Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    KERALA ADVENTURE FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Our journey was truly amazing made more so by the knowledge and experience of our guide who was able to take advantage of events and matters of interest arising in the moment. With the help of our expert driver we would stop at the side of busy roads to see festivals unfolding, investigate cashew nuts growing and see cows being washed in a river to name but a few.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps the place that will stay with all of us was our trip to Munnar, high in the hills, surrounded by tea plantations and cool fresh air.  We were particularly taken by the way everyone smiled!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was Souresh's understanding of how incidental moments contained the essence of his country and how they would capture our interest that made our adventure so spontaneous, fresh and feel somehow unique to us. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light and think about taking a hand held fan. Suggest that you don't leave buying souvenirs to the end of the trip as it proved to be quite pricey in Kovalam.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would also like to thank Souresh and Sebastian and all the other guides who supported the tour for their genuine care and kindness they offered our children. I could see that the children's welfare and safety was paramount to them. Thank you once again you made your beautiful country even more magnificent by being able to see it through your eyes.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    PICOS MOUNTAIN BIKE CYCLING HOLIDAY

    A great trip to a really stunning area of Northern Spain. Brilliant biking, great company and guiding. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day down the Bull's Back - couldn't believe there could be so much down hill - and then more! It was pretty scary at times but stunning scenery and hidden villages, great lunch  and a great group of people - just a perfect day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great - Jim owned the hotel we stayed in so was very knowledgeable about the local area - and put this to really good use - took us to some great mountain biking areas that we'd never have found if we'd travelled independently. Jules was our cycling guide and was very good - relaxed, not a speed merchant but very encouraging and good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're not too confident on technical downhills get a bit of practice before you go - you will enjoy it much more - then book it - it's a fantastic trip to a wonderful area

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best mountain biking trip I've done - go for it!
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    FLEXI ACTIVITY: PICOS DE EUROPA

    The activities were brilliant, the accommodation and location and the food was great, everyone was very friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After not doing it for some years, realising that I could still crawl through the caves on my stomach, climb the rock face and abseil down the waterfalls - a real feeling of achievement at the end of each day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant at encouraging all four of us to achieve far more than we would have been capable of on our own. Very patient, pitched all the instruction at just the right level for our abilities and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have confidence that you can do the activities, even if you haven't done them before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was just the right holiday for two parents and their almost left home young adults to do everything together.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - SHIRA ROUTE AND ZANZIBAR

    I'm actually short of words to describe how fantastic the Kilimanjaro part of this trip was. I didn't make it to the top (it seems my body is quite keen on oxygen) but if they phoned me up and told me I had to do it again I would jump for joy! Awesome. Zanzibar was lovely but nothing compared to the Kili trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I couldn't pick one moment that stands out as inspirational - there was something every day. It sounds a bit pathetic but, getting out of the tent each morning and seeing the vast silent wilderness around you and spending the day walking in it - just you and your guides - for me it was exquisite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic - and his second in command - they were both friendly, fun and knowledgeable. I felt completely confidence in them at all times - and there are times out there when this is hugely important!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Baby wipes and thermals! Washing is tricky and the nights are unbelievably cold (colder than you are imagining right now!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is any tiny part of you that is considering this trip - do it - or at least just the Kili trek. It is spectacularly fantastic! I want to do it again!
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    CILENTO & AMALFI TREK

    A lovely varied holiday, with a very attentive guide, who ensured we had a great time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a boat trip along the Amalfi coast and visiting the beautiful Ravello were real highlights of the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowlegeable and enthusiastic about the area.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food and particularly the ice-cream were fabulous
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    LAKE CONSTANCE LOOP CYCLING HOLIDAY

    We enjoyed the cycling (despite the heavy rain on 2 days) although the route was often through residential areas away from the Lake that were not so scenic. The route notes were often not detailed enough and, due also to the lack of signs in Konstance, our first day was difficult finding our way to Gotlieben. One of the hotels was very run down and basic, although one was exceptionally nice with lovely buffet breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lovely views when cycling right next to the Lake and near the mountains. The best non-cycling event was going up to the top of Pfander mountain in a cable car and the wonderful views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a as self guided trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure take wet weather gear with you every day as weather can change very quickly. Know a little basic German language and take a phrase book as we found few people spoke alot of English & all restaurant menus were in German. Find out times of ferries/buses/trains in advance if possible to save lengthy waits. Ferry from Gaienhof only went every 2 hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hire bikes were not very good on the slightest of slopes. If I were asked to recommend a cycling holiday, I would say the one in Loire Valley, France was much more enjoyable and scenic.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER ON THE VAVILOV JUNE 2009

    First off, our trip was on the Vavilov boarding on 24 June.  Great ship and crew and outstanding expedition staff.  The standard of safety care was excellent on the whole, and we were blessed with good weather on the whole, and saw a fair amount of wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The polar bears, especially the one swimming off Edgeoya, but mostly the extreme beauty and grandeur of Spitzbergen, and the sense of how lucky we were to be there, especially to reach 80 degrees North.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was/is constantly on the go, and brings vast enthusiasm to the trip, which gives you the energy to keep going whilst tired, after hours standing out on deck.My only niggle was him leading his group of chargers up and across the scree face of the Alkhornet, in wellies, when a lot of people, younger and older, had the sense to back off - a 45 degree slope with scree and no proper equipment was asking for trouble - even one of the expedition staff was worried about it.  When you are in an isolated region of the world with very little medical backup, it was foolhardy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! but be prepared for long days searching for the elusive bear.  Talking to people back in Longyearbyen who had gone north just up the coast for 4 days, they had seen 16 bears, including mother and cubs.  We covered much more ground, and saw only 4, but that's the luck of the draw.  We saw much bird life, and our ornithologist Tony was fantastic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My one disappointment, having chosen this particular trip because of Jonathan and Angie Scott, was how little group presentations he did. One group one and one bar talk was meagre.  Thank goodness for Chris Packham who was not just an added bonus, but did at least 3 group talks, and really earned his crust.We were so lucky having Ian Stirling as our polar bear guide - fantastically knowledgeable and such a lovely guy.
  • Reviewed July 2009
    Anonymous

    Go there while it still unspoiled!

    A very remote and exciting destination.Fantastic mountains and just the right level of physical challenge.Friendly people and nice, sunny and dry weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many things deserve a mention.The mountains are something incredible, they are not just high, they are beautifully shaped.The second thing that was really special was the "pachamanca" on our last rest day, which is a special andean-style, andean-cooked feast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was Pepe Manga. I have nothing but the highest praise for him. Really very professional and at the same time friendly. He gives the impression that he has everything under control.The mountain guide was Virgilio (aka Roger), who in addition to being an excellent guide, proved to be as good a cook. I think having a prepared peruvian leader was very good; I doubt that a european could have led the local staff as effectively. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go before it is too late!Visiting the Huayhuash gave me great satisfaction. We usually go to places that live off the fame they gained in the past, but are now worn. This is not the case of the Huayhuash - for the moment, but things are changing fast even there. It is still very remote, and this is very attractive, but new roads and mines are being opened, which will affect the route and bring money and people.  All that you read about high altitude is true and applies to this trip. Be prepared. However the walking in itself is not difficult and very enjoyable. Add the fact that there is plenty of time for acclimatisation, and you'll find this trip much less challenging than Kili.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another vote for the cuisine!Freshly fried trout along the trail at lunch time was a highlight, as the pachamanca and the cake they baked from stratch for the birthday of a participant.The staff are also very careful about hygene. Nobody caught anything while on the trek.The "campsite tap" for washing hands everytime you need is also a very good idea.
  • Reviewed July 2009
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER

    The trip to the Arctic is on of my favourate holidays. The scenery was breathtaking, the Polar bears were fantastic, the ship was great, all the crew and experts were extremely helpful and we had a great group to travel with. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had 1 day when there was a sense of anticipation in the air as soon as we got up. We sailed in the Smeerenburg fjord in the morning. The wheather was really good, making the scenery feel even more special. At luchtime we saw a Polar Bear on an island. We went out in the Zodiacs and were able to observe it for a long time.In the evening we had a BBQ on deck. Therer were little flurries of snow now and again. Just after we finisehed eating we saw another Polar Bear. On  the ice this time. We managed to get very close with the boat and again could observe it for a long time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and his team were all very good. They were all very knowledgable and really wanted to help everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wrap up warm and enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I ahve learned a lot about the Arctic and its flora and fauna.
  • Reviewed July 2009
    Anonymous

    PICOS MOUNTAIN BIKE CYCLING HOLIDAY

    Hotel a great find nestled in lovely scenery.  Cycling superb, well led and a great group of people - excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arrving on cable car at 2000m and cycling down the mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was very knowledgable and good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definately book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An undiscovered gem.