, he could answer our questions whatever we threw at him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be perared for chilly evenings, and it even rained for a short while on the Monday, so waterproofs really were necessary (well in March anyway!)
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS

    A fantastic trip with spectacular scenery and breathtaking views of some of the worlds highest mountains.  Do it, you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first view of Everest was jaw dropping...an experience never to be forgotten.Short but stunning flight to and from Lukla.The vibrancy, colour, noise and chaos of Kathmandu. The amazing scenery.    

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This is where praise is easy....Keshar, our leader was brilliant, he was knowledgable, friendly, polite and very supportive.  The guides, Sukman and Uber were also a class act...these guys could'nt do enough for us and even brought us "wakey wakey" tea every morning.  Ten out of ten...all top men!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the food as there are some excellent restaurants in Kathmandu serving a variety of dishes.  On the trail meals are based on potatoes, eggs and rice.Take suncream, the sun was stronger than I'd imagined.Take plenty of energy bars although mars, snickers and bounty bars are available on the trail.Make sure you visit the Rum Doodle restaurant with it's famous signatures on the wall. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trek and first holiday with Exodus and ranks as one of my most memorable experiences.   The trip was well organised and we were given sound advice by our leader throughout, and although I had altitude sickness I was ably supported by our 3 guides and the rest of the group to such a degree that I would gladly do it all again. 
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA LODGE SAFARI

    Excellently balanced holiday. Combination of safari, beach and historic Stone Town hard to beat as a taste of Tanzania.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeeing leopards in trees-- but then being amazed that lions climb trees to sleep around these parts.Chatting to the lovely people of Stone Town. Tanzania is a very friendly place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an excellent safari guide and driver in Julius. Great at animal and bird spotting-- and slick at tyre-changing too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate to book for this trip if you want the wonderrful animals and scenery on safari together with the time to chill out at a beach resort and the vibrancy of a fascinating historic town.
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    A very enjoyable trip with a good group - all 14 of us travelling under single status - which meant healthy interchange and banter.  Age range from 26 to 63 - most in 30s & 40s.  Good value for money.  There was a rawness and remoteness to the trip which gave it a much more solitary feel than the treks to Everest Basecamp, Kilimanjaro or the Inca Trail have which may be more challenging but are nevertheless processional because of numbers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Alone in the desert mountains of Sinai trekking along the rocky Beduoin trails - living with the Beduoin, seeing how they live and trying to improve life in a harsh environment - and sleeping under the stars in non-polluted air.  Loved it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having been on around 20 such trips, local tour leaders are a variable feast and are a matter of luck and a product of the culture of the country they come from.  Those from Nepal, Vietnam, Brazil, Tanzania were truly excellent; Agentina, China, Myanmar, India were good to OK; and some are either overly familiar (Costa Rica), symptoms of Jack the Lad (a different Egypt trip, Cambodia), or even arrogant (Peru, Jordan).  Basil, our tour guide was honest, diligent, professional and humble (a very rare Egyptian tourist industry trait) - but not the best organised when it came to pre-planning or advanced notice.  He was a good leader -I'd give him seven out of ten though.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be fit and able to manage to trek for 6 to 8 hours averaging 3 miles per hour over rocky terrain - if you can't then the main group [we were 14 in total] will be held back and the envisaged itinerary will be compromised and changed downwards to accommodate trekkers unable to match this standard.  This happend on this trip - not to overly serious detriment - but I wanted to be stretched by doing the whole itinerary and this did not happen [I am a fit 61 year old].

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip needs fall back measures for those who fall seriously off the pace - to allow the more able to complete the whole intended itinerary.  12 out of the 14 were ill to some extent - but this is probably par for the course in Egypt [I ate well and was OK]. This does not detract however from a very enjoyable trip.
  • Reviewed March 2010
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - NORTHERN CIRCUIT

    A 'must do' challenge of a lifetime.  If you're in two minds about which route to take on Kilimanjaro, choose the Northern Circuit.  It offers maximum acclimatisation opportunity before the summit attempt and enough time to truely experience the diverse landscapes of the mountain with spectacular and varied views of Kibo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realising I'd reached Stella Point and then setting off again and just knowing I would get to Uhuru Peak - a dream come true.  The unbelievable and awesome views from the summit of a snow covered Kibo - totally amazing - I'll never forget it.  The whole team of nine making it to Uhuru Peak (albeit at slightly different times!) it was a real achievement for everyone.  The guides and porters never fail to amaze and astound me in all that they do - they're truely remarkable and become your friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon Moshy is an incredible leader, his organisational skills are excellent and everything ran like clockwork.  He and his assistant guides, Davis, Daio, Noel and Pablo cannot be praised enough for their support, encouragement, advice and friendship - an amazing bunch of guys.  Their evening singing sessions in the mess tent together with some of the porters was totally brilliant and entertaining.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of our group of nine suffered from the altitude at some time or other including me (some taking Diamox and others not), but this route really does allow sufficient time to recover and succeed.  This was my second attempt on Mt Kilimanjaro (with another operator previously) and the African Walking Company, the Tanzanian company Exodus use, offer a superior service with guides who really care about what you want to achieve - at times when I did feel unwell their support and encouragement totally aided me and my belief that I could succeed.  I cannot recommend them enough.A good warm sleeping bag is a must (last time I was too cold every night with a 3 season bag & liner) a 4 season plus bag and liner kept me very snug this time and I slept well.  Going slowly is definitely the way forward and drinking lots of water cures niggling headaches.  Take a platypus but also a sigg bottle, the bottles are great as hot water bottles at night.  Keep all your kit in the trek bag and your day sack in dry bags - the weather is varied and it certainly knows how to rain! But it was worth it all for the snow on the summit.  Some days involve long days walking so you do need a reasonable level of fitness and a well used comfy pair of boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I travelled by myself (for the second time!) and met an amazing group of travellers, it can be a worry not knowing who you're travelling with but they will always be like minded people.  We were never short of laughs and I wholeheartedly enjoyed the whole experience from start to finish.  You should keep a 'positive mental attitude', as the guides say, and embrace the wonders of camping at altitude and enjoy every day - it's a true adventure.  Tanzania is a third world country, don't expect too much and enjoy the Tanzanian laid back attitude, they are wonderful people. I had such a fantastic time that I'd go again tomorrow if I could :)