Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Amanda Patton

    Amazing trip - Inca Trail, Titicaca and Nazca

    Absolutely amazing trip, wonderful guide and brilliant companions. The journeys are long but the scenery is surprisingly varied and the weather/light changes all the time - you would need to view the experience of the travel as a full part of the holiday, and not just a means to arrive - personally I loved it! The trail is tougher than I'd expected (because of the altitude) - day 2 was hard but the sense of achievement huge as a result and it made reaching Machu Picchu itself a very emotional experience (which I hadn't expected it to be). I loved that we saw so much of the country, the Ballestas Islands were beautiful, we saw penguins and sea lions and heaps of other wildlife, including big red crabs! Nazca was stunning, I'm so glad to have seen it and the flight was a great way to do so, while the haunting quality of Lake Titicaca and its extraordinary people made for a lovely quiet and relaxed finish to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sight of Machu Picchu mountain from our campsite on the third night of the trail, with sunbeams shining through cloud onto the ruins of Phuyupatamarca below. Utterly beautiful; we sat on a rock (with feet in diy spa bags!) watching the light fade. Watching an eagle for about 20 minutes, swooping and landing right beside us in the mist at the top of Dead Woman's Pass. And corny, I know, but the first sight of Machu Picchu is hard to beat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was amazing - 70% Inca and so proud (rightly) and knowledgeable of his heritage - he absolutely brought to life the stories, the people, the culture and sophisticated building skills of the Inca, along with being equally knowledgeable about the other sites, landscapes, flora and fauna that we saw along the way. Way exceeded anything I would expect of a guide; he was also patient, kind, and a fun travelling companion. He made great recommendations for dinners, even finding a restaurant where we could make our own Pisco sours, and picked up on our personal interests so he could add to them with extras and observations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets much colder once the sun goes down than I had realised and pretty much most days had four seasons - from hot sun to hail! I was able to borrow some extra thermal layers but would recommend at least one long-sleeved merino top for early evening/night time - even with a 3/4 season sleeping bag you needed all your clothes on at night (plus hat and gloves!). Also we all underestimated the effects of altitude and most of us were short of breath at the very least. While the trail is marked as a 'moderate' we all felt - for the second day's climb to Dead Woman's Pass - that it was tougher than this - not because there are a lot (a lot!) of steps but because climbing them at altitude was so much harder than it would be at sea level.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've wanted to walk the Inca Trail all my life and it has been a wonderful experience, way above what I had hoped for it. I loved seeing the country, varying from desert (both flat and mountainous) through steep green mountains to high plains. The wildlife is fantastic, we saw eagles, hummingbirds, amazing butterflies and orchids, and heard a toucan (though couldn't see it!). The other half of our group (doing the Moonstone trek) also saw condors. Machu Picchu itself is something I think everyone should see for themselves! You can't quite believe you're there - and the insights from Bruce made it even more amazing.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Katy Smith

    Cycling in Madagascar

    This trip had everything we expected and so much more! Fantastic scenery which changed day by day, varied terrain from good roads to off road dirt tracks, geysers, waterfalls, natural swimming pools, beautiful coloured mountains, rain forest, savannah, lemurs, chameleons, great company, lovely friendly locals and a wonderful guide! The bikes were of excellent quality and were well maintained both before we started and during the trip. The accommodation was simple, clean and comfortable and the food was good with plenty of choice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are far too many to single out one but it was lovely to see so many different types of lemurs in their natural habitat, especially the tiny mouse lemur seen at night in the rain forest. The scenery was spectacular and there were many rewarding long descents following hot, slow climbs! Swimming in the natural pools was a fantastic experience and It was also lovely to be greeted in the villages by children running to the road, jumping up and down, waving and cheering!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mel was a wonderful guide. He was enthusiastic, great fun and very motivational. He was very knowledgeable about his country, its people and culture as well as the wild life. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he looked after us all extremely well. One day our progress was halted due to a collapsed bridge and he worked tirelessly through the night trying to find a way to continue the next day. Thankfully the bridge was repaired in record time and we were able to continue with only a slight reduction in kilometres! He has a great sense of humour and he is truly inspiring. His love of Madagascar and its people shines through! He is definitely one of the best Exodus guides we've had. He makes everyone feel special - including organising 2 birthday parties!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All of the issues mentioned in previous reviews from last year have been addressed and the trip is now running like a well oiled machine. The bikes were of excellent quality and very well maintained both on arrival and during the trip. We had very few mechanical issues en route but those we had were sorted efficiently and effectively. Alain the bike mechanic was great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip now in its second year is one not to be missed. If you love cycling, a new country with varying scenery and lots of unusual wildlife then this is the trip for you. The local people in the villages are delighted to see you and you will be sad to leave!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Fides Schwartz

    Beautiful autumn cycling

    Great trip with a wonderful group and just sooo much to see plus lots of great food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waving to Kaliningrad (Russia) from the lithuanian part of the curonian spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional, knowledgeable and fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book an extra day in Tallinn and Vilnius at the beginning and end of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be wonderful, if there was a possibility to extend the trip a little bit to include an extra day in Riga.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Caroline Bradley

    The Silk Route

    Really exciting trip, very full on and packed with seeing the best of all 3 countries that you visit. Be prepared for long but very rewarding days of sightseeing and travelling. Go with the flow! Very friendly and hospitable people. Eating out is cheap and there is plenty of choice of good quality meat (lamb, beef) kebabs/ pasties! (or the nearest thing to them, yummy) dumplings, paste/noodle/bread and salads. Local beer very acceptable and even the best vodka is very cheap and taste great.. Great photo opportunities and load of very interesting architecture such as Madrasah's and mausoleums to see! Scenery up in mountains is stunning with waterfalls and turquoise lakes. Staying in the Yurt in the mountains in Kyrgyzstan was wonderful. No light pollution so you can see the milky way and shooting stars! But be prepared for it to be very basic and rustic! We ended up playing hand ball with a international team of people staying at the camp site and then sitting round the camp fire singing and drinking vodka watching the night sky.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying in the Yurt in the mountains in Kyrgyzstan was wonderful. No light pollution so you can see the milky way and shooting stars!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was a composite professional and very knowledgeable Lisa was a lovely person who worked hard, and would certainly benefit from a bit of training (fine tuning) to make her even better :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See comments above in summary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See comments above in summary.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    ah mak chow

    kilimanjaro lemosho route

    amazing holiday, professional n experienced guides. felt extremely safe. look no further book with exodus. i"'ll do this trip all over again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    scaling Baranco wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    professional n experienced. felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    recommend Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All guides n porters, extremely helpful would like to do it all over again.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Lyn Wales

    Baltics Cycling

    Good trip overall for both culture and cycling. You learn a lot about the Baltic countries and their uneasy relationship with Russia. The cycling was mostly flat, which is hard in the legs especially in a head wind. At times their were unavoidable long flat straight stretches on roads which were dull.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the farmhouse with museum on the Gulf of Finland. The location, lunch, and history provided by the owners were all great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vaida was excellent. Knowledgable, helpful, personable and always 'ready, ready'. Even though she was suffering with a sore throat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's colder than you think. Layers!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was brilliant. Had expected heavy dishes, but the restaurants chosen by Vaida gave us an excellent taste of all that the Baltics had to offer.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary-Ann Preston

    Picos de Europa, Spain

    A wonderful week walking in the stunning Picos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the noise, polution and demands of daily life, and being able to enjoy such beautiful landscapes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was really lovely. Very personable, relaxed and friendly, and knowledgable about the area and it's history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy your escape, the exercise and the views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the wonderful walking, our hotel, Torrecerreno, was a really great place with a very relaxed atmosphere - comfortable simple accommodation with plentiful and delicious food and such friendly staff.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Reeves-Jones

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Matera was beyond expectations and the whole trip was one amazing sight and experience after another. Guiseppe, our guide, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and amusing. This was an excellent first group walking trip and I will definitely book to go on others, based on this experience. The day off was excellent and I would highly recommend visiting Polignano al Mare and Monopoli. Guiseppe provided great supporting information for both sites after the initial possible options information.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera and it's recent history have left a lasting impression.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As previously mentioned, he could not have been bettered. Having been brought in at short notice, to cover for our scheduled guide on what should have been his week off, his dedication to the group and our enjoyment of the trip could not be faulted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you feel like too much of a mole (talpa) in your allotted room in Matera, do not hesitate to see if there is something more suitable available. It worked for us!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Netherwood

    Great trip, great guide, and great group

    The atmosphere along the Camino is great, you quickly lose count of how many time you exchange "Bon Camino" with others on the way. The country side is lovely, especial the closer you get the Santiago. Our guide Daniel was excellent, he kept us going but without being bossy. I don't know how he did it but he created an experience that we all enjoyed. The accommodation was really well chosen - the first night was little bland, but after that we stayed in really charming places, all were clean, comfortable, and welcoming. Our group was quite diverse, both in age, fitness and backgrounds, but we all got on really well - makes the last day rather sad. There is no doubt about it, Spain really is hilly, so be prepared, and the last day is long (I skipped a bit in the van) but well worth it. I'm a vegetarian. The trip notes mention the need to be "flexible". Spain is not the best place for vegi food, Daniel did his best, but don't expect a wide variety - but you should still go!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many to chose from - hurtling down a hill in 10 minutes when it took hours to climb it, arriving in the main square at Santiago de Compestella, dinners with the group, mist over the mountains. One of my rooms with a balcony over the way itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really really nice guy who knows what he is doing, puts himself out to make sure we all had a great holiday. How he put up with us asking how many hills there were today I don't know. A real star. Thanks Daniel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for the hills, my cycling at home is on the flat. If it gets too much there is always the van I did it in September - you need a packable jacket for the cold starts that then become warm days. Can be cool in the evening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you! Already cogitating over my next trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Barbara Robert

    Land of the Jaguar

    For those interested in wildlife and the possibility of seeing a Jaguar in the wild, this trip to the Pantanal of Brazil is an affordable winner. Logistics were well coordinated, accommodations were fine though it should be noted the Jaguar House Boat is not luxurious but more than adequate for its remote location on the Paraguay River. The three nights at the very nice Araras EcoLodge were a pleasant bonus. Our guide, Tony, could not have been better. He is experienced, knowledgable and very pleasant. With his skill we had three jaguar sightings during our time on the Paraguay River. Contrary to the Exodus trip description, the majority of the time is spent scouring the river banks of the main river and its narrow channels. It was quite a long distance by small speed boat to the Taima Ecological Reserve and that was reserved only for our last day. According to Tony there are jaguars in the Reserve but they are more difficult to see and eluded us. However, we had excellent caiman, giant river otter and bird sightings. The abundance of birds in the Pantanal was extraordinary and I personally saw over 90 different species. Tony knows them all! So, if you are "into" birds and jaguars, you will be well entertained. The majority of our group of 13 were interested in photography so that was enjoyable. One goes in the dry season to spot jaguars more easily but you will not see the Pantanal flooded as depicted in many photos. One needs to go in a different season for that experience; I am already dreaming of a return trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting my first jaguar in the wild!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Could not have been finer. Very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a could DSLR camera with 400mm lens if possible. Lots of long shots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While on the house boat, there is an option to go on a night land safari. Cost was $35 per person paid directly to the boat owner/rancher. Personally I felt it was overpriced for the experience.
Call us on 0208 772 3936