Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Polar Paparazzi Perfection

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful Polar Bear sightings on ice - good to see there was still sea ice in the area and hope for the young cubs we saw - there must have been seals for the Mums to catch - they looked healthy and they didn't seem at all disturbed by the ship or us.Everything was wonderful and even better when the mists went!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul - what can one say - fantastic enthusiasm and a way with words - his daily reviews were superb - just wish we could have a copy of them - where have they got to?  A superb leader. 'Woody' and all the Vavilov team were brilliant - such a wealth of knowledge, qualifications and enthusiam -  have never been on such a fantasic trip before. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO - don't wait any longer - go while there is still ice and wildlife to see.  Don't put it off but would suggest/ recommend the Exodus charter of Vavilov rather than other dates if going alone.It's not cold as you will be dressed for it and the zodiac 'cruising' and landings are superb.  Take plenty of memory cards for your cameras Don't worry about going on your own - you'll never feel lonely or alone.  Everyone got on well together and you'll make many new friends.  As long as you can get up and down the steps on the side of the ship and onto/off the zodiac  (with assistance) you'll be fine.  The longer your legs are the better for a dignified climbing back into a zodiac! from the shore!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a fantastic experience - want to go again! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Revised itinerary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The weather in Norway had been as appalling as it was in Britain, meaning that a large part of the trip was unsafe for the first part of our week there. The leader and local guides adapted the trip admirably, meaning that we still got to ascend Norway's two highest peaks and spent three instead of the planned five days trekking in the Jotunheim between mountain hotels. On top of that masterful reworking of the itinerary the leader threw in a free day's white water rafting at the end and the most incredible three course meal at the hotel in Lom. I have never heard Norwegian cooking particularly praised before but I have been raving as much about the quality of the food since I got back as about the beautiful scenery, friendly people and excellent walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was absolutely excellent - very solicituous of our welfare, knowledgeable about the local area and history and able to adapt to circumstances so that we had a very enjoyable week despite the change of itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should go - you'll have a great time. The facilities were not as basic as I had thought they would be in the mountains and the food in the mountain hotels was almost as good as that in the village of Lom.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER

    A lifetime memory

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was amazing to see a walrus swimming towards us while we were standing on the beach and our photos were worthy of National Geographic!I had tears in my eyes watching the mother polar bear with her cub clinging to such a tiny iceberg. I will never forget it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woodie was an excellent leader as were all the guides. They were very knowledgeable and we learned so much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wore 7 layers every day! Take silk thermals and forget the walking boots - just take fur lined wellies. My feet were frozen all the time. You can actually borrow wellies on the boat - and wet gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I took 750 photos! An amazing holiday! I always thought that photos in magazines must be enhanced but the glaciers and icebergs really are turquoise.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The 4 Cs

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our children really enjoyed the 4 Cs (climbing, canyoning, caving & canoeing). Canyoning was probably the biggest thrill.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, both about the area and about the activities offered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Cares Gorge walk is not for the faint hearted – 12.5k in each direction. Take lots of water!!  The minimum suggested age of 5 years is too young unless you want to carry them!!The day at the beach is billed as “for the younger kids” but our children 18,16 and 9 had a great time; the surf at the beach was excellent – take a body board! (The dinosaur museum and the fossil footprints at the beach were worth seeing too.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel / group leaders kept the itinerary very flexible, changing activities around according to the weather. You need to be adaptable if you are not planning to join in activities every day as the activity of the day may change.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It has it all - from deep valleys to snow covered plateaus - great trekking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Galdhopiggen and seeing snow covered mountains around you is the highlight of the trip.Scrambling down the Bessegen ridge came a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorgen and Gro were friendly and helpful. They both keep up a good pace so you need to be physically fit for the trek. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation is quite basic. Members of our group were dissappointed with the standard of accommodation at Memerubu - we stayed in bunk houses outside the main complex - although our guide said there was a misunderstanding and that we should have been in the main complex.Vegetarians were reasonably catered for although can be quite basic (e.g. the Reindeer Tongue soup was just the soup base without any meat in it).The Besseggen ridge (day 2) was a little more airy than expected although doesn't present any great difficultes. Probably Striding Edge level of exposure and difficulty. Beer is extremely expensive (£6 for a 500ml tin of beer).Unless you are really want to do caving, potholing or white water rafting at Lom, then this day is really a wasted day. There is not a lot to do in Lom -it's a very small town. There didn't seem anywhere decent to walk from the town itself. It might be worth hiring a car to do some exploration (if so, take your driving license). It would be far better if Exodus used this day as an extra walking day on the trek, (e.g. a circular walk from Memerubu or Spiterstulen). I guess they are just using it as a contingency day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people on the trek thought that it should be graded a C/D. This is mainly due to the length of the walks and the difficulty of the terrian (e.g. walking over stones and boulders).  I personally think it was just a hard C.Day 2- We bagged some of our stuff and this was taken by boat to Memerubu. This meant our rucksacks were a lot lighter for going over the Besseggen ridge. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Every day of the trip was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The backdrop of the Picos on every walk was stunning. The day spent among the higher peaks was probably the most impressive and exciting. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Added greatly to holiday, very fit and shouldn't have to retire at 70! Good fun, very knowledgeable about the area but not overbearing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Best left luggage lockers at Bilbao Railway Station but not many. Recommend not making own flight arrangements.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travel light and don't forget your suncream.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Interesting and exhilliarating

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Magnificent scenery and viewstrain journeyswalks with the right amount of flexibility and challenge to suit everyonewaterfalls and glaciers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely excellent.Had great knowledge about the area and enthused us all.Very sensitive to the needs of the group. Very pleasant mannerVery efficient and well organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    no it was all in the brochure

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The sea was wonderful - I have had colder baths!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were incredible, the local hospitality was warm and welcoming and the pace of life was relaxed.  Heaven on earth!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho was obviously a well-known and respected local who had great influence within his community.  His knowledge of both current and historical events ensured there was always a story to listen to - no matter the location.  His matter of fact and flexible approach enabled him to meet the needs of the group - even at short notice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a basic courtesy it is polite to learn some words of Turkish.  It is very much appreciated by the locals and I found it useful at the airport when I had a potential excess baggage issue......  :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The balance between organised outings and free time was perfect.  There was no opportunity to be bored as there was so much on offer in Kas.  It was helpful having the evening briefs as it allowed the group to get together and decide on evening activities, such as dinner together if they so wished.  This is useful when people are travelling on their own and may not feel confident about going out to dine alone.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Don't get caught by the cows!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was definitely the last day. The views as we climbed higher and higher up the side of the valley were breathtaking and the huge vultures (?) circling the thermals at the top were beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richia Astridge was a very good leader and guide and never lost enthusiasm for the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wax ear plugs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Glad I went with Exodus.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Starry Nights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stars at night - so so many more than we see in our light polluted world.The freshly baked Saharan bread baked in the sand every morning and night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - every morning we had a "lesson" from him while the other guys packed up the camp and loaded the camels.  The lessons covered all sorts of things like the geography, politics and history of the area, Islam and one day we all learnt how to write our names in Arabic. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the weather.  We arrived in torrential rain and a hailstorm.  The walking is pretty flat and is relatively easy.  The challenge is really dealing with the sudden drop in temperature when the sun goes down in the evening and the sudden rise when it comes up again in the morning. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a strict vegetarian or vegan this trip may not be for you.  I am a non meat eater as was someone else on the trip and for the first two days (until the meat ran out) our meals clearly came from the same pot as a meat stew/tagine/couscous but without the actual lumps of meat in it.  I can understand the difficulties as there is only really one pot available for the meals and we both decided just to accept the situation and eat it.  There was a vegan in the group who had more difficulties.  After the first couple of days when there was no meat left every meal was vegetarian as were all the lunches. Other than this issue the food was excellent for a trekking trip, hot and plentiful food at night and refreshing salads at lunchtime.