Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Before I went on this trip I read through some of the reviews to get an idea of what to expect. I think it says a lot about how much this trip meant to people by the amount of positive things that were written and the fact that so many took the time to wax lyrical about the place. Cuba's a place that confuses and mesmerises in equal measures, can't wait until I go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I lost my heart to Cuba, though it's a real country of contradictions. I found myself falling out with some of it's ideals but loved the people, music and beauty of the place. There isn't one moment to choose from, there were lots of stand out things that we did.Dancing - anywhere, anytime and with anyoneSwimming in the seas and rivers All the different types of transport from the 1950's cars to a horse and cartChe Guevara's hideout and the vertical drive to the start of our walk to itBaracoa - from the sea wall to the club on the hilltop

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Laz was fun, knowledgable, clearly passionate about his country and spoke fantastic english.  He was with us from breakfast until the trova houses closed practically every day and was always willing to help with menu translations and restaurant suggestions. He listened to what we wanted and delivered where possible to accomodate our desire to swim in the sea at every possible opportunity.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wait to learn salsa, just get up and dance with anyone and everyone. On our first proper night we went to a Trova house and ended up dancing with all the locals even if we could only shuffle from left to right. It set the tone for the trip.Small change is really useful for toilet trip tips and other tips.Don't rely on one credit/debit card in case the hole in the wall eats it! If you're a snacker then bring them with you as there aren't that many stops where you can stock up on crisps, chocolate etc.June was hot and humid so if you don't want to be sweaty I'd recommend going in the cooler months.  That said, travelling out of season meant places were much quieter.  We were practically the only tourists in Baracoa.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wanted to take the opportunity to thank our driver, Orlando.  I always felt safe with him at the wheel, he was always cool as a cucumber in every type of driving condition from the expected potholes to the less expected crabs and rice in the road.Just book it, I'm sure you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    If you are thinking about getting away from the tourist trail and really experiencing the desert, the dramatic views and are willing to walk - this is the trek for you.  The scenery was amazing, the night skies beautiful, the rock bridge exhilarating and Petra inspirational. Jordan is a lovely country, very welcoming, friendly people, fantastic food, lots to offer and definately worth visiting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to narrow down to just one moment - the walk down the Siq to Petra was amazing; I had no idea of the sheer size of the site. The desert views were probably my most inspirational memories - every view was dramatic and beautiful, the way the same view could change with varying light was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic. He was welcoming, friendly - made such efforts to ensure everyone was comfortable and was great at organising any help for our individual onward journeys if required. He had a sense of humor and was fun to be around. He had excellent knowledge of the history and facts about everywhere we visited, and was very enthusiastic to show us around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip with Exodus was so well organised, our trip went like clockwork - we had everything we could need (within reason!!) during the desert trek and we felt safe and well looked after the whole entire time we were there. A really memorable and fantastic trip.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A well organised holiday in a wonderful country This trip combines a great mix from free camping, desert walking and rock climbing to time on Moses Mountain and the splendor of Petra by day and night

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My over riding memory was when we striked camp on the last morning in Wadi Rum Our two man support team had once again balanced all the mattresses, luggage, food, water, mint tea kettle (vital) on the trusty vehicle in a matter of minutes and we walked out with a camel train and a feral dog for company. Friendships had been forged quickly coupled with exercise, good food and the freedom to be a grub! It was the complete contrast to life back home and a heady liberating feeling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Salah was superb. He kept a close eye on everyone and the days unfolded with a relaxed unrushed feel. Salah offered daily options regarding start times and optional activities and arranged the most delicious group meals in Petra and Amman. He shared such pride in both his family, culture and country which has left me wanting to understand more about The Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can never have too many baby wipes! High factor sun screen and well worn in pair of walking boots. The evening camp fire chats always included comparisons of blisters and with 6 Drs in our group there were many opinions regarding treatment!! The trip includes excellent food and access to free bottled water whilst in the desert. There are always plenty of opportunities to fill up water carriers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip and a good introduction to the desert environment There's always a support vehicle nearby if you develop wobbly legs and need a ride into camp There's no pressure in taking the additional extras but I would recommend Petra by night and the Turkish bath, you come out squeaky clean!!! Thank you Exodus for another wonderful adventure
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CAMINO DE SANTIAGO TREK

    sdf

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    sf

    What did you think of your group leader?

    asf

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    asf

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    asf
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIDDEN TREASURES OF JORDAN

    A fantastic trip with and experiences I will never forget!Jordan was a brilliant place to visit, amazing history and places to visit. The group leader and everyone I met was really friendly. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking though the Siq in Petra and suddenly the Treasury coming into view out of nowhere has to be top of the list along with making it to the top of the steps to see the Monastery. Reading the Jordan Post whilst floating in the Dead Sea, although standing up with the Jordan Post in the Dead Sea less successful! The camel ride, even if the getting up and down is the terrifying!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a very knowledgably leader, always making the extra effort to look after the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip, would recommend Jordan as an unforgettable
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    An excellent week's walking amongst stunning mountain scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As well as being a very welcoming host at the hotel, Pilar was a wonderful, experinced leader with extensive knowedge of the local area and a great sense of fun.  She coped spledidly with everything we threw at her, including having to organise a helicopter mountain rescue!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Flower lovers should go at the end of May, as we did, for an abundance of colourful wildflowers. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel serves THE best gin & tonics, made with Tanqueray gin, masses of ice and plenty of freshly squeezed lemon Juice. The flower filled terrace with a spectacular view of the mountains is the perfect place to drink them. We spent many a happy evening after dinner doing just that.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This trip was awesome. Experiancing all the activities was grt. The group were all fantastic and will do my very best to stay in touch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Man all were so good. But for me the canyoning and paraglide was Awesome!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geoff was Amazing. Very proffesional in every activitie, grt knowledge of historic area's,grt organisation skills and socially very funny.Mustafa was very Agile, proffesional and witty!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sterling with u and change into turkish lira at hotel or locally,much better rates than at home.Wear a pair of treaking boots for canyoning, with good grip for wet surfaces.cheap trainers for gorge water walk, as they will get ruined.waterproof camera for grt shots in the water.Also a dry bag was very handy....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best holiday my wife and me have had so far!!!Look forward to more with exodus travel........
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A fantastic weeks holiday for both experienced walkers and novices.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the chance to visit Herculaneum on the free day, as it was somewhere i,ve been meaning to visit for a few years now. The walk around the crater of Vesuvius was also rather special. The moment that I will also remember for ever is  proposing to my partner and her saying yes. Need to think of a great Exodus venue for the next stage.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was an absolute gem. Great sense of humour and nothing was too much for her. To be honest most Exodus leaders are really good but Christine is one of the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now. The walking is both scenic,varied and not too difficult even for non walkers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really nice hotel with the added bonus that they have now opened a small pool. Not big enough for a swim but great to cool off after a hot walk or days sightseeing.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    My first trip to Africa and my first trip with Exodus. Definitely not the last! An amazing experience. All the animals, the friendly people, the beautiful landscape, the guides, the group - all better than I could hope for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the leopard in the tree. We had seen all the other animals that we had wished for, but still needed to see the leopard. And suddenly it was just there in the tree. Almost missed it when driving past.But it was amazing to see so many different animals. Elephant, zebra, giraffe, oryx, blackfaced impala, hartebeest, kudu, leopard and rhino. But also the cute mongoose and rock dassie, all the amazing birds and even a caracal and honey badger. What more can you ask for. Another highlight for me was a trip to the Mondesa township in Swakopmund (not included). 3 of us went there with Hafeni Cultural Tours. Our guide was a 23 year old who had lived in the township all his life. He was just so open about their life and history. Highly recommend it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was brilliant and so was Jonas and Tuhafeni. Sam was really knowledgeable and told us about his own family and background as well.It would have been good if he had sometimes been in the back of the truck with us instead of driving. I am sure he could have entertained us with more stories on the long drives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a waterproof jacket! We had about 86mm in one day and climbed Dune 45 when it was raining. Wet.Don't pack you swimming custome at the bottom of your case. Quite a few of the camps had swimming pools, so it's good to have your swimming gear and towel ready when you arrive.There is quite a few stops where you are able to buy water. But just listen to the guide, they will tell you when you need to buy an extra bottle or when you can just use the water at the camp. And bring extra water when you go climbing. Some people don't need a lot of water, but others do.Always have the camera ready. Don't back it too far away, so many photo opportunities.You can charge your batteries at most camps, so that won't be a problem. The adapter is a bit different. I wasn't able to get it from home, but you can just buy it at the supermarket in Windhoek and lots of places. Bring a sleeping bag acording to what Exodus recommend. Mine wasn't thick enough so I had a couple of really cold nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went to The Lighthouse for dinner in Swakopmund. If you are going there, I highly recommend The Lighthouse Burger. It was so good - and everybody just stared at it. And that's all I'm saying!And really, just go to Namibia - you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A very enjoyable week in a beautiful and interesting region of Italy. The busy itinerary was balanced out by relaxing evenings in the hotel, with lovely food, lots of wine, and lots of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods was a definite highlight, we had excellent weather and the scenery along the way was beautiful. The Roman sites of Heculaneum and Pompeii were both fascinating and humbling, and with Vesuvius looming in the background all the while it makes the disasters in these towns seem very real. It was all brought to life for us by our excellent guide Fabrizzio. For a taste of how the other half live, you can't beat Capri, truly fabulous and the chair lift ride to the top of Mt Solaro was one of the most peaceful and relaxing parts of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Far more energetic than most of the guests, and at times I think he forgot that we were all on holiday! But cannot fault his enthusiasm or helpfulness, and he stayed with us all week and organised us all well. The only disappointment was that in his suggesting to switch the itinerary around (to give us better weather for the walk), we ended up in Naples on the one day of the week (Tuesday for future reference!) the Archeological museum was closed which was disappointing. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really was much cooler in the mountains (where the hotel is) than on the coast, so pack something warm for the evenings if you are going early (or late) in the season. Shopping time is limited, so grab those souvenirs when you can. Some of the rooms in the main hotel building can be a little noisy so take earplugs. The roads are interesting - lots of switchbacks and sharp bends, and very close to the edge, so if you suffer from motion sickness or vertigo, make sure you take some travel sickness tablets with you. Mostly though, it was good fun! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in the hotel is lovely and plentiful, and they have a great wine pricing policy! On one evening you get to go into the kitchen to watch dinner being made, try out the local cheese, have some Prosecco, and on pizza night one of the group gets to have a go! The week we stayed, the hotel had just finished building a swimming pool in the grounds so if you are there over the summer, take your costume! 
Call us on 0208 772 3936