Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    LAKE TITICACA & THE INCA TRAIL

    When we arrived in La Paz, our guide for the duration - Juan told us that he was going to look after us and give us the best holiday - and he really did! I can't say how well he and the team in the background made this trip so good for us. Top notch!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all got on very well as a group and there were countless times of laughter and inspiration. Seeing Machu Picchu after the few days of trekking was awesome, as the the climb up Wayna Picchu in the heat as a group together. All sharing the beers in the springs was such a good end to all the walking!  I have come back from Bolivia and Peru feeling like I haven't just been on a holiday - I've been on a cultural journey that has found me feeling a mixture of saddness, luck and social responsibility and inspired to continue supporting responsible tourism which expands the mind and prosperity of the countries that we are ultimately helping through the tourist dollar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Can't say enough about Juan - he was so enthusiastic about his country, the history, imparting his knowledge in a way that was so pallatable and kept you asking more questions to build on the insights that he gave us. He told us he would be looking after us and he really did - he went to the pharmacy for people, arranged alternative solutions for people and never seemed to be asleep - he was up before us and to bed after us to ensure we were looked after.The great thing about Juan is that he was an integral part of our group - he was laughing and joking and having a beer with us - this was not just a job for him - he lived and breathed working for the company and to ensure our holiday was perfect. On the last day he came whitewater rafting with us - as part of the group as a tourist, then at the airport he was still waving us off on the concourse.... If anyone needs a special mention or bonus - it's Juan....

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, bring earplugs for some of the hotels and don't get too upset at the altitude wiping you out - it does get better.Bring an assortment of clothes - don't listen to your mates tell you that you'll be fine with a woolly jumper and a plastic poncho - it can get very hot/very cold and very wet within 5 minutes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    These holidays are not holidays - these are the things that you say "what did I do in 2007?" and you only remember one thing and that will be the place you went and the effect it had on you and how it changed your life. You might not remember the names of your fellow travellers but you remember the time you had and the experience you gained. The tour company can make this memory great or not - Exodus made my 2007 such a good year to remember. Thanks to everyone who helped make it happen and experienced it with me.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA: SAHARA DESERT TREK

    A fabulous experience to strip down to just you and nature with the sincere and fun assistance of the wonderful knowledgeable local guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Standing on the top of the world of dunes and seeing forever.2. Sharing the early mornings with the guides making the sand bread as the warm sun rose swiftly in the skies with the camels just visible in the forefront.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was there to do everything he was meant to do but there was so much more to discover about Mohammed.  I stayed up front mostly walking and learning about the history of the dessert and Tunisia and as well how to master walking in the dessert and much more. He was excellent on all fronts!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ the brochure and advice sheets for what to bring.  Be serious about your sun care and footwear and pack accordingly. It is not a fashion show but bring the best to ensure you are comfortable 24 hours.  Remember everyone wil be doing the same and so if you don't have it someone else will!! Forget modesty!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go knowing that all rules are forgotten as you share this deep natural experience with 15 others from all walks of life.  Allsocial barriers fall to the ground but quickly mutual respect for each other and our environment and guides develops. Just go with an open heart.Judy Kennedy
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WINTER ACTIVITIES

    A holiday in a lovely place, full of possibilities - spoiled by lack of "Plan B's" which left people a bit bored when events were cut short or cancelled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of our group were standing on the frozen lake on the first night there, just 50m from the back of the hotel and at a temperature of minus 10 celcius. The lake was groaning and "singing" eerily as it expanded and contracted as if it had some gigantic trapped monster whale beneath it.Then, for the first time in my life, I saw the Northern Lights and was completely blown away by the whole magical natural spectacle. That one moment will stay with me forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was at all times a true professional. She was always friendly, helpful and available despite always working what seemed like 24 hours a day!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whatever is promised to you on your itinerary, get an idea what replacement activities (if any) might happen should any events be altered or cancelled.Be prepared for unusual food combinations! I mean the whole point of travelling is to try new things but I am certain that a mixture of tinned peaches, cold shrimp and (still) frozen peas does not constitute a "traditional" Finnish salad. The buffet menu thoughout our time there (over a week) was varied in name only, not ingredients.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    Great walking,  great food,  lovely weather, brilliant leader, lovely group of fellow travelers - not great hotel! I am happy with cheap and cheerful, but this was cheap and not cheerful. It was cold and gloomy. I don't think hot water, sockets that work, shower curtains long enough so the bathroom doesn't flood, an open bar or somewhere to get a cuppa and a few smiles are much to ask for. Most of the staff were just miserable, (not the lad at breakfast though) maybe they are happier in the summer!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the high points for me was breaking Dave's record by 17 minutes on the Akbel to Pettara (15km) walk.  Or does he tell everyone that??We also completed a walk from Phellos - Haciolan (22.5km) which was a huge achievement for me - I have never walked that far before - the terrain was very rocky with lots of up hill - more up hill than Dave lead us to believe!!  But it was worth it - sitting having our picnic miles from nowhere clear blue sky and beautiful fresh air.I was lovely just being with a group of great people that were all good walkers and good talkers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought Dave was great, both his local knowledge and the knowledge he has on the history of Turkey was superb. It would appear that he loves the country - He is obviously well known and well respected in Kas, and I thought he took us to some lovely restaurants. The food was always plentiful and I thought reasonable priced - in comparison the drinks weren’t cheap but the service was great.I felt very safe out on walks with him, I was confident that what ever arose - he would have something in his ruck sack to deal with it!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make sure you take good strong walking boots, the trip notes say trainers or lightweight walking boots, the terrain was very rocky, and I don't think trainers would have been good enough.  Take mosquito repellent even in December/January most of us got bitten to bits at night, none us thought there would be a problem that time of year.  It is quiet chilly in the evenings, it took me all week to work out that the air conditioning unit was also the heating unit!! Once I discovered that the room felt much better. In the winter months it is a long journey to Kas from Antalya airport - so be prepared for a long day getting there and getting back. Oh and don't panic on your first morning at 6am - it's only the call to prayer from the Mosque just down the road from the hotel, it was loud!  Ear plugs might be useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday, good mix of walking - one minute walking amongst ancient Roman ruins at Arycanda in short sleeves, next minute delicious lunch at the wardens home, next minute we are half way up a mountain (Urdabek) in the snow!! I really wasn't expecting snow!!  So go prepared for all conditions. This was my first Exodus experience, and going as a single traveler for the first time was nerve racking but it was truly great,  I am so glad I did it. I am now trying to decide which one to do next.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF LIBYA

    Walking where the Romans ( and the Greeks!) walked was a fantastic opportunity. Exodus keeps Leptis Magna for the end of the tour and it is a true highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader's name was Tarek and he was born in Libya. He had some very interesting thoughts to share with us about his work experience,  Gaddafi and his policies,  as well as general life in Libya. We had a few local tour guides as well and they were all very knowledgeable about the areas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now! The way the rules keep changing about what you need in regards to paperwork to enter the country means someone high up in the government does not really want tourists. Also Tarek told us one of the gov't ministers feels that the promotion of their Roman and Greek sites as places to visit leads to a feeling of colonialism and there is talk of destroying them.  So again I say, Go now.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus uses a very professional agent there and has put together a very good itinerary showing you as much as possible in a 7 day period. You even get to stay in a "troglodyte" ( cave) hotel. Quite good fun. The food is good although not much variety - lots of good veggie soups! We all spent about $300 USD for the whole week as there are not many trinkets to buy - but you have to pay to take your camera into every site and museum.  A great getaway showing you deserts and mountains and coastline and some fantastic old ruins. Loved it.
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA: SAHARA DESERT TREK

    Excellent cultural experience and beautiful scenery. If it was not for the cold wind...  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The all of us racing over the tallest dunes (including our cook and our guides): so much laught, freedom, space , light, stay-in-the-moment, all-equal state of mind.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She has chosen the right job. SHe can rought it without losing the smile on her face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Winter in very cold!! Even during the day !! So if you can you wan't to chose Sept-Nov and March-May as the best time for this treck. Be prepared to be in the middle of nowhere for 5 days: no shower, no power, very little mobile phone connection. Don't forget to ACTUALLY smear sunscreen on your face and wear a hat! Even better: ask a Bedouin to show you how to wrap your head in a scarf !Bring snacks. Read the trip notes and believe that you need to know everything written there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes I write English like a French frog...
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A great relaxing week, good walks, lovely scenary and tastey food.We were lucky with the weather which made it even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of the walks, the visit to Seville.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Starve yourself before you go!
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A great relaxing week, good walks, lovely scenary and tastey food.We were lucky with the weather which made it even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of the walks, the visit to Seville.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Starve yourself before you go!
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    What a trip..........

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Veiws from the summit The fantastic trekking crew The great people of Nepal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good, he knew a lot about the area, people and all the technical stuff we needed to know

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can get very hot in the day times and watch your toes on summit day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth it and I am now seriously thinking about 7000 + m
  • Reviewed January 2008
    Anonymous

    Mountain soup

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had never been to Italy before and had no idea what to expect from a walking holiday there. I especially enjoyed the last 2 days walking which gave us fantastic views over mountains and walks we had previously during the week. The view from Monte Sumbra on the final day was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable about the area and was willing to be flexible around the needs of the group.
Call us on 0208 772 3936