Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A great relaxing week, good walks, lovely scenary and tastey food.We were lucky with the weather which made it even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of the walks, the visit to Seville.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Starve yourself before you go!
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A great relaxing week, good walks, lovely scenary and tastey food.We were lucky with the weather which made it even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of the walks, the visit to Seville.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Starve yourself before you go!
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    Cycling & Waving

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    II'm not sure I would describe anything as inspirational other than at the age of 53 this was the first holiday of this nature that I had undertaken and did not know what to expect either from my fellow travellers or what the trip would entail - but it was brilliantly organised and the group stayed as one with no factions developing which allowed us all to share loads of experiences together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both tour leaders were absolutely superb and it was difficult at times to remember that they were working even at the restaurants when we were eating. I just felt that they were part of the group but were always on top of things and remembering their responsibilities. There were a couple of occasions when I particularly needed their help - they were absolutely brilliant even when one of them was feeling very unwell - he put me first. Polite lovely friendly and funny people who I was sad to leave behind - Sart & Wassan - you made the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I suppose it is that if you are able to - check out the possibility of staying on at the end of the holiday in order to do what you want. As everything is so well organised for you - you really don't have to think about what you are doing so maybe it would be good to have spent some time after becoming used to the country and its customs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that if anyone has any questions about the holiday that I went on - I am happy to respond to e mails about it .
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    Perfect mix of activity, culture and relaxation

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dave was great. Brilliant to have a native English speaker who was nevertheless very much a local. Furthermore his interests in the local culture and wildlife matched ours perfectly.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    What a trip..........

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Veiws from the summit The fantastic trekking crew The great people of Nepal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good, he knew a lot about the area, people and all the technical stuff we needed to know

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can get very hot in the day times and watch your toes on summit day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth it and I am now seriously thinking about 7000 + m
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    Mountain soup

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had never been to Italy before and had no idea what to expect from a walking holiday there. I especially enjoyed the last 2 days walking which gave us fantastic views over mountains and walks we had previously during the week. The view from Monte Sumbra on the final day was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable about the area and was willing to be flexible around the needs of the group.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    The incomparable Japanese Camel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole experience of visiting Libya is very special. The Roman ruins at Sabratha and Leptis Magna are magnificent and no-one could fail to be impressed by them. The city of Ghadames is beguiling and offers what must be one of North Africa's most memoriable urban experiences. But for me the great highlight was the time spent in the Fezzan, careering across super-sized sand dunes in our 'Japanese Camel', stopping off at a sudden oasis in the middle of the sand sea, viewing rock art created thousands of years ago and hidden away for almost as long, watching the sun rise over the incomparable Jebel Acacus, and sleeping out under the stars in a place where light polution would have to be explained.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was a revelation. Unlike so many of his profession, he was positively eager to open out and discuss the country and what it's really like to live there - good and bad. He was tireless in his efforts to make sure we all had as good a time as possible and got the very best out of the trip. Whenever difficulties arose he dealt with them efficiently and effectively and he was almost super-humanly patient at times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip. Be open-minded and open-hearted and you will have a wonderful time.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    I want to go back

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Thai people and seeing parts of the railway built during WW2. The Thai people appreciate and practice the calm and friendly approach. Kanchanaburi and the death railway were moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, calm and patient. Also a good sense of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some parts of the trip which do require some effort, such as the trek through the hills in Chiang Dao and kayaking/rowing on the River, but you should also be prepared for some more relaxed sight seeing. I found it a good mix, especially in the heat, and you can't get around and see that much of Thailand without some sitting on buses and gentle walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Had a great time and my fellow travellers were good fun. Exodus obviously do their research and have a good communication network. I am impressed with the standards the company set and strive to acheive. This was my second Exodus trip and It is clear to me that Exodus train their tour guides well. I feel if I book another trip I know what to expect.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    A view of 4 of the highest mountains in the world, what more can I say...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hmmm where do I start... * Climbing up to the summit as the sun started to rise and seeing this blue/orange hue on the horizon * Climbing in the night and looking behind to see a chain of head torches wiggling up the mountain * Sunset at High Camp - Magic * Being able to see millions of stars at night without any light pollution! * The people of Nepal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was fantastic. He made sure that we were all drinking, eating enough and ensuring our safety at all times. His knowledge of the area and climbing skills were of particular note. The practice secessions on the glacier, learning techniques, knots, ascending and descending ropes were invaluable for the days we would spend above base camp at Khare. Also of mention was our climbing and local guides - Kaji, Chongba, Mingmar x 2 and Kedar who were excellent. They always made sure we got the best camp site, were safe at night and maintained a good pace throughout the trek. The hard team work of all ensured our success of reaching the summit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One of the essential bits of advice I can give is KEEP DRINKING WATER and TAKE IT EASY to help with altitude acclimatisation. Its not a race, just enjoy the scenery and take lots of pictures. Take a range of clothing layers including trousers with the rip off legs so you have a pair of shorts as well. In October, temperatures can get very hot at the lower altitudes and also expect a few thunderstorms in the afternoons. On summit day, I would recommend taking a thermos flask as the new hydration systems freeze up within 5 minutes and are rendered useless for many hours, even when the sun does come up. Ensure that you plaster yourself in high factor sun cream at ALL TIMES. On summit day this is essential – make sure that your face is well creamed with at least Factor 40 before even stepping out of your tent as you will not feel like putting it on when the sun comes up at 6am or possibly even remembering to do it. Make sure you pay attention to ears, lips and nostrils, including up them. This is a lesson I learnt the hard way! Also make sure you have all layers on before venturing out of your tent on summit day, even if you feel warm in your tent. It’s easier to cool down than it is to warm up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is not for those who think that summit day will be the hardest day and the rest easy undulating trekking. On the contrary, most of the days are strenuous and require good levels of fitness, along with being able to cope with very high temperatures and humidity during the walk in and the freezing temperatures on the Mera La and above. Exodus guides and staff were fantastic and supported our team all the way. The tour was well organised, the staff always friendly and smilling, which is essential on a trip like this. I don't think I have ever felt so safe on holiday! Thank you Exodus for an excellent trip and getting me to the top.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    Natural snow poor, man-made snow excellent.  Leaders ensured a full programme was available to a very diverse range of xc ski-ing abilities.    

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ski-ing on man-made snow which ranged from frozen (-20 degrees on one day), icy, to thin and patch ensured full concentration on the task in hand.  Ski-ing across a frozen lake to a frozen waterfall, in complete silence, in wonderful sunshine - priceless.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two of the best Leaders you have.  If you really want to learn to ski, improve your skills and/or ski interesting, wide ranging, and often challenging routes these are the guys to help you achieve it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ski conditions and weather conditions vary day-to-day so ensure you take a selection of clothes so that you can layer up (and down) to suit.  This ski-ing area is never far from a cafe, bar or restaurant so it is not necessary to take a fully laden backpack, usually a bum bag with bottle loop is sufficient and helps your balance when ski-ing. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I simply love this area, the Italians are very hospitable, and there is so much to see and do, although only one Night Club.  However, after a full days ski-ing programme not many last until the wee small hours. 
Call us on 0208 772 3936