Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    TUSCANY: PISA AND PASTA FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Quality family time with the kids in the mountains of Northern Tuscany

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Proudest Dad moment as my five year old did a high ropes course for the first time... harness, zip wires, helmet, bit of screaming, big grins!!! Good food and wine and the base up in the mountains just superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really knowledgeable about the local area. Ensured the week rang smoothly for everyone.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SINGLETRACK CYCLING HOLIDAY

    The holiday is rated as moderate/challenging - it's not. I'd rate it challenging/tough. There are some very technical descents and some long climbs.                                                                                                               We had a great time though. I like technical descents and long climbs!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See my photos and read my commentry here: http://www.simonward.com/cgi-bin/page.pl?large/europe/luchon
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    DOLOMITES VIA FERRATA

    Some aspects of the holidy were challenging, but thats part of the experience and makes it so worth doing. Food was good, people were great, and as a bonus we were lucky with the weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well the first thing that springs to mind was the fact that two guys in the group were aged 68 and 69 and I just had to take my hat off to them for doing this type of holiday at there age, Hope I can when that age !Another thing is realising that you can infact do more in group situation than maybe on your own, its much easier to say I cant do that  when you are on your own but when in a group you think well if he or she can do it so can I.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wolfegang is a first class leader. He has a good knowledge, sociable ,fair, gets on with the job in hand and was very imformative . Someone who you would respect also.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes , don't sit back and wonder weather you can do something, get out there and do it ! Obviously do the necessary preperations first.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and hope to join another Exodus holiday in the future
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI & ZANZIBAR

    It was a super holiday - I would definitely recommend it.  Camping in the Mara was a real highlight -  lots of lion cubs!  All the animals (except the leopard) showed up on cue and the cheetah even posed for photos!  (Oh - and we loved the warthogs and gnus too - I highly reccommned you listen to the Flanders and Swan songs in preparation.... ) The campsite there was amazing - the accommodation was much better than I had imagined, and the staff were great.  Fumba lodge in Zanzibar was also beautiful.  We went in August and I was very pleasantly surprised by the temperature in Kenya, it was cool at night and not too hot during the day - low twenties?  There were also virtually no mozzies which was lovely.   I particularly enjoyed the excursion to see the hippos in lake navaisha - which wasn't an official trip on the notes, but it was really worth doing - ask your guides!  The only thing I would change is the day in Stone Town - it wasn't a great town - and I would have rather spent the extra day camping in the Mara or perhaps at a different beach in Zanzibar...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ooh I can't decide!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip leaders were both helpful and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only nightmare was checking in for our flight from Zanzibar to Nairobi.  You stand in the sun in the heat of the day, queueing, and then they completely ignored us for 30 minutes when we reached the front of the queue - until a man in the group stood at the front (we were a group of girls).  We made the flight with about 3 minutes to spare...  So put the boys at the front of the queue  - and get them to tip the check in staff a couple of dollars or you won't get through on time!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is worth knowing that the campsite has electricity (and Kenya/Tanzania have english style plugs) so you can recharge camera batteries with no hassle.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SINGLETRACK CYCLING HOLIDAY

    Very enjoyable met up with good diverse group of enthusiasts. all of whom had considerable mountain biking experience. (I had none).  Trip organisation and leaders were excellent and the accomodation and food were very good.  No complaints. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the interesting downhill sections and the amazing panoramic mountain views of discrete parts of the Pyrenees.  The up hill climbs were often tough, but it was interesting how quick recovery was and the focus on the next challenge. One early morning, we started near some forestry which was apparently a griffon vulture roost. The birds were taking off and were soaring in an inverted cone shape over the trees with over 30 birds in the air simultaneously. Quite a sight.There were profusions of interesting butterflies, some of which I could recognise.  A pristine environment.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very able competent and informative, also good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need a reasonable level of fitness to enjoy this holiday. Aged 62 I enjoyed the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent and sufficient.  We were all starving by meal times.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SINGLETRACK CYCLING HOLIDAY

    When I booked I had been worried about what the level of ability would be within the group, and that I might have been struggling to keep up, but this wasn't the case. I spin around 5 times a week, and cycle 25 miles once or twice a week, and I guess I was average or slightly above. The group was quite mixed, though most had a good degree of fitness. By no means was it easy going!! The mornings consisted of mainly climbs, some of them long and steep (9 or 10k each stretch), which in 80 degree heat was tough, but every route we did was in really spectacular scenery, and the climbs were interspersed with long, flowing downhills. At times some of the off road cycling was narrow rocky terrain and quite technical, and though I coped (just about!) I'm not sure how I'd have managed had it been raining and wet/muddy. In total we cycled around 6 hours a day, and for those of us mad enough there was the option of an uphill 9k steep ascent back to the chalet. I did it once, and that was enough!! In fact most people did it once, just for the achievement! The accommodation was very basic, and the bedrooms small, but clean. There was only one ensuite room that had a shower, which was allocated on a pot luck basis. Showering facilities were again very basic, with two small showers and two separate toilets serving eight guests on ground floor level, and you have to parade through the lounge to reach them, as the bedrooms are all on the first floor. The food was freshly prepared and the evening meal was generally of a high standard, though no choice, and the staff had a policy of not informing you what the meal was to be that evening, despite several of us asking! The packed lunches were excellent! The chalet staff were friendly and helpful. There is no public phone for use, and no mobile phone reception inside the chalet at all (on any network!), though if you were lucky you could get a weak signal sometimes from the far end of the car park about 20 yards away. On the opposite side of the road there is a river, and the bank leads down to a great natural plunge pool which we made good use of after the day's riding, jumping/diving into rock pools, a welcome respite after sitting in a saddle for six hours! Be prepared to do your own thing - totally - on the staff day off. There is no bus service, and the chalet is 9k from the town, making it a good hour or two downhill walk into town, which seemed even longer on the way back as it is uphill! Taxis cost about 20 euros though there aren't very many around in the evening. Luchon is a pretty town, quite calm and laid back, uncrowded, with most of the life based around a central high street lined with quiet cafes and bars. There are a couple of hotels, a small supermarket, post office, some souvenir type shops etc, and I managed to find an internet cafe. All the cycle rides finished each day in the town, which meant you could do bits of shopping, or grab a very welcome beer after a hard day's cycling, or both if you were organised (!) and the guide drove us back up to the chalet about an hour later. There is a big outdoor swimming pool in the town open to the public, with great views of the surrounding mountains, and some group members enjoyed their day off in being pampered at the thermal spa baths.The evening meal was at 7 to 7.30, with wine being provided with the meal. There is also an honesty bar, but there is nothing really to do in the evening, unless you go into town, and transport back is very limited. Having said that, our group got on really well so we mainly stayed chatting and drinking in the lounge area. Would I go again? Well the cycling was great, and the bikes we had were good. Each day the route was different, and Nathan our guide was a good judge of people's ability and matched the cycling well. It was certainly challenging, but every ride was enjoyable because the group were great guys and we stuck together. The scenery was simply awesome. I don't think I'd stay want to stay at La Feniere though, mainly because it is so remote and I am used to a few creature comforts! But if you have booked you will love the cycling, the guiding is great, you won't go hungry, and Luchon's a lovely place. Have a great holiday. I did!
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    FLEXI ACTIVITY: PICOS DE EUROPA

    This was my favourite Exodus holiday to date. It was fantastic fun - the staff are great and the hotel was like home from home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best thing about the holiday was trying things that scare you a little and discovering that you can actually do things that are outside of your comfort zone.If you find there is an activity you really don't like - don't worry - you will be doing something completely different the following day!I'm not sure if we were particularly lucky, but we were with a really lovely group of people. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The staff are awesome.The hotel staff are also the group leaders for most of the activities. Some people (myself included) were quite nervous about some of the activites, but the staff are highly experienced and use humour to make everyone feel a little more relaxed. If you opt for a 'day off' from activites - someone from the hotel is quite happy to drop you off at one of the local touristy places.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Tips for the tripsI took part in all trips except the quad bikes. You can book more trips than listed on the website. Its not "Horse Riding or Caving" so much as horses in the morning and caves in the afternoon. Horse RidingWear long trousers, boots or long socks - to protect your legs from the stirrups rubbing and the odd bramble. You don't need to have ridden a horse before. We weren't convinced that they where the happiest horses in the world however.Caving As daunting as it looks, in a "I'm never going to fit through that hole" type way, you actually will and its quite exciting. Taking an expensive cameras on this trip isn't advised as it would have to sit in a pocket and may get damaged. An old camera or disposable would be ideal. The sights are quite amazing. Canoeing Don't worry if you can't swim. The canoes are almost impossible to turn over and the water is very shallow. Rock Climbing I'm scared of heights and still loved it. It was my favourite activity and really got a buzz from it. Canyoning Again - not as scary as you think it is going to be. Absailing down waterfalls was brilliant. They are sloped rather than sheer drops, so not even that scary. There is an alternative route down for anyone who wants to opt out of a particular section. I opted out of the larger jump but did the rest. Mountain Biking We were given several routes to pick from. We opted for the road route which was 38km- but there was a short cut if you wanted to take it. The first section is the worst - about 5km up hill, but very do-able and you can always walk sections as there is no rush to finish. You then go downhill for a solid 2 miles which was awesome. There are cafes en-route. My thoughts before hand were 'biking - big deal' but it really was enjoyable. Other NotesThe airport to hotel transfer is actually two hours - so planning a trip to Bilbao is not really practical unless you book an extra night with hotel in Bilbao itself.You can book in for food at the hotel on the day if you wish, and the food is very good, 15 Euros for four courses incuding a bottle of wine.If you are veggie, let them know, and the kitchen staff come up with some quite inspired dishes (compared to the usual cliche lasagna/mushroom stroganoff/veggie burger offerings you get in the UK)The hotel has its own little bar and they will run a tab for you for the week. You can wonder into town for tapas (five minute walk) if you wish. They are big on a local cider and on a cheese named after the town - think stilton but more mouldy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it wasn't for the fact that there are so many different places to see - i would probably go again.
  • Reviewed August 2008
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER

    Suberb holiday - enjoyed every minute. The enthusiasm of the staff was a delight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First glimpse of a polar bear with cubs.Monaco glacier.Standing on the beach almost next to walruses playing in the water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You cannot better "Woody". His sheer enthusiasm and good humour and his obvious love of all aspects of the Arctic, its history, wild life and scenery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother taking boots - just wellies. And these can be obtained on the ship.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only very minor complaint was the mix up over the picking up of bags from our overnight hotel at Longyearbyen before transfer to the ship. We had conflicting sets of instructions.
  • Reviewed August 2008
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER ON THE VAVILOV

    Well-managed expedition with multi-skilled expedition team who helped to optimize the experience. Good wildlife sightings underpinned by a vigilant team and bridge crew.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Close viewing of large male polar bear on an ice floe & large group of walruses on land and near to shore . Female polar bear and 2 cubs frolicking on the shore. .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Inspired expedition leader with great sense of humour and friendly, enthusiastic and informative team

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for extended and/or unplanned periods on the ship and late itinerary replans due to adverse weather
  • Reviewed August 2008
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER ON THE VAVILOV

    A stunning trip that didn't disappoint ! Sadly over all too quickly for my liking. From a photography perspective I would have enjoyed more time in the Zodiacs or on land to take photos. Maybe the Zodiacs were a little overcrowded at times making it difficult to get sharper images due to movement. But that's not meant as a criticism in any way! Still an unbelievable adventure and not to be missed at any cost! I'm going to start saving for the Antartic now ! one day maybe ! just maybe.........

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention! The Arctic fox cubs at the end were magical, the close up encounter with the Polar bear who walked right across the bow of  the Vavilov or the Walruses, the stunning scenery........ Take your pick !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of the staff/crew from the group leader down were brilliant! Professional, friendly and knowledgeable.Faultless and a credit to both themselves and the ship.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For photographers buy the biggest, fastest lens you can afford (300mm F 2.8 or 500mm F4) and definately one with IS or VR. Take a tripod, monopod and a large bean bag.A portable downloader/ laptop would be a bonus. Take plenty of layers to keep warm.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the ultimate wildlife adventures still left in the world.
Call us on 0208 772 3936