Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    NANDA DEVI & TRISUL

    Nanda Devi and Trisul trek involves 2 days of train/bus travel at either end to access the trail head from Delhi followed by 10 days moderate trekking in forested/undulating terrain - significant altitude gain and loss occurs each day. The days are not long - no more than 6 hrs on the trail and on some days as little as 3 due to limits on available camping sites- if that could be resolved the trek could be shortened 2-3 days easily. The camp sites are typically meadows and exploring the areas around them can be rewarding. Remote villages, beyond the road system are encountered most days and the trail itself is mostly well constructed stone paths. Birdlife and ( in May) wild flowers are in abundance but wild animals are rare. The mountains are only glimsed most days , until day 9 and 10 which for me were the highlight.Titling the trek as "Nanda Devi and Trisul" is somewhat misleading as Nanda Devi is visible only on day 9 &10 and then only if cloud cover is not present whereas Trisul is frequently visible.Overall  a great experience especially the remote villages, wild flowers and bird life, though not the alpine experience I had imagined....
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    MARRAKECH & THE OUIRGANE VALLEY

    There was too much Rushing ...... and not allowing for the 'slowest' members of the Group (which was not us).With better Hikes planning the whole thing would have been much better ..... for example - 1st afternoon Hike should have been much 'easier', then there would have been no need to reduce the next Full Day hike to a half-day ramble.1st-timers to Marrakesh need more alerting to what to expect ...... plenty of Tips could have been given in advance, which would have made the experience much better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Hotel in the Atlas Mountains was superb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Too much RushingSpent too much time talking to his mate & on his Mobile ..... should have cared for the slowest members better.Bad start by badly exagerating the walk to the main Square (35 mins running NOT a 15 min walk)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Speak to someone who's been to Marrakesh before - it's Unique ..... but be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd do it again .... but would be a bit vary of what the Guide says
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    COOKING IN CHIANTI

    Villa Fabbroni was absolutely wonderful. Sergio & Stefano were excellent hosts, they really couldn't do enough for us! The course itself was really interesting (they even supplied a genuine Italian Mama for the pasta section!) and covered all the basics well given the time allowed. Before the last session, which was to consist of Tiramisu & Biscotti, we were given the opportunity to ask for a couple more recipes to be added on (having tried Ribollita (soup) during the week this turned out to be an interesting addition to our Italian cooking repertoire).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Villa Fabbroni & discovering we’d parked next to a real live orange tree! Add this to the olive & lemon trees and we were definitely in Bellissima Toscana! Florence was amazing, particularly the Duomo & Campanile, the original statue of David at the Accademia Gallery, & Botticellis ‘Birth of Venus’ & ‘Spring’ at the Uffici Gallery.Siena was the best place ever for shoes & handbags, quality you could spot a mile away without the huge price tags you’d find in Dublin or London!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knew his stuff, brilliant driver!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to visit the Uffici gallery in Florence ask at Villa Fabbroni as soon as you get there for your ticket to be booked in advance on line (you’ll need a credit card). This not only guarantees you entry but means you don’t have to queue for what could turn out to be literally hours!Be prepared to take loads of great pictures (but unfortunately not in the Uffici or Accademia galleries)!
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    A superb way to see Egypt -I would definately recommend this tour to anyone who wants to know about ancient Egypt and see some seriously amazing and breathtaking sights.  The knowledge of our tour guide (George) was second to none.  The holiday was made even better by the fact that the group all got on well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many incredible sights.  I think going to the Valley of the Kings brought so much together - it just made me really stop and think how on earth did they dig them out, prepare the walls, sketch, carve and paint the hieroglyphics......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A really great guy - very knowledgable, very personnable and he did really well to deal with all the different personalities in our group and problems that arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a great way to get to know ancient Egypt.  Sometimes it can feel a bit of whistle-stop tour, but George did see that we got time to look around everywhere we went.  You do get some free time to either explore the town you are in or to just relax by the pool - you can get a bit 'templed out' but its worth it.  There was a heat wave when we went (38C in March in Luxor - way above average temps) and it was really hot, so be prepared.  Make sure that you have plenty of film or a large memory card - I came back with over 800 photos!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip - and I have another booked and another one planned.  Travelling as a single person can be hard and I was apprehensive before I went about the people, but I had such a great time.  I'm looking forward to my next Exodus holiday - and hope its as good.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    An excellent tour to see the main sites of Egypt in a short time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Tutankhamun's mask at the Egyptian Museum, the pyramids, the temple at Karnak, Abu Simbel, the felucca trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Randa was excellent.  She took the group out to local restaurants in Luxor & Aswan, instead of eating in the hotels,  which added to the whole experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the BA flight if possible, the timings are much better than the KLM flights.This holiday does pack a lot into a relatively short time. There are some early mornings and sleeping on Egyptian trains is not always easy so it can get quite tiring at times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The organisation of the exodus reps in Cairo, Luxor & Aswan was excellent. Egyptian trains do not always run to time and we had two hour wait at Luxor. It couldn't be avoided as we had to be at the station at the correct time according to the timetable but it was annoying.However, this was an excellent holiday which exceeded my expectations.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    It was far better than I expected, we got to so many sites and our leader was responsive to requests in the group for special visits and the intinerary was not as rigid as I had expected !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going down those 140 steps into the heart of the SAQQARA pyramid and I was the last one to come out - just wonderful to be so far down and not another tourist there to disturb such peace!   Then someone in the minibus read out their guide book afterwards - the electic supply inside sometimes failed so it was best to take your torch with you.  I had to give my hat badge to the Egyptian policeman outside as a token of this visit - he said "One English Pound" but I said it was free as a gift to him. No Baksheesh did I ask for!!!!!!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was good!  I could not praise her more highly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be flexible in your needs, respect the Egyptians but be prepared to bargain aiming at 50% of their first asking price then try walking away to see if they will reduce price further!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was in Egypt on the Suez Canal in 1953/4 and had one trip to Cairo and to the then dusty Museum.  Said I would never go back there but glad I went back again in 2008: everyting was so much better but cant wait until they build that new National Museum to improve the labelling, lighting and displays.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VENICE AND VENETO

    Really enjoyed the self-guided option having always been on guided cycle trips in the past.  It was great to go at our own pace and stop whenever we wanted to.  We liked the cycling through countryside during the day, and then staying in towns/cities at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wouldn't describe it as inspirational but highly enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Didn't apply to us as we were on a self-guided trip, although the rep from Eurobike (the local organisation that Exodus use) was very helpful and efficient. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of Venice which is a complete rip off unless you really get off the beaten track (be prepared to pay 1 euro to go to the loo in the centre!!)Have picnics rather than going out to lunch - often more enjoyable and far cheaper.  There are lots of pretty roadside spots to stop.The Exodus recommended restaurants that we tried were very good.  We also found many others by just wandering and taking pot luck.  Outside of Venice the restaurants are of a high standard and still represent value for money despite the poor exchange rate at the moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the whole an excellent trip.  I would however say that Albano Terme wasn't worth a night - it's a very modern spa town with nothing to do other than go to a thermal bath (which is like a public swimming pool only with spa water!).  We would have preferred to stay in nearby Padua.  The hotel in Vicenza (The Europa) although a good hotel, was 2.5km outside of the town which was a little too far, particularly when the hotel receptionist told us that buses stop running into the centre at about 8pm!!  That wasn't actually the case, but the route does change later in the evening so your journeys there and back are different and can cause confusion if you are not sure where to get off.  The bus drivers were generally helpful and some speak English.  It's probably also worth mentioning that the hotel was right in the centre of the red light district - not obvious by day but blatant by night! 
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    A fascinating country, a great combination of spectacular desert scenery and cultural sightseeing.  Also a very friendly and interesting modern country.  A lot of driving but it is worth it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me camping out in the remote Acacus mountains and climbing the nearest hill for the views at dusk and dawn.  Also the forum and basilica in Leptis Magna is breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reasonable.  Well organised and knowledgeable but briefings became more sporadic as the trip went on, with inadequate or inconsistent information provided.  However the desert team were great, as were the local guides employed (esp. Ghadames - great tour) and the policeman was a laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are an active type take a pair of running shoes - early morning runs in the desert are fantastic and makes all the driving seem more bearable.  Be aware in April that if the wind comes from the south it can become incredibly hot in the desert between 11 am and 5pm!  However if the wind comes from the north it can be quite cool.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus - how about having a section on your review form for comments on the itinerary please?Generally this was a great trip, seeing most of the major sites in Libya.  On the first day though it would have been good to have an extra hour at Sabratha rather than driving straight to Gharyan for mid afternoon which is a depressing place with little to do.It would be good to cut down on the amount of disposable plates/mugs/cutlery used and to stop bus drivers leaving the engines running for hours while idle to make this trip a little more environmentally friendly.  Tricky I know as these issues do not seem to be at the fore yet in Libya despite an obvious rubbish problem.Agree with previous reviewers about trip notes needing a bit of revision.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA: SAHARA DESERT TREK

    This is an amazing experience in an extraordinary landscape but beware of the extremes of heat. The team spirit was an incredible support in soaring temperatures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars was a highlight (as long as you dont mind insects). The sight of the oasis from the dunes and swimming in the spring were very welcome.A cool (ish) "fanta" or "Coke" in a small desert cafe after drinking hot water for three days was like nectar from the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very informative about the wildlife and geography and was very supportive when a couple of us were finding it hard going in the heat. Sometimes I would have liked a little more information when plans needed to be changed but I think that the abnormally high temperatures had taken both our leader and the drivers a little by surprise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the full range of temperature. We didnt need our warm sleeping bags or thermals but an insulated water bottle and some cooling sprays would have been useful. Dont under-estimate how much your feet will swell in temperatures around 50C- take thin socks and lots of blister treatment. A few light weight luxuries like a fruit sweet or a mouth wash may help to quench the thirst.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was much harder than I anticipated because of the temperature. Although this was abnormally high, according to the camel drivers and leader, I think the range should be emphasised more in the trip notes. We were all much more prepared for cold nights - which we didnt get - than for very hot days. The walking isnt difficult but unless you enjoy hot temperatures this trip is probably more relaxing earlier in the season. This was a challenge and you learn to rely on others and yourself in a wonderful environment.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    VALENCIA & VALLS DE LA MARINA

    I was the youngest person on the trip and it was great that when I booked the holiday that your guys told me that beforehand.  Thanks.  The hotel is great.  Brian and Pat are really nice but I did get the impression that they are having a difficult time because you have reduced the number of trips to them recently... or that was the impression that I got.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the holiday was on the free day when we went to the top of a very high mountain... we soon realised that we were perhaps out of our depth, nevertheless, we managed it and it was brilliant..!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a chap called Donal - Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, try and ask Exodus for must more friendly flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The flights were ridiculous!  Especially the flights back.  As I mentioned earlier - I was the youngest member of the party at 35 years old.. and it was just heartbreaking to see people twice as old as me, after such a lovely holiday, sitting in Gatwick airport trying to get some sleep on a plastic seat because the flights were at such unsociable hours - I think we reached Gatwick at 0120.  Please try and change this!  Many thanks,
Call us on 0208 772 3936