Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Pitt

    Gorilla and Chimp Trek

    First time I have used Exodus and will certainly be using them again. Well organised and action packed. Good condition of transportation vehicles and the guides were simply superb and couldn't do enough for you. The Gorilla and Chimp Trek not only exceeded my expectations, but also the other 13 travellers we met on the same tour. Couldn't fault it. Well done Exodus!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Gorilla's was one of several highlights but the they were the reason for this particular trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David was fantastic. Always happy, laughing, good language skills and couldn't do enough for you. Benjamin was also an excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Accommodation is of very high standard but you are out in the jungle so expect insects
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Julia Nardi

    Excellent Trip

    It was awesome. Sami was very knowledgable. He in Petra, he guided us through paths not common to tourist. Another perspective to look at Petra with incredible view. Weather was hot but the hike was worth it. Good to go during cooler periods. Everything was excellent. However, it would be good if we can have the city tour at the start of the trip imstead the end as by the time we get back from Aqaba, the momentum of the trip kinda drop. Nonetheless, an excellent trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment we saw The Treasury at Petra. My jaws just dropped!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sami was wonderful, funny and extremely knowledgable. He is so passionate about promoting Jerash as part of the UNESCO site and I totally agree with him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't think. Just book the trip already!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    None!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Huw Thomas

    We had a fantastic expedition

    We took the trip starting in Nairobi. We had a fantastic time seeing cheetahs, leopards, lions, giraffes, elephants, rhinoceros and many more, we saw it all. We finished with the gorillas. The experience was unbelievable. We got closer to them and for longer than we ever expected. Our trip was made even better by the fantastic Exodus team. Jacob was our team leader and he was very ably supported by Stony the driver, Godfrey the chef and Ester the assistant. This team set the atmosphere and we embraced and enjoyed it all. What a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being with the gorillas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was exceptional. He exuded confidence and always had a smile. Nothing was too much nor too difficult. The 16 strong expedition had an enhanced experience because of his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the enthusiasm and good humour of your team. They set the tone, all you have to do is enjoy all the fantastic experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trek to the gorillas is challenging but very manageable. Hire a porter, the $10 plus tip will be the best money you will ever spend. They not only carry your bags but support you over the rough terrain. Don't be put off by reviewers who suggest that you need to be super fit to cope.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Celia Thomas

    An amazing trip

    This memorable trip was made special by the excellent leader Jacob and his team Stonecold, the wonderful driver, Godfrey the chef and assistant Esther. Whilst the journeys were often very long we had plenty of stops. The trip was filled with humour and fun. The group ages were from 42 to 69, we were at the upper end. For us the key was having a go. We were encouraged to try white water rafting and not only did we manage to do it , it was an excellent experience. Upgrades to cabins were available at most campsites. We saw so much on safari , big 5 , countless birds and much more. Our skille driver ensured we got the best photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the gorilla encounter was a thrill, never to be forgotten. Though we were told to keep a distance between us and the gorillas but this was quite relaxed as they came towards us. The white water rafting was exhilarating. Very professionally organised with safety at its core.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was an excellent team leader. He had a great sense of humour which helped set the tone for the group. He was knowledgeable and patient answering even the most simple questions with a smile. He has a nothing is too much trouble attitude and was very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As for the gorilla trekking, we asked to be in the easy group and ended up walking further than the moderate group. The gorillas are not always where they are supposed to be! Take plenty to read for the long journeys. There is not always amazing scenary. Go with an open mind , don't expect luxury and you will be very pleasantly surprised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are undecided as to whether to go, I would say GO ! We were 16 in our well travelled group and we all agreed it was one of the best trips we've done.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Viv Marais

    Team Tricot!

    This was my first hiking holiday with Exodus. It won't be my last. I chose camping as I wanted the total outdoor experience and I chose Mont Blanc because of its iconic beauty and it is just the right side of challenging! I wasn't disappointed. The two week trip is well planned and organised. There are several rest days which I didn't think I would need but were welcome and gave us a chance to explore the beautiful villages we passed through. There were 10 in my team - all ages from around the world - and I enjoyed getting to know every one of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots. Two that stand out are - the day the heavens opened and we had to negotiate the trickiest part of the hike through horizontal rain and mud but, working as a team, we got through it. The day we all climbed to the top of Cop Tricot in under an hour (I staggered in at 57 minutes) - a first for any of John's groups. We were so pleased with ourselves, we called our Whatsapp group "Team Tricot"!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My trip wasn't just about the wonderful scenery and hiking. A large part of its success was the team spirit that we enjoyed and the friendships we made. This happened mainly because of our group leader, John Briggs. Through his wit and patience, he was able to bring us together and even when things got tough, he would have us laughing. He obviously loves his job and is full of knowledge and interesting facts which made the whole experience richer. He taught us the "Alpine Plod" which is a way of getting up the steep bits without slipping or tiring. I've since taught all my hiking friends! It wasn't just the days that were fun. He kept us entertained in the evenings with "Camp Karaoke" - we even have a team song! John was aided and abetted by the very capable Emily Scott. She was the camp cook but also quickly became a good friend. It is still a mystery to me how she was able to conjure up a delicious 3-course meal in the middle of nowhere on a gas stove.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'm used to carrying everything I need on my back when I do overnight hikes, so I packed too lightly. As a result, I didnt have all the weather gear I needed - particular waterproof pants!. Emily drives the support vehicle each day to the next camp site with your tent and luggage and there's ample space. The weather can change in an instant and the tops of those mountains can be windy. So pack for every season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to thank John and Emily and everyone in Team Tricot for one of the best hiking experiences. I miss our time together and wish I could do it all over again!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Hunter

    Fantastic Mount Blanc

    My sister and I had an absolutely fantastic week. The chalet was located right in the middle of Chamonix and the cooking provided by Sarah and Rich was to die for. The hot tub in the garden at the end of the day with stunning mountain views was great too. The tea and cake around 4 o'clock at the end of a day's walking was always something to look forward to! We had really good walking with our guide Jenny who was really first class. The scenery is truly amazing and the walk in Italy for a day will live with me for a long time to come. We saw glaciers and lakes, walked down rickety ladders and over little himalayan like bridges. I have been wanting to do this week's walking for nearly 10 year and it exceeded my expectations Thanks Mark

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think walking for a day in Italy with the spectacular views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    jenny was brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A couple of our group were a bit slow and I think the walking was more than they expected. People should make sure they can walk for 5-6 hours at a reasonable pace Maybe in a large group (14 persons) there should be another guide at the back who can take people on a reduced slower route if necessary. One person in our group was recovering from a broke ankle - I ask you!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just had a great time
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sharron Taylor

    Madagascan Discoverer (2017)

    A busy and interesting trip that covers a lot of ground, sights and emotions in 2 weeks - I'm still absorbing the experience almost 2 weeks later! Early starts and some long days of travel, mainly in a comfortable bus or 4x4s - all part of the adventure and the only way to see so much in such a short time. The drivers (Dama: bus driver) and 4x4 drivers were excellent and negotiated sometimes difficult terrain with expertise. I loved the first week; the second week had some great highlights, but a lot of bus travel, which was broken up as much as possible by visits to villages, tombs and local craft areas. The hotels were generally good - a couple were better than expected which was a bonus. Food catered for all diets - meat, fish and vegetarian. Not much variety, but all decent quality. We never went hungry. Loved the opportunities to interact with local people and learn more about their culture. The people were mostly welcoming and friendly, although it's impossible to escape the poverty. Most children asked for sweets, pens or 'gifts' - if you take gifts such as pencils etc ask your guide for advice on distributing them as he will know where they will be of most value. Expect a lot of street sellers in some places. So lucky to share the experience with a brilliant group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing and hearing the indris (my favourite lemur). Climbing the Tsingy - challenging in places for those of us with issues around heights, but well worth it. Sunset at the Alley of Baobabs - although you will be with a large number of tourists gathering to see it - quite a funny sight! The ferry crossing with the 4x4s - fascinating. Isalo National Park walk, including the 'piscine naturelles'. Meeting local people and learning about their culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sol was an excellent leader. All leaders that I've met over 12 years of travelling with Exodus have been good - and Sol is up there with the very best of them. He has incredible organisation skills, happily shares his knowledge on all things Madagascan, is a good leader - clear information, always available to help if required, but never in your face. Best of all he's a really nice guy with a great personality and is a real pleasure to spend time with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On arrival at the airport avoid the 'helpful' staff in high viz vests who offer to help you jump to the front of the visa queue or help with your bags - they will charge you a fortune for the pleasure! Money - change cash at the airport. Only one hotel took credit cards, so you do need cash. £350-£400 should be sufficient for most people, including all tips, unless you like to buy a lot of souvenirs. Spend all your Ariary before check-in for the flight home (Euros preferred in departures). Take a first aid kit - I cut my foot on a rock and was glad I had antiseptic wipes, ointment and plasters to keep out infection. Most people had a 24/48 hour stomach bug (cramps or the 'runs') at some point - not a major issue, but come prepared. Bring toilet wipes as many loos whilst out and about don't have loo roll and hotels only provide a small roll! I'd also recommend hand sanitizer. Hotel laundry services at Olympe de Bemaraha and Ihary were good and inexpensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A full on trip, but worth the effort.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Karen Harrison

    The Silk Road

    This is a trip full of contrasts and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Uzbekistan was the best part of the trip, with an enormous amount of history and beautiful buildings. As a nation, they seem to have totally reclaimed their national identity following their independence. During our night in the mountains staying in a yurt, the magical, mesmerising Milky Way was also clearly visible (and even better with binoculars).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders really knew their stuff, and if they didn't know the answer to a question, they came back to us with it the next day. The leaders were willing to answer questions on social matters, like marriage, Russian influences/legacies, school, cotton picking. This gave us a better understanding of each country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you buy your souvenirs in Uzbekistan (ikat prints, scarves, pottery, rugs) as there really is very little opportunity to buy anything worthwhile in either Kazakhstan or Kyrgyzstan. You'll regret it if you don't. Be prepared to haggle a little bit. The currency exchange app a fellow traveller told me about, XE Currency, was extremely useful for converting all currencies. Take a fork and spoon for picnic lunches, and socks for the night in the mountains. No medication containing Codeine is allowed in Uzbekistan.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't expect 'western' standards. Embrace the quirks and idiosyncrasies of each country and admire each country for how they have developed their own identities. Make sure you experience as much of the local food as you can. It really is very good, especially the lamb.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Nik Kowal

    Marvels of Madeira self guided

    A winning combination of walks in stunning scenery and top quality hotels in which to relax at the end of the day. Being self guided was a great experience, walking notes very clear, and you can go at your own choice of pace and stop whenever you want. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing each walk!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The rating of leisurely/moderate does not take into account some of the ascents and descents, and the narrow footing along some of the levadas so pre trip training and a good head for heights required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Madeira is a beautiful island and this is a good introduction.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vivienne Hodgins

    Another great Exodus trip!

    We had a fantastic experience in China led admirably by Alan Liu. We saw so much of both modern and traditional China....such contrasts. We gained great insight into Chinese history and the Chinese view of their place in the world today. We were always on the go...so much to see and do. There was hardly a dull moment....the third train trip the exception. That was not great but apart from that all the travel arrangements,accommodation, activities (optional and included ) were excellent. We went on public buses, private buses, the bullet train,metro, internal flight and the three overnight train trips. It is such a large country and the sheer scale of things is hard to take in. We also had relaxing times on the cruise and in the water town near Shanghai to name a few. The gorges are spectacular but the food on he boat is just ok. The rooms are very good though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The pandas at Chengdu,the terracotta warriors, the scenery at Yangzhou, the dam,the cycle ride on the walls at Xian, the food..... Good fun learning Mahjong! The Great Wall is excellent although it takes ages to get there because of the traffic. Fantastic walking. Shanghai is very interesting....lots to see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Liu is such a good leader. He is always smiling and his English is excellent. His knowledge of history and politics is very good and he is very good at explaining ideas.He was always counting us...no one got lost! He was so good in the restaurants choosing dishes for us to share....the food was wonderful. He was always on task....everything worked like clockwork. He really is a five star leader and such a nice person. He was very patient... the group although small had varying levels of fitness and he always waited to make sure no one got left behind. I felt very confident travelling with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is full on but no more than other Exodus trips. The luggage situation at stations was not so bad as I expected....there are slopes beside stairs so you can roll your bag up or down but the Chinese people are so friendly and I had help every time without asking! You do need a sleeping bag liner...the train duvets etc are ok but not great. The third train trip is from 1.00pm to 5.00 in the morning....then a bus ride, then a orientation tour, then a Chinese cookery class. Drink lots of water there...I got really ill as did a few others that day. Just a bit too much in the heat. There are lots of washing opportunities. The hotels are generally good...you don't usually get shampoo etc but always a toothbrush!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The acrobat show in Shanghai and the Light show in Yangzhou are both very good. The Great Wall is excellent..no need for hiking boots....walking sandals are ok. Very little English spoken. No Facebook or google!
Call us on 0208 772 3936