Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Claire Mills

    So glad I did this

    I'd been looking at this trip for a couple of years but never thought I was fit enough to do it. This year was now or never. I would highly recommend putting the training in beforehand as doing a 50-60 mile club ride once a week isn't going to cut it for 6 days doing between 100 - 140km and around 2500m of climbing each day. Climbs are epic (you will find yourself in the pain cave on occasion) and the downhills are sweet as anything and will leave you grinning from ear to ear. Do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Col D'Aubisque, realising that even though I'd spent time in the pain cave I was alive and the descent off the top was one of the best ones ever! I was still smiling half an hour later. This was the most physical and mentally demanding things I've done and seeing the Med at the other end was wonderful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Claud was superb - up there with the best of the Exodus guides. I was a little surprised initially that he wasn't out riding with us, but it worked really well with him being our support for the trip. Always happy and couldn't do enough for us. If I did this trip again, I'd be asking for Claud

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put the training in beforehand - it'll make the whole experience more enjoyable. Do not forget your sudocrem, chamois cream and various other lotions as it's a long time in the saddle each day. Take clothes for all weathers. Our first day it rained, then for the rest of the time it was pretty fresh first thing and then warmed up so layers were essential. Breakfasts in the main tended to be croissants, yoghurts, bread (repeat). I'm glad I took my own cereal. There's a plentiful supply of bananas, peanut M&M's (a week later I'm still weaning myself off them, thanks Claud), fruit, nuts and other snacks. Oh and Strava kept adding 600m onto all my rides so Garmins were a lot more accurate. We didn't have a lot of downtime of an evening so this is not a relaxing holiday :-) You don't need the routes in advance.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Dennis Jenkins

    Highlights of Albania

    This was an excellent tour with a lot covered in the 10 days enabling us to understand the difficult times Albania has gone through as well as opening up the many things it has to offer as a destination. It was a busy trip but did not feel rushed at any of the places we visited as it has not yet fully embraced mass tourism (although some places like Butrint no doubt get very busy in the summer months).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but the mountain scenery is stunning and there is plenty of it! Also the food was very good especially the excellent, wholesome lunch we had at the village house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edjon was really excellent. Obviously very passionate about his country, he made every effort to make sure we saw as much of Albania as he could and gave us a thorough understanding of how the country existed under a very repressive regime and how it is now trying to move forward.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now before it changes too much. Also, very little time is spent in Tirana if you take the group flight via Vienna. If you take the direct flight from Gatwick a day earlier, by staying an extra night in Tirana, it gives you nearly a full day to explore the city yourself and also more time in Kruja at the end as it doesn't depart until around 9pm.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the lunch at the local house was excellent in every way and the family very welcoming, it did not really represent a typical local village home. Also, to cover as much as we did later in the autumn could prove difficult with the shorter day lengths. Maybe extending the tour by a couple of days would help. Certainly, 2 nights in Berat would be well worthwhile.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    diane Mcdermott

    Full on fun!

    This was an excellent trip which delivered exactly what it said it would. The main downside is the long days in the bus between stops and the fact that as it stands there is a very limited amount of time to spend in Cusco. However, the scenery over the Andes is spectacular, as is the view of Peruvian life the bus affords.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely Machu Picchu for me. I was just glad to get there! Spectacularly atmospheric.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was a thoroughly professional tour leader who engaged and considered everyone in the group. He was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his subjects and made the tour come to life with his information about Peru, the Incas and the local wildlife. He was extremely kind and caring when I was ill and took active steps to support me. He organised the group well and gave options, but I felt he was hampered by the need to get everyone to the right place at the right time throughout the trip which at times made things feel rushed. Individual down time is limited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unfortunately before I left I had to forego the Inca trail owing to a mobility problem. It was definitely the right decision. If you are in anyway unsure of your ability to cope, do the Moonstone Trek which though higher, allows for some support with horses if you are struggling. With the Inca trail, there is much more limited potential for support. Also you MUST have good insurance! I took out Exodus insurance just to be sure that I would be covered for everything I might need. Since I ended up in hospital for 4 days with altitude sickness, this was money well spent. ( Altitude sickness is real, but most people manage to acclimatise. Unfortunately, I didn't, but that is the exception rather than the rule.) The support team at Cusco were superb and I was so grateful for all their assistance since the rest of the group and the group leader were on the trail.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The biggest problem with this trip is that there are long spells of travelling then limited down time. We always seemed to need to be somewhere else which at times made it feel as if we were being herded at a pace slightly faster than we might have wanted. Bruce did his best to mitigate this by giving options and explaining his thinking so that everybody was in the know, but by the end of the trip, people were beginning to need a bit more leeway. This was entirely due to the fact that in Cusco in particular there was not enough time to see what the town had to offer or to explore local sites.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Justine Mole

    Brilliant holiday of a lifetime

    I've just come back from Peru and for someone who has never done a package holiday before, this one was absolutely fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Sun Gate after four days of trekking was incredibly emotional, it was hard at times and the altitude does affect you but with the encouragement of our guide/tour leader and the other trekkers we all made it. Getting to know other people on trip and our guide, we formed a close little group and hopefully will remain friends for years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was wonderful, we couldn't have chosen anyone better for our group, he was very knowledgeable, and interesting, he was kind and had a sense of humour, he knew when to push us and when to hold back and let us go at our own pace, he usually stayed back with those who were struggling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't ignore advice about altitude, we were all relatively fit but it still affected us in different ways, take it easy on the walk and don't push yourself. You won't lose weight as you can't go fast enough for aerobic exercise and you get fed too well, you get given plenty of snacks so don't really need your own.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were all really good but sometimes other guests are noisy, take ear plugs or be prepared to tell them off, you go to bed pretty early on this trip as there are a lot of early starts and long bus journeys. The views are incredible which makes the bus trips bearable and there was plenty of room on the bus to stretch out and sleep. Also if you want to do the plane ride over the Nasca Lines take an anti sickness tablet. I rented a sleeping bag and poles rather than taking my own and they were cheap and worked perfectly well, warm and clean bag and they even provided a cotton liner.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jae Bond

    A fabulous holiday in a lovely country

    It's a full on itinerary so not much chill time, but we saw a lot of a very beautiful country in a short time. This was my first trip to Croatia but I'm pretty sure not my last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many wonderful moments, the views on the last 2 days walking in Paklenica National Park (especially from the mountain hut at lunch time...), the beauty of the waterfalls in Krka NP - though we were very lucky to be at the end of the season - apparently it is usually very crowded. Also having a beer on the terrace of our hotel - Pansion Andelko - in Starigrad, watching the sunset over the sea just yards away. Lovely wine and some ofthe best sea bass I've had!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zeljko is an excellent guide, he is fun, knowledgeable, helpful and passionate about Croatia. One of the best guides I've had on Exodus trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I don't often use walking poles, but I was very glad I had one with me on this trip as it helped a lot on the downhill parts of some of the walks. I would recommend the end of September as a time to go, we were lucky with our weather and it was nicely warm for all our walks and generally it was less crowded than other times of the summer. I would also recommend checking the flight times and think about booking your own. The trip feels very short otherwise as we got to our hotel at 10:30pm on day 1 and left at 5:00am on day 8!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walking varies a lot in grade which is nice from the waterfalls in Krka which is a nice stroll to the last 2 days which were much harder but this adds to the holiday. The landscapes and views are so different on each walk, all very beautiful and opened my eyes to a part of the world that I've never thought about visiting before. I'll be back.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Gilbert

    Petra and wadi rum trek

    A great trek thru the wadi rum desert,highlights of seeing Petra are amazing.Tour guide and helpers very friendly,would def recommend trip. Exodus needs to buy new tents,you have to put these up yourself but many were broken which upset some Trekkers,guide said he has relayed this back but doesn't seem to get heard! Water is suppose to be supplied but we had to buy six bottles each,that's 78 bottles so not eco friendly exodus? Especially when some of the rubbish is being burnt on campfire!!!! All in all tho this trip is a big tick off of list and worth a go.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking thru and getting first glimpse of the treasury in Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Was very friendly,socialised with the group and loved to tell camp fire stories at night!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of walking thru sand which can be tiring so be prepared. Also it says that as an option take wet wipes,no no no,you MUST take wet wipes or for three days you will not be washing! Toilet is behind a rock you find and cover in sand after😏 but that's wild camping for you. Plenty of snacks as well.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jo and Simon Lord

    Superb holiday

    This was a full and energetic holiday as we travelled across the Cape. We saw a wide variety of wildlife, wonderful scenery and, thanks to our guide and driver, learned so much about S.A. society and the places we travelled through. The walking was at the level of the grade, over the two weeks we climbed nearly 5000m, over terrain that varied from sand dunes to high mountains. We stayed at a variety of accommodation, some of it quite unique and lovely, such as the de Hoop nature reserve.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, but seeing a great white shark from a cliff top was awesome, as was seeing a group of Southern Right whales and a tiny baby elephant. The Alexandria trail had amazing views and landscapes and the night spent in the (very civilised) hut was fun. We had a wonderful braai (bbq) at de Hoop under southern constellations, met a tortoise at a picnic lunch, ate at a trendy Cape Town steak house, and walked along a rough coastal path (the otter trail) to see a large group of dolphins catching lunch. The day up and down Table Mountain was also great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon, ably supported by driver Warren, were both excellent. Simon planned and managed our itinery very well, so that we got the maximum out the walking and sightseeing opportunities. He and Warren were always willing to discuss any aspect of S.A society, which greatly added to what we got from the holiday, as well as enthusiastic about spotting and identifying wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days of activity- a lot packed into every day. Long trousers/gaitors good for the sand dunes on the Alexandria trail to avoid sand in your boots.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    v Roberts

    Wonderful bears!

    Beautiful scenery, fantastic guide. Observing bears was a real highlight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing mother and cubs at the hide and their interaction with the wild boars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julian "I'll tell you later" is a charming, knowledgeable, engaging guide. We learned a lot about bears, other fauna and flora, the culture and history. I've done a number of these trips and he's one of the best guides I've ever had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found some of the walking quite strenuous - you must be fit. Walking sticks are useful.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Beverly Rietmann

    Wonderful hikes - terrific staff.

    It goes without saying that the hikes on the Amalfi Coast are spectacular. My particular favorite was the hike around Vesuvious. My tour had a very inauspicious start - my luggage did not arrive with me and airport personnel were unable to provide information about where it ended up. Due to the above-and-beyond efforts of my tour leader, the hotel staff and their local contacts I got it back in just one day. Kudos to Exodus for employing such competent and caring people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when my missing luggage was wheeled I to the dining room while our entire group applauded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the term "walking" with a grain salt. That was HIKING, folks!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Beverly Rietmann

    Wonderful hikes - terrific staff.

    It goes without saying that the hikes on the Amalfi Coast are spectacular. My particular favorite was the hike around Vesuvious. My tour had a very inauspicious start - my luggage did not arrive with me and airport personnel were unable to provide information about where it ended up. Due to the above-and-beyond efforts of my tour leader, the hotel staff and their local contacts I got it back in just one day. Kudos to Exodus for employing such competent and caring people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when my missing luggage was wheeled I to the dining room while our entire group applauded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the term "walking" with a grain salt. That was HIKING, folks!
Call us on 0208 772 3936