Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Karen White

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A fantastic holiday from start to finish. The hotel was comfortable, food was great and the staff very friendly. Our guide, Enrico was extremely knowledgeable and took us on some fantastic walks. View were absolutely stunning. I would definitely recommend this holiday although you do need to be fit for all the hills and steps!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just about every stunning view was inspirational! Have to admit I didn't expect to enjoy the visit to Pompey as much as I did - it was fascinating. Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was surreal. The walk to Ravello was my favourite walk. It's difficult to choose a best bit as it was all brilliant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico was very friendly and continually made sure everyone was OK. His knowledge of the area, the plants, the culture etc was exceptional. He was extremely likeable and we were very lucky to have him as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! I would not rate this holiday as easy to moderate. I would rate it moderate. I am reasonably fit but even I struggled on the last day with even more steps. The walking is in beautiful countryside and coastline but there really are thousands of steps to climb up and if you are not fit, you may struggle. Having said that our leader Enrico always had a "Plan B" and for those that were struggling, there was always the option of a bus for the second half of the walk so that no-one completely missed out. Proper walking shoes are also a must. Several of our group also found that their walking poles helped on some of the walks. Take a good camera - the views are stunning!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say thank you to Enrico and all the staff at the hotel who all helped to make this such a great holiday. I was also lucky that everyone in our group was really friendly too. I also enjoyed the few extra things included such as the pasta making demonstration one evening, the visit to a cheese factory and the pizza making demonstration one evening. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday - just book early as it is very popular and now I know why!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Annette Jorgensen

    Great cycling holiday in Romania

    Just back from a 8 days cycling trip in Romania and really loved this trip because here you get the chance of experience the real country life in Romania.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Romania was just so friendly and welcoming everywhere we went in the country and seeing their simple but laid back life was a true inspiration for all of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The 2 guides Radu and Liviu is by no doubt some of the best guides I have ever had. So experienced and laid back and nothing was too much trouble for them. Also always ready for a party and to take the group out a night so just had so much fun with these guys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not expect 5 star accommodation but expect something very different every night and to get close to the real people in Romania.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes are not fantastic on this trip but the days are relatively easy so didn't matter too much. However if you are a tall girl like me and prefer a male frame then please remember to request this - since for the first time I had to cycle on a female frame - which was not ideal for me.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dieter and Sigrid Kadolsky

    Sri Lankan Highlights - Suresh Bandara

    The trip was excellent thanks to the leadership of Suresh and the interesting sites we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a shock to us that in the rural area a Sri Lankan took a bath in a very polluted small canal ... and had a toothbrush and toothpaste next to him.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was on the trip a very attentive and pro-active guide, caring for each of the members of the group individually and so made this trip most enjoyable. As he informed us at the end of the tour that although he had led this tour for the first time, he still was able to give us many details about the sites we visited and about Sri Lanka. Also, he went at lengths to take us to very special restaurants outside the hotels. We feel priviledged to have had Suresh as a group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After the trip, we spent five days at the Anantara Hotel in Kalutara at the seaside. Our hopes for quiet days at the beach were disappointed because the sea was too rough. We think we should have been advised of this.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Julia Ingall

    Interesting overview of China's highlights

    This trip covered many of the highlights of China from the Great Wall to Shanghai and did it very well. Although it was rated as 'leisurely' it was very busy and perhaps Exodus could introduce a new range of ratings to reflect how busy they are as well as the physical effort required. China is an interesting country going through massive change and urbanisation, I had not expected the huge amount of building work and high rise blocks built and being built and the sheer enormity of the cities visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the visit to the Panda Breeding Programme in Chengdu and seeing the baby pandas -such a conservation success story.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader Alan - Liu Bin was excellent, my only criticism was that he only seemed to have one speed which was fast, I prefer to amble and take in my surroundings particularly in a country with a different culture and this was not possible when trying to keep up with Alan. Alan gave us a very interesting and informative session on China's take on disputed territories which presented a different viewpoint from that we have been given in the West. Alan was very organised and full of information, he worked constantly but still maintained a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not happy to use squat toilets I found that the disabled cubicle usually contained a 'potty' style. Coffee was not generally provided in hotel rooms so some sachets are useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels in China do not provide maps, I found this very frustrating and feel that Exodus should provide maps of the area around the hotels used with information of suggested places to eat/drink and transport options to places of interest, it is not possible to print these before departure as hotels are not notified until arrival. As a consequence of the lack of maps I do not feel that I had an overview of the cities visited (spatial awareness). I found the food pretty boring, as the only non-meat eater I found that meat dishes were served first (a cultural norm) and often sat with just a couple to veg dumplings while the rest of the group tucked in, when the vegetables (and rice) eventually arrived they were usually rather bland and boring and the rest of the group were nearly finished eating. I would have welcomed the opportunity to pick a dish for myself from the menu. The much vaunted Sichaun Hot Pot was rubbish for me as the spicy part contains ox fat so I could not cook my food there and just had to use the boring unspicy broth. Three nights on trains was too many and Exodus should look at tweaking the itinerary as there was some wasted time waiting for trains and also when we go on the boat. Overall a very good enjoyable trip - I found China interesting and am very pleased I chose this trip as it gave a great overview.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vicky Lewis

    Fantastic experience, wonderful people

    This was something I've been wanting to do for so long.... it was the most difficult but rewarding trip. What really made the experience magical was the guides and porters who were superheroes! Thank you for making my dream of climbing Kilimanjaro a reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from getting to the top, the guides and Porters... they were constantly cheerful, so helpful and even made me a birthday cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful... dedicated and insightful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do whatever your guide tells you! Bring ear plugs and baby wipes!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Trefor Haines

    Natural Tenerife

    A superb opportunity to see a side of Tenerife that few holiday makers get to see. There is so much more to this island than large hotels, bars and beaches. We stayed in the north of the island initially in the beautiful and largely unspoilt town of La Laguna. The hotel is in the centre of this vibrant town an did a beautiful building with large rooms and a covered central courtyard. The town of Los Realejos, while not as beautiful as La Laguna has it's own charm and the hotel is more than adequate. The walks were well planned to show the wide variety of landscapes and scenery on this island. Some of the walks are the challenging side of moderate so be prepared for some slightly aching limbs at the end of the day. Don't be disappointed by not being able to climb to the summit of Teide itself because the view from Mount Guajara of Teide and the 16km diameter caldera of the volcano that existed before Teide is stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing Mount Teide from the remains of Charles Piazzi Smythe's observatory on Mount Guajara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Javier was simply excellent and went way beyond the call of duty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take a fleece and waterproofs, it does get a little chilly and damp. The weather can change very quickly in the mountains.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Alleway

    Stunning South Africa

    This was our first trip to South Africa which we found was a stunning introduction. The pace of the trip was perfect, and we visited memorable and beautiful locations every day. The flora and fauna were amazing, the excursions should not be missed. The route is scenic and interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We can't find a best moment as there were so many. The game drives close up to wildlife were perhaps what we enjoyed most, but seeing whales close up was just amazing. The penguins, ostriches all added to the flavour of the trip along with a sobering tour of Robben Island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip would not have been so spectacular without our guide Justin. This guy is passionate about his country and has an encyclopeadic knowledge of flora and fauna as well as a local knowledge which takes you to the best vantage points on any trip. He went well beyond what we could have expected of our guide. He was engaging, humorous and attentive to everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The excursions should not be missed, make sure you have a large memory card for your camera, and buy a local sim card for your phone.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Carole Fendick

    Norway weekend

    If you want a short weekend break you won't be disappointed with this trip. A lot is packed into the weekend just enough to make you want to return and do more. The hotel was family run, the staff very friendly and the food was wonderful .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great standing on the Trolltunga, such an iconic landmark and fantastic view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was brilliant, always there to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just remember alcohol is expensive!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Elaine Jeffery

    Highlights of China

    Full on trip but brilliant. Dragon made the trip special and exciting with his knowledge and patience, he is great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was THE BEST, a happy, helpful, knowledgable and patient man who looked after us admirably, kept us safe and had a super sense of humour. Everything went to plan, no hitches, clearly all down to his hard work and skills. Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Kerryn Buckley

    Grand Tour of Iceland - 2017

    Amazing overall tour and can highly recommend a trip to Iceland. Our two week tour was not too long or not too short. We experienced amazing and incredible scenery, waterfalls, active volcanoes, geothermal features, geysers and glaciers. Great tour leader who's knowledge about the country was exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say, the whole trip was awesome with changing scenery around every corner. The unexpected sight of the northern lights one night will have to be one of the memorable moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome tour guide/leader. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge as exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend two weeks in this amazing country and do the Grand Tour as you will not be disappointed.
Call us on 0208 772 3936