Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2017
    Samantha Gargour
    11 guests, 11 game drives, 10 sightings... I always keep my expectations low in order not to be disappointed. This trip was anything but disappointing. Having wanted to join a tiger trip with Paul since 2012, my timing always seemed to be off. Not this time. Through the efforts of both Paul and our local guide Himanshu, we managed to be at the right place / right time on all game drives. It was hot, very hot, and worth every second of sweat and tears (yes, there were tears...especially with my first tiger sighting). You have to be patient and know that, as the title of the trip suggests, the focus is mainly on tigers, but the rewards....well....10 sightings, enough said.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To all intents and purposes, I have always wanted to see a tiger in the wild. Few people care enough to keep them there as much as Paul. His passion and efforts over the years to raise awareness of the plight of the tiger, the education and charity work he does towards preserving this species is the inspiration. Seeing them in the wild and understanding his motivation was humbling and a true privilege.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate, opinionated, doggedly determined - able to entertain the group at all times with an abundance of energy. Whether you are new to photography or have done it for years, there is always something to learn from Paul - you just have to keep the thick skin on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot, drink lots of water. Bring one of those dry hydro fibre towels with you, lightweight and quick drying to keep the sweat out of your eyes when trying to focus through your viewfinder. It is also very dusty, bring some sort of protection for your camera / lens (lightweight scarf or dust cover) - maybe even to cover your mouth and nose. Be patient, accept that wildlife is unpredictable and ask questions, the local guide's (Himanshu) knowledge is second to none. Make sure you have your travel insurance details to hand as this will be asked of you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tip graciously, this is their livelihood and the more incentive the locals have to appreciate tourist arrivals, the more efforts go into preserving the national park. A big thank you to all who made this possible. As always, Exodus customer service and follow up was very efficient and friendly.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Robert Lawton
    A fantastic well organised trip that was both friendly and professional made special by our guide Thierry.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We cycled in beautiful weather on quiet roads through some stunning countryside - topped off by achieving the ascent of My Ventoux - the descent wasn't bad either!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - friendly, well informed, patient & professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip and enjoy the scenery, food & cycling
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Angela Pugsley
    A good mix of walking, site seeing and free time (however not many options on the free day).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Pine Martin was the highlight of my trip in Tiscali & the Gorge walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was really good, he got the pace just right for the group & everything was well organised. Good description of the walks terrain and so you knew what to expect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles & boots are a must, the underfoot is quite rocky in parts, I felt it was an easy walk, it's the underfoot that makes it a Moderate. I'm not keen on heights, but there were no problems, as foot paths are quite wide and well marked. I didn't think the optional visit to the Grotta del Bue Marino, was worth the price (transfer to harbour/boat/entry), especially if you have seen cave systems before. However there isn't much to do on your free day otherwise. Take a kettle if you want hot drinks (not many staff around in the hotel), hairdryer can be provided at the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think it would be good to be a 2 centre based trip so you get to see another part of Sardinia, as there is not much to do in your spare time in Dorgali.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Helen Loveless
    Jordan is an incredible place in many ways and this trip was very well-organised to show us as much as possible. However, there were some things that let the trip - and us - down. As a keen cyclist I was disappointed with the actual distances we ended up cycling in this trip, they were never as long as the trip notes said they would be. Unfortunately the pace was also frequently too slow and there was only one cycle guide which meant the trip couldn't cater for different abilities. On other trips I've done there have been two, sometimes three guides to help people going at all speeds and this was a real downside here. It was very hilly in parts, which I enjoyed mainly, but it might not suit everyone. While our guide Wael was very informative, funny and good company, there were times when he seemed disorganised and he left us to go on another trip before seeing us back to the airport. A real disappointment was the snacks - basically we hardly had any! Strawberries on one day and a box of biscuits was passed around on a couple of days but then on both occasions disappeared, never to be seen again. We had dates precisely twice. Overall I thought this was really poor, especially as we had each given 30 Jordanian dollars towards snacks etc at the beginning of the week and 10x 35 is 350 Jordanian dinar which is early £400! We definitely didn't get value for money there at all. There were no cold drinks and when I asked we were promised we would stop and get some but that never happened. Another problem is the trip notes - the costing was out on everything. They recommend to bring about £350 - well I ended up having to take out another £300 over the trip and that was without buying anything major. Jordan is very expensive, especially if you drink alcohol - about £6-8 for a beer or glass of wine. Also all of the trips cost more than the notes said and I didn't do many of them. Exodus needs to update all of this asap. On the plus side, Petra was breathtakingly beautiful and inspiring, Jerash was also amazing and the desert was special too. It was a nice group of people and I am glad I experienced Jordan - it felt completely safe and most people were friendly and warm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping in the Wadi desert with the amazing family who cooked traditional food for us, the camel susnset trip, telling ghost stories round the campfire and sleeping under the stars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wael was friendly and funny and very well-informed. However, I felt he lost interest in us as a group at the end when we were close to going.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a lot more money than exodus suggests and insect repellents if you plan on sleeping outside under the stars. Definitely ride the camels by sunset. Be prepared that the cycling may be less than you'd expect.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great interesting country, one to see for sure.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Martha Chapman
    A wonderful introduction to this enormous island, combining the must-see sites (Etna etc.) with wine, cheese, chocolate, gelato and other tastings. A lot of movement with 6 different hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stunning church at Monreale. Our local guide in Palermo/Monreale, Marina, was exceptional, so knowledgeable and so much fun. And the visits to the markets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very kind and well meaning but inexperienced and her English not good enough for such a tour. (At one point there was almost a mutiny, which was averted when a Spanish-speaking Norwegian group member intervened and conversed with her in Spanish which she was more comfortable with than English.) This was my fourth Exodus tour in Italy and I'd have to say the guide was definitely the low point/biggest disappointment of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be nice if Exodus could include the room taxes, after paying so much for a tour it does seem very "cheap" that we must pay a Euro or two at every hotel. Some dinner suggestions at each stop as we were sometimes "dumped" in a hotel either on the edge of town or not visibly close to any restaurants. Also a farewell dinner inclusion would be nice.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Isabel Draper
    The fantastic experiences just kept coming! Each day felt as if it couldn't be bettered -- and then it was!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being punted through the Okavango Delta like a memsahib. Gazing into the eyes of a White Rhino from 15ft, who decided we were too boring to bother with and went back to chewing the grass. And the Victoria Falls -- words can't do them justice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco and Mira showed the professionalism I have come to expect from Exodus tour leaders, and were quietly keeping on top of the whole show without the clients knowing anything was happening. Very impressed they got us to the Delta despite extensive flooding when other tour groups didn't manage to reach it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're not experienced at camping, get the advice of someone who is to ensure you take the right things to the Delta -- I forgot a torch. The spray at Victoria Falls is considerable and it is impossible to keep everything dry. As the return to the UK is not long after, think in advance about what to wear and carry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another fantastic trip from Exodus!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Eleanor Hudson
    Such an amazing trip with the most spectacular views! Never trekked to this extent and the guides are amazing and help you the whole way so don't be put off! Met some amazing people, was great to see everyone constantly helping each other out!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the way down a few of us went out on the night and sat watching the stars with an Everest Beer. I saw 2 shooting stars and even saw Venus-most memorable moment in my life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Bikash Tamang (aka B to us) was a great help with altitude and helped keep the group strong. Always laughing and smiling and even on hand to carry my bag when I needed a help. Such a supportive leader and I'm so grateful to have had B as my leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stop every now and again and just take it all in, don't miss all the beautiful sights trying to go fast!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Martin Williamson
    This is a challenging ride but it is a fantastic way to see and experience Southern Italy in the company of a great and knowledgeable guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The very different terrains that we went through and the food we were able to experience. Apart from the great scenery we travelled through the Greek ruins in Paestum were great to walk around and the cave dwellings in Sasso at Matera were very interesting. The vast monastery at Padula was well worth visiting and gave us time away from the bikes. Going in May meant that the wild flowers were at their best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very keen to show us the countryside and to help us savour the food of the area so he organised some great meals for us along the way. He was well supported by the mechanics who followed the ride and they ensured that the bikes were in good condition throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The distances may not look very long but after the first day it becomes more challenging with long climbs. However they are all great fun and you see some fantastic scenery. There was a great array of food at all the stops so this is not a trip if you are trying to loose weight!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the hotels used were comfortable and of good quality. We had a great time and enjoyed it all!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Lisa Edwards
    This holiday was so much more than I expected. More challenging, more fun, more mountainous! I don't know why but I didn't equate a mountain region with so much ascending. I am a regular hiker and was surprised to find that I could walk for up to two hours uphill and still maintain a conversation. Alvaro the guide was inspiring and motivational, and the group were encouraging and fun to be with. We really bonded over the tough uphills and the shared experiences of the magnificent scenery. I was sad to leave the group at the airport and I think part of me is still in the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing around ten vultures flying around the top of a mountain - a bird I'd thought would be ugly, but it's actually quite beautiful. Our group had experts in flora and fauna who brought the whole thing to life for me. I learned so much.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro. What can I say? We all thought he was amazing and were sad to hear that he's leaving Exodus in August. He will be a great loss to the team. He was like a sheepdog taking care of his flock, scampering up and down mountains to make sure we were ok. I can still here him say, "slowly as you like!" as we ascended yet another dizzying height. He imparted so much knowledge about the area from history to wildlife and he was just the right amount of encouraging to all of us, individually.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go before mid-May because you'll have cows wearing cowbells outside your bedroom window at 1am (lovely as they are). They go up to higher pastures in mid-May. Have the G&Ts in the hotel bar - the fishbowl glasses and the measures are amazing. Take your own hairdryer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A friend has already booked this holiday off the back of my Facebook and Instagram posts. It's a winner and I would recommend it to anyone who is fit enough to take it on. It was definitely not 'moderate' in my book - I found it challenging. I've had to reassess my idea of my own fitness but I ended the week feeling like a butcher's dog.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Nicholas Dale
    Great chance to see tigers, although less focus on the other animals, so you have to be prepared to wait around a long time...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting back and discovering a couple of great shots of the tiger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent if sometimes irascible. He's a great raconteur, and you need that when you're hanging around waiting for tigers to appear.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring the longest lens you can, as some of the sightings are quite far - up to 500 yards away!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The rooms were enormous and even had sockets that took European plugs, which was handy as my Botswana adaptor didn't work in India!
Call us on 0208 772 3936