Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    One of the most memorable trips I've ever done

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess that when most people think of Peru they think of Macchu Picchu.  Whilst this was undoubtedly the star of the show (it will definitely live up to all your expectations) there is so much more to Peru: stunning Andean scenery, clourful and friendly people, surprisingly delicious food and the amazing amazonian rainforest.  If you want a taste of what Peru has to offer but only have 2 weeks, this trip would be hard to beat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader was excellent.  Friendly, easy-going but well organised.  The trip ran smoothly and followed the itinery with very few delays.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a hat and plenty of sun-screen for use in the Lake Titicaca area.  At the high altitude the strength of the sun can very easily cause sunburn if you're not careful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For a real challenge do the 1 day trek on the Inca Trail from Km 88 to Macchu Picchu.  There may be times when you question your sanity (I know that I had several of these moments) but the view of macchu Picchu from the Sun Gate (not to mention the feeling of acchievement when you get there) is unforgetable.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Fire and water

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all pretty amazing: climbing up a volcano in Guatemala, swimming in the warm seas off Roatan, white water rafting in Costa Rica, seeing red hot lava streaming down a volcano while having dinner on a hotel terrace in La Fortuna, watching baby turtles hatch on the wild beaches of Tortugero, catamaran trip in Bocas del Toro, where we snorkelled and saw dolphins playing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very organised, approachable and good fun. Had valuable local knowledge of activities and places of interest to see in all the different areas, including the best restaurants and bars!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's great if you know a little Spanish. I wish had learned before I went; I think it would have added more to the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I travelled as part of a group of ten friends to Kilimanjaro this year and it was amazing for every one of us.  The fact that we all left the mountain friends is testament to the amount of support we got from the local operator, Exodus uses.  It was amazing that we all made it to Kibo Huts and all started the final climb.  Unfortunately, AMS got the better of some of us, but most made it to Gilmans point and further to Uhuru Peak.  We certainly owed our success to the motivation and care our guides and their team, provided.  Tanzania is a beautiful country and I would definitely go back to visit.  The Chaggar and Masai people are most welcoming and have a great sense of humour.  We continue to miss our guides, who became friends.  Though we are sure they are busy safely escorting other parties up and down the great Kilimanjaro.  The hotels we used were all safe and clean, perfect for one nights rest before and after the mountain.  The fact that they managed to launder all our mountain stained clothes in less than 4 hours ready for our 6am departure was a real bonus!  Enduring memories include the clear views of the starlit heavens, amazing!  Sun rise above the clouds.  The guides and porters, and knowing that given all the conditions you got as far as you could go.  The rush of oxygen as you descend the slopes gives you an elated feeling that you carry with you for weeks to come.  Unforgettable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An amazingly strong person, both physically and emotionally.  Humbling. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to get very very dusty.  Also, AMS really does randomly effect people.  Though if you have a prediposed disposition, expect it to flare up as you will be at high altitude and will be expending a lot of energy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Exodus for taking the time to choose a well regarded local operator.  All out team appreciated the hard work the guides and porters put in.  More work can still be done for better equipment for the porters as there is still heavy reliance on donations, which are not of uniform quality.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Slipping into a time warp...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The setting off the coast of Lycia, surrounded by green warm sea was very peaceful and beautiful. There was little sense of the outside world intruding  - no roads and settlements except for those small ones we landed at to explore. Complete peace, away from the hurly - burly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our captain also cooked, and was good at both sailing the boat and providing wonderful meals. He knew what he was doing, and offered us things we would enjoy. Inevitably, there was a bit of a split in the age range between older and younger people, with some happily in the middle. Sometimes this meant a bit of a clash in terms of people wanting quiet or music, but there were ways of resolving it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alovely holiday. Bring your own music if you don't want to listen to other people's on the sound system! though we all enjoyed the Turkish music.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    exciting holiday in moving water

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rafting, paragliding and caving

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders, for whitewater rafting and kayaking, paragliding and canyoning, were reliable and nice. Safety was always top priority.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whitewater kayaking was for me the most exciting activity, but it is demanding and you need to be really fit. You should not be overweigh for caving, as there are some extremely narrow passages. Hydrospeed is difficult and may even be dangerous if you hit a rock. Have dinner at restaurants nearby hotel Alp that have good food and are cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had showers the first days, so it was  tough. The holiday became deflinitely better with fine weather.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    An amazing experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kas, itself

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good fun and familiar with all the routes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of suncream.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Iceland - AWESOME !!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning scenery / Wonderful waterfalls / and Great Glaciers and Glacier walking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly / funny and felt safe under his expert guidance

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more layers than you think you will need - it's cold in February :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try everything ..... if you don't like it just don't try it again !!!!Go in the winter so that you have a chance to see the Northern Lights ......... breathtaking and awesome just don't do it justice.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Fun in the Winter Sun

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding I  could ride the trails all  day without getting knackered and still  enjoy  the good company in the eveenings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    rudi  made the holiday. He was friendly knowledgeable and friendly  whist being unobtrusive.He organised the meals and hotels fantastically! A super star! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go  for it! Enjoy!! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    hard work but worth it

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    standing on top of aneto on a perfect daymountains and lakes appearing through the mistflowers everywhere except the bare rock

    What did you think of your group leader?

    helpful and encouragingI would have liked a bit more local knowledge - but that's just me

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel as light as possible. One day has 6 hours uphill, 6 down then a killer up to get to the refuge. No-one is going to worry if you don't have clean clothes every day and there's not a huge amount of time for reading unless you're very antisocial. But you do need to be prepared for cold and wet - our first day was in cloud and temp went down to 3.5C (in July)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the Pyrenees are a great place to go, the scenery is varied and always fantastic - if you like that sort of thing!  This trek goes through a really good part but isn't a doddle,  though it is well planned in leading up to the hard 2 days
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The children loved the experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting outside the village house in the mountains with the British & Turkish children all playing the games together as one, proving that the language barrier did not exist.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jan was an excellent guide & leader who seemed more an integral part of the group rather than just a paid leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really can get seriously hot in the summer! Being able to swim will increase your activity options a lot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you were to book all the activities, it would not leave much time for exploring the area on your own, as included in the holiday are two 2 day excursions. We thought that 3 extra activities each week was about right.
Call us on 020 8772 3936