Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The best holiday ever!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up to beautiful blues skies, calm seas, sea ice and the awesome sighting of a mother polar bear and her two mature cubs. We had a couple of hours watching these creatures, dashed into breakfast only to be called out on deck for another mum and her pair of 6 month old cubs. The ship silently manoeuvred into place so that we had a great vantage point of the polar bears, and didn't disturb them in their family group. We had another couple of hours with these guys until the mist came down and they swam off. Whilst sailing away from the area, we came across mum number one and her youngsters, doing a bit of synchronised swimming for us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was outstanding! He threw away the itinerary and went with his instincts (and the Captain's advice) to find the best locations for wildlife viewing in the archipelago. Woody took account of the weather and sea conditions at all times, and made sure that we got the best out of each trip. We were so lucky to see so much Arctic wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will not regret booking a trip to the Poles with Exodus! They have an excellent partnership with the ships and crews used. Even before we had completed our Spitzbergen trip, my friend and I were straight on the phone back to Renee at Exodus to book an Antarctic trip with the same ship (and hopefully the same crew!)Even when we were transitting from one location to another, the crew kept us entertained with interesting and informative lectures on environmental issues, wildlife presentations, discussions on life at the Poles, and funny stories about their first polar bear encounters! The Vavilov ship is spacious so that you never feel as though you are crammed in, and the scenery is so stunning that you can always find some one on the upperdeck gazing into the distance!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have recommended Exodus to all my friends....I should get an introduction fee! I have completed 9 trips, to various and varied parts of the world and have never been disappointed! The Spitzbergen trip wasn't just about bears though! We had fab sightings of reindeer (up close and personal), walrus, arctic foxes and birdlife galore. You will not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A relaxing week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yoga as the sun rose in the morning was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    none

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the first yoga holiday Exodus  had run in this location.  The location was perfect, the yoga was great  but for future trips the itinery needs to be less crowded and more time needs to be allocated for the yoga for the full benefits to be maximised!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    In the first 10 minutes of our first game drive we came across not one, but two cheetahs lying in th

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness of the animals and the privilege of being part of their world - to camp in the middle of the Masai Mara with all this just outside your tent was the most amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - excellent in every respect !!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - you would not regret a single moment.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A wonderful Northern experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching polar bear families for 4 hoursWalking on the tundra, seeing the exquisite wild flowersGetting up close to glaciers (and reindeer) (and walruses) (and whales)The wonderful colours of the skiesExperiencing true wildernessBeing inspired by the enthusiasm, commitment and knowledge of the group staff 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was excellent in every way and the partnership/contrast with Paul effective and entertaining

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a continuous stream of experiences available twent y four hours a day, a sensory feastThe trip will be best enjoyed by those who enjoy being active; it is not a sedentary cruise, but the ship is very comfortable and the meals are lovely

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The ship is incredibly stable. The captain is very skillful in getting close to wildlife. All the staff show the utmost respect for the wildlife and the environment. The staff are also very hard working, we can only assume their enthusiasm keeps them going. The ratio of staff to passengers is excellent and there is always someone available to answer questions or provide information. We were also impressed by the attention to the safety of all on board.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Boar, Bear and Boots!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic food, stunning scenery, great walks - this had it all. Felt a great sense of achievement walking the flank of Sveti Ilyah as I hate scree and was rather high up. Also making it up the steps out of the Devils Throat! Fantastic to see wildlife especially birdsof prey in their natural environment. Local people are incredibly friendly - impressive as my Bulgarian and probably their English is zero.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great leader, really knows the area, very approachable and full of interesting stories and anecdotes. Gives useful information about the day's walk with spot on timings. Allowed us all to walk at our own pace and included lots of stops to regroup, with no pressure to set off before everyone was ready. Clearly has a good relationship with the locals in Yagodina.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a plug!!! If you like the look of this trip, go for it, it's well worth it. Don't worry too much about the walks the pace is steady and relaxed. Take time to absorb the view, and enjoy the first cold beer after the walk. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we didn't manage to see any wild boar or bears, but we did see plenty of boots!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A breathtaking trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is wonderful. Glaciers, blue sky and superb views of the Matterhorn from different altitudes, at different times of the day.  Somehow the very sight of the Matterhorn is inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Good leader. Huge knowledge of trekking and climbing. Easy to get on with.  Felt happy to ask anything.  Good knowledge of the history of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own slippers for the mountail huts

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zermatt is a very pleaant town. Lots to do when not walking. Good range of restaurants and shops. Lots of swiss army knives!  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Bears, beer and buddies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sea kayaking off Vanouver Island and spending the night on the uninhabited Vargas Island was unforgettable. We were there on American Independence Day and as our tour guide was from Texas we celebrated in style with Champagne and Mars Bars! When sitting round the campfire toasting marshmallows with the sea lapping the shore, the sun setting and the bald eagles swooping down , I looked round at the new friends I had made and thought 'It doesn't get much better than this!' 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Carson, was awesome. He was a great cook, great company and really helped everyone feel part of a team. He was incredibly organised but also flexible so we didn't feel that we were just being told what to do and when to do it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on a camping trip, take a kit bag rather than a rucksack as you can never find anything in a rucksack, especially by torchlight in a small tent. It gets very irritating after a few days!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every moment of my trip (except, perhaps, putting up our tent in a torrential downpour on the first night) and can't wait to do another Exodus holiday. I made some really good friends and re-acquainted myself with the joys of camping and adventure after years of beach holidays.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The scene as you enter the wonderful monument of Abu Simbel......

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The valley of the kingsAbu SimbelThe River Nile at AswanThe archaeological museum and the mask of Tutenkhammen

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mazen was very thoughtful and tried to ensure that all participants needs were met

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the sleeper trainFly to Abu SimbelFly with BA rather than KLM because the times of flights are SO much better and this will avoid exhaustion

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A thoroughly enjoyable week; wonderful sites and hotels with time to be inspired as well as vegging out by the pool
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The magnificent big empty country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This vastness of the country combined with the serenity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good. It was the first time he'd led the group and did well. He would have struggled if it wasn't for the main driver, though

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you drink lots of water. To get the most out of your trip - muck in with the setting up of camp etc.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling was more challenging than described in the trip notes (which was good!). A couple did struggle. I think it should be upgraded.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It doesn't get any better than this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was a case of the overall experience being greater than the sum of its parts.    We were  taken on routes that were varied, challenging, strenuous and stunningly beautiful. We saw remarkable wildlife close up, fascinating geology and the ways in which humans have adapted the landscape for their own benefits.The pace of the walks was perfect with plenty of stops for catching up and taking food and water. Hazards were carefully explained and we were made to feel safe and secure at all times. We were provided with superb packed lunches: ham, egg, brie, basil, avocado and more all in fresh baguettes. Our base accommodation was perfect: friendly and relaxed hosts, tea and home made cake on our return from a hard day's walking. Outstanding food; Basque, Moroccan, Mediterranean. Hot showers and comfortable beds.A really great group atmosphere added to the overall experience. Brilliant and highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James was an outstanding leader. He got to know the group's capabilities and was able to provide us with suitably challenging routes. He must have gone out of his way to provide us with excellent lunches; I don't ever remember being given a brie and apple baguette before. James' approach was relaxed and friendly but professional and inspired confidence. His local knowledge gave us the opportunity to combine superb mountain scenery with the rewards of overcoming the physical demands involved.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you read and take heed of the trip notes there will be no problems. I used a high factor sun screen and would consider the use of walking poles to help with some of the knee-jarring descents.
Call us on 0208 772 3936