Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING IN THE EASTERN PYRENEES

    A great holiday - the guides managed to make the best an almost total lack of snow and we had an excellent time snow-shoeing and sight-seeing, as well as making the most out of every last bit of piste!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snow-shoeing up to the top of a reasonably substantial peak...and then sliding back down on mini-toboggans.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb - knowledgable, friendly and helpful (both leaders).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't assume there will be snow - global warming has made things a little more unpredictable than in the past!  Pack for every eventuality and travel with an open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great area to visit - with or without snow.  I recommend the trip to Montsegur if you get the chance - it's amazing.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: PERTISAU

    A reasonable trip that has certainly converted me to skiing, however the hotel room I was allocated to me was very poor and would fit in more in a hostel than a 4 Star hotel. This put a damper on the trip as I had to share a very small room with another guest which was physically limited a lot of the time.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perstisau was a lovely place and the activities most enjoyable, however I think the human interaction with complete strangers that become companions during the trip, remains the one thing that continues to inspire me with group holidays.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was an excellent group leader. He made every effort to ensure that all the group were able to get something out of the trip. With the adverse snow conditions, he pushed to ensure that we got as much skiing as possible, before conditions worsened.He remained firendly, informative and flexible throughout the trip. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Future travellers should be wary of the 4 star rating of the Hotel with particular reference to some rooms in the basement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very disappointed by the size and quality of the room that I was allocated to. Prior to booking the trip I had been informed that there were no more single rooms available. I had gone ahead with booking in a twin room because the Hotel was advertised as a 4 star so I expected it to be of a very high standard. I was however very disappointed to discover that I had been allocated a very small room to share with another guest in what can only be described as the servants quarters in the basement of the Hotel! We both made a complaint to the group leader who did attempt to find an alternative without success. He also assured us that Exodus had been informed of our complaint. In discussion with other parties I also discoverd that others had been allocated into rooms of a much higher quality to us, even though we had all paid the same price. Others who had booked later than me, had also somehow managed to secure single rooms, although I had been informed that there were non left when I contacted Exodus.I was highly disappointed with this arrangement as I had specifically booked a skiing trip at Pertisau precisely because of the 4 star luxuries advertised.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING AT RONDABLIKK

    Wonderful holiday.  Exactly what I was expecting - and more!  Great administration, endless supply of food, high standard of equipment..........Views were amazing and area very peaceful.  There is a great buzz in the hotel and you can be as social or reclusive as you like with spacious rooms.  Is also a taxidermists mecca (see photos!).  Only down side is that there is no formal qualification for the course - something maybe worth pushing exodus for?  So rather than a course I'd call it a holiday, albeit a great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 30km trip on final day - much of the journey high in the mountains and due to the weather conditions we were virtually ski touring!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great!  Used video as a training technique and rather than being over bearing just let us crack on with it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring booze - it's v v v expensive!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't forget warm clothing but also layers so you can strip off as you will warm up quickly! The hotel has wireless internet but no actual internet computers so bring your own laptops!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    We did the Mont Blanc Highlights in Sept - that exceeded our expectations and gave us the impetus to do the Winter activities. Neither of us had done a Winter holiday before but we felt complete confidence in Oliver ( and Elaine) to look after us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dog-sleddingThe realisation that snow-shoeing gave us freedom on the mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had total confidence in Oliver. He met every criterion for excellent mountain leadership plus the bonuses of warmth, good humour and real care for each person in the party.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Elaine's cakes (and the ponchos) were wonderful!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WINTER ACTIVITIES

    I got to participate in activities that I’d never done before and probably never will do again and I thoroughly enjoyed doing them – I don’t really ask for much more from a holiday.  I also want a husky puppy now too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I’m not sure I’d describe any of it as ‘inspirational’ but the husky driving was most definitely a highlight (even when I crashed!) and I felt like the Snow Queen as my gang of dogs pulled me through perfect winter forests and across silent frozen lakes.  Snow shoeing was fun too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn’t have a group leader but the girl who seemed to single handedly run the hotel was good fun and her Finnish to English translations of the evening menu were priceless ... a plate of grated root vegetables anyone? I really didn’t take to the bloke who ran the first husky farm mind you - he was just plain scary!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your thermals and don't expect to see the Northern Lights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The husky farm based near the Russian border was nowhere near as good as the Vuokatti Husky people.  Vuokatti were informative and very inclusive and I had two totally different experiences … perhaps Exodus should use Vuokatti exclusively, they were certainly worth the Euros for the extra day's activity.  All Exodus holidays should come with a free pack of UNO playing cards – they certainly helped kill the hours we had to wait between flights at Helsinki airport (thank you Ali!). 
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING AT RONDABLIKK

    I had a brilliant holiday. The hotel was very comfortable and the food was great. I liked the way it was a buffet some nights and a set down meal on others. The snowshoeing was really good and I would definitely like to do it again. I was rubbish at the cross country. It was great to come back to the pool in the hotel. An excellent group of people on the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day was great in the hills. The chats in the fire hut and the wigwam. The many laughs in good company. The German leader's slide presentation on Greenland with the fantastic shots of the icebergs. He had asked Karl if any of our group would like to come along and we were glad we did.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was an excellent leader. He went out of his way to make sure that everyone enjoyed their holiday. Karl was very competent and relaxed, with a great sense of humour. He went at a pace to suit all abilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this holiday as the accommodation and facilities are very good. You can try a selection of winter activities, the snowshoeing, cross country skiing and dogsledding. Then you know what you like and would like to do again, perhaps for longer. I would recommend a reasonable level of general fitness for the snowshoeing. Although there is no pressure, you can have as many days off as you want. It is not technical and if you like walking you will enjoy the snowshoeing. It is suitable for all ages. The group I was with went from age 27 to 60+ and we all had a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like next year to go to Villabassa for snowshoeing so hopefully Exodus you will have a holiday for my dates 14th -> 22nd February !!!!!!!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN ANDALUCIA

    The pace was almost too relaxed - earlier starts enabling more time in Seville, Cordoba and Ronda would have improved things.  It didn't help that we had two tour leaders - one of whom was being trained to run this tour, but was being trained by another who hadn't done this particular trip for four years and was somewhat rusty.  Neither of them should be blamed for this, as it reflects very poor planning on the part of Exodus overall.  It left most of us on the tour that we were being used almost as guinea pigs - we deserved better than that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Alhambra.  Ridiculous that this is only a free day option and not the core part of the tour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were both very nice individuals who clearly have the skills needed to do the job, but neither were adequately prepared for this particular week, through no fault of their own.  However, it was disheartening to hear them spending a lot of time in the front of the tour bus talking about the plans for the following week's walking tour.  I realise this did need to be planned, but that wasn't the time or place to do it.  I like to feel my tour leaders are thinking about the tour I'm on, not one in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware you may not have as much time as you would like in the cities, which are, ironically, the main reason to go on the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing but praise for Cortijo Rosario!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    HOVDA MIXED ACTIVITY WEEK

    We were expecting it to be physically demanding and were not disappointed! Good opportunity to try different winter sports.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the frozen wastes - the countryside was beautiful and most of the time when snow-shoeing our group were the only people we could see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Likeable, diplomatic and super-fit!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the days were not long (about 10.30 - 3.30 with a few short stops), they were physically gruelling if you were beginners. As with most ski-related sports, if you keep falling over you get tireder faster and then fall over more often. You need to get a buzz out of pushing yourself!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The dog-sledding session was shorter than I had hoped - we were only on the sleds for half an hour per couple. Would have liked to have done this for half a day.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    SWISS ALPS WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    Really good introduction to a whole range of winter activities in a beautiful location and in a comfortable and friendly hotel.  (Breakfasts were fantastic!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic scenery, great group, many laughs and a delusion that we could form the English curling team inthe next winter olympics. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Steve was great - relaxed but on the ball and made sure he re-organised all the activities so we could make the most of the weather opportunities.  However, he would never tell us the "puddle joke".

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The snow was already beginning to disappear at the end of february so book early in the year.  Make sure you have ski trousers with plenty of padding - cross country isnt as easy as you think on any downhill sections.  Dont count on losing any weight - far too much delicious food. 
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    ICELAND ADVENTURE WEEKEND

    Very well organised, as usual.  There was a great group of people and everyone joined in enthusiastically, despite the wet weather.  I couldn't believe how barren the countryside was, but can only imagine how it would look in summer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the different types of landscape which blended from sea, to lava flows, to moss, to rock.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Probably better to go in summer

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait for my next Exodus holiday
Call us on 0208 772 3936