Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Vicki Nunn

    Steps, steps, steps, people, people and more people!

    If you don't like hoards of people or walking down flights and flights of stone steps don't go on this trip! Thought by October it might be a little quieter but no!! There are more beautiful places to walk with a greater variety of walks with far fewer people. One fellow traveller commented that you get basically 2 views just at different heights (one down to Amalfi and one down coast towards Positano and Capri). We couldn't face the hoards in either Capri or Pompeii after spending days on crowded buses (the worst day we spent 4 1/2 hours either waiting for, or sitting on, a crowded bus!) or in crowded Amalfi, Positani or Ravello! By the end of day 2 we could barely walk as our calves were in agony (a problem shared by many in the hotel). The walks are not aerobically demanding - it was actually a relief to go up (most walks are down!) and change the muscle usage and get the heart beating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Catching the bus from Naples (after much stress and research) and saving ourselves 143 euros!! The garden at Villa Cimbrone in Ravello was lovely (but not worth that 4 1/2 hours waiting for or on the bus) The ferry from Positano to Amalfi was rather nice

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You're self guided so not really applicable but Eduardo was around if you need him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can join the group transfer from the airport apparently (we didn't know this!). We stayed an extra night in Naples (Hotel Ideal - £37/night and near where the airport bus drops) so we could see Naples and take the bus to Bomerano next day which goes from around the corner from the Ideal hotel (in front of the Ramada hotel) at 10.30 and 2.30 on the Saturday. The bus costs 3.6 euros each where a taxi costs 150 euros so even with the night in a hotel it was still so much cheaper! If you want to train for this holiday go to the nearest multi-storey building, take the elevator to the top and walk down the stairs for a couple of hours every day for a week!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The website makes this sound a lovely romantic trip but we found it quite stressful, hard on the legs (but not in an energetic way!) and not the most satisfying walking holiday! On a plus point, the weather was great, the hotel good, the food tasty/varied and the pre-dinner cocktails delicious. Bomerano itself is a nice quiet village for a coffee or ice-cream on the square. Our fellow self-guided travellers were good company. If you go on the group holiday you will avoid the buses but not the crowds!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hilary Jones

    Such a great holiday!

    This was our first guided group tour so were a little unsure of what to expect, but the minute we met Justin our guide any uncertainty melted away. He met us with a warm welcome we were at ease immediately. Justin made the tour for us, he was informative and knowledgeable, enthusiastic with endless patience and went out of his way to ensure that we all had the best possible experience. The accommodation was always interesting and varied in great locations, we loved every minute. This a great trip with a safari, whale watching (in season) caves, wine, mountains beaches and of course Cape Town. We were sorry when it ended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me Hermanus, it was the whale festival and the atmosphere was amazing. We took a whale watching trip it was the most wonderful experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was just brilliant, so helpful knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take less clothes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A few members of our group had used Exodus on many occasions and I can see why, can't recommend them enough.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Russell Jones

    Great trip!

    A very enjoyable trip with lots to do and a full and varied itinerary. This was our fifth Exodus trip and once again we had a great group with a mix of ages and nationalities. Organisation was excellent and you'll get to see a lot of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our stay in a Sarajevo and a tour of the "Tunnel of Hope" was both horrifying and uplifting at the same time. It was interesting to hear personal stories from our guide who lived through the brutal siege. I now understand much more about how and why this conflict started, the complex politics of the region and ongoing issues that still need to be resolved. Another highlight for me was a trip to a mountain village for a hike and locally prepared lunch. The views were magnificent and it was great to see how the locals lived.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen Causevic was an excellent leader. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole trip ran very smoothly. He knew all the best restaurants and had plenty of suggestions for things to do in our free time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fair bit of sitting in a coach and take car-sickness pills if you are that way inclined! Our first bus was a bit too small for a full group of 18 including driver and guide with luggage having to be squashed into the passenger space. It was very quiet and comfortable though, as one would expect from a Mercedes. The the mountain roads were pretty challenging and a larger vehicle would have struggled to negotiate some of the bends and oncoming traffic. Take some walking boots or trainers and a waterproof jacket.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Richard Cooper

    Cycling in Sardinia

    Cycling in Sardinia was a great way to experience the differing scenery, and this combined with time spent at a different beach nearly every day for a swim - with the satisfaction of knowing you hadn't taken the easy option to get there - made for a perfect holiday. Along with this we had warm weather and sun in September, good hotels, and some fantastic food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final day where our group delivered not just a speech but song and poem to the guides, followed by other people in the same restaurant performing a perfect rendition of 'Volare'!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni and Simone had great knowledge of their homeland, and managed the holiday well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are quite a few hills of various sizes, two quite significant that go on for several miles each. If you are unsure about being able to keep up, then an eBike might be a good option to make your holiday more enjoyable.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Nigel Copestake

    Cycling Albania

    Didn't know what to expect, but it didn't disappoint. Really excellent tour guide. Fantastic scenery. One of those trips that just went smoothly, almost certainly due to the guides organisation. The cycling is described as moderate to challenging. At the time I would have said it was more challenging. However, upon reflection, I was pushing myself, which almost certainly made it feel more challenging. However, the last day of cycling was definitely challenging. It was also very rewarding and as with all of the Exodus trips I've been on, there's always the option of the bus, which for various reasons, some of our party took. The food was really good. Plenty of choice for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. There are plenty of mountain springs for water top-ups which was brilliant - tasted great! A fantastic trip which I won't forget with a guide who really did look after everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I like the challenge of a hill climb, so I would have to say the last day, cycling up and over the pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was truly amazing and really did go the extra mile. As previously mentioned, a trip doesn't run that smoothly without a lot of planning. He was also without a doubt a group leader you would want in any unexpected situation that might occur!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The mountain spring water is fine to drink. You get a bit of a taste for it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another tick for Exodus! Really excellent! I knew very little about Albania, which has now changed. A beautiful friendly country with fantastic scenery and food! Did I mention the spring water :)
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Anthony Turner

    Sun, sea and castles

    A really enjoyable week in Northern Cyprus which is a fascinating place to visit with a rich history and culture and beautiful mountain scenery. An ideal place to escape the cold weather back home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the five walks and the three mountain castles. For a major tourist destination, it was very peaceful up in the mountains with some amazing views. The optional trip to Famagusta is also highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was excellent and very knowledgeable about Northern Cyprus. A very experienced leader who seemed to know everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was very disappointed with my two flights with BA. Very poor value for money with a significant delay flying back and because it is classed as a short-haul route (despite the 4.5-5 hour flight time) there was no entertainment and you had to pay for food and drink. I would recommend shopping around for alternative options. Despite the advice in the trip note you also do not need to bring shoes to swim in. Our guide was not aware of any problems with sea urchins and the beaches visited are all sandy beaches with no sharp rocks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent mix of fairly easy walking (although even in October it was very warm) and fascinating archaeology. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Gisela Aitken-Davies

    Exceeded high expectations!

    August is the rainy season, but the early morning starts meant that we fitted a lot in before the impressive downpours that sometimes happened later in the day. The range of wildlife we saw was astonishing; I'd picked this trip because of the visit to the Sloth Sanctuary, which was disappointing compared with the number of sloths that we saw in the wild. Our excellent guide was complemented by eagle eyed boat 'drivers' who also appeared to be keen and knowledgeable about wildlife and were ready and willing to nimbly propel the boats around to see something on the bank they had spotted: monkeys, lizards etc. The accommodation, in places, was not 5 star, but had its own charm and there is not that I would not happily revisit for one reason or another, even the very friendly one in Cahuita with its temperamental showers but very friendly owner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It really is difficult to pick one out. After the second day, by which time we had seen sloths, turtles, golden orb spiders, howler monkeys, we wondered what could be left. There was plenty! The sheer variety of ecosystems, places we stayed and activities meant this was unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas' passion for and knowledge about his subject was infectious. He was excellent at pitching his information at an audience which included some very experienced bird watchers and some relative newcomers, and his knowledge of all Costa Rican wild life was extensive so our trips out were informative and interesting. Andreas was very safety aware and took this, and people's satisfaction with arrangements, into account. Going the extra mile probably sums him up, especially with those people who were delayed because of Hurricane Harvey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella and poncho (covers your backpack) especially if going in the rainy season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd like to thank Exodus in London for their help with sorting out accommodation and rearranging flights back to the the UK after our flights via Houston were cancelled.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bill Thornton

    'Albania' why go there!

    'Albania' why go there? was something we heard many times from friends and family when we told them of our plans. Well firstly its off the beaten track, it isn't full of mindless tourists and its got some sense of mystique still. But mostly it is such an interesting place with such lovely people. My third Exodus cycling trip and the most challenging, it is more challenging than moderate in my opinion. We went in September and it was still fairly hot so the long climbs were a bit of a 'push'. I was tail end Charlie for most days, partly due to my frequent stops to take photos and I was not going to be rushed, all at my own pace. The point is that this trip allows this to happen, no pressure whatever you capability. The rear-guard van is never far behind so you are not on your own. The scenery here is amazing, both mountains and the coast. Albanians we met were lovely and you always felt safe and welcome. Bikes were good and days were planned well. Hotels were varied but all were more than adequate. There was a bit of culture thrown in which was interesting but not overdone. We were a large group of 16 but in no time at all we had all gelled and were supportive of each other and had many laughs and shared experiences. We have all shared our photos so we have a great bunch of memories. Most of my memories are of quiet roads, no people anywhere and incredible views made more amazing by people still living in a bygone age. Apart from start and end there are no significant transfers so this is a positive. Food was excellent and plenty of it too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first and last days are the most challenging climbs and so to finish them (last) I did feel I had achieved the challenge I knew lay ahead when I booked. Also to see real Albanian subsistence farming in action, people actually supporting themselves without food imports, selling food at the side of the road.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dhimo was 1st rate, very friendly, easy going and good at communicating. He was well organised and had all the food/snack stops well organised. Seamless all the way! He has a good knowledge of Albania in many ways and answered all kind of questions put to him. He worked well with our van driver as well. It was nice they both ate and socialised with us, something I didn't always witness on other trips I have done. Safety and accommodating everyone's wishes was always top priority.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the Group Leader suggestion to pool money for group meals, it saves so much time and works out cheaper too. Waterproofs may well be needed and long sleeve top for down hills. If you are partial to white wine then perhaps take a couple of bottles as there is none available on a couple of nights early in the trip. Also black tea is a rarity in some places so bring you PG Tips! Agree with Exodus/guide up front to go to Tirana for a short tour and lunch after arrival. This is a real bonus. Either bring £cash with you and change a lot on first day or use an ATM in Tirana. Food and drink is relatively cheap in Albania so for a 'full on' week week I only spent £200!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put off by the challenging nature, but try to be as fit as you can before arrival, spinning classes helped me. Remember its a holiday, take your time if necessary. Padded shorts a must as are gloves. they will provide a pannier if wanted but a small handle bar bag would be better for phone, camera and money etc. We arrived a couple of days earlier and hired a car and went to Berat, well worth the effort. We then met the group at the airport for the transfer.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Amanda Wiggill

    Highlights of Morocco

    This was an amazing adventure and a great way to see as much of the country as possible, experience the culture, learn about the history, and meet the friendly locals. We had a great tour leader and driver and stayed in some authentic accommodation sites from an auberge in Merzouga, a bedouin camp in the Sahara Desert, a kasbah in the High Atlas Mountains and a riad in Essaouira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing and inspirational moments that it's hard to choose. The Medina in Fez was fascinating and a true maze of local artisans. Riding a camel in the Sahara Desert and spending the night under the stars was fun and the beauty of Todra Gorge and the High Atlas Mountains were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour Leader Lahcen was brilliant and obviously loved his country, people and culture very much and was keen to share this with us. He had a great sense of humour and and did an amazing job of entertaining and bonding the group as well as sharing his knowledge. Lahcen went out of his way to ensure that we all got as much out of our time in Morocco as possible even inviting us to visit his moms house who graciously welcomed all 15 of us tourists into her home with mint tea and almonds. He also went out of his way to try and find shops for us to buy drinks and snacks from and a pharmacy when some needed imodium, to stopping for ATM's and banks when we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat if travelling from April through to September. Temperatures were just under or over 40°C each day when we went in September. Take Imodium as some of our group developed dodgy tummies though Lahcen was great at ensuring we visited a pharmacy for those who did not bring any. As advised by our local leader be careful when tipping or giving money to beggars especially children as this encourages their families not to send them to school.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to get a taste of Morocco and to experience the highlights this amazing country has to offer. Go with an open mind and attitude and you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mary Ziebell

    Beautiful hikes, beautiful sea and sky

    Coming back to Due Torri was really nice after hiking and exploring all day. The family run hotel is comfortable and they took great care of our group. The cooking demos were really fun and the food and wine was really good. The hikes were good physicial work outs, not to mention the scenery was spectacular. This tour is rated properly as moderate, but I would not consider the hikes as walking tour. Being a hiker in the mountains where I live, I was able to negotiate and feel physical good, but some people in our group did struggle. The 'path of the gods' hike was the highlight for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'path of the gods' hike was the best. Standing up above the sea, looking out, knowing I had got there on my own two legs was a thrill. The view just filled my heart with such joy. Also, the hike around the crater at Mount Vesuvius was unbelievable. What an experience.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was our group leader and I did like him. At times his pace was a little too fast and there were a couple of occasions where we had stopped for a rest and he just took off again, leaving a couple of us still sitting. Other than that, was a good leader, he did take care of us and lead us on some awesome hikes. My friend Beverly's luggage did not arrive in Naples with us and I'm pretty sure Severio and the Due Torri staff did some Italian/connection magic to get her luggage to her the next day

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is my first trip with Exodus and was pleased with how it went.
Call us on 020 8772 3936