Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CHADDAR TREK: THE FROZEN ZANSKAR

    The remote location and the extreme cold (-35C) made this a really challenging trek.  We did everything from walk on the frozen river, to wading through up to our thighs, climbing over the sides, even an abseil!  The guides and support team were amazing, and if I ever felt unsafe, all I had to do was stop and ask for assistance and someone was there.  Stunning scenery, great people and Val was first class as a leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We passed a father and daughter on the frozen Zanskar.  These are local people who use the frozen river to collect food and supplies during the Winter months.  The girl was probably about 11 years old.  That puts it all into perspective!  Also there were a group of very nimble-footed children in Nyerak - a remote village up the Zanskar, who ran across to say hi to us, with no fear negotiating the snowy hills.The most inspiring moment was seeing one of our porters, wrapped up at the campfire in the evening - he'd dived in to the freezing river to pull out a father and son and probably saved their lives.  He had the hugest grin on his face.  These people are amazing in the way they pull together to survive in these conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Val spoke very knowledgably and confidently on Tibetan Buddhism and the local history and people.   She always had a beady eye on everyone in the group, and pulled us up at dangerous spots, making sure a guide was on hand to help anyone who needed it.  She helped me with some oedema toward the end of the trip, and whilst I was quite worried by it, she maintained a reassuring calm that helped me relax.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware this is a tough trip and the weather conditions are outside of anyone's control.  Slight variations in the weather seemed to affect the river conditions quite a lot, so you need to be prepared to be well outside of your comfort zone on this one.  If you're prepared for that, then this is one hell of an experience and achievement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely travelling with Exodus again - looking for my next trip already!
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: PERTISAU

    A great place but perhaps a bit challenging for complete beginners, particularly if conditions are icy. Exodus explains 2010 season changes. Regrade to 1+ (I was not a complete beginner so it was fine for me)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being pushed to achieve my full potential by our wonderful instructor and particularly skiing on the last day when the snow was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was amazing - a great guy and quite the best instructor I have ever had. He's an absolute gem and a great asset to Exodus - hang on to him!
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: SEEFELD PLATEAU

    The snow, weather, tracks, routes, accommodation, equipment, transport and leader's preparations were all great. But the very mixed standard of the group made it less enjoyable for everyone than it might have been. The number of one way loipe and the limited number of routes make it difficult to provide different options for different abilities - not sure this should be a two grade centre with only one leader.
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    SOUTH THAILAND ADVENTURE

    This was a lovely holiday in a fantastic part of the world.  Mid-way the schedule was a little hectic but mainly the trip was a good balance of relaxation and sight seeing/activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Canoeing through lime caves was lovely.  Swimming in the clear seas.  Eating the gorgeous food!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, lots of opportunity for the group to decide on what options were available.  Very helpful during free time to book optional extras.  Good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great way to see this part of Thailand.
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA SNOWSHOE

    Although there is normally a bit more snow at Christmas, our two guides, both called Mojca, went out of their way to find us places where we could use the snowshoes.The Triglav National Park in Slovenia is beautiful in the snow and the Slovenian people are so pleased that we travelled from UK to visit their country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise from a mountain hut

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were really considerate and safety conscious. They knew the area really well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Peaked hat to keep the sun off.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A total escape
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI

    We had a great holiday in Kenya, despite the upheaval in the country we felt safe and were lucky enough to experience the Masai Mara with very few other tourists.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our last morning we went out on a game drive and were lucky enough to follow a male lion who then met up with his 2 brothers which we thought was incredible. More was to come, however, with the alpha male insisting that a lioness be banished from the pride. What followed was a scene from the Lion King with one male chasing the female up and down the river bank and hounding her away from the group. To make his feelings very clear, the alpha male then roared with the loudest noise I have ever heard. It was truly an incredible experience that we were very fortunate to have watched and witnessed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Charles, our group leader, was very well informed and helpful. I learned more about Kenyan politics than I probably needed to know but we trusted Charles and his local knowledge. He also ensured our safety by securing us a flight out of the Masai Mara rather than risk the 6 hour journey in very volatile circumstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip. Lake Elementatia whilst still firmly stuck in Edwardian times was an experience but be aware that the accommodation is not quite up to the standard you might be expecting, especially if recently arrived from the UK. We were lucky enough to stay at Basecamp Explorer which is an incredible project to be a part of - do some research about it before you go. It's still a long way to go, and quite an expensive trip, for only 5 nights accommodation - consider going to Lamu or Zanzibar as an extension to make the very most of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though the news about Kenya is very worrying, the local people rely on tourism for their livelihood with each person in employment supporting between 5 and 10 others so if they lose their jobs, many miss out. Consider supporting the Kenyans by not disregarding the trip out of hand because of the troubles. We were very well looked after and the Masai people are not involved in the troubles and need supporting. This is a great trip that will certainly show you the Africa that you've been dreaming of.
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: ASIAGO

    Asiago is a small, mountain town, with 3 main ski-ing areas.  Ideal for classic ski-ing very challenging for skate skiers of our ability.  Everyone very friendly, helpful and welcoming especially the hotel. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Incredible view over the Venice plain from the top - we could see the sea!Spending a day ski-ing with an ex-champion skier from the Tourist Office unbeatable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader, Alex Smith, was excellent, he speaks Italian like a native which endeared him to the locals and made life really easy for the group.  He was tireless, his enthusiasm was infectious, and he worked very hard ensuring that everyone in the group, of mixed abilities and ages, had an enjoyable holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As one of our group, travelling to Verona independently, lost her suitcase enroute I suggest packing a set of bare essentials in hand luggage or in partners/friends case (if you have one). This resort did not have intermediate refreshments stops so carrying a small water bottle and a snack for mid-morning/afternoon breaks might be a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The snow was good, the group was fun, the resort offered a variety of ski-ing, the sun shined, and the leader was brilliant  - what more could one want?
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    KILLER WHALE AND NORTHERN LIGHTS WEEKEND

    The brochure i find is very misleading. There was almost a certainty that we would see whales and on this basis i paid for extra trips including snorkelling. It was only when we reached our desitantion and after paying around £1000 for four days each that it became apparent that it was very unlikely we would see the whales at this time of year! we never saw any whales and i never did any snorkelling despite paying an extra 170 for this. it weas very disappointing. Having travelled with exodus before i was very let down by this holiday particularly as it was very expensive for what it was. I have not yet had the time but had intended making a formal complaint and requesting a refund of some or part of the holiday money paid as it simply wasn't worth the money and i feel i was misled by your brochure. Had i been made aware that it is unliekly we would see the whales i would not have paid the extra money for further trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    very disappointed so that ruined the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    we didn't have one which caused problems as my father fell ill and we no one to help us, the receptionist also refused to call a doctor. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't take this holiday its not worth the money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING IN THE EASTERN PYRENEES

    Cathy and James who organised the trip out in France were really lovely and made our holiday very enjoyable. I would strongly recommend cross country skiing to people who enjoy running or walking in the hills.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was pleasantly suprised at how easily the 2 techniques of cross country skiing were to learn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly and well organised. Their local knowledge was invaluable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Anyone young or older with a reasonable level of fitness who enjoys being outdoors would love this.
  • Reviewed February 2008
    Anonymous

    KILLER WHALE AND NORTHERN LIGHTS WEEKEND

    A very worthwhile experience.  Had two pretty good days of seeing the whales.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing killer whales from a Zodiac

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book when fewer people if you can ie avoid weekends.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Speak to the staff as when you have spare time the locals can show you all sorts of places.
Call us on 0208 772 3936