Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in a pristine wilderness with great guides, to help us appreciate the wonder of the place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was always full of enthusiam, and ready to give photographic advice - very 'hands on' to enhance the experience, and again all the guides were exceptional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get really good waterproof footwear - I had 'muck-boots' and had toastly warm feet, but some people had seriously cold feet in wellies

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on the ship was poor, and the choice too limited i.e. a choice between veggie pasta and meat pasta is not much good if you don't like pasta.  The soups were rather thin and tasteless, and often only luke warm - in fact although you were not hungry, the food could easily have spoiled an otherwise great trip.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't really decide!  It was a combination of a beautiful location, fantastic sights a great guide and a brilliant group of people!!! And of course topped by Maria's cooking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, very knowledgable.  He is obviously very passionate about this part of Spain!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would not hesitate to recommend this particular trip.  The cortijo is wonderful and you are made so welcome.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the high mountains. Amazing views everyday for 8 days, wonderful flowers and changes in vegetation as you go up and down in altitude. Wonderful views of glaciers, + mountain streams, haymaking, cowbells, Ibex ,eagles and lots more. Stunning scenery and often a very  remote feel. A fantastic trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely exceptional. A wonderful leader in all ways

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I kept my rucksack as light as possible. You need much less than you think. The part of the trip I was uncertain about was having to carry a rucksack, but I didn't notice it. 1 change of clothes, light weight gortex waterproof coat and trousers and no bedtime book - but don't forget the earplugs for dormitory sleeping.  This is a physically demanding trip and it pays off to be fit - I had been going to the gym  for a few months. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I worried about the "daring river crossings" - but there aren't any. Also the fixed ladders - which aren't difficult. We didn't need crampons or ice axes. Better to hire them if needed as some people had bought them specially and didn't need them.Tthe accomodation is sometimes dormitory/mixed sleeping with mattresses very close together. Some people found this the hardest aspect. Personally I quite liked it and had expected more basic remote climbers huts than we actually had. the mattresses were comfortable and there were always hot showers, lots of good food and a friendly  atmosphere. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We booked this trip just hoping for a bit of fun.  It was never meant to be anything majorly inspirational but it turned out to be such a great holiday.  Well exceeded our expectations.  If you like constant action and adventure, in an absolutely beautiful lush setting (not the arrid Spain i was expecting) - then this is the holiday for you!  We have 1 or 2 activities every day and thought it was great - especially canyoning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were at a family run hotel.  So there was not one specific group leader.  Everyone just pitched in to accommodate you.  They were really friendly and helpful.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on the cable cars and enjoying the amazing viewsMeeting the other group members

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tom was an excellent leader, friendly and professional.  He organised everything so we could relax and enjoy our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, having to take suitcases on and off the trains on each journey convinced us we had packed too many clothes. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus should include more of this type of holiday in their brochure.  We found that the we enjoyed the short walks and amazing scenery but we also liked to have time to relax.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Jim

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the moutains and hillsides that we would be travelling into. The Julian Alps are a magnificent site! Also the Boka Waterfall and the 44 foot waterfall that we could have abseiled - frightning but unfortunately the water current was too strong.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a hotel owner who organises the activity week with two guides. It was very basic introductions and we hardly saw her after that. The guides were great though. Unfortunatley Peter was ill most of the week so couldn't do the activities with us. Urban was extremely saftey concious and made you feel beyond safe despite the experience that is canyoning!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use your day off to walk around the local area - theres enough sites and walks to keep you throughally entertained. We went during Bovec day which was a nice local event that brought out very nice market stalls.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a shame it did not have a guide that stayed and ate with you all week (like the Lycian activity week) as that really seems to bond the group together. As all meals were paid for in hotel, made people releuctant to eat together and the group only stayed together for each activity.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Potala Palace, and achieving Everest base camp.Because we had no adverse affects to the altitude,it has givenus the confidence to one day attempt a trekking peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gum was brilliant.Everything you would want from a leader.Knowledgable,good natured,well organised,and extremely helpful.If I ever do a trekking peak, I hope Gum is the leader !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Imerse yourself with the locals. Try to communicate and interact with them; its so rewarding for everybody.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our first foray into this type of holiday, but wo'nt be the last.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an amazing trip and we enjoyed every minute of it.  We were so well looked after every step of the way.The Masai Mara was so prolific with animals, we really didn't have to wait very long to see anything and to stay in the camp so close to the animals was a real pleasure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis and Charles were excellent.  They were articulate, well informed and fun.  Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a fantastic holiday but quite a lot of travelling if you have young children.  The roads are very bumpy and it is very difficult to read or sleep so the kids tended to plug into their i-pods.  I think it may not be the trip for the under 10's. (based only on the travelling, nothing else).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any interest in animals at all this trip is for you.  Chilling out in Zanzibar at the end was very necessary and welcome.The standard of the food throughout the trip was very high.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the hustle and bustle of cities and tourist resorts. It was fantastic to be able to moor up for the evening, take one final swim before having pre-dinner beers with the rest of the group. Then settling down to an evening of home-cooked food and good conversation. It's almost of holiday of back to basics - whilst on the boat, there really is no point dressing up or wearing make-up and the simple pleasures are the best - cold water and the sound of water lapping against the boat (although we also liked the crocodile canoe!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    To be perfectly honest he was a little immature - he didn't seem to adapt to the varying tastes of the group who generally seemed to want to chill out whereas he wanted to party!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't sleep in the tents at all during the trip as it would have been far too hot. Instead, we either slept on deck or in the (slightly claustrophoic) cabins. Sleeping on deck is great but I would suggest taking earplugs (to reduce the disturbances of fellow passengers) and a sheet rather than sleeping bag.Best way to wake up - a morning swim before breakfast.Take the opportunity to visit the Turkish baths - the massage was excellent and thorough if a tiny bit painful and great value overall.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up to beautiful blues skies, calm seas, sea ice and the awesome sighting of a mother polar bear and her two mature cubs. We had a couple of hours watching these creatures, dashed into breakfast only to be called out on deck for another mum and her pair of 6 month old cubs. The ship silently manoeuvred into place so that we had a great vantage point of the polar bears, and didn't disturb them in their family group. We had another couple of hours with these guys until the mist came down and they swam off. Whilst sailing away from the area, we came across mum number one and her youngsters, doing a bit of synchronised swimming for us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was outstanding! He threw away the itinerary and went with his instincts (and the Captain's advice) to find the best locations for wildlife viewing in the archipelago. Woody took account of the weather and sea conditions at all times, and made sure that we got the best out of each trip. We were so lucky to see so much Arctic wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will not regret booking a trip to the Poles with Exodus! They have an excellent partnership with the ships and crews used. Even before we had completed our Spitzbergen trip, my friend and I were straight on the phone back to Renee at Exodus to book an Antarctic trip with the same ship (and hopefully the same crew!)Even when we were transitting from one location to another, the crew kept us entertained with interesting and informative lectures on environmental issues, wildlife presentations, discussions on life at the Poles, and funny stories about their first polar bear encounters! The Vavilov ship is spacious so that you never feel as though you are crammed in, and the scenery is so stunning that you can always find some one on the upperdeck gazing into the distance!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have recommended Exodus to all my friends....I should get an introduction fee! I have completed 9 trips, to various and varied parts of the world and have never been disappointed! The Spitzbergen trip wasn't just about bears though! We had fab sightings of reindeer (up close and personal), walrus, arctic foxes and birdlife galore. You will not be disappointed!
Call us on 0208 772 3936