Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    GRAND TRAVERSE OF THE INDIAN HIMALAYA

    This was a very tough trip made even more difficult by the very high temperatures we experienced on the desert part of the trek. One member of our group had to leave the trek due to medical problems and two others declined to finish the second half of the trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Parang La,via the glacier. Driving over the Kunzum la and the 100km long valley full of Eiger sized peaks. The air conditioned, luxury, train journey from Chandigarh to Delhi and the meals they provided all for less than £6.00!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The reason I chose this trip is because it was led by Valerie Parkinson. Her knowledge of the Himalayas and Tibetan Buddhism makes any trip led by her much greater than the sum of its parts.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of the trip notes! They give good advice for equiping yourself for the cold weather (fleece, thermals, 4 season sleeping bag ETC.) but very little for the 35+ degrees we experienced. You will need a broad brimmed hat, long sleeved shirt/blouse with a high collar and a good SPF. You will also need a large water bottle/Platypus (2-3 litres) as there are few opportunities to fill up on route and if you do you will need an empty bottle and will have to wait while your water treatment becomes effective. An electrolyte powder or tablets might prove useful as you will be losing many vital trace elements during the day and these need to be replenished.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    What an amazing century and amazing people. So many different things to see and do, a country that has ore to it that I looked forward to or expectd.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sailing on inle lake maybe, or looking over thousands of temples at bagan as far as the eye could see. Watching the sun set talking to the monks at the top of Mandaly hill, there are so many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel would always help and do anything you asked if he could help. Organised things really well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take enough cash, prices seem to be going up, and there lots of things to buy! Also there is talk of getting ATM's in so check it put carefully. Make sure you take enough to cover knees and shoulders, there are not many days when a temple it not visited, or take a coue of wraps. I never needed a mosquito net at all and the walk would have been able to be done in walking sandals, but check it put for the weather at different times of year.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CHOPSTICKS & COCONUTS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Had a wonderful 2 weeks in Vietnam this summer on this trip. Our guide Zung was really excellent and the organisation was brilliant. Vietnam is beautiful, fascinating and inspirational. Truly recommend this trip, if you're considering it, just book it now.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zung honestly couldn't have been better. Gracious, calm, fun, informed, intelligent, organised, great company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now!
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CRATER CAPERS

    Overall this was an excellent taster of the many facets of Tanzania - mountain, safari, beach, and town.  For a newcomer to Africa, it was perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephants at close range in numbers - we saw a full range of expected animals, but the there is something about  elephants.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was informative, helpful and good company.  Unfortunately, he had to leave unexpectedly for a couple of days, but the alternative cover arranged was also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. There is a fair amount of travel from on scene to another (and maybe the travel arrangements could be rationalized a bit)2. I would also recommend the safari elelement as more suitable for older children and teenagers (long days in 4X4s).3.  Seek clarity early on from Exodus leader as to the expectations on guide tipping, etc., and good if you can organize this at a group level.4.  Be prepared to adjust your behaviour if your trip to Zanzibar coincides with ramadan. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Left me wanting to know and experience more - which was exactly the point
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    TRINS: THE AUSTRIAN TYROL

    A wonderful walking holiday with stunning scenery and excellent food. I'd thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the walks were absolutely beautiful, with views of the local mountains and even the Dolomites (which was a very unexpected surprise!). The concert we went to was absolutely lovely and was a real highlight for me. Also, there was (lovely) complimentary cake every single day which was definitely very inspirational whilst you were assessing the hill in front of you.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were both excellent.  I don't think I've ever encountered such exceptional organisation skills! Every possible requirement or eventuality was planned and communicated with the group.  They managed the different requirements and abilities of the group very well and, on top of all that, were both lovely (which really helped when you were contemplating the chair lift!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If possible, try and plan to take some time in Innsbruck (which has some really interesting places to visit) and Munich.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the perfect holiday if you're not too sure which grade you'd like to do.   You can pick whether you want a bit of a challenge or a slightly more relaxed pace depending on how you are feeling.  It also works out really well in terms of cost as breakfast and evening meals are included (and they are vast) which means I spent a lot less than I normally would on a trip.Basically, it's really beautiful with some excellent walking.  I hope to go back as soon as possible!
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    A rewarding, fun and successful adventure. When we stood atop Mt Blanc, with the whole of France below us (and what seemed like the whole of Europe) I was truly proud. A certain toughness and fitness is required, but as I am 47 years old and my walking partner was in her 20's it shows anyone can achieve this, if reasonably fit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although we had perfect weather for the ascent, the weather just before was not good. The guides asked if we were prepared to do 3 days walking in just 2 days if the weather cleared. Immediately everyone in my group said 'yes'. I knew then that we were the sort of team that would get to the summit if we possibly could.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent chap! Friendly, safe and pushed us when we needed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fitness is important. Things can change and extra reserves may need to be found. The best advice is running and cycling, and if you can, some long practice walks. As a rough measure, I would say being able to run 10miles (speed isn't important) means that you are at the right level.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the week. The group were mixed, interesting and friendly. We had all made an effort to get fit, meaning a weaker member wouldn't let another person down.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    PANDAS & WARRIORS FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A great trip with a real insight into everyday life in China.  We enjoyed the variety of activities from sunrise on the Great Wall to the cooking school, panda hug and market shopping.  Generally the hotels were of a good standard and the food great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great Wall at sunrise, smiles on my children's faces after having a panda sit on their laps and hugging it.  Having a free day in Hong Kong was good, the children enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool at Kowloon Park.  Haggling in the markets for absolutely everything was fun.  The food at the banquets (lunch/dinner) was varied, but McDonalds, Pizza Hut and Starbucks were also welcome.   We also enjoyed cycling on the wall at Xi'an, Kung Fu and calligraphy class, Birds Nest staduim, druming at the Drum Tower, Hutong visit. Cycling to Moon Hill in Yangshuo and the evening light show were unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vivian was great, always chuckling along with us and her use of the phrase "snacks for lunch" gained momentum.   Vivian organised another guide for us at the Shaolin monastry when she realised the first one wasn't making himself clear in his explainations.  Her organisational skills were excellent and very caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel as light as you can because the airports and some railway stations are massive involving a lot of walking with your suitcases and we had a three hour border queue to endure going into Hong Kong.  Be prepared for some early mornings and long days.  The boat trip at Yangshuo is very touristy, a quiet early morning bamboo raft is an alternative. Take a torch for the early morning Great Wall walk and an umbrella each will come in handy for rainy days and sunny days when sightseeing.  Be aware that Beijing and other cities are massive and there are hoards of Chinese at the main attractions and public transport may be busy and crushed, queues on the roads and at attractions.  But you can also feel like a celebrity with many Chinese wanting to take pictures of you. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some activities felt a bit rushed and we would have liked more time at the Terracotta Warriors to see all the exhibits, longer cycling on the wall at Xi'an and more time in Hong Kong. Exodus should make the flight back from Hong Kong direct to the UK and likewise the one into Hong Kong direct from Guilin and not into Shenzhen.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    Cycling Vietnam from Saigon to Hanoi, switching to boat and train at times, was an amazing fortnight! We saw so many different parts of Vietnam and were always received by amazingly friendly locals. And in the breaks we got rewarded with yummy Vietnamese food and drinks (better than Italian coffee!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many every day, between amazing scenery, great team spirit, the best group leader (Lam) ever and his so smily team, great food and ever so friendly locals! However, cycling through endless graveyard scenery (might sound a bit dark now but it was unique) and rice harvesting at sunset time near Hue. And how brilliant was wave jumping at Mui Ne after a day of sweaty cycling in the August heat!!  And last but not least the great team spirit!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You can wish for no better tour leader than Lam! The enthusiasm for his country and his efforts to look after everyone of the entire cycling team are just unparalleled! His team of drivers and mechanic just loved him, and so did we! He is simply the best!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The summer heat and humidity make cycling more demanding than in Europe. A camelbag will provide water more easily and cooler than a water bottle. Bring very good sunscreen and enough clothes to change (even though washing is possible every 5 days or so).  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great and fast-paced trip with so many different impressions and experiences! Highly recommendable, especially during the summer months when groups are smaller.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLANDS OF SRI LANKA

    We saw and learnt a lot about the country and its peoples. The days were packed with exotic sights, tastes, sounds, smells ...... 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the most inspirational moments for me was the Meemure trail walk. It was really jungly jungle, and resonant with the sounds of insects and birds. Another moment was walking through a village one afternoon, on the way to a river for a swim, to the very beautiful strains of a Buddhist sung sermon being broadcast across the village. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Full of energy, very knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about his country and its peoples.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to be hot and sweaty a lot of the time. Expect to eat curry and rice - its delicious in Sri Lanka. 
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    TUSCAN DELIGHTS

    This was my first visit to Tuscany... and won't be my last!  Garfagnana is a  wonderful part of Italy, a little off the beaten track and I loved that it didn't feel I was in a touristy area (other than at Cinque Terre). This trip hits the spot... a good blend of walking, visiting local towns and our day trip to the coast , plus fab home-cooked Tuscan food from Mama!! Vegetarians well-catered for :-)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful scenery at every turn, with Bracciorti situated between the Appenines and the Alpi Apuanes... some lovely walks, much more enjoyable when we went that bit higher to slightly cooler climes!  Lucca was a favourite - a town oozing character - make sure you go up one of the towers for 360 degrees of great views, across the red roofs to the surrounding hillsides.  And not forgetting Elvis, the resident dog who accompanied us on most walks, and his playful littermate Dora.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a great group leader... she ensured that every aspect of the trip ran smoothly.  She was very organised, professional, friendly, approachable and I wish I had even a quarter of her energy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in August, be prepared for hot, hot hot!!  There is no fan / air-conditioning in the rooms, so I was very relieved to have brought a handheld fan...phew!  If you're concerned about going alone, don't be... it is a group holiday and everyone I've met on this and previous trips are there to enjoy the trip, mix with some lovely people and a good time is had by all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This tour is described as "leisurely" and you although there are outings planned every day, you can make it as energetic or leisurely as you want... plenty opportunities for coffee stops or the obligatory gelateries!  Some opt for a lazy day lounging at the pool... it's your holiday, do as you wish.  I found the first day's walk to be anything but leisurely, but that was because of the high temperatures.
Call us on 0208 772 3936