Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Over the plateau and higher yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up a pathway away from our camping site, I heard the deep gong of an evening  bell and wound my way towards a distant monastery.  Greeting an old nun who came out to greet me with a bow, she took me up the steps to the shrine and taught me the ritual of paying homage of the bodhisattva. Then she tied about my neck a wall hanging and blessed me. Camping beneath Ganden monastery in Tibet we clambered up the hill side to sit on the wall of an enclosed courtyard and watched, by the light of the moon , the monks debating  in bright red-clothed groups.Scrambling out our frost-coated tent, before us were snow-covered mountains. The air was fresh and the sky a brilliant blue. There was silence and stillness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick Fulford was the quintessential leader. There was nothing he couldn't do and little he didn't know. From mending the truck to easing a passenger's panic attack, you could rely on him absolutely. He gave us the freedom to do what we wanted but adviced and guided as he saw fit. He was always there - in the background and foreground - but never an oppressive or authoritarian presence. At the end of the trip we all agreed we'd travel anywhere under his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on an overland trip and don't worry about the money or time. You will never regret it.  Don't fear being caught in a group that you can't get away from but you have a lot of time to yourself to wander about small towns, markets and villages on your own, and alone you meet the most extraordinary people. 'Adventure' holidays are fun but nothing compares, culturally or personally, to the overland trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is tragedy that Exodus is down-sizing the overland trips. From having done a number of 'adventure' holidays with other companies, nothing compares to the experience of the extended overland journey. I am convinced that with proper marketing they would be very popular and that poeple would be willing to set aside the money and time to do them. I would recommend anyone to do such a trip once in their life time.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A Splendid Walking Holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A really good walking holiday, based in a super little village in a really scenic valley

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A dedicated full-time walk leader with vast local knowledge and an obvious empathy with the area and the local community. He ensured that the group enjoyed the holiday to the full.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The harder walks are taken at a steady pace.. The views are spectacular and the Mountain Hut lunches really special. If you are reasonably fit and used to ten mile walks back home go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel and the whole holiday were excellent value
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A mix of active fun including cycling, white water rafting, hiking in amazing scenery combined with

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a nearby volcano gently erupt whilst relaxing with a cocktail in the spa hotel's swim up pool bar after a day's cycling through beautiful scenery is a memory i will keep forever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared that the standard of hotels in Panama is not on par with those of Costa Rica.  Also the crossing from Costa Rica to Panama involves walking along quite a long rickety bridge across the border.  This is a fun adventure but can be a bit of a pain if your luggage is heavy - you can't really wheel it along the bridge.   Consequently, its worthwhile bringing a medium sized bag with you.  That way you can take just the few beach essentials needed for the couple of days spent in Panama and leave your main luggage with the coach in Costa Rica.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A breath of fresh air at Christmas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was just great to be cycling in the sunshine at Christmas, out in the fresh Andalucian air

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was really helpful and good fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your clipless pedals if you have them and they can be fitted when you arrive
  • Reviewed October 2007

    The Haunting Music of Monument Valley

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Monument Valley, led by Jimmy, our Navajo guide was magical.  The Navajo guides take you to places not permitted  by other guides, so it is worth the effort to try to get the servces of Jimmy.  He enjoys explaining about his life and culture and will answer any questions you may have.  He carries with him a drum and a wind instrument, which he plays when you arrive at a special location.  We have all seen Monument Valley in westerns but nothing prepares you for the sheer size of the sandstone rock structures, their beauty and power.  That was the highlight of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was enthusiastic and did everything to help us throughout the journey.  She chose wisely for our picnic lunches and the good selection meant there was something for everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I travelled In October, a good month to go, but ensure you have warm and cold weather clothing with you.  It was hot in Las Vegas but colder as we travelled elsewhere.  It snowed overnight when we were at Bryce Canyon.  This was great as we revisited and took more photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip, it may be short but you see and do a lot.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Polar Bear magic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt the most inspirational part of our trip was seeing two families of mother polar bears with twin cubs from the ship at really close quarters.   The captain hovered the ship, the bears were unconcerned - we must have looked like a big ice berg.  Knowing the bears habitat is under such threat from global warming, I feel very priviledged to have seen them for myself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well, what can you say about Paul Goldstein's leadership? over the top, loud, enthusiastic, full of himself.  On the other hand the regular leader Woody was great without the noise!  There were so many really knowledgable members of staff that every outing was a treat - It didnt matter whose zodiac you were in they all were so enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We stayed one night in Oslo both going out and coming home and this I can thoroughly recommend.  It provided a good break in the journey and was completely different from Spitzbergen.  It was just lovely to sit in the sun enjoying a beer by the harbour on the way back having spent ten days dressing up in many layers of clothing and boots.  The hotel by the airport was fine.  It's in such a good position and the train ride into the centre of Oslo is so easy.  If you are a 'senior' you can get a discount on the train fare but you have to go to the ticket booth in the airport to buy your ticket rather than using the machines on the station.For the ship, take many layers of light clothing.  You will need liners for your gloves and three pairs of socks.  Neoprene or sheepskin boot liners will keep your feet warm.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    JP

    It was All you could expect

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The very detailed knowledge of the leader and his organisational skills. He made it. The sense of achievement on reaching O Ceibeiro (1,300m) and the hearty Galacian meal which started with Caldo Gallego soup. The meals were terrific.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a treasure

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Laundry facilities are not availableBring your own outlet plug for washbasins and baths - previous travellers seem to have borrowed them in many places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I could do it again
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    We were going to go camping, but it was all a bit tentative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although not actually part of the set holiday, on the free day we took the cable car from Chamonix to the Aquille du Midi, and on a clear day that is absolutely worth doing.  Especially as we see it up in the distance from the walks on most of the following days.  It really is high enough to feel the lack of oxygen, which was a first for me.  Nice place for a cigarette, too ;) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Oliver had quite obviously been doing this for years, and knew the area and the walks like the back of his hand.   For several days he would remind is that we'd see marmots at quarter to two on one walk, and he was right.  He also had a natural ability to quietly roll out terrible puns, which often wouldn't register until later.The only leader I have known to use his nokia communicator to email ahead our drinks order to the refuge from halfway up a mountain. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Watching the sun rise against snow peaked mountains was an unforgettable experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight  was completing the Inca trail and arriving at Machu Picchu after the crowds had gone. There were many other memorable moments - including wonderful condor sightings, the tranquility of the reed islands on Lake Titticaca, colourful processions, views cross the altiplano and magnificent Inca ruins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was the difference between a great trip and an outstanding one. His quiet passion for his country, its history, its peoples and its environment was conveyed to us effortlessly. He was knowledgeable, considerate, helpful and well organised. On the mercifully few occasions when problems arose, he was able to resolve them with the minimum of fuss.The best trip leader we have ever had and a most engaging companion. We were sorry to bid him farewell. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off the Inca trail by fears of altitude sickness. We were thoroughly acclimatised by the time we started trekking and we all made it  - the itinerary and length of the trip are real benefits in this respect. In contrast we became aware of some other travellers who had experienced shorther acclimatisation periods and had to turn back.There were some long days in the bus early on in the trip but frequent stops and the scenery made these bearable.The Amazonian rain forest was a disappointment - little wildlife and a lot of logging and burning. If it's only rain forest you are after go somewhere like Costa Rica.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The extra cost  for good quality hotels was worth paying and all the accommodation was comfortable. The cook worked wonders on the Inca trail
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It's only a ten minute walk and not very steep!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't really decide!  It was a combination of a beautiful location, fantastic sights a great guide and a brilliant group of people!!! And of course topped by Maria's cooking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, very knowledgable.  He is obviously very passionate about this part of Spain!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would not hesitate to recommend this particular trip.  The cortijo is wonderful and you are made so welcome.
Call us on 0208 772 3936