Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    The trip was better than we expected although we wouldn't want to do the 12 hour drive to Sabha again! Overall it was a truly amazing experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the top of a sand dune in the Sahara watching the sun going down and the moon coming up. Exploring the Acacus mountains and seeing so many different rock formations.Sleeping out in the open, tucked up in our sleeping bags under the desert sky so full of stars.Visiting the old town of Ghadames and being taken through a traditional Libyan home with its beautiful decorations.   I could go on forever!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was knowledgeable but we sometimes had to coax information out of him rather than it being readily forthcoming.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!Be prepared to keep your arms and legs covered when asked. Travel trousers that can be unzipped in to shorts are ideal likewise shirts with sleeves that can be rolled up as dress is more relaxed out in the mountains and desert.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring your own toilet paper!! And don't expect to keep your holdall tidy!!
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HOVDA MIXED ACTIVITY WEEK

    A good introduction to a variety of activities. Friendly and flexable approach allowed all in the group adjust their involvement to suit for personal preferences. We will definetally be back to Scandinavia next year and would not hesitate to use Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 - Beaming sunshine from a strong blue sky over a far reaching landscape of pure thick white snow, trees and mountains while gliding along the cross country skiing tracks.2 - Catching a glimpse of an arctic hare while snow shoeing on a heavily snowing day then dropping my bag and 'running' after it with my camera hoping to get a photo of such an elusive animal. I never got the shot but did get a lesson in how physically demanding running in 2m deep snow in snow shoes is!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helen did a great job of coping with a very wide range of abilities in our group. Her technical skills in the activities were clearly outstanding, and critically her people skills and ability to teach to beginners were very strong.Reassuringly we always felt our leader was prepared to go beyond what was basically required of them and appeared to genuinly care about making the holiday enjoyable for the individuals as well as the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ski goggles are not essential - most in our group just used sunglasses.Full gaiters are not essential - we found 'inner-gaiters' on modern ski trousers were perfectly adequet.The 'optional' rail trip to Flom requires a day of activities to be missed and now costs well over £100pp.The Hovda Fjell Hotel is excellent and the owner is very friendly and speaks English.The Hotel can do vegitarian food, but it is not particularly exciting.The drinks in the hotel are on a par with what you would pay in a decent inner London hotel (ie not particularly cheap)The Hotel has free wi-fi internet access in the reception area and lounge.The bathrooms in the hotel rooms have heated floors - if you leave them turned on and lay wet socks, boots, gloved, etc from the days activities they are perfectly dry by the morning!The spacing of the seats in Scandinavian Airlines economy is more than UK airlines and therefore much more comfortable for people 6ft+ with long legs (ie me!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We used our 'free time' day to go into the local town - Gol. It wasn't particularly interesting and the timing of the busses meant we only had 1 hour there. I would recommend it if you want a break from the main activities.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS & CHITWAN

    Amazing views of Everest and other 8000 peaks, from Tawoche Hill @ 5000m.  Temples in Kathmandu, was an  eye opening experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trek was amazing, we had clear days with views of Everest on 4 different days, although this trek was at altitude the pace ensured that we acclimitised and reached our 5000m goal.  Sitting at 5000m watching the clouds roll in and enjoying the views of Everest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, Chandra was very knowledgeable & helpful.  He smiled throughout the whole trips.  His team supporting him on the trip were also very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Become a veggie on the trek, we did and no-one in our group got stomach bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did 2007 itinerary with the Chitwan extension.  The highlight of the trip was the 5000m climb, I think this should be added back into the trip and the trip grading amended accordingly.  Replacing with the Chitwan is not a fair swap, although we enjoyed the Chitwan we enjoyed the trek more. 
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    Yes, it was brilliant and unforgettable, and quite different. We were a successful group, and made friends happily.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many. Evenings in the desert, Roman cities, cool ancient oasis towns.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truly excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't believe the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have three criticisms of Exodus over this holiday, all to do with information sent in advance: the flight was not long haul, so did not need three hours check in time; we had to erect and dismantle our tents, contrary to the statement sent to us; there was no toilet tent, just the wide outdoors. This presents real difficulties to the elderly, who can find squatting difficult. These are serious faults.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    HILLTRIBES OF VIETNAM

    North Vietnam is a fantastic place full of variety and colour. Culturally a fantastic experiene. However, the trip notes and the inital experience offered differed greatly and it took persuasion to ensure all experiences were fulfilled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting by a river near a more remote village watching the locals go about their daily life, from logging bamboo, fishing, laundry in the river, children playing, etc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Tuiy was a nice enough guide but lacked any enthusiasm for the role and did the minimum necessary. There was no extra information given about the cultures or places we were visiting, and I did join the back of another group at one point in order to find out more information of the site we were visiting.  Fortunately the guidebooks are also very informative and on the trek our local guide was superb, with amusing tales and inofrmation about tribal life.  Although we had had to push to walk the more difficult routes and more remote routes. His itinery also seemend very different to the one we received from Exodus and not because changes had to be made due to weather etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    People will try to sell you things and establishing what a fair price would be is best using the guide books or guide if and when available. Do not go on the trip to the minority village on your first arrival in Sapa, this is $14 for you then to be surrounded by Red Dzao ladies who will then insist you buy from them.  You will pass many more tribal villages, so will not miss out if you don't go.  If you do decide to go remember you do not have to buy - even though they may make you feel like you do. Shop around for the trips offered - e.g. the Perfume Pagoda - we paid way over the odds going through the Exodus appointed agent.  THe hotel may be able to arrange at a better price or one of the many tour agents available in Hanoi.Do not be suckered into the guide taking you to an overpriced Lau Seafood Restaurant with very poor service, just because he knows the owner and his friend's are there on a night out - there are many fantastic restaurants in Hanoi that are worth a visit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The otonery suggests that you will be walking for up to 8 hours and on the other days still have full days walking - this is not at all accurate and you are lucky if you get to walk for 5 hours. The spending money suggested should be reviewed and a guideline for the price of optional trips should also be included. A boat trip for 7 people on return from Bac Ha cost $84 as the GDP, this cost was not passed onto the boat owner, who would normally transport produce down the river in his rusting vessle. The average earnings would not even come anywhere close to this in rural areas. The trip should be included in the itinery as you do not have any alternative at this stopping point other than sit in it's one and only cafe for 2 hours. THe river trip itself is worth going on though. Bac Ha is a wasted trip - again we left fairly late as Tuiy needed his sleep!! By the time we arrived we had an hour in the market before being carted off to a cafe for lunch - the market had cleared up by the time we escaped back to it. The afternoon then is wasted in Bac Ha as there is little to do - other than wait for dinner A meagre affair of tiny potions to share - whilst the guide tucked in to large portions of the same. The walk the following morning could have been fitted in the day before.Perfume Pagoda $47 through Exodus agent - $20-$35 through other operators!!
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    An excellent trip, It exceeded my expectations in almost all respects.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Ubari Sand sea, surely one of the worlds most beautiful sights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ziad was very professional and mosy efficient.  He was also friendly and had a good sense of humour.  His good English was a great advantage.  We encountered very few problems and he was very good when anything looked like going wrong

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is really a desert trip, the trip notes did not really make me realise how enjoyable desert travel and camping can be.  In my opinion Exodus should put more emphasis on this part of the trip when updating the trip notes.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    VALENCIA & VALLS DE LA MARINA

    Our hosts tried very hard to make us welcome and succedded but probably just overdid it at the evening meal times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My free day walking to the top of the local mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All, very helpful all round.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a new packaage and was ment to bridge the gap between wlaking and sight seeing.  For me, the sightseeing was too much and the walking too little.  You need to emphasise the split nature of the holiday re walking/sight seeing so that the group members can more easily slip across into the other in-house walking group(s) for those partners who would like more walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was nice to have some warmth on one's back.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    THE HARDANGERVIDDA CROSSING

    Good trip due to the experience and expertise of the tour leader. What is able to be achieved does depend  on the participants having the approriate background, fitness and experience. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing a mountain behind Rauhellon Hytte and getting great views as well as generally being in the winter expanse of the Hardangervidda Plateau

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was obvious that the tour leader had a huge amount of background, experience and expertise. It was because of the tour leader that this trip was successful with the changes he made from what was advertised by exodus due to the party members background and abilities as well as his sound group management

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a trip that people can easily underestimate. Participants need to have a high level of fitness (backcountry ski fitness), plenty of backcountry skiing background with some recent trips as well as some general mountaineering / hillwalking experience and skills.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SNOWSHOE EXPEDITION

    We couldn't have had a better bunch of fellow "snowshoers" - great fun and supportive. The snowshoeing was hard work but well worth it. Nathan, our leader, did an excellent job and Mel's cooking was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on top of a mountain in a winter wonderland and seeing no-one else - just our own tracks snaking into the distance..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING AT RONDABLIKK

    Just as it was described in the brochure, so no disappointments and Norway is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to remote and dramatic places under your own steam (no ugly ski lifts in this part of the world) and the dog sledding day (optional but I thoroughly recommend it).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very experienced in mountain activities, good fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Upgrade those gloves, boots and hats to the highest you can. Minus 20 is VERY cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great opportunity to try cross country skiing without having to book a whole week at it.
Call us on 0208 772 3936