Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    the best adventure i have ever had

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the mountain scenery,climbing to 4800 metre's,the fun with the other members of the party and the fantastic guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very knowledgable,helpful and friendly,he was always smiling.Ten out ten top man, helped to make the trek so good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you are fit for the trek, do some walking & cycling in the weeks/months leading up to it & you will enjoy it all the more.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    dont hesitate do it.
  • Reviewed November 2007

    Fantastic Honeymoon!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too much to mention - the whole African experience is something that gets in your blood!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent - good sense of humour, patient and knowledgable.  All round star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're fussy about food, facilities and comfort - don't come!  If you're just a little unsure about whether you can handle it, go along - I had barely camped before I went and I coped! :-)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Fantastic break - great place people and unforgettable scenery

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Guided walks were the best way to sample the variety of countryside surrounding the area of Tuscany we visited.  Good food and family environment made for a very relaxed break.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rupert did a great job

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some strenuous ascents, short but intense, definitely worth it though
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    I thought Pompeii and Ephesus couldn't be beaten but ..............

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The classical sites: Sabratha and Cyrene were excellent but Leptis Magna was breathtaking.  You got a real idea of the height and depth of the roman buildings and the details of the stalls and measures as well as the kiosks itn the market place really made it come alive.The mosaics at Qasr Libya and in the Tripoli museum were also some of the finest I have seen; vibrant colours and fine textures and a real feel of the changes in fashion and quality throught the centuries.The night in the troglodyte lodge was fun,  with some of the best food on the trip; basic conditions but considerably cleaner than one of the hotelsEating out at an excellent restaurant under the moon by the Arch of Marcus Aurelius in Tripoli was a great experience.  The only thing missing was the chilled white wine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant but very inexperienced.  He only gave us the barest of practical details for each trip and very little background information - this is in comparison with most Exodus leaders I have known who have been a mine of information on any subject from education to fashion via music, religion and politics.  I know the political situation in Libya requires staff to be cautious over what they may say but several of the local guides were much more open and informative about everyday life as well as their specialist sites.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now before it becomes too touristy.  The people are warm, friendly and welcoming, the food is good if rather repetitive and the sites are magnificent. Hotels are variable, public facilities can be very basic and take your own loo paper.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a good detox - no alcohol for a week!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Swimming with the elephants was incredible and unexpected!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found that everyone in Nepal was really friendly. There seemed to be no aggression at all and I felt very safe. I found this particularly inspiring that in such a poor country with so many different religious backgrounds people can still live amicably with each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prasant was brilliant. He gave us a really personal insight to life in Nepal. He was very attentive when I wasn’t feeling very well and he was very knowledgeful in all the places we went to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It would have been nice to be warned about our arrival into Kathmandu. We were bombarded with people trying to help us with our bags and demanding money. One guy posing as an exodus leader asked us for twenty UK pounds and claimed that everyone else had already paid this. We refused and he persisted in asking for whatever money we had. It did not give us a good or safe first impression at all and we were very wary of anything during our first few days, including our genuine leader, for fear of being ripped off. It would have been nice if we had been warned about these people before our arrival and told not to pay them anything and to just ignore them. We were new to this kind of trip and did not know how to deal with it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The city guide we had on our first day in Kathmandu was brilliant. He really put us at ease and told us exactly what to do and what not to do. He was very informative and really helped us to gain trust in our exodus leaders. We were disappointed with the lack of visibility we had at a lot of the mountain hotels. I realise Exodus can not control the weather but we were told that November was the best time of year to go for this, and perhaps the trip notes were a little optimistic! The standard of accommodation far exceeded our expectations. We were very impressed with the choice of hotels and lodges picked by exodus. I was under the impression that there would be more walking and trekking than there was. This was a bit disappointing but perhaps we just need to pick a higher grade of trip next time. I expected that the overnight trek would involve two full days trekking, but we actually only walked for 3 hours up and then 2 hours down. It may have been a little misleading in the trip notes... By far the highlight of my trip was the visit to Chitwan National Park. This totally exceeded my expectations and in particular the elephants were fantastic. It was a great finale to the holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    This holiday did everything it said it more and more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Maria's cooking... (trust me!)The walks -of course and Guy as a guideThe bars...The friends

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fun, and the right mixture of involvement and detachment - very knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Diet before you come - in spite of all the walking we still put on weight (aAria's cooking)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderfully remote trek

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The remoteness of the trek was wonderful, I really enjoyed the isolation, the knowledge that there was nobody else remotely near us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trek leader has an impossible task trying to form a group of strangers into a team who will help each other through the difficult times and celebrate the good times together. With the best leaders the leadership is invisible, they appear to be just one of the group, the regular sight of Dibs apparently relaxing on a rock as we walked past shows he achieved this.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the length of the days or height of the climbs, you will succeed, just take it one slow step at a time and enjoy the experience.When you reach the top don't forget to take lots of pictures even if you are tired as you will probably never be here again. Remove your cagoule hood, balaclava and ear muffs before smiling for the camera, it's really not that cold for a few seconds and you will be looking at the pictures for a lifetime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Every trek has to have a spare day at the end just in case, but the choice of Mcleod Ganj as a place to visit is just not right for this trip. After 10 days of walking in perfect solitude the last thing we wanted is a day in a crowded tourist centre, I don't thin any of the group really enjoyed the day. Apart from shops selling souveniers the only reason to visit Mcleod Ganj would be to see a little budist culture. However the budist culture here lacks the purity of Nepal or Tibet and since this trek is for experienced trekkers it is more than likely that they already had better experiences of this culture.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Perfect combination of walk and talk in Honfleur

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Patrick's teaching

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superbe

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Persuade Exodus to repeat the course

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone on the holiday wanted a repeat performance, and we know many people wo would like to do this very holiday in Honfleur or somewhere else in France. Why on earth aren't you doing this during 2008? It isn't too late to set it up.And incidentally, you didn't advertise  the Honfleur holiday sufficiently; many of our friends have asked how we came to hear of it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A great time in Tuscany

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Braccicorti is a great place to stay, very welcoming. Great food. Superb scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Very knowledgable and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I've now been on 7 Exodus holidays and enjoyed every one. My wife and I are now planning our next trip and would always wholeheartedly recommend Exodus.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Culture Shock, spectacular views and "Spring rolls"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1.  Mountain views2.  Watching the mountain farmers at work3.  Canoeing with crocodiles4.  Visiting the medieval city of Baktapur at the end of the holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kum Jung is a great guy.  He appeared a little shy at first, but as he got into his stride he opened up and his leadership skills blossomed over the course of the 2 weeks. Always anxious to please, and seemed to instinctively make the "right call" over pace and when and where to stop.  Very pleased to have him around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1.  Relax!2.  Make sure that you have clothes to suit +30 to -5 deg C.  Sub zero eveings do not seem possible when its 18 deg in the veening in Kathmandu.3.  On the free day at the end of the holiday, take a taxi to Baktapur  -  40 mins by taxi (about £12 return and he'll wait 4 hours for your return trip).  Just like Kathmandu was 40 years ago, without the traffic and pollution.  Magical.4.  Resist all offers of help with your baggage on arrival at Kathmandu. Accept help from one and 5 or 6 will want a tip.  This is not representative of Nepal, but can be a shock when arriving very tired and maybe for the 1st time in a 3rd world country.5.  Buy your duty free in Bahrein on the way home rather than at Kathmandu.  Shops open 24/7 and more choice and better prices.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sufficient "Bombay Sapphire and tonic" to last the trek works wonders!We were fearful of insect bites in Chitwan.  They really aren't a problem.  We didn't get a single bite on the whole holiday.
Call us on 0208 772 3936