Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A short trip, but a wonderful experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Emerging from my tent in the early morning. The desert was silent all around, the sun just appearing above the horizon and there was a wonderful, clear, soft light all around - a photographers dream come true.Reaching the top of the first area of dunes (mid-afternoon on the second full day's walk) Layer after layer of sand dunes as far as the eye could see, in all directions - real "picture book" desert scenery.Sitting around the fire in the evenings, sharing meals with the camel drivers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - friendly, supportive and helpful. He had a real love of his country and the desert and this came across very well. The "lessons" after breakfast on Tunisian culture, history, language, etc, were fascinating without being "heavy"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip - you will not regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus (February 2007), but definitely not my last - I will be in Morocco on an Exodus trip in October 2007
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Strictly Yak Dancing!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains and the view from Gokyo Ri did not disappoint but for me the most inspirational  part of the holiday was being away for over a week from all mechanical noise.  No cars, alarms, mobile phones  - just the sound of silence broken only by the crunch of footsteps in the snow which highlighted the majestry of  these wonderful mountains which I had dreamt about for so long. As for the Yak dance - its amazing what can happen in at the end of a successful trek and a few Everest beers.!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Psang and all the Sherpas were very good, helpful and considerate.  They really looked after us and managed to collect  and return to me all the odd gloves, scarves etc  I kept loosing on the way!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

     Look behind you for yaks when crossing a bridge!!!.Don't be put off by the basic facilities, a large bucket of hot water is wonderful after a hard day's trekking and drying your hair by a yak dung stove is an aromatic experience!The food was good for vegetarians and I lost weight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip got off to a bad start as Gulf Air had cancelled my  flight and I had to travel a day earlier which caused considerable inconvenience although the staff at Exodus had obviously worked hard to reorganise the flights.  This was compounded by a 12 hour delay in Bhairain airport  but once we got to Kathmandu everything was very well organised and went very smoothly.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable Umbria - scenery, history, food, wine, walks - this place has the lot

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think this has to be one of the most enjoyable Exodus trips I've been on - and I've been on a few over the years.  Umbria is a beautiful part of the world and Spoleto is a really nice town.  For me and my husband the part that will stay in our memories was the day spent in the Sibillini Mountains and the walk across the Piano Grande; we were lucky in that the weather was clear and sunny with blue skies and white fluffy clouds, and the flowers were out in abundance and stretched across the whole of the Plain as far as the eye could see.  I don't honestly think I've seen views like it - particularly from the cross above the village of Castellucio (a bit of a hike to get there but well within the group's abilities and we really did feel that we were on top of the world!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was a Danish guy called Morten who was simply brilliant.  He got things done (and problems solved) with an unassuming manner and a quiet confidence.  Nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to ensure that everyone did all the activities they wanted to, even on the free days.  Our group gelled really well and I feel sure that a lot of this was down to Morten making sure things went smoothly.  A great asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do eat at Osteria del Matto in Spoleto - it's a bargain and the food is fantastic.  There's no menu - they just bring the 8 or so courses out as they're cooked and you eat them.  Simple.  No decisions to make and you never end up looking at your neighbour's plate and thinking "I ordered the wrong meal again .. his/hers looks much better".  The ingredients are bought locally that day and cooked superbly by the owner's mother and sister - a real taste of Umbria with warm hospitality.  Plenty of the locals eat there, so you know it's good and authentic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't over-impressed with the Hotel Clitunno.  It looks brilliant on the surface but some of the rooms were a bit tired and I found the service to be a bit lack-lustre.  We had problems with hot water in our room (i.e. it was cold a lot of the time) until it got sorted out on about Day 4 - not something you want on a walking holiday in a hot country!  The food wasn't very good either, and we all complained about it to Morten after our first meal there.  He did what he always did though - sorted it out and had words with the management.  The meal on our last evening was a very different experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Wildflower Meadows were stunning, a view not forgotten at the top of the mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the holiday.  The walking was great, although the temperatures were much higher than expected for June.  The views were absolutely fantastic at the top of the mountains.  The Hotel again fantastic, absolutely spotless, comfortable and the food, you just couldn't complain there was plenty of it and very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julian was very knowledgeable of Bulgaria, had such passion of the country, obviously having lived there and the main plus was Julian was fluent in the language.   We had a couple of difficult travellers with us and Julian remained very calm and handled them extremely well. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    none

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the only part of the holiday I didn't enjoy, the first Hotel, monastery, was disgusting.  Dirty and you didn't want to use the bathroom at all.  This was my first holiday with Exodus and I did then worry what the hotel would be like in the Yagodina, but my worries were wrong, as it was a fantastic hotel.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The final peak was a classic..........................!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Has to be the final day - long walk in through stunning scenery, final climb up a scree slope to the summit of Carlit, then the long walk back to the bus.................fantastic day!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great chap, well informed, kept us going with good tempo and spirit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Pyrenees are big days, make sure you are prepared for long climbing and some hairy scrambling!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall experience was excellent, good weather, good people, good leader, good walking, good food and drink!!!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    This trip starts in THE most beautiful town in the world

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The town of Telc, where the trip starts, is just gorgeous and stunning. If you never go anywhere else you should go here, just to spend time in the town square - sit and drink it all in, explore all the nooks and crannies, climb the castle tower to see it from above. Unforgettable. If you like railways, visit the pink railway station too. Go out a day early to have the time to see it and appreciate it. http://www.telc-etc.cz/telc/?lang=ENPrague is fantastic, of course. On the trip between the two, we loved Cesky Krumlov, Trebon, Cesky Budejovice. The cycling through Bohemia is very enjoyable, never too tough, lots to see every day and everywhere you look

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ondre was a very nice chap and very helpful at all times. Did a lot to make the trip enjoyable, and was very responsive to the group's wishes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go out a day early to spend an extra day in Telc just wandering round and chilling out. Get there by public bus from Prague.Extend your stay in Prague if you haven't been beforeHave at least one "knee of pork" for dinnerClimb up all the towers to enjoy the views

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 12 people in all on the holiday, from the UK, USA and Canada, and it made for a very enjoyable trip to be part of that group, it was all very friendly and sociable Everywhere in Bohemia, the hotels were all very good and exceeded our expectations. The hotel in Prague was not quite as good, but it was OK.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A great walking area

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Excellent walking in great environmentEnjoyable companyVery pleasant accommodation (though room and bed were small and cramped) in beautiful settingIt was the sort of break I wanted.  Normally I prefer to travel independently with my wife, but this time she could not make it, so I was on my own yet still felt I was in good company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, gave useful advice, helpful and good knowledge of the area.  Can't ask for much more!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A note for Exodus:  I could have done without the caves!   They all look the same and I don't like being herded through them with commentaries about how stalactites, etc were formed and what they look like.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Fantastic cultural experience in Rural China

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved meeting people in Villages and experiencing life well off the beaten track

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good, his first trip to China too but very open minded about our wish to deviate from the route

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy it , highly recommended, some hills so practice on the bike.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I fell in love with the dogs - Loved my Lemky!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After being so focussed on work, it was ab fab to be totally alive again and being at one with nature. The sun shining off the snow, the beautiful dogs loving running and pulling the sledge, rushing along feeling there was just me, the snow, the dogs and the landscape - totally awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it now!!!  Also got hooked on cross-country skiing after my lesson - love to do a week with Exodus learning more.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Fantastic views on every day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was a fairly tough trip, not because we walked long distances (averaged 17 Km) or climbed very big heights (averaged 4000 ft), but because a significant amount was on quite difficult terrain with no real paths (even the first two days when the trail was under snow). But I would class it as probably the best I've done with Exodus because of the really incredible views and scenery round every corner. Up till now I've thought that Chamonix Zermatt Haute Route was best, but I think this was better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carey Faulkner - a very smart cookie! She is extremely competent as a leader, excellent knowledge of the mountains (we didn't see a peak she didn't know), and very good in front of the (video) camera - not an easy thing to do (I've been making videos of trips for years and lots of leaders dry up). Also very good at the social side - personal interaction. I've had lots of good leaders before with Exodus, but she is the model........

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light, make sure you're fit, and take poles and earplugs!
Call us on 0208 772 3936